Status of Claims/Application
Claims 1 – 18 are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/5/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 objected to because of the following informalities: “is colostrum is derived” should read “is colostrum derived”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, & 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the plurality of antigens". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recited the limitation “the plurality of antigens.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 6 depends from claim 1 and recites the limitation "The composition in claim 1 wherein the protective material further comprises an encapsulating material.” Claim 1 recites the limitation “a protective material that slows degradation of the mixture of IgY antibodies in an animal gut and an encapsulating material to hold the mixture of IgY antibodies and the protective material.” Claim 1 requires a protective material and an encapsulating material. Claim 6 requires a protective material which is an encapsulating material and an encapsulating material. Claim 6 does not further limit the scope of claim 1 as a protective material comprising an encapsulating material and an encapsulating material is the same as a protective material and an encapsulating material.
. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 - 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 12263192 B2 (Grabowsky, M.) 01 APR 2020, priority to 18 FEB 2020.
US’192 teaches an immunity conferring composition created by obtaining at least one antibody product source of specific avian antibodies; preparing a powderized form of an antibody product comprising one specific avian antibodies; obtaining at least one colostrum, optionally containing one or more endogenous specific bovine antibodies; preparing a powderized form of the at least one colostrum; mixing the powderized antibody product with the powderized colostrum and including a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. (Column 96, Lines 9 – 23). US’192 teaches the antibody product in the composition comes from specific IgY for an antigen from eggs of hens injected with said antigen, however turkeys, ducks, geese, ostriches, etc. may alternatively be used (Column 62, Lines 20 – 39). US’192 teaches the antibody product comprises at least one antibody that is specific for binding to an antigenic region of one or more gut bacteria selected from the genera Bifidobacterium, Clostridium, or Escherichia.(Column 61, Lines 13 – 21). US’192 teaches the colostrum can be whole bovine colostrum ( Column 3, Lines 15 – 33). US’192 teaches the colostrum carrier matrix is present in the composition in an amount sufficient to adequately protect the immune egg antibodies from thermal, pH and enzymatic degradation within the gastrointestinal environment, wherein the effective amount of colostrum per dose is the equivalent of at least 1 gram through 25 grams or more of dried colostrum per dose on a dry weight equivalent per dose compared to the total amount of combined dried colostrum and dried antibody product (Column 81, Lines 36 - 67). US’192 teaches a composition comprising colostrum and specific antibody product further comprises carbohydrates selected from glucose, glucose polymer, dextrose, sucrose, and fructose (Column 92, Lines 17 – 26). US’192 teaches the colostrum of the protective carrier matrix is full-fat colostrum (Column 81, Lines 37 – 46). US’192 teaches the immunity conferring composition can be formulated into a capsule. (Column 96, Lines 1- 8). US’192 further teaches a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier means a non-toxic, inert solid, semi-solid or liquid filler, carrier diluent, excipient, vehicle, encapsulating material or formulation auxiliary of any type. US’192 teaches embodiments where the antibody product comprises specific antibodies protected by lipid or polysaccharide encapsulation (Column 75, Lines 60 – 67). US’192 teaches an embodiment in which dried immune egg and dried bovine colostrum are mixed at a weight ratio of 1:5 to 5:1 and optionally one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients ( Column 106, Lines 28 -35). US’192 teaches an example where the does us 1 – 15 g of dried immune egg, t o1 – 15 g of whole bovine colostrum and 1 – 200 mg of zinc carnosine. (Column 87, Lines 3 - 7)
US’192 does not exemplify applicants’ invention in one specific embodiment. US’192, as a whole, does teach teache an antibody product, colostrum, and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier within one embodiment. (Column 96, Lines 9 – 23). US’192 teaches “antibody product” to include combinations of IgY, IgM, and IgA. (Column 22, Lines 58 – 67 & Column 33, Lines 1 – 4). US’192 teaches “pharmaceutically acceptable carrier or excipient” to include an encapsulating material. (Column 25, Lines 41 – 65).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute an encapsulating material for the pharmaceutically acceptable carrier to hold the antibody product and colostrum together based on the teachings of US’192 as a whole. It would have been obvious to include the encapsulating material in an immunity conferring composition susceptible to digestive degradation and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success because US’192 teaches that encapsulating colostrum and antibody product together allows colostrum to protect the antibody product from digestive degradation.
Claim(s) 10-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 12263192 B2 (Grabowsky, M.) 01 APR 2020, priority to 18 FEB 2020 as applied to claims 1 - 9 above, and further in view of BR 102020004814 A2 (Orlandi, P.) 30 NOV 2021.
The teachings of US’192 are as discussed in detail above.
US’192 does not teach an intravenously deliverable composition. The capability of the composition to be intravenously deliverable, however would have been obvious in view of the teachings of BR’814.
BR’814 teaches an immunogenic composition comprising an immunologically active element selected from the group consisting of an IgY immunoglobulin from a bird and a biologically acceptable, vehicle or carrier ([0035]). BR’814 teaches the immunogenic composition formulated to be administered parenterally in the form of an injection, intravenous fluid and solution or suspension for infusion ([0040]). BR’814 teaches the preparation suitable for intravenous fluid may contain preparation additives, such as a solubilizer aid, capable of constituting an aqueous injection or an injection to be dissolved when in use in distilled water, saline, propylene glycol and the like ([0080]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the claimed invention to modify US’192 to include an intravenously deliverable composition of IgY with IgA or IgM in conjunction with a saline soluble protective material, such as colostrum, based on the teachings of BR’814. It would have been obvious to include an intravenously deliverable selection of the composition and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success because BR’814 teaches the composition of IgY and IgA or IgM derived from inoculated birds, as is disclosed in US’192 in conjunction with cow colostrum, can be made suitable for intravenous delivery.
Conclusion
Claims 1 – 18 are rejected.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20120141458 A1 (Starzl, T.) teaches a composition for humans with IgY, IgA, and IgM produced from an avian source inoculated with antigens of choice in conjunction with colostrum in multiple delivery vehicles.
BR 102020004814 A2 (De Souza, A.) teaches an intravenously deliverable composition of IgY. [0040 – 0041]
/BRADY T STUHMER/ Examiner, Art Unit 1645 /JOANNE HAMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1647