DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “eye blink detection classifier”, “determination component” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun et al. (MEMS ultrasonic transducers for safe, low-power and portable eye-blinking monitoring, 2022, Microsystems & Nanoengineering, Vol. 8, No. 63, Pages 1-14), hereinafter “Sun”.
Regarding claim 1, Sun teaches:
An apparatus (See the Abstract.), comprising:
a processor that executes computer-executable components stored in a computer-readable memory, the computer-executable components comprising (See the “PC” in Fig. 5.):
an eye blink detection classifier component that generates a classification of ultrasonic information (See Fig. 8c on page 11, four state classifications of the eye based on signals from ultrasonic transducer arrays in Fig. 5.) as indicative of at least one of liveness, an eye blink, a predetermined set of eye blinks, or a predetermined blinking pattern of a user of a wearable device comprising the apparatus via an eye blink classification algorithm (See Fig. 6, the depicted blink states meet the claimed single “eye blink”, “predetermined set of eye blinks”, and “predetermined blinking pattern” (one eye open, one eye closed).);
a determination component that generates a confirmation of the liveness or a determination of the at least one of the eye blink, the predetermined set of eye blinks, or the predetermined blinking pattern of the user of the wearable device based at least in part on the classification (See page 12, left column: “The first 100 sets of data at the beginning of the experiment are divided into two clusters, which are regarded as labeled data. The midpoint of the two cluster centers is used as the criterion to classify the subsequent data. After that, the classified data are added to the cluster, the cluster center is recalculated, and the criteria are updated.”); and
a user interface (UI) component configured to generate at least one of a data set or instruction configured to facilitate user control of the wearable device based at least in part on the confirmation of the liveness or the determination of the at least one of the eye blink, the predetermined set of eye blinks, or the predetermined blinking pattern of the user of the wearable device (See page 2, left column: “In addition, blinking monitoring can be adopted in human–machine interactions…Furthermore, people are able to experience immersive interaction with AR/VR headsets and smart glasses by seamlessly integrating eye blinking monitoring and eye-tracking functions into smart devices.”).
Regarding claim 2, Sun teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: an ultrasonic transceiver that generates the ultrasonic information (See Fig. 5.).
Regarding claim 3, Sun teaches:
The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the ultrasonic information comprises ultrasonic time of flight range information (See page 2, right column: “Based on time-of-flight (TOF) pulse echoes and a dynamic unsupervised learning method, we achieved eye state recognition as a demonstration of portable human blink monitoring.”).
Regarding claim 4, Sun teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the ultrasonic transceiver is positioned within the wearable device such that the field of view of the ultrasonic transceiver will sense at least one eye of the user when the wearable device is being worn by the user (See Figs. 5-6.).
Regarding claim 5, Sun teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the ultrasonic transceiver is configured to emit ultrasonic pulses and receive echoes as the ultrasonic information (See Fig. 5 and the Abstract; “Low-power pulse-echo ultrasound featuring biosafety is transmitted and received by microelectromechanical system (MEMS) ultrasonic transducers seamlessly integrated on glasses.”), and wherein the eye blink classification algorithm is configured to analyze expected echoes of the ultrasonic pulses on the user (See Fig. 8a.) to provide the confirmation of the liveness of the user or the determination of the at least one of the eye blink, the predetermined set of eye blinks, or the predetermined blinking pattern by the user (See Figs. 6 and 8c.).
Regarding claim 6, Sun teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the eye blink classification algorithm is based at least in part on a machine learning model trained on captured and classified ultrasonic information received during a plurality of states of use of a test wearable device (See page 12, left column: “To better adapt to different people, a dynamic unsupervised learning method is used for state classification.”).
Regarding claim 7, Sun teaches:
The apparatus of claim 6, wherein the machine learning model is based on an eye blink detection classifier trained on the captured and the classified ultrasonic information received during the plurality of states of use of the test wearable device (See page 12, left column: “The first 100 sets of data at the beginning of the experiment are divided into two clusters, which are regarded as labeled data. The midpoint of the two cluster centers is used as the criterion to classify the subsequent data. After that, the classified data are added to the cluster, the cluster center is recalculated, and the criteria are updated. Compared with supervised learning, this method does not need to label large amounts of data.”).
Regarding claim 8, Sun teaches:
The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the eye blink detection classifier component is configured to generate the classification of the ultrasonic information as indicative of the at least one of the liveness, the eye blink, the predetermined set of eye blinks, or the predetermined blinking pattern based at least in part on the eye blink classification algorithm, wherein the eye blink classification algorithm is configured to compute magnitude of samples of ultrasonic information, wherein the eye blink classification algorithm is configured to normalize the magnitude of samples of ultrasonic information as a function of ultrasonic transceiver operating frequency to generate normalized magnitude ultrasonic information (See the normalized voltage in Fig. 6.), wherein the eye blink classification algorithm is configured to compute a set of feature vectors in the normalized magnitude ultrasonic information, and wherein the eye blink classification algorithm is configured to determine a set of feature classification labels and corresponding confidence factors using the eye blink detection classifier (See page 12, left column: “The first 100 sets of data at the beginning of the experiment are divided into two clusters, which are regarded as labeled data. The midpoint of the two cluster centers is used as the criterion to classify the subsequent data. After that, the classified data are added to the cluster, the cluster center is recalculated, and the criteria are updated. Compared with supervised learning, this method does not need to label large amounts of data.” K-means clustering assigns vectors to centroids.).
Regarding claim 9, Sun teaches:
The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the determination component is configured to generate the confirmation of the liveness or the determination of the at least one of the eye blink, the predetermined set of eye blinks, or the predetermined blinking pattern based at least in part on the set of feature classification labels and corresponding confidence factors (See page 12, left column: “K-means clustering is performed on the first 100 groups of TOF data obtained from the experiment”).
Regarding claim 10, Sun teaches:
The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the determination component is further configured to generate the confirmation or determination of the liveness or the at least one of the eye blink or the predetermined set of eye blinks of the user of the wearable device to determine a donned or a doffed state of the wearable device, based at least in part on at least one of an eye blink detection classifier component classification of the eye blink or the predetermined set of eye blinks (Detection/classification of one of the four states in Fig. 8c implies that the system first determines that the glasses are worn.).
Regarding claim 11, Sun teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the eye blink detection classifier component, for a plurality of measurement vectors associated with the ultrasonic information, is configured to generate a classification prediction of at least one of the eye blink, the predetermined set of eye blinks, or the predetermined blinking pattern of the user of the wearable device (See page 12, left column: “The first 100 sets of data at the beginning of the experiment are divided into two clusters, which are regarded as labeled data. The midpoint of the two cluster centers is used as the criterion to classify the subsequent data. After that, the classified data are added to the cluster, the cluster center is recalculated, and the criteria are updated. Compared with supervised learning, this method does not need to label large amounts of data.” K-means clustering assigns vectors to centroids.).
Regarding claim 12, Sun teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the eye blink detection classifier component is further configured to distinguish between a natural eye blink, characterized by at least one of a nominal eye blink speed, duration, or interval, and at least one of a voluntary long blink, the predetermined set of eye blinks comprising a plurality of eye blinks, or the predetermined blinking pattern (See Fig. 8c, state 3 “All closed” for the depicted duration meeting the claimed “natural eye blink”, and states 2 and 4 meeting the claimed “plurality of eye blinks” and “predetermined blinking pattern”.).
Regarding claim 13, Sun teaches:
The apparatus of claim 12, wherein the predetermined blinking pattern comprises the plurality of eye blinks, wherein characteristics of each eye blink of the plurality of eye blinks differ from a successive eye blink of the plurality of eye blinks in at least one of blink speed, blink duration, interval to next eye blink, or which one or both of the left eye blink or right eye blink (See states 2 and 4 in Fig. 8c.).
Regarding claim 15, Sun teaches:
A method (See the Abstract.), comprising:
generating, by an ultrasonic transceiver operatively coupled to a processor, ultrasonic information associated with a user of a wearable device (See Figs. 5-6.);
generating a classification, via an eye blink detection classifier component associated with a memory coupled to the processor, of the ultrasonic information (See Fig. 8c on page 11, four state classifications of the eye based on signals from ultrasonic transducer arrays in Fig. 5.) as indicative of at least one of liveness, an eye blink, a predetermined set of eye blinks, or a predetermined blinking pattern of the user of the wearable device according to an eye blink classification algorithm executed by the processor (See Fig. 6, the depicted blink states meet the claimed single “eye blink”, “predetermined set of eye blinks”, and “predetermined blinking pattern” (one eye open, one eye closed).);
generating a confirmation, via a determination component associated with the memory, of the liveness or a determination of the at least one of the eye blink, the predetermined set of eye blinks, or the predetermined blinking pattern of the user of the wearable device based at least in part on the classification (See page 12, left column: “The first 100 sets of data at the beginning of the experiment are divided into two clusters, which are regarded as labeled data. The midpoint of the two cluster centers is used as the criterion to classify the subsequent data. After that, the classified data are added to the cluster, the cluster center is recalculated, and the criteria are updated.”); and
generating, via a user interface (UI) component associated with the memory, at least one of a data set or instruction configured to facilitate user control of the wearable device based at least in part on the confirmation of the liveness or the determination of the at least one of the eye blink, the predetermined set of eye blinks, or the predetermined blinking pattern of the user of the wearable device (See page 2, left column: “In addition, blinking monitoring can be adopted in human–machine interactions…Furthermore, people are able to experience immersive interaction with AR/VR headsets and smart glasses by seamlessly integrating eye blinking monitoring and eye-tracking functions into smart devices.”).
Sun teaches claim 16 for the reasons given in the treatment of claim 8.
Sun teaches claim 17 for the reasons given in the treatment of claim 9.
Sun teaches claim 18 for the reasons given in the treatment of claim 10.
Sun teaches claim 19 for the reasons given in the treatment of claim 12.
Sun teaches claim 20 for the reasons given in the treatment of claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (MEMS ultrasonic transducers for safe, low-power and portable eye-blinking monitoring, 2022, Microsystems & Nanoengineering, Vol. 8, No. 63, Pages 1-14) in view of Asaduzzaman et al. (An Eye Blinking Password Based Liveness Monitoring System to Improve the Detection of Video Spoofing, October 2015, International Journal of Mechatronics, Electrical and Computer Technology, Vol. 5, No. 17, Pages 2398-2407), hereinafter “Asaduzzaman”.
Claim 14 is met by the combination of Sun and Asaduzzaman, wherein
Sun teaches:
The apparatus of claim 12, wherein the UI component is further configured to
Sun does not explicitly disclose the following; however, Asaduzzaman discloses:
generate the at least one of the data set or instruction that facilitates user authentication of the user of the wearable device based at least in part on the determination of the at least one of the eye blink, the predetermined set of eye blinks, or the predetermined blinking pattern of the user of the wearable device (See Fig. 3 and the Abstract: “An eye blinking password system using ultrasonic range sensing module is developed for liveliness detection of the users.”).
Sun and Asaduzzaman together disclose the limitations of claim 14. Asaduzzaman is directed to a similar field of art (eye blink detection and biometrics using an ultrasonic module). Therefore, Sun and Asaduzzaman are combinable. Modifying the system and method of Sun by adding the capability of “[generating] the at least one of the data set or instruction that facilitates user authentication of the user of the wearable device based at least in part on the determination of the at least one of the eye blink, the predetermined set of eye blinks, or the predetermined blinking pattern of the user”, as disclosed by Asaduzzaman, would yield the expected and predictable result of improved security of the smartglasses or VR headset. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Sun and Asaduzzaman in this way.
Contact
/Jonathan S Lee/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2677