DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-3, 5-10, 12-16 and 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Nachtomy et al. (US 20230135733).
Regarding claim 2, Nachtomy teaches a method, comprising: detecting movement of a catheter within a portion of a patient's anatomy to an area of interest identified from pre-procedural images; and generating a three-dimensional (3D) model of the portion of the patient's anatomy from intra-procedural cone beam computed tomography (CBCT) images, wherein the 3D model includes the area of interest (para 70-72).
Regarding claim 9, Nachtomy teaches a method, comprising: generating a three-dimensional (3D) model of a portion of a patient's anatomy from pre- procedural images, wherein the 3D model includes an area of interest; detecting movement of a catheter within the portion of the patient's anatomy; and updating the location of the area of interest in the 3D model based on intra-procedural cone beam computed tomography (CBCT) images (para 70-72).
Regarding claim 15, Nachtomy teaches a system, comprising: a catheter 104; a display 18; and a memory and a processor (para 142), the memory storing instructions, which when executed by the processor cause the processor to: display, on the display, a three-dimensional (3D) model of a portion of a patient's anatomy, including an area of interest; wherein the 3D model is generated from pre-procedural images; detect advancement of a catheter within the portion of the patient's anatomy; update a location of the area of interest in the 3D model, based on intra- procedural CBCT images; and display the updated location of the area of interest in the 3D model (para 70-72).
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 16, Nachtomy teaches the intra-procedural CBCT images are received from a CBCT machine (para 72).
Regarding claim 5, Nachtomy teaches the 3D model includes a pathway to the area of interest (para 78-83).
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 19, Nachtomy teaches movement of the catheter within the portion of the patient's anatomy is detected based on information from a sensor associated with the catheter (para 84-87).
Regarding claims 7 and 20, Nachtomy teaches the sensor is an electromagnetic or fiber-optic shape sensor (para 84-87).
Regarding claim 8, Nachtomy teaches registering a location of the catheter within the portion of the patient's anatomy to the 3D model (para 84-87).
Regarding claims 12 and 18, Nachtomy teaches updating the location of the catheter in the 3D model based on the intra-procedural CBCT images (para 70-72).
Regarding claims 14 and 21, Nachtomy teaches adjusting a position of the catheter relative to the area of interest (para 84-87).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 11 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nachtomy in view of Wang et al. (US 20180271459).
Nachtomy fails to teach the intra-procedural CBCT images are received from a mobile CBCT machine.
Wang teaches a mobile CBCT machine (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the CBCT of Nachtomy with the mobile CBCT as taught by Wang, since it would provide better mobility.
Conclusion
/HOON K SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884