DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 10/28/2025 is acknowledged.
In the response, Applicant identified Species I is drawn to claims 1-9, 13-16, 18 and 20. Accordingly, claims 10-12, 17 and 19 are non-elected claims and therefore are withdrawn from consideration. Additionally, because claims 18 and 20 depend upon claim 17, claims 18 and 20 are also withdrawn from consideration. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/28/2025.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
positioning section for positioning the sand prevention cover with respect to the hub in claim 1
fixing section for fixing the sand prevention cover to the hub in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Spaggiari (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2012/0201705).
As per claim 1, Spaggiari discloses a cooling fan (1), comprising: a sand prevention cover (13; figure 3) covering a hub (8) of the cooling fan; a connection structure comprising at least one positioning section, for positioning the sand prevention cover with respect to the hub , and at least one fixing section for fixing the sand prevention cover to the hub (see annotated figure 3 below), wherein the connection structure is formed as part of the sand prevention cover and as part of the hub (see annotated figure 3 below).
As per claim 2, Spaggiari discloses the cooling fan of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the at least one positioning section and/or the at least one fixing section are formed at an outer ring segment and/or at an inner ring segment of the hub (positioning section at the outer ring of hub 8 and fixing section at the inner ring of hub 8 as shown; see annotated figure 3 above).
As per claim 3, Spaggiari discloses the cooling fan of claim 1, and further discloses wherein one positioning section of the at least one positioning section and/or one fixing section of the at least one fixing section are formed continuously along the inner or the outer ring segment (the positioning section has ring 13b, i.e., a continuous body engaging the outer ring of hub 8; paragraph [0062]; figures 3, 6).
As per claim 4, Spaggiari discloses the cooling fan of claim 2, and further discloses wherein the outer ring segment and the inner ring segment are each arranged on different radial positions of the hub (as shown; figure 3).
As per claim 5, Spaggiari discloses the cooling fan of claim 2, and further discloses wherein the sand prevention cover covers an area between the outer ring segment and the inner ring segment (as shown, cover 13 covers between the inner ring and the outer ring; see annotated figure 3 above).
As per claim 6, Spaggiari discloses the cooling fan of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the at least one fixing section and/or the at least one positioning section include at least one tongue and groove joint (as shown, ring 13b forms a tongue inserted to a groove formed by the outer ring of the cylindrical wall 12; see annotated figure 3 above).
As per claim 7, Spaggiari discloses the cooling fan of claim 6, and further discloses wherein the tongue and groove joint includes at least one tongue protruding in an axial direction of the cooling fan (as shown, the tongue extends in the axial direction; see annotated figure 3 above).
As per claim 8, Spaggiari discloses the cooling fan of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the at least one fixing section includes at least one weld seam (cover 13 is welded to hub 8, i.e., having a weld seam; paragraph [0077]).
As per claim 9, Spaggiari discloses the cooling fan of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the at least one fixing section includes at least one adhesive layer configured to fix the sand prevention cover to the hub by at least one adhesive bond (cover 13 is fastened and sealed to hub 8 by gluing cover 13 to hub 8; paragraph [0076]).
As per claim 13, Spaggiari discloses the cooling fan of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the at least one positioning section and the at least one fixing section are arranged on different axial positions with respect to an axial direction of the cooling fan (positioning section at the axial end of hub 8 and connection section located at base portion 18b having different axial positions; figure 3).
As per claim 14, Spaggiari discloses the cooling fan of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the sand prevention cover includes an inclined surface extending between the at least one positioning section and the at least one fixing section (cover 13, at discoidal portion 13a (located between the positioning section and the fixing section), forms a inclined surface with respect to the rotational axis R; figure 3).
As per claim 15, Spaggiari discloses the cooling fan of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the sand prevention cover includes a number of radial ribs (30) extending between the at least one positioning section and the at least one fixing section (as shown; figures 3, 5).
As per claim 16, Spaggiari discloses the cooling fan of claim 8, and further discloses wherein the at least one weld seam is formed by ultrasonic welding or hot melt welding (laser or ultrasound welding; paragraph [0077]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu (U.S. Patent No. 7,034,417) teaches a cover for a fan hub fitted through hooks formed at the hub.
Watanabe (U.S. Patent No. 6,158,985) teaches a motor support that covers inner and outer rings of a fan hub.
Bleier (U.S. Patent No. 4,610,600) teaches a cover for a axial fan hub.
Azzouz (U.S. Patent No. 12,088,181) teaches a cap within a hub of a fan to redirect the flow within the hub.
Dai (U.S. Patent No. 12,313,080) is a non-prior art (filed after the effective filing date of the current application) that teaches a sand prevention cover between an outer ring and inner ring of the hub.
/SANG K KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745