DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-33 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 13, 14, 21, 22 and 23-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong (PG Pub NO 2024/0040828) in view of Hong et al (PG Pub NO 2023/0215357).
As in claim 1, Dong discloses a display panel (Fig 1), comprising:
a substrate; (Fig 3 item 10)
a display layer (Fig 3, 18, 20 items 50-70) located on a side of the substrate (Fig 3, 18, 20 item 10), wherein the display layer (Fig 3, 18, 20 items 50-70) comprises a pixel definition layer (Fig 3, 18, 20 item 60) and light-emitting devices (Fig 3, 18, 20 item 20), the pixel definition layer (Fig 3, 18, 20 item 60) comprises a first opening and a second opening (Fig 3, 18, 20 item 600A and 600B), one of the light-emitting devices comprises a first light-emitting device and a second light-emitting device [(Fig 3 and Par 0044) [0044] One light-emitting element 20 may include one first light-emitting element 201 and one second light-emitting element 202.], the first light-emitting device is located in the first opening, and the second light-emitting device is located in the second opening (Fig 3, 18, 20);
a light-blocking structure (Fig 3, 18, 20 item 30 and Par 0039) located on a side of the display layer away from the substrate, wherein an orthographic projection of at least part of the light-blocking structure on the substrate is located between orthographic projections of two adjacent light-emitting devices on the substrate; ((Fig 3, 18, 20 item 30 and Par 0039, 0041-0042) discloses [0039] light-blocking structures 30 at a side of the light-emitting elements 20 away from the substrate 10. [0041] One light-blocking structure 30 may include a first light-blocking structure 301 and a second light-blocking structure 302. An orthographic projection of the first light-blocking structure 301 of one light-blocking structure 30 on the substrate 10 may at least partially surround the first light-emitting element 201 of one corresponding light-emitting element 20.
along a first direction, a distance between the light-blocking structure and the first opening is smaller than a distance between the light-blocking structure and the second opening, and the first direction is parallel to a plane of the substrate; (Fig 3, 18, 20 item d1, d2 and Par 0041-0042, 0048 and 0049) [0048] In the display panel 000 provided by the present disclosure, along the first direction X, a distance from the first light-blocking structure 301 to the corresponding first light-emitting element 201 may be d1. A distance from the second light-blocking structure 302 to the corresponding second light-emitting element 202 may be d2….Along the first direction X, the distance d1 between the first light-blocking structure 301 and the first light-emitting element 201 may be different form the distance d2 between the second light-blocking structure 302 and the second light-emitting element 202. [0049] Along the first direction X, the distance d1 between the first light-blocking structure 301 and the first light-emitting element 201 may be smaller than the distance d2 between the second light-blocking structure 302 and the second light-emitting element 202.
But fails to disclose light-guiding structures located on the side of the display layer away from the substrate, wherein along a direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate, the first light-emitting device at least partially overlaps one of the light-guiding structures, and/or the second light- emitting device at least partially overlaps with one of the light-guiding structures.
However Hong et al (Fig 1 and Par 0039) discloses light-guiding structures (i.e. lenses 230) located on the side of the display layer away from the substrate (110) along a direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate wherein the first light-emitting device (De2) overlaps one of the light-guiding structures (230), and/or the second light- emitting device (De2) overlaps with one of the light-guiding structures (230). [0039] The lenses 230 can be provided on the optical gap layer 220. The lenses 230 can be disposed to correspond to the second emission areas EA2 of the first, second, and third sub-pixels SP1, SP2, and SP3, respectively. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the filing to modify Dong with the teaching of Hong et al wherein light-guiding structures is added to the display device in order to achieve higher luminance and provide the user with a device that has narrower viewing angle display for security.
As in claim 2, Dong in view of Hong et al discloses the display panel (Dong, Fig 1) according to claim 1, wherein along the first direction, a distance between the light-blocking structure and the first opening is d1, a distance between the light-blocking structure and the second opening is d2, where 2µm≤d2-d1≤5µm. (Fig 3, 4, 6-10,14-25 and Par 0042, 0048) discloses a distance between the light-blocking structure(30) and first light-emitting element (i.e. first opening) is d1, a distance between the light-blocking structure (30) and second light-emitting element (i.e. second opening) is d2, wherein |d1−d2|>0 which would obviously falls within the range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the filing to have the difference between d1 and d2 be within 2µm and 5µm which is in a range of prior art (|d1−d2|>0) in order to have influence on the brightness and the color coordinates at a specific viewing angle. Thus, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
As in claim 3, Dong in view of Hong et al discloses the display panel (Dong, Fig 1) according to claim 1, wherein the light-blocking structure is located on a side of the light-guiding structures away from the light-emitting devices. (Fig 3, 18, 20 item 30) discloses light-blocking structure is located away from the light-emitting devices and Hong et al (Fig 1) discloses the light-blocking structure (210) is located on a side of the light-guiding structures (230) away from the light-emitting devices (De2).
As in claim 4, Dong in view of Hong et al discloses the display panel (Dong, Fig 1) according to claim 1, wherein the light-guiding structures comprise a first light-guiding structure and a second light- guiding structure (Hong et al; Fig 1 items 230, 240);
in the direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate, the first tight-emitting device at least partially overlaps the first light-guiding structure, and the second light-emitting device at least partially overlaps the second light-guiding structure; Hong et al (Fig 1 and Par 0039) discloses light-guiding structures (230, 240) located on the side of the display layer away from the substrate (110) along a direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate wherein the first light-emitting device (De2) overlaps one of the light-guiding structures (230), and/or the second light- emitting device (De2) overlaps with one of the light-guiding structures (230).
the first light-guiding structure comprises a first refractive portion (230) and a second refractive portion (240), a refractive index of the first refractive portion is different from a refractive index of the second refractive portion, and the first refractive portion is located on a side of the second refractive portion adjacent to the substrate [0041] A refractive index of the planarization layer 240 can be smaller than refractive indexes of the lenses 230;
and the second light-guiding structure comprises a third refractive portion and a fourth refractive portion, a refractive index of the third refractive portion is different from a refractive index of the fourth refractive portion, and the third refractive portion is located on a side of the fourth refractive portion adjacent to the substrate; (Fig 1 and Par 0041) discloses second light-guiding structure comprising a third refractive portion and a fourth refractive portion, a refractive index of the third refractive portion is different from a refractive index of the fourth refractive portion (i.e. Fig 1 discloses plurality of light-guiding structure).[0041] A refractive index of the planarization layer 240 can be smaller than refractive indexes of the lenses 230.
and wherein the first refractive portion and the third refractive portion are made of a same material, and the second refractive portion and the fourth refractive portion are made of a same material. [0042] For example, the planarization layer 240 can be formed of photo acryl, benzocyclobutene (BCB), polyimide (PI), or polyamide (PA) (i.e. second refractive portion and the fourth refractive portion). Thus since the refractive index of the light-guide structures (230, 240) are different and the light-guide structures planarization layer 240 disposed on first and second light-emitting devices having second refractive portion and the fourth refractive portion are made of a same material and the other light-guiding structure comprises a third refractive portion and a fourth refractive portion would obviously be made of a same material.
As in claim 13, Dong in view of Hong et al discloses the display panel (Dong, Fig 1) according to claim 1, wherein the light-guiding structures comprise a first light-guiding structure (Hong et al; Fig 1 items 230 &240); and along the direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate (110), the first light-emitting device (De2) at least partially overlaps the first light-guiding structure (Hong et al; Fig 1);
the first light-guiding structure comprises a first refractive portion (230) and a second refractive portion (240), a refractive index of the first refractive portion is different from a refractive index of the second refractive portion, and the first refractive portion is located on a side of the second refractive portion adjacent to the substrate [0041] A refractive index of the planarization layer 240 can be smaller than refractive indexes of the lenses 230;
and along the direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate, the first refractive portion at least partially overlaps the first light-emitting device. (Hong et al; Fig 1 items 230 &240) discloses the position of first refractive portion at least partially overlaps the first light-emitting device in relation to the substrate.
As in claim 14, Dong in view of Hong et al discloses the display panel (Dong, Fig 1) according to claim 13, wherein in a direction from a center of the first light-emitting device to an edge of the first light- emitting device, a thickness of the first refractive portion gradually decreases; and the refractive index of the first refractive portion is greater than the refractive index of the second refractive portion. (Hong et al; Fig 1) discloses the first reflective portion (230) having high point in the center and gradually decreases to an edge of the first light- emitting device; [0041] A refractive index of the planarization layer 240 can be smaller than refractive indexes of the lenses 230.
As in claim 21, Dong in view of Hong et al discloses the display panel (Fig 1) according to claim 1, wherein the light-guiding structures comprise a second light-guiding structure (Hong et al; Fig 1 items 230, 240);
along the direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate, the second light-emitting device at least partially overlaps the second light-guiding structure; Hong et al (Fig 1 and Par 0039) discloses light-guiding structures (230, 240) located on the side of the display layer away from the substrate (110) along a direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate wherein the second light-emitting device (De2) overlaps one of the light-guiding structures (230), and/or the second light- emitting device (De2) overlaps with one of the light-guiding structures (230).
and the second light-guiding structure comprises a third refractive portion (230) and a fourth refractive portion (240), and a refractive index of the third refractive portion is different from a refractive index of the fourth refractive portion; (Fig 1 and Par 0041) discloses second light-guiding structure comprising a third refractive portion and a fourth refractive portion, a refractive index of the third refractive portion is different from a refractive index of the fourth refractive portion (i.e. Fig 1 discloses plurality of light-guiding structure).[0041] A refractive index of the planarization layer 240 can be smaller than refractive indexes of the lenses 230.
and along the direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate, the third refractive portion at least partially overlaps the second light-emitting device; or the third refractive portion has a second hollow, and along the direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate, the second hollow at least partially overlaps the second light-emitting device. Hong et al (Fig 1) discloses third refractive portion at least partially overlaps the second light-emitting device along the direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate (110)
As in claim 22, Dong in view of Hong et al discloses the display panel (Fig 1) according to claim 21, wherein in a direction from a center of the second light-emitting device to an edge of the second light-emitting device, a thickness of the third refractive portion gradually decreases; and the refractive index of the third refractive portion is smaller than the refractive index of the fourth refractive portion; or in the direction from the center of the second light-emitting device to the edge of the second light-emitting device, the thickness of the third refractive portion gradually increases; and the refractive index of the third refractive portion is greater than the refractive index of the 6fourth refractive portion. (Hong et al; Fig 1) discloses the reflective portion (230) having high point in the center of the second light-emitting device and the thickness of the refractive portion gradually decreases to an edge of the second light- emitting device; and [0041] A refractive index of the planarization layer 240 can be smaller than refractive indexes of the lenses 230.
As in claim 24, Dong in view of Hong et al discloses the display panel (Fig 1) according to claim 1, wherein the first light-emitting device comprises a first-color first light-emitting device, the second light-emitting device comprises a first-color second light-emitting device, and the first- color first light-emitting device and the first-color second light-emitting device have a same color; and an area of the first opening corresponding to the first-color first light-emitting device is smaller than an area of the second opening corresponding to the first-color second light-emitting device. Dong [0066] The colors of the first light-emitting elements 201 and the second light-emitting elements 202 may be same (same colors are represented by same filling patterns in the figure). The first light-emitting elements 201 may be located in the first display region AA1, and the second light-emitting elements 202 may be located in the second display region AA2. Dong [0067] The display panel 000 may include a first display region AA1 and a second display region AA2. The transmittance of the first display region AA1 may be smaller than the transmittance of the second display region AA2, that is, the light transmittance of the second display region AA2 may be relatively high.
As in claim 25, Dong in view of Hong et al discloses the display panel (Fig 1) according to claim 1, wherein the light-blocking structure has a third opening and a fourth opening; and along the direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate, the third opening at least partially overlaps the first light-emitting device, and the fourth opening at least partially overlaps the second light-emitting device; Dong (Fig 3, 18, 20 item 30) discloses light-blocking structure(s) having openings (e.g. 600A+d1 and 600B+d2) overlapping the first light-emitting device and second light-emitting device
the first light-emitting device comprises a first-color first light-emitting device, the second light-emitting device comprises a first-color second light-emitting device, and the first- color first light-emitting device and the first-color second light-emitting device have a same color; Dong [0066] The colors of the first light-emitting elements 201 and the second light-emitting elements 202 may be same.
and wherein an area of the third opening overlapping the first-color first light-emitting device is smaller than an area of the fourth opening overlapping the first-color second light- emitting device. Dong (Fig 14) discloses the area of the third opening overlapping the first light-emitting device is smaller than an area of the fourth opening overlapping the second light- emitting device; Dong [0067] The display panel 000 may include a first display region AA1 and a second display region AA2. The transmittance of the first display region AA1 may be smaller than the transmittance of the second display region AA2, that is, the light transmittance of the second display region AA2 may be relatively high.
As in claim 26, Dong in view of Hong et al discloses the display panel (Fig 1) 323according to claim 1, wherein the display panel has a first display mode and a second display mode; in the first display mode, the first light-emitting device emits light, and the second light- emitting device does not emit Light; and in the second display mode, the first light-emitting device emits light, and the second light-emitting device emits light. Hong et al [0081] As described above, in the viewing angle switchable display device according to the embodiment of the present disclosure, each sub-pixel SP1, SP2, and SP3 can have the first and second emission areas EA1 and EA2, and the first and second emission areas EA1 and EA2 can be selectively driven by providing the lens 230 only in the second emission area EA2, thereby implementing a wide view mode and a narrow view mode. [0085] Accordingly, a wide view mode can be implemented by driving the first emission area EA1, and a narrow view mode can be implemented by driving the second emission area EA2.
As in claim 27, Dong in view of Hong et al discloses the display panel (Fig 1) according to claim 1, further comprising pixel circuits located between the substrate and the light-emitting devices, wherein one of the pixel circuits is connected to one first light-emitting device and one second Light-emitting device (Fig 3 and Par 0043) discloses pixel circuits located between the substrate and the light-emitting devices wherein pixel circuits is connected to light-emitting device; and Hong et al (Fig 2, 7) discloses pixel circuits located between the substrate and the light-emitting devices wherein pixel circuits is connected to light-emitting device
one of the pixel circuits comprises a driving transistor, a first light-emitting control module, a second light-emitting control module, a first electrode reset transistor and a second electrode reset transistor; the first light-emitting control module is connected between the driving transistor and a first electrode of the first light-emitting device, and the second light-emitting control module is connected between the driving transistor and a first electrode of the second light-emitting device; and the first electrode reset transistor is connected to the first electrode of the first light- emitting device, and the second electrode reset transistor is connected to the first electrode of the second light-emitting device. Hong et al (Fig 7) discloses pixel circuits comprises a driving transistor (DT), a first light-emitting control module (T4), a second light-emitting control module (T6), a first electrode reset transistor (T5) and a second electrode reset transistor (T7); the first light-emitting control module (T4) is connected between the driving transistor (DT) and a first electrode of the first light-emitting device (De1), and the second light-emitting control module (T6) is connected between the driving transistor (DT) and a first electrode of the second light-emitting device (De2); and the first electrode reset transistor (T5) is connected to the first electrode of the first light- emitting device (De1), and the second electrode reset transistor (T7) is connected to the first electrode of the second light-emitting device (De2).
As in claim 28, Dong in view of Hong et al discloses the display panel (Fig 1) according to claim 27, wherein one of the pixel circuits further comprises a third light-emitting control module, one end of the third light-emitting control module is connected to a first power supply signal, and another end of the third light-emitting control module is connected to the driving transistor; the display panel further comprises a first Light-emitting control line (EM) and a second light- emitting control line (EM3); and a control end of the first light-emitting control module and a control end of the third light-emitting control module are connected to the first light-emitting control line, and a control end of the second light-emitting control module is connected to the second light-emitting control line. Hong et al (Fig 7) discloses the connection of light-emitting control module (TFT) and emission signals (i.e. Light-emitting control line). [0109] The driving transistor DT can be switched according to a voltage of a first electrode of the storage capacitor Cst and can be connected to the high potential voltage VDD. The first transistor T1 can be switched according to the first gate signal Scan1 and can be connected to the data signal Vdata. The second transistor T2 can be switched according to the second gate signal Scan2 and can be connected to the driving transistor DT. The third transistor T3 can be switched according to the first emission signal EM1 and can be connected to the reference signal Vref. The fourth transistor T4 can be switched according to the second emission signal EM2 and can be connected to the driving transistor DT. The fifth transistor T5 can be switched according to the second gate signal Scan2 and can be connected to the reference signal Vref and the fourth transistor T4. The sixth transistor T6 can be switched according to the third emission signal EM3 and can be connected to the driving transistor DT. The seventh transistor T7 can be switched according to the second gate signal Scan2 and can be connected to the reference signal Vref and the sixth transistor T6.
As in claim 29, Dong in view of Hong et al discloses the display panel (Fig 1)according to claim 28, wherein a working cycle of the pixel circuit comprises a reset phase, a writing phase and a light- emitting phase; the display panel has a first display mode; and in the first display mode, in the reset phase and the writing phase, the first light-emitting control line provides a non-enable signal, and the second light-emitting control line provides a non-enable signal; and in the light-emitting phase, the first light-emitting control line provides an enable signal, and the second light-emitting control line provides a non-enable signal. Hong et al (Fig 9 and Par 0114-0118) discloses working cycle of the pixel circuit comprises initialization period (reset phase) a writing phase and emission period (light- emitting phase). [0114] FIG. 9 is a waveform diagram showing the plurality of signals used in the sub-pixel of the viewing angle switchable display device. [0111] The first light-emitting diode De1 can implement the wide view mode or the low power mode in the ON state and the narrow view mode in the OFF state.[0112] The second light-emitting diode De2 can implement the narrow view mode or the low power mode in the ON state.
As in claim 30, Dong in view of Hong et al discloses the display panel (Fig 1)according to claim 28, wherein a working cycle of the pixel circuit comprises a reset phase, a writing phase and a light- emitting phase; the display panel has a second display mode; and in the second display mode, in the reset phase and the writing phase, the first light-emitting control line provides a non-enable signal, and the second light-emitting control line provides a non-enable signal; and in the light-emitting phase, the first light-emitting control line provides an enable signal and the second light-emitting control line provides an enable signal. Hong et al (Fig 9 and Par 0114-0118) discloses working cycle of the pixel circuit comprises initialization period (reset phase) a writing phase and emission period (light- emitting phase). [0114] FIG. 9 is a waveform diagram showing the plurality of signals used in the sub-pixel of the viewing angle switchable display device. .[0112] The second light-emitting diode De2 can implement the narrow view mode or the low power mode in the ON state. Therefore, it would have been obvious and well known to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the filing to drive viewing angle switchable display device in a second mode (i.e. narrow view mode) using said pixel circuit.
As in claim 31, Dong in view of Hong et al discloses the display panel (Fig 1) according to claim 1, further comprising a first pixel area and a second pixel area, wherein the first pixel area comprises at least two first light-emitting devices of different colors, and the second pixel area comprises at least two second light-emitting devices of different colors; and the first pixel area and the second pixel area are alternated along a second direction, and/or the first pixel area and the second pixel area are alternated along a third direction; and the second direction and the third direction intersect each other. Dong [0087] One light-emitting element 20 may include one first light-emitting element 201, one second light-emitting element 202, and one third light-emitting element 203. The first light-emitting element 201, the second light-emitting element 202, and the third light-emitting element 203 may be light-emitting elements in the display panel 000 with different colors. [0102] the first light-emitting element 201 and the second light-emitting element 202 are two light-emitting elements 20 of different colors. And Hong et al (Fig 6) discloses different pixel areas having at least two first light-emitting devices and the first pixel area and the second pixel area are alternated along a second direction
As in claim 32, Dong in view of Hong et al discloses the display panel (Fig 1) according to claim 1, comprising pixel areas, wherein one of pixel areas comprises at least two sub-pixels of different colors, and wherein the sub-pixel comprises at least one of the first light-emitting devices and at least one of the second light-emitting devices that have a same color. (Fig 1 and Par 0043 and 0053, 0066, 0068) discloses the display panel having pixel areas comprises sub-pixels of different colors. [0066] The colors of the first light-emitting elements 201 and the second light-emitting elements 202 may be same. Hong et al (Fig 1 & 6) discloses the sub-pixel comprises at least one of the first light-emitting devices and at least one of the second light-emitting devices that have a same color.
As in claim 33, Dong discloses a display apparatus (Fig 1), comprising a display panel (Fig 1 and Par 0003), wherein the display panel comprises:
a substrate; (Fig 3 item 10)
a display layer (Fig 3, 18, 20 items 50-70) located on a side of the substrate (Fig 3, 18, 20 item 10), wherein the display layer (Fig 3, 18, 20 items 50-70) comprises a pixel definition layer (Fig 3, 18, 20 item 60) and light-emitting devices (Fig 3, 18, 20 item 20), the pixel definition layer (Fig 3, 18, 20 item 60) comprises a first opening and a second opening (Fig 3, 18, 20 item 600A and 600B), one of the light-emitting devices comprises a first light-emitting device and a second light-emitting device [(Fig 3 and Par 0044) [0044] One light-emitting element 20 may include one first light-emitting element 201 and one second light-emitting element 202.], the first light-emitting device is located in the first opening, and the second light-emitting device is located in the second opening (Fig 3, 18, 20);
a light-blocking structure (Fig 3, 18, 20 item 30 and Par 0039) located on a side of the display layer away from the substrate, wherein an orthographic projection of at least part of the light-blocking structure on the substrate is located between orthographic projections of two adjacent light-emitting devices on the substrate; ((Fig 3, 18, 20 item 30 and Par 0039, 0041-0042) discloses [0039] light-blocking structures 30 at a side of the light-emitting elements 20 away from the substrate 10. [0041] One light-blocking structure 30 may include a first light-blocking structure 301 and a second light-blocking structure 302. An orthographic projection of the first light-blocking structure 301 of one light-blocking structure 30 on the substrate 10 may at least partially surround the first light-emitting element 201 of one corresponding light-emitting element 20.
along a first direction, a distance between the light-blocking structure and the first opening is smaller than a distance between the light-blocking structure and the second opening, and the first direction is parallel to a plane of the substrate; (Fig 3, 18, 20 item d1, d2 and Par 0041-0042, 0048 and 0049) [0048] In the display panel 000 provided by the present disclosure, along the first direction X, a distance from the first light-blocking structure 301 to the corresponding first light-emitting element 201 may be d1. A distance from the second light-blocking structure 302 to the corresponding second light-emitting element 202 may be d2….Along the first direction X, the distance d1 between the first light-blocking structure 301 and the first light-emitting element 201 may be different form the distance d2 between the second light-blocking structure 302 and the second light-emitting element 202. [0049] Along the first direction X, the distance d1 between the first light-blocking structure 301 and the first light-emitting element 201 may be smaller than the distance d2 between the second light-blocking structure 302 and the second light-emitting element 202.
But fails to disclose light-guiding structures located on the side of the display layer away from the substrate, wherein along a direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate, the first light-emitting device at least partially overlaps one of the light-guiding structures, and/or the second light- emitting device at least partially overlaps with one of the light-guiding structures.
However Hong et al (Fig 1 and Par 0039) discloses light-guiding structures (i.e. lenses 230) located on the side of the display layer away from the substrate (110) along a direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate wherein the first light-emitting device (De2) overlaps one of the light-guiding structures (230), and/or the second light- emitting device (De2) overlaps with one of the light-guiding structures (230). [0039] The lenses 230 can be provided on the optical gap layer 220. The lenses 230 can be disposed to correspond to the second emission areas EA2 of the first, second, and third sub-pixels SP1, SP2, and SP3, respectively. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the filing to modify Dong with the teaching of Hong et al wherein light-guiding structures is added to the display device in order to achieve higher luminance and provide the user with a device that has narrower viewing angle display for security.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 5-12, 15-20, and 23 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior art of record singularly or in combination thereof fails to disclose the structure the (first) light-guiding as recited in claim 5 wherein the first refractive portion has a first hollow, and at least part of the second refractive portion is located in the first hollow; and along the direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate, the first hollow at least partially overlaps the first light-emitting device. And second light-guiding structure comprises a third refractive portion and a fourth refractive portion, and the third refractive portion has a second hollow, and at least part of the fourth refractive portion is located in the second hollow; and along the direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate, the second hollow at least partially overlaps the second light-emitting device (as recited in claim 17).
Conclusion
/BENYAM KETEMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626