DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/21/2025 and 02/24/2026 have been considered by the examiner and initialed copies of the IDS are hereby attached.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 11-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lemkin (US 20190242949 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lemkin discloses
A wireless management system (see Fig. 1A), comprising:
a control substrate, comprising a first clock (see Fig. 1A, battery controller 160 with wireless communications transceiver 150, further see paragraph 0054, “For example, all transceivers of individual WCTs 112, 114 may be synchronized to a master clock of the WCT 150 or of the battery system controller 160 based on timing information transmitted by the WCT 150 to the wireless network.”); and
a plurality of energy storage units, wherein a first energy storage unit of the energy storage units is communicatively connected to the control substrate (see Fig. 1A, module assemblies 116, etc. further see paragraph 0043, “In particular, the wireless communication transceivers 112, 114 of different battery module assemblies 116 may form a mesh communication network providing communication links between the wireless communication transceiver 112, 114 of assemblies 116 and the wireless communication transceiver 150 of the battery system controller 160.”), each of the energy storage units is communicatively connected to one of the energy storage units (see paragraph 0043, “In particular, the wireless communication transceivers 112, 114 of different battery module assemblies 116 may form a mesh communication network providing communication links between the wireless communication transceiver 112, 114 of assemblies 116 and the wireless communication transceiver 150 of the battery system controller 160.”), and each of the energy storage units comprises:
an energy storage device (see Fig. 1A, battery modules 104, 106); and
a node substrate (see Fig. 1A where CMCs 108 and 110 are nodes, further see paragraph 0034, “To address such shortcomings, the battery system 100 of FIG. 1A relies on the CMCs 108, 110 communicating wirelessly with the battery system controller 160”), electrically connected to the energy storage device (see Figs. 1A and 2, further see paragraph 0029, “Additionally or alternatively, battery modules' voltages can be measured by cell measurement circuits (CMCs) 108, 110 each connected to terminals of one or more battery cells in each module. The CMCs 108, 110 may include ADCs, signal conditioning circuitry, or other measurement circuitry operative to measure or condition voltage, current, or other electrical characteristics of the associated battery modules 104, 106. The CMCs 108, 110 may further each include a voltage or current reference circuit such as a buried-Zener reference or a bandgap reference for improved accuracy.”), wherein the node substrate comprises a second clock (see paragraph 0054 “The WCTs 112, 114, the battery system controller 160, and the WCT 150 of the battery system controller 160 may operate synchronously using a shared time reference or asynchronously using individual and non-synchronized clocks. In situations in which the transceivers operate synchronously, clocks in each of the transceivers may be synchronized with each other through wireless communication between the transceivers. For example, all transceivers of individual WCTs 112, 114 may be synchronized to a master clock of the WCT 150 or of the battery system controller 160 based on timing information transmitted by the WCT 150 to the wireless network.”);
wherein the wireless management system is configured to execute the following operations:
synchronizing the first clock and the second clock of each of the energy storage units based on a first time calibration signal transmitted by the control substrate (see paragraph 0054, “The WCTs 112, 114, the battery system controller 160, and the WCT 150 of the battery system controller 160 may operate synchronously using a shared time reference or asynchronously using individual and non-synchronized clocks. In situations in which the transceivers operate synchronously, clocks in each of the transceivers may be synchronized with each other through wireless communication between the transceivers. For example, all transceivers of individual WCTs 112, 114 may be synchronized to a master clock of the WCT 150 or of the battery system controller 160 based on timing information transmitted by the WCT 150 to the wireless network. The common clock or sense of local time can then be used to improve authentication security,”);
the energy storage units measuring the energy storage device of each of the energy storage units at a designated time point (see paragraph 0078, “Once two or more WCTs are accurately synchronized, the synchronized clocks can be used to trigger the associated CMCs to perform additional measurements and/or control using the improved sense of time. In this way, two or more battery modules can have a parameter (e.g., voltage, current, or other) measured synchronously by their respective CMCs. The CMCs can thus be configured to repeatedly and synchronously sample the respective battery modules (e.g., sensing an output voltage of the battery modules through use of an ADC). In turn, the synchronously captured samples are communicated wirelessly to the battery system controller 160 where post-sampling analysis is performed…Further, assuming the ADC sampling switch is fast and well behaved, the voltages measured by the ADC may be synchronized in time to well less than 1 ns in a relatively straightforward manner. Note that an artifact, as used herein, refers to a change in voltage, change in current, or change in other measured parameter that propagates through the series stack of battery modules.”, further see paragraph 0093”) based on a measurement signal transmitted by the control substrate to obtain a plurality of measurement data corresponding to the designated time point (see paragraph 0076, “As described above, the battery system 100 can include a large number of battery modules connected in a series stack between the terminals 101 and 102. In turn, each battery module 104, 106 is connected to an associated CMC 108, 110 and WCT 112, 114 configured to measure and wirelessly transmit a voltage, current, or other characteristic of the battery module. In some examples, the WCT and CMC may further be configured to wirelessly receive a measurement or control command from the battery system controller, and to control the operation of the CMC or associated battery module in accordance with the received command. In both instances, it may be desirable to know the position of a given battery module (or CMC or WCT associated with the battery module) in the series stack between the terminals 101 and 102.”, where the controller sends the commands to the CMCs for the measurement), wherein the measurement signal is configured to indicate the designated time point (see paragraph 0100, “In some embodiments, a local sense of time within a battery module assembly (e.g., 116), such as a sense of time determined by a local clock corrected by synchronization of the WCTs as described above, is used to time-stamp measurements performed by the battery module's CMC (e.g., to time-stamp voltage or current measurements). Corresponding time-stamps may be applied to samples made outside the battery module assembly, and/or outside of the battery system. For example, a current flow through the battery system's terminals 101 and 102 can be measured by a current-measuring circuit located outside the battery system or its housing. In this way, because the CMCs are all time-synchronized with the battery system controller, the time stamps associated with each of the voltage or current measurement samples may be used to identify and process synchronous samples even if the order at which the information arrives at the battery controller is not sequential (e.g., if the samples are received out of order, for example because of variable delay between different wireless communications paths between WCTs and the battery system controller).”); and
the control substrate obtaining the measurement data corresponding to the designated time point from the energy storage units based on a reply signal transmitted by the energy storage units (see paragraph 0093, “The first and second measurements are wirelessly transmitted to a transceiver of a battery system controller and, once received in the battery system controller, the battery system controller processes the first and the second measurements. The measurements can be processed to determine relative states of charge of the battery modules according to mathematical relations between the voltage or current measurements received from the plurality of wireless communication transceivers and synchronously measured by the plurality of CMCs.”).
Regarding claim 2, Lemkin further discloses
The wireless management system of claim 1, wherein the control substrate further comprises a first antenna, the node substrate of each of the energy storage units further comprises a second antenna and a third antenna, the first antenna of the control substrate is communicatively connected to the second antenna of the first energy storage unit, and each of the energy storage units is communicatively connected to the second antenna or the third antenna of one of the energy storage units via the second antenna or the third antenna (see Fig. 1A where the battery controller includes an antenna and each of the battery modules 112, 114, etc. also include an antenna. These modules are all in communication with each other, see paragraph 0054).
Regarding claim 3, Lemkin further discloses
The wireless management system of claim 2, wherein the first antenna of the control substrate is placed on a side adjacent to the second antenna of the first energy storage unit, and the second antenna is placed on a side adjacent to the control substrate (see Fig. 1A where the controller 160 and all the other units are “adjacent” to eachother).
Regarding claim 4, Lemkin further discloses
The wireless management system of claim 1, wherein the operation of synchronizing the first clock and the second clock of each of the energy storage units further comprises:
the control substrate transmitting the first time calibration signal to the first energy storage unit (see paragraph 0054, “For example, all transceivers of individual WCTs 112, 114 may be synchronized to a master clock of the WCT 150 or of the battery system controller 160 based on timing information transmitted by the WCT 150 to the wireless network.”); and
the first energy storage unit executing a synchronous operation based on the first time calibration signal to synchronize the first clock and the second clock of the first energy storage unit (see paragraph 0078, “In particular, a first WCT (e.g., 112) is synchronized to a second WCT (e.g., 114) using wireless transactions to synchronize the WCTs' internal clocks with high accuracy. For example, the first and second WCTs may be synchronized to within 100 μs of each other; in another example, the WCTs may be synchronized to within 1 μs, 100 ns, or 1 ns of each other. Once two or more WCTs are accurately synchronized, the synchronized clocks can be used to trigger the associated CMCs to perform additional measurements and/or control using the improved sense of time. In this way, two or more battery modules can have a parameter (e.g., voltage, current, or other) measured synchronously by their respective CMCs.”, further see paragraph 0083).
Regarding claim 5, Lemkin further discloses
The wireless management system of claim 1, wherein the operation of synchronizing the first clock and the second clock of each of the energy storage units further comprises: the first energy storage unit transmitting a second time calibration signal to a second energy storage unit of the energy storage units; and the second energy storage unit executing a synchronous operation based on the second time calibration signal to synchronize the second clock of the first energy storage unit and the second clock of the second energy storage unit (see paragraph 0078, “In particular, a first WCT (e.g., 112) is synchronized to a second WCT (e.g., 114) using wireless transactions to synchronize the WCTs' internal clocks with high accuracy. For example, the first and second WCTs may be synchronized to within 100 μs of each other; in another example, the WCTs may be synchronized to within 1 μs, 100 ns, or 1 ns of each other. Once two or more WCTs are accurately synchronized, the synchronized clocks can be used to trigger the associated CMCs to perform additional measurements and/or control using the improved sense of time. In this way, two or more battery modules can have a parameter (e.g., voltage, current, or other) measured synchronously by their respective CMCs.”, further see paragraph 0083).
Regarding claim 6, Lemkin further discloses
The wireless management system of claim 1, wherein the operation of the energy storage units measuring the energy storage device of each of the energy storage units further comprises: the control substrate transmitting the measurement signal to the first energy storage unit; in response to receiving the measurement signal, the first energy storage unit transmitting the measurement signal to a second energy storage unit of the energy storage units; and in response to receiving the measurement signal, each of the energy storage units measuring the energy storage device at the designated time point based on the second clock to obtain each of the measurement data (see paragraph 0045, “Data sent from distant wireless communication transceivers (WCTs) 212, 214 functioning as network nodes is automatically routed through the mesh by having each WCT 212, 214, and/or 250, functioning as a network node or network access point, transmit its packets topologically closer to the destination, and retransmit packets received from other nodes or access points closer to the destination. Each transmission and reception of a packet is called a hop, and in general different data packets will take different multi-hop routes through the mesh network. Typically, the multi-hop route taken by a packet (e.g., a data packet) through the mesh to its destination is dependent on stability of paths (e.g., stability of links between pairs of nodes and/or access points) in the wireless mesh network 200 and on the network's communication schedule (e.g., a communication schedule assigning timeslots and communication channels to nodes and access points of the network and specifying each network node and access point's next communication opportunity).”, where the measurements are performed synchronously across the modules i.e. “a designed time point”, further see paragraph 0047, “For example, cell measurement data may be collected in network nodes and transmitted through the wireless mesh network 200 in packets originating in wireless communication transceivers of CMCs. Additionally, application and control data (or other types of data) can be sent out towards the network nodes (e.g., CMCs) from, for example, the battery system controller 260 or another network node. In some embodiments, reception of each packet transmission is acknowledged at each hop through the network to create an extremely reliable end to end system, typically to 99.999% reliability.”).
Regarding claim 7, Lemkin further discloses
The wireless management system of claim 1, wherein the operation of the control substrate obtaining the measurement data further comprises: a second energy storage unit of the energy storage units transmitting the reply signal to the first energy storage unit, wherein the reply signal transmitted by the second energy storage unit comprises a second measurement data measured by the second energy storage unit; and in response to receiving the reply signal, the first energy storage unit transmitting the reply signal to the control substrate, wherein the reply signal transmitted by the first energy storage unit comprises the second measurement data and a first measurement data measured by the first energy storage unit (see paragraph 0078, “The order of the battery modules in the series stack can then be determined based on the determined relative timing information. Specifically, the delay in timing of the artifact in samples from two different CMCs increases with the distance between the associated battery modules in the series stack. As such, the relative proximity of battery modules can be determined according to the relative proximity in timing of the artifact in samples from different battery modules. Numerous samples can be taken to improve the accuracy of the relative position determination in spite of noise and to improve the resolution of timing in a fashion that is similar to a sampling oscilloscope. Further, assuming the ADC sampling switch is fast and well behaved, the voltages measured by the ADC may be synchronized in time to well less than 1 ns in a relatively straightforward manner. Note that an artifact, as used herein, refers to a change in voltage, change in current, or change in other measured parameter that propagates through the series stack of battery modules.”).
Regarding claim 8, Lemkin further discloses
The wireless management system of claim 1, wherein the energy storage units further comprise a second energy storage unit to a n-th energy storage unit, the first energy storage unit to the n-th energy storage unit are communicatively connected in sequence pairwisely, the n-th energy storage unit is adjacent to a n-1-th energy storage unit, and n is a positive integer greater than 1 (see Fig. 1A and 2, further see paragraph 0083, “The synchronization of the clocks detailed above and in FIG. 4 can thus be periodically repeated, pair-wise, between all WCTs in the battery system 100, to ensure that the clocks remain in synchrony over time.”).
Regarding claim 11, the same cited section and rationale as claim 1 is applied.
Regarding claim 12, the same cited section and rationale as claim 2 is applied.
Regarding claim 13, the same cited section and rationale as claim 3 is applied.
Regarding claim 14, the same cited section and rationale as claim 4 is applied.
Regarding claim 15, the same cited section and rationale as claim 5 is applied.
Regarding claim 16, the same cited section and rationale as claim 6 is applied.
Regarding claim 17, the same cited section and rationale as claim 7 is applied.
Regarding claim 18, the same cited section and rationale as claim 8 is applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9,10 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lemkin (US 20190242949 A1) in view of HENSLEY (US 20210320507 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Lemkin discloses [Note: what Lemkin fails to disclose is strike-through]
The wireless management system of claim 8, wherein the measurement signal is transmitted by the control substrate (see paragraph 0044, “The wireless mesh network 200 establishes a multi-hop communication link mesh between the wireless communication transceivers 212, 214 associated with CMCs (e.g., 108, 110) and the wireless communication transceiver 250 of a battery system controller 260 by using other CMC's wireless communication transceivers 212, 214 as communication relay points. The wireless communication transceiver 250 of the battery system controller 260 may function as an access point of the mesh network 200.”, further see paragraph 0045, “Each transmission and reception of a packet is called a hop, and in general different data packets will take different multi-hop routes through the mesh network. Typically, the multi-hop route taken by a packet (e.g., a data packet) through the mesh to its destination is dependent on stability of paths (e.g., stability of links between pairs of nodes and/or access points) in the wireless mesh network 200 and on the network's communication schedule (e.g., a communication schedule assigning timeslots and communication channels to nodes and access points of the network and specifying each network node and access point's next communication opportunity).”)
HENSLEY discloses,
the downlink direction comprises from the control substrate, the first energy storage unit, the second energy storage unit, the n-1-th energy storage unit to the n-th energy storage unit (see paragraph 0018, “Each battery module 130 is configured to provide a set of discrete downlink signals used to pass user commands down the chain of battery modules 130 for wake, charge enable, and discharge enable. These user commands originate from the high voltage unit 120 at the top of each battery string 110. These downlink signals are terminated at the bottom of the battery string 110, and wrapped around into the set of discrete uplink signals that are used to convey battery module 130 status up the chain of battery modules 130 for no fault, charge status, and discharge status to the high voltage unit to activate or deactivate contactors.”).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by HENSLEY into the invention of Lemkin. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose the transmission of battery measurement data across multiple battery modules. The combination would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to offer scalability in voltage, power, and energy to the end user without the need to redesign or reconfigure the software, electronics, or electrical components (see paragraph 0009 of HENSLEY).
Regarding claim 10, Lemkin discloses [Note: what Lemkin fails to disclose is strike-through]
The wireless management system of claim 8, wherein the reply signal is transmitted by the n-th energy storage (see paragraph 0044, “The wireless mesh network 200 establishes a multi-hop communication link mesh between the wireless communication transceivers 212, 214 associated with CMCs (e.g., 108, 110) and the wireless communication transceiver 250 of a battery system controller 260 by using other CMC's wireless communication transceivers 212, 214 as communication relay points. The wireless communication transceiver 250 of the battery system controller 260 may function as an access point of the mesh network 200.”, further see paragraph 0045, “Each transmission and reception of a packet is called a hop, and in general different data packets will take different multi-hop routes through the mesh network. Typically, the multi-hop route taken by a packet (e.g., a data packet) through the mesh to its destination is dependent on stability of paths (e.g., stability of links between pairs of nodes and/or access points) in the wireless mesh network 200 and on the network's communication schedule (e.g., a communication schedule assigning timeslots and communication channels to nodes and access points of the network and specifying each network node and access point's next communication opportunity).”)
HENSLEY discloses,
uplink direction comprises from the n-th energy storage unit, the n-1-th energy storage unit, the second energy storage unit, the first energy storage unit to the control substrate (see paragraph 0018, “Each battery module 130 is configured to provide a set of discrete downlink signals used to pass user commands down the chain of battery modules 130 for wake, charge enable, and discharge enable. These user commands originate from the high voltage unit 120 at the top of each battery string 110. These downlink signals are terminated at the bottom of the battery string 110, and wrapped around into the set of discrete uplink signals that are used to convey battery module 130 status up the chain of battery modules 130 for no fault, charge status, and discharge status to the high voltage unit to activate or deactivate contactors.”).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by HENSLEY into the invention of Lemkin. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose the transmission of battery measurement data across multiple battery modules. The combination would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to offer scalability in voltage, power, and energy to the end user without the need to redesign or reconfigure the software, electronics, or electrical components (see paragraph 0009 of HENSLEY).
Regarding claim 19, the same cited section and rationale as claim 9 is applied.
Regarding claim 20, the same cited section and rationale as claim 10 is applied.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
CHO et al. (US 20220294039 A1) - The invention synchronizes measurements internally within the battery pack by using timing information from both the higher-level and lower-level battery management systems. The higher-level system records how long pack-voltage sampling takes, sends a voltage sampling synchronization signal, and then aligns pack-side and cell-side measurements using the returned cell-sampling duration. This lets the battery pack self-coordinate without relying on an external host signal.
Khaled et al. (US 10595274 B2) - The invention improves beacon-based synchronization by sending extra timing information downstream and using that information to size listening windows more intelligently. A battery-powered device compares its clock against the updated network time and the upstream device’s computed time difference to estimate local drift and network jitter. It then uses those values to set a future wake/listening interval that is more accurate than a conservative fixed window. On the mains-powered side, the device delays updating its own clock until after it has forwarded the beacon, so downstream devices remain aligned with the transmission schedule [0012], [0014]-[0018], [0043], [0049]-[0051], [0086]-[0092].
ITO et al. (US 20120112701 A1) - The system uses one sub unit as a timing reference by having the other sub units monitor its transmission to the master unit. When the first transmission is observed, the other sub units start their own predetermined operation, so their measurements are synchronized in practice without a separate sync line. In the embodiment, the units share a CAN bus and the measured values are transmitted in groups at shorter intervals than the measurement period. This reduces wiring while still keeping the sensor readings coordinated.
/NAZRA NUR WAHEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648