DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
No claim limitation has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because each term (e.g., ‘capture member’) connotes sufficient structure to a POSITA. See MPEP § 2181. If applicant contends otherwise, please point to supporting disclosure.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 24, 25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 2 and 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,234,727. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the instant claim is anticipated by the reference patent claim 1. Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,234,727 recites the distal segment being generally curved, the proximal segment being generally curved and concave, and capturing intraluminal tissue of the blood vessel with the proximal segment of the capture member and the and the instant claim does not. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have viewed omission the generally curved and concave description of the distal and proximal segments as being the same as the proximal and distal segments of the instant claim as having different curved profiles. Furthermore, the step of capturing the intraluminal tissue with the proximal segment would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art as a means to facilitating the modification of intraluminal tissue. Therefore, the instant claim is not patentably distinct.
Claims of Instant Application 19/086036
Corresponding Claims of Reference Patent 11,234,727
1
1
24
2
25
3
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wilson et al. (US 2016/0166243A1).
Regarding claim 29, Wilson discloses a method for modifying intraluminal tissue including intravascularly delivering a distal portion of a treatment system (900,1000; Figs. 9, 10) to a treatment site within a blood vessel [0094, 0097; Fig. 9, 10].The distal portion of the treatment system includes an outer shaft (904, 1004) and an inner shaft (906, 1006). Capture members (902, 1002) of the outer shaft are actuated [0094, 0097] from a low-profile state (Fig. 9A) to a deployed state (Fig. 9B). Each of the capture members includes a first portion extending between a proximal joint (1030c) and an intermediate joint (1030b) of the outer shaft and a second portion extending between the intermediate joint (1030b) and a distal joint (1030a) of the outer shaft. Wilson discloses capturing the intraluminal tissue of the blood vessel with the second portion of the capture members [0094, 0097].
Regarding claim 30, Wilson discloses actuating the capture members from the low-profile state to the deployed state includes moving the inner shaft proximally with respect to the outer shaft [0094, 0097].
Regarding claim 35, Wilson discloses deploying cutting elements (1021; Fig. 10) radially outwardly away from a longitudinal axis of the outer shaft. The cutting elements are moved relative to the capture members to cut the intraluminal tissue captured by the second portion of the capture members [0097].
Regarding claim 36, Wilson discloses moving the cutting elements relative to the capture members includes moving each of the cutting elements through a slot [0096] in a corresponding one of the capture members (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 37, Wilson discloses that the capture members are deployed to cause each of the capture members to flex or bend at each of the distal, proximal and intermediate joints (Figs. 9a,b, 10; [0092]).
Regarding claim 29, Wilson discloses a method for modifying intraluminal tissue including intravascularly delivering a distal portion of a treatment system (2100; Figs. 21A) to a treatment site within a blood vessel [0143].The distal portion of the treatment system includes an outer shaft (2104) and an inner shaft (2106). Capture members (2102) of the outer shaft are actuated [0143] from a low-profile state to a deployed state. Each of the capture members includes a first portion extending between a proximal joint and an intermediate joint of the outer shaft and a second portion extending between the intermediate joint and a distal joint of the outer shaft (please see annotated figure below). Wilson discloses capturing the intraluminal tissue of the blood vessel with the second portion of the capture members [0143].
Regarding claim 31, Wilson discloses actuating the capture members from the low-profile state to the deployed state includes moving the outer shaft distally with respect to the inner shaft [0143].
Regarding claim 34, Wilson discloses expanding tensioning arms (2182; Fig. 21) to extend outwardly away from the outer shaft. The tensioning arms are radially offset from the capture members to increase radial tension on the blood vessel [0134].
Regarding claim 38, Wilson discloses a method for modifying intraluminal tissue including intravascularly delivering a distal portion (Fig. 10) of a treatment system to a treatment site within a blood vessel. An inner shaft (1006) of the treatment system is moved proximally with respect to an outer shaft of the treatment system [0094, 0097]. The inner shaft is fixed to the outer shaft at a distal end (1014) of the inner shaft such that moving the inner shaft proximally with respect to the outer shaft causes capture members of the outer shaft to bend outwardly away from a longitudinal axis of the outer shaft into a deployed state (Fig. 9, Fig. 10; [0097]). In the deployed state, each of the capture members includes a proximal segment (1030c; Fig. 10) extending between a proximal joint and an intermediate joint (1030b) and a distal segment that extends between the intermediate joint (1030b) and a distal joint (1030a). A portion of the intraluminal tissue is engaged within a capture region formed by the distal segments of the capture members [0097].
Regarding claim 39, Wilson discloses deploying a cutting element (1021; Fig. 10) at the distal portion of the treatment system such that blades (1025) of the cutting element extend outwardly away from the longitudinal axis of the outer shaft to cut the portion of the intraluminal tissue engaged (tissue separated and used to create a dissection pocket) by the capture region.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson et al. (US 2016/0166243A1, “Wilson”).
Regarding claim 21, Wilson discloses a method for modifying intraluminal tissue including intravascularly delivering a distal portion of an elongated shaft (904) to a treatment site within a blood vessel [0094; Fig. 9]. A capture member (903; [0091]) at the distal portion is deployed [0094] such that the capture member bends outwardly away from a longitudinal axis of the elongated shaft. The capture member includes a distal segment (901a) having a first curved profile between a distal joint (930a) of the capture member and an intermediate joint (930b) of the capture member. A proximal segment (901b) has a generally linear profile between the intermediate joint (930b) and a proximal joint (930c) of the capture member [0093]. Wilson does not expressly disclose that the proximal segment includes a second curved profile between the intermediate joint and a proximal joint of the capture member, wherein the second curved profile is different from the first curved profile.
Wilson teaches that the length of each segment (901; [0093]), the angle between the segments (901a,b) and/or the shape of each segment (e.g., linear, curved, etc.) can be varied along a single dissection arm to achieve a desired dissection pocket and/or leaflet shape. As seen in Wilson, the shape (linear/curved) of the proximal segment are disclosed as result effective variables in that changing the shape of the proximal segment such that the proximal segment includes a curved profile different from the curved profile of the distal segment which affects the ability to achieve a desired dissection pocket. Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the proximal segment of Wilson to have a different curved profile than the distal segment, as it involves only adjusting the shape of the segments disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proximal segment of Wilson by making the curved profile of the proximal segment different than the curved profile of the distal segment, as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 22, Wilson discloses that the first curved profile is concave away from a proximal portion of the elongated shaft (Fig. 9B).
Regarding claim 23, Wilson discloses capturing a portion of the intraluminal tissue of the blood vessel with the distal segment of the capture member [0094].
Regarding claims 24 and 27, Wilson discloses that the capture member is one of a plurality of capture members (opposing side including proximal and distal segments of capture member in claim 21 above; Fig. 9B). The elongated shaft is an outer shaft (904). The plurality of capture members are deployed by moving an inner shaft (906) disposed within the outer shaft in a proximal direction (A; Fig. 9B) relative to the outer shaft. A distal end region (914) of the inner shaft is fixed to a distal end region of the outer shaft (Fig. 9B) such that proximal movement forces the plurality of capture members to bend outwardly [0091, 0094].
Regarding claim 25, Wilson discloses that the outer shaft includes a plurality of slots (Fig. 9a; removed regions) extending along a length of the distal portion [0096], e.g., within the proximal segment of the dissection arms (1002; Fig. 10). Portions of the outer shaft between the plurality of slots define the plurality of capture members. Moving the inner shaft in the proximal direction pulls distal portions of the plurality of capture members proximally to force the plurality of capture member to bend outwardly [0093-0094].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 26, 28, 32, 33, and 40 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cox (US 2007/0005093A1) discloses a method for modifying intraluminal tissue including an inner and an outer shaft attached to capture members.
/JOCELIN C TANNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771