DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/03/2026, 06/05/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Filippo (US 2018/0225216).
Re Claims 1, Filippo discloses A data processing network comprising:
an integrated-circuit data processing apparatus ([0072]-[0073], integrated circuit device); and
at least one external device, external to the integrated-circuit data processing
apparatus ([0077]-[0078], [0087], fig. 1, 4, external memory device, external ram devices, 110, 120, 170, 180 are external devices to integrated circuit device 100. Master or requesting node 400 communicates with salve node 410 via point of coherencey 420);
the integrated-circuit data processing apparatus comprising:
an interconnect system ([0073], fig. 1, the interconnected CPU clusters, interconnected C2C);
at least one target device, the at least one target device coupled to the
interconnect system ([0077], fig. 1, targets of data access associated with the CPU); and
a requesting node, coupled to the interconnect system, the requesting node
configured to receive requests from the at least one external device, and output the
requests to a target device of the at least one target device via the interconnect
system, thereby acting as a bridge for the at least one external device ([0085]-[0088], the PoC/PoS receives data access request from a data access requesting node (example CPU 132) to route the data access request for fulfillment by one or more data storage nodes (target device));
wherein the requesting node is configured to receive at least one busyness
indication from at least one of the target devices, and, based on the received busyness
indication(s), to throttle its outputting of requests received from the at least one
external device to at least one of the at least one target devices via the interconnect
system ([0115], detecting an indication that the datasource agent in the system is busy and can reduce the request rate by a predetermined amount or proportion until the indication shows the agent is no longer overloaded or busy. [0116], shows the level of busy-ness an agent in the system servicing he requests).
Re Claim 3, Filippo discloses comprising at least one target device of a first type, and at least one target device of a second type, wherein the requesting node is configured to throttle its outputting of requests to target devices of the first type and the second type independently ([0099]-[0100], different device types comprises classification information identifying a classification fo the one or more data storage nodes which fulfill the data access request, ie., CPU cache memory, cluster cache memory, interconnect cache memory, and external memory. [0113]-[0115], the controller detects an indication in the datasource field agent in the system depending on the busy indication and vary the issuing of data access requests by that data access requesting node in response to the source indication.) .
Re Claim 4, Filippo discloses wherein the first type is local, on-chip target devices and the second type is remote, off-chip target devices ([0092] data access requests was fulfilled on-chip or off-chip.).
Re Claim 5, Filippo discloses wherein the first type is a peer external device, and the second type is a memory device ([0077], cache memory of a peer device, cache memory at chip to chip or external memory device. [0100], rank 5 relates to on-chip cache memories associated with the source. Ranks 1-4 are associated with external memories).
Re Claim 6, Filippo discloses comprising at least one external device of a first type, and at least one external device of a second type, wherein the requesting node is configured to throttle its outputting of requests received from external devices of the first type and the second type independently ([0099]-[0102], different device types comprises classification information identifying a classification of the one or more data storage nodes which fulfill the data access request, ie., CPU cache memory, cluster cache memory, interconnect cache memory, and external main memory. [0113]-[0115], the controller detects an indication in the datasource field agent in the system depending on the busy indication and vary the issuing of data access requests by that data access requesting node in response to the source indication. The request rate is reduced by the busy indication of the source. There are multiple source types as indicated by the different classification.).
Re Claim 7, Filippo discloses wherein the first type are external devices having a first quality of service class and the second type are external devices having a second quality of service class, the second quality of service class being different to the first quality of service class ([0100]-[0102], different rankings in the classifications of data sources between rank 8 and rank 1).
Re Claim 8, Filippo discloses wherein the first type of external device is a device associated with a first device identifier, and the second type of external device is a device associated with a second device identifier ([0097], [0100]-[0102]. There are multiple data sources. A DataSource field indicates an attribute information that indicates the identity of the node which services the data access request such as a serial number).
Re Claim 9, Filippo discloses wherein the requesting node is configured to limit its number of outstanding requests to at least one of the target device(s) to an outstanding-request-threshold, and wherein the requesting node is configured to vary the outstanding-request-threshold based on the received busyness indication(s) ([0113]-[0115], the controller detects an indication in the datasource field agent in the system depending on the busy indication and vary the issuing of data access requests by that data access requesting node in response to the source indication. The request rate is reduced by the busy indication of the source. There are multiple source types as indicated by the different classification.).
Re Claim 10, Filippo discloses wherein the received busyness indication(s) may be indicative of one of at least a first busyness level and a second busyness level, wherein the requesting node is configured to:
compare the number of first level busyness indications received in a sampling window to a first threshold, and if the number of first level busyness indications received in the sampling window exceeds the first threshold, to decrement the outstanding-request-threshold by a decrement value ([0115], determines with the DataSource field shows agent busy for at least a predetermined number of cycles, it can reduce the request rate by a predetermined amount or proportion until the indication is lifted that the agent is no longer overloaded or busy to the threshold level).
Re Claim 11, Filippo discloses generate an overview busyness indication ([0115], indicate the data source is overloaded or busy); and
based on the overview busyness indication indicating a low level of busyness, increment the outstanding-request-threshold by an increment value ([0115], determines with the DataSource field shows agent is not oversubscribed (busy), it can increase the rate of requests by a predetermined amount or proportion at each predetermined period).
Re Claim 12, Filippo discloses wherein the increment value is lower than the decrement value ([0115], determines with the DataSource field shows agent is not oversubscribed (busy), it can increase the rate of requests by a predetermined amount or proportion at each predetermined period).
Re Claim 13, Filippo discloses wherein the first threshold, the second threshold, the increment value, the decrement value and a magnitude of the sampling window are configurable ([0115], determines with the DataSource field shows agent is not oversubscribed (busy), it can increase the rate of requests by a predetermined amount or proportion at each predetermined period).
Re Claim 14, Filippo discloses wherein the outstanding-request-threshold is a first outstanding-request-threshold, associated with a first request type, the requesting node further configured to limit its number of outstanding requests of a second request type to a second outstanding-request-threshold, the value of the first outstanding-request-threshold being independent of the value of the second outstanding-request-threshold ([0099]-[0102], different device types comprises classification information identifying a classification of the one or more data storage nodes which fulfill the data access request, ie., CPU cache memory, cluster cache memory, interconnect cache memory, and external main memory. [0113]-[0115], the controller detects an indication in the datasource field agent for the datasource its using to complete the request fulfillment in the system. The determination of the datasource is busy or not busy depends on the relevancy to the threshold level with respect to being oversubscribed or busy. The request rate is reduced until the indication associated with the DataSource field indicates the agent in the source system is no longer overloaded of busy to the threshold level).
Re Claim 15, Filippo discloses wherein the requesting node is configured to filter the busyness indications received from the at least one target device such that the number of busyness indications counted in response to a particular request is limited to a maximum of one ([0115], determines with the DataSource field shows agent busy for at least a predetermined number of cycles, it can reduce the request rate by a predetermined amount or proportion until the indication is lifted that the agent is no longer overloaded or busy to the threshold level. A number of 1 is included in the threshold level of a predetermined amount).
With respect to claim 16, they are similar to claim 1 and therefore are rejected for the same reasons above.
Re Claim 17, Filippo discloses the requesting node throttling its outputting of requests based on at least one of the type of the target device for the request and/or the type of the external device issuing the request ([0099]-[0100], different device types comprises classification information identifying a classification fo the one or more data storage nodes which fulfill the data access request, ie., CPU cache memory, cluster cache memory, interconnect cache memory, and external memory. [0113]-[0115], the controller detects an indication in the datasource field agent in the system depending on the busy indication and vary the issuing of data access requests by that data access requesting node in response to the source indication.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being Unpatentable over Filippo and in view of Radi (US 2025/0004812).
Re Claim 2, Filippo does not disclose, however Radi disclsoes wherein the requesting node is configured to throttle its outputting of write requests and read requests independently ( [0070]-[0073], separate processing rates for read requests and for write requests).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Filippo’s data and read/write requests with Radi’s read and write requests in order to separate processing rates. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another in order to improve determining the processing rates available for the resource.
Re Claim 18, Filippo does not disclose, however Radi discloses A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-readable code for fabrication of the data processing network of claim 1 (Radi [0111], storage medium).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Filippo’s system with Radi’s computer-readable medium to execute the memory management. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another in order to improve determining the systems that process the management of the data access.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being Unpatentable over Filippo and in view of Bakshi (US 6,836,785).
Re Claim 19, Filippo discloses a data processing network comprising:
an integrated-circuit data processing apparatus ([0072]-[0073], integrated circuit device); and
at least one downstream resource, external to the integrated-circuit data
processing apparatus ([0077]-[0078], [0087], fig. 1, 4, external memory device, external ram devices, 110, 120, 170, 180 are external devices to integrated circuit device 100. Master or requesting node 400 communicates with salve node 410 via point of coherencey 420);
the integrated-circuit data processing apparatus comprising:
an interconnect system ([0073], fig. 1, the interconnected CPU clusters, interconnected C2C);
at least one requesting node, ([0085]-[0088], the PoC/PoS receives data access request from a data access requesting node); and
a resource node, associated with the at least one downstream resource and
coupled to the at least one requesting node via the interconnect system, wherein the
resource node is configured to receive requests from a requesting node via the
interconnect system directed towards the at least one downstream resource, thereby
acting as a bridge for the at least one downstream resource ([0085]-[0088], the PoC/PoS receives data access request from a data access requesting node (example CPU 132) to route the data access request for fulfillment by one or more data storage nodes (target device).
Filippo does not disclose, however Bakshi discloses the resource node comprising a buffer, for storing outstanding requests awaiting response from the at least one downstream resource, wherein the resource node is configured to generate at least one busyness indication responsive to a request from a requesting node, the busyness indication based on a number of storage elements occupied in the buffer of the resource node (col. 1, lines 49-65, throttling incoming requests to a server including a variable sized buffer for holding incoming requests prior to processing by the server.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Filippo’s requests on data access management with Bakshi’s incoming requests in order to hold the number of requests in the buffer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another in order to improve incoming requests to a server by utilizing a buffer to holding incoming requests prior to processing by the server.
Re Claim 20, one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Filippo for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 19. In addition, Bakshi discloses wherein the resource node comprises a first buffer, associated with downstream resources of a first type, and a second buffer associated with downstream resources of a second, different type, and wherein the resource node is configured to generate a busyness indication in response to a request directed to a downstream resource of the first type based on a number of storage elements occupied in the first buffer (col. 1, lines 49-65, The number of requests that are held in a queue by the buffer can be dependent on the overload status of the server. If the server is not overloaded, the number of requests that are held in the buffer can be large, such as the full capacity of the buffer).
Conclusion
/HO T SHIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2443
HO T. SHIU
Examiner
Art Unit 2443
/NICHOLAS R TAYLOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2443