DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20220334639 A1 to Sanchez in view of U.S. Pub. No. 20240045202 A1 to Woodgate.
As to claim 1, Sanchez discloses a ring comprising:
a ring body suitable for wearing on a finger (Sanchez Fig. 1-4, ¶0029, smart ring for finger);
a display inset in the ring body (Sanchez Fig. 1-4, ¶0043, 0068, 0069, output unit 190 in the ring being a LED/OLED, projector that projects an image, projector modules and optical sources);
a window through which the display may be viewed from a position external to the ring body (Sanchez Fig. 1-4, ¶0068-0069, outer surface 484a where the optical source is disposed in which projects the image and a surface 496a where the output unit projects the image can be viewed from a location external to the ring see Fig. 4A and 4B);
projection optics inset in the ring body in an optical path between the display and the window (Sanchez Fig. 1-4, ¶0068-0069, projection optics 494a in the ring in an optical path between the output unit and outer surface 484a the surface 496a); and
a battery internal to the ring body which provides power to the display via a bus (Sanchez Fig. 1-4, ¶0030-0031, battery 120 in the ring providing power to output devices via bus connection).
Sanchez does not expressly disclose the projection optics structured to magnify images produced by the display such that projected images are focused on a retina of a person when viewed from a viewing distance within a range of zero to two inches.
Woodgate discloses the projection optics structured to magnify images produced by the display such that projected images are focused on a retina of a person when viewed from a viewing distance within a range of zero to two inches (Woodgate ¶0054, 0123, 0125, magnifying lens magnifies images provided by the spatial light modulator where the projected images are provided on the retina 26 when viewed from a nominal distance of 5mm to 100mm and between 8mm to 20mm from the output surface of the apparatus 100).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sanchez by the projection optics structured to magnify images produced by the display such that projected images are focused on a retina of a person when viewed from a viewing distance within a range of zero to two inches as disclosed by Woodgate. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide a magnifying lens that magnifies the image output to the user/viewer enhancing the user’s viewing experience.
As to claim 2, Sanchez discloses a processor internal to the ring body and connected to the display via the bus, the processor capable of sending image data to the display for rendering by the display (Sanchez Fig. 1-4, ¶0030, 0035-0037, 0039, 0043, 0077, controller/processor in the ring and connected to the output unit via bus and the controller/processing rendering images for the output unit).
As to claim 3, Sanchez discloses a sensor connected to the processor via the bus, the sensor capable of sensing a condition and sending sensor data characterizing the condition to the processor, wherein the processor generates the image data based at least in part on the sensor data (Sanchez Fig. 1-4, ¶0030, 0039, 0040, 0042, 0043, sensor 150 connected to controller/processor via bus and the sensor sending data to the controller/processing allowing the images rendered for display).
As to claim 4, Sanchez discloses wherein the sensor comprises at least one of: a temperature sensor, a pressure sensor, a magnetic field sensor, an accelerometer, a gyroscope, an acoustic sensor, a micro-electromechanical systems (MEMS) sensor, a biometric sensor, an optical plethysmograph, a pulse oximeter, or a heart rate sensor (Sanchez Fig. 1-4, ¶0040, MEMS sensor).
As to claim 5, Sanchez discloses wherein the sensor comprises a biometric sensor and wherein the processor generates the image data to display biometric data derived from the sensor data (Sanchez Fig. 1-4, ¶0023-0024, 0061, 0074, biometric sensor and the controller/processing rendering images for the output unit related to the biometric data).
As to claim 6, Sanchez discloses a radio integrated with the ring body, the radio connected to the processor via the bus, and the radio capable of receiving radio data signals, wherein the processor generates the image data based at least in part on the radio data signals (Sanchez Fig. 1-4, ¶0030, 0039, 0041, 0044, 0092, 0104, communication unit 160 connected to controller/processor via bus and display or otherwise convey to a user of the ring information or data received from any devices communicatively coupled to the ring).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20220334639 A1 to Sanchez in view of U.S. Pub. No. 20240045202 A1 to Woodgate and in further view of US Pub. No. 20210223555 A1 to Lemoff
As to claim 7, Sanchez does not expressly disclose wherein the display comprises an ultra-high density LED array having a display width of less than 2 millimeters.
Lemoff discloses wherein the display comprises an ultra-high density LED array having a display width of less than 2 millimeters (Lemoff Fig. 3A, ¶0005, 0042, 0051, 0053, 0055, image source, e.g. LED array with display width less than 2mm).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sanchez by wherein the display comprises an ultra-high density LED array having a display width of less than 2 millimeters as disclosed by Lemoff. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide an LED array that is small enough to fit inside small objects including a femtoprojector thereby providing appropriate magnification and good image quality.
As to claim 8, Sanchez does not expressly disclose wherein the display comprises an ultra-high density LED array having a pixel pitch of less than 12 microns.
Lemoff discloses wherein the display comprises an ultra-high density LED array having a pixel pitch of less than 12 microns (Lemoff Fig. 3A, ¶0051, image source, e.g. LED array having emitter to emitter pitch of not more than 3 microns).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sanchez by wherein the display comprises an ultra-high density LED array having a pixel pitch of less than 12 microns as disclosed by Lemoff. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide an LED array that is small enough to fit inside small objects including a femtoprojector thereby providing appropriate magnification and good image quality.
Claims 11-13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20160147081 A1 to Kilcher in view of US Pub. No. 20170208160 A1 to Kim and in further view of U.S. Pub. No. 20240045202 A1 to Woodgate.
As to claim 11, Kilcher discloses a handheld personal object, comprising:
an object body having a form factor suitable for holding in a human hand (Kilcher Fig. 16, ¶0059, watch with housing 148);
a display inset in the object body (Kilcher Fig. 1-10, 12, 16, ¶0025, 0029, 0031, 0059, light source 105 in the housing 148 of the watch);
a window through which the display may be viewed from a position external to the object body (Kilcher Fig. 1-10, 12, 16, ¶0025-0026, 0028-0030, 0059, 0065, housing 148 with area in which the light source projects through to the surface 102, 149 where the light source can be viewed by the user/viewer on the surface external to the housing 148);
projection optics inset in the object body in an optical path between the display and the window (Kilcher Fig. 1-10, 12, 16, ¶0025-0026, 0028-0030, 0059, 0065, lens 123 in the housing in an optical path between the light source 105 and with area in which the light source projects through to the surface 102, 149).
Kilcher does not expressly disclose the projection optics structured to magnify images produced by the display such that projected images are focused on a retina of a person when viewed from a viewing distance within a range of zero to two inches; and
a battery internal to the object body which provides power to the display via a bus.
Kim discloses a battery internal to the object body which provides power to the display via a bus (Kim Fig. 1, ¶0074, 0078, embedded battery providing power to display unit).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kilcher by a battery internal to the object body which provides power to the display via a bus as disclosed by Kim. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide power to various components in the watch and displaying time information to the user enhancing the user’s experience.
Kilcher and Kim do not expressly disclose the projection optics structured to magnify images produced by the display such that projected images are focused on a retina of a person when viewed from a viewing distance within a range of zero to two inches.
Woodgate discloses the projection optics structured to magnify images produced by the display such that projected images are focused on a retina of a person when viewed from a viewing distance within a range of zero to two inches (Woodgate ¶0054, 0123, 0125, magnifying lens magnifies images provided by the spatial light modulator where the projected images are provided on the retina 26 when viewed from a nominal distance of 5mm to 100mm and between 8mm to 20mm from the output surface of the apparatus 100).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kilcher and Kim by the projection optics structured to magnify images produced by the display such that projected images are focused on a retina of a person when viewed from a viewing distance within a range of zero to two inches as disclosed by Woodgate. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide a magnifying lens that magnifies the image output to the user/viewer enhancing the user’s viewing experience.
As to claim 12, Kilcher discloses where the object body comprises a watch, a key, a pen or a greeting card (Kilcher Fig. 16, ¶0059, watch with housing 148).
As to claim 13, Kilcher discloses where the object body is wearable (Kilcher Fig. 16, ¶0059, wristwatch with housing 148).
As to claim 17, Kilcher discloses a wristwatch, comprising:
a wrist band (Kilcher Fig. 16, ¶0059, wristwatch);
a watch head (Kilcher Fig. 16, ¶0059, housing 148);
a display inset in the watch head (Kilcher Fig. 1-10, 12, 16, ¶0025, 0029, 0031, 0059, light source 105 in the housing 148 of the watch);
a window through which the display may be viewed from a position external to the watch head (Kilcher Fig. 1-10, 12, 16, ¶0025-0026, 0028-0030, 0059, 0065, housing 148 with area in which the light source projects through to the surface 102, 149 where the light source can be viewed by the user/viewer on the surface external to the housing 148);
projection optics inset in the watch head in an optical path between the display and the window (Kilcher Fig. 1-10, 12, 16, ¶0025-0026, 0028-0030, 0059, 0065, lens 123 in the housing in an optical path between the light source 105 and with area in which the light source projects through to the surface 102, 149).
Kilcher does not expressly disclose a watch head including timekeeping elements.
the projection optics structured to magnify images produced by the display such that projected images are focused on a retina of a person when viewed from a viewing distance within a range of zero to two inches; and
a battery internal to the watch head which provides power to the display via a bus.
Kim discloses a watch head including timekeeping elements (Kim Fig. 2-3, 6, ¶0139, watch body having time e.g. hour/minute/second); and
a battery internal to the watch head which provides power to the display via a bus (Kim Fig. 1, ¶0074, 0078, embedded battery providing power to display unit).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kilcher by a watch head including timekeeping elements and a battery internal to the watch head which provides power to the display via a bus as disclosed by Kim. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide power to various components in the watch and displaying time information to the user enhancing the user’s experience.
Kilcher and Kim do not expressly disclose the projection optics structured to magnify images produced by the display such that projected images are focused on a retina of a person when viewed from a viewing distance within a range of zero to two inches.
Woodgate discloses the projection optics structured to magnify images produced by the display such that projected images are focused on a retina of a person when viewed from a viewing distance within a range of zero to two inches (Woodgate ¶0054, 0123, 0125, magnifying lens magnifies images provided by the spatial light modulator where the projected images are provided on the retina 26 when viewed from a nominal distance of 5mm to 100mm and between 8mm to 20mm from the output surface of the apparatus 100).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kilcher and Kim by the projection optics structured to magnify images produced by the display such that projected images are focused on a retina of a person when viewed from a viewing distance within a range of zero to two inches as disclosed by Woodgate. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide a magnifying lens that magnifies the image output to the user/viewer enhancing the user’s viewing experience.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20160147081 A1 to Kilcher in view of US Pub. No. 20170208160 A1 to Kim and in further view of U.S. Pub. No. 20240045202 A1 to Woodgate and in further view of US Pub. No. 20210223555 A1 to Lemoff.
As to claim 14, Kilcher, Kim and Woodgate do not expressly disclose wherein the display comprises an ultra-high density LED array having a display width of less than 2 millimeters.
Lemoff discloses wherein the display comprises an ultra-high density LED array having a display width of less than 2 millimeters (Lemoff Fig. 3A, ¶0005, 0042, 0051, 0053, 0055, image source, e.g. LED array with display width less than 2mm).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kilcher, Kim and Woodgate by wherein the display comprises an ultra-high density LED array having a display width of less than 2 millimeters as disclosed by Lemoff. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide an LED array that is small enough to fit inside small objects including a femtoprojector thereby providing appropriate magnification and good image quality.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20160147081 A1 to Kilcher in view of US Pub. No. 20170208160 A1 to Kim and in further view of U.S. Pub. No. 20240045202 A1 to Woodgate and in further view of US Pub. No. 20240241479 A1 to Fuji.
As to claim 18, Kilcher discloses wherein the display, the window, and the projection optics are inset at a position of the watch head (Kilcher Fig. 1-10, 12, 16, ¶0025-0026, 0028-0030, 0059, 0065, lens 123 in the housing in a optical path between the light source 105 and the surface).
Kilcher, Kim and Woodgate do not expressly disclose at a position of an hour marker of the watch head.
Fuji discloses at a position of an hour marker of the watch head (Fuji Fig. 1, ¶0017, indicator 6 next to hour marker).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kilcher, Kim and Woodgate by wherein the display, the window, and the projection optics are inset at a position of an hour marker of the watch head as disclosed by Fuji. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide the indicator at the position of the hour indicator on the watch that allows the user visually recognize the indicator enhancing the user’s experience.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20160147081 A1 to Kilcher in view of US Pub. No. 20170208160 A1 to Kim and in further view of U.S. Pub. No. 20240045202 A1 to Woodgate and in further view of US Pub. No. 20150185703 A1 to Tanaka.
As to claim 19, Kilcher, Kim and Woodgate do not expressly disclose wherein the watch head includes a plurality of hour markers having substantially same size and shape as the window for the display.
Tanaka discloses wherein the watch head includes a plurality of hour markers having substantially same size and shape as the window for the display (Tanaka ¶0053, 0055, 0081, the shapes, sizes and positions of the index 502, hour hand object 503, minute hand object 504, second hand object 505, moon phase object 506 and date window 507 are the same as the shapes, sizes and positions of those of the watch object 301).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kilcher, Kim and Woodgate by wherein the watch head includes a plurality of hour markers having substantially same size and shape as the window for the display as disclosed by Tanaka. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide different objects of the watch with same shapes and sizes enhancing the visual aesthetics of the watch.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 10, 15, 16 and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Claims 1-8, 11-14, 17-19 have been rejected.
Claims 9, 10, 15, 16 and 20 objected.
Correspondence Information
/KYU CHAE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426