DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Since this application is a continuation of US Applications 18/180940, 16/729909, and 16/037979, the Examiner has considered the information provided in the parent application (per MPEP 609.02). Should Applicant desire the information to be printed in any patent issuing from this application, a new listing of the information must be separately submitted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “”a top surface in contact with the upper around the entire perimeter of the upper” in lines 7-8. However, the preamble previously recites ‘a sole structure for an article of footwear having an upper’ (emphasis added for clarity). It is not clear if the claim is directed to a sole structure for an article of footwear (as indicated by the preamble), or to an article of footwear including a sole structure and an upper (as indicated by the positive recitation of the upper in lines 7-8). The claim should be amended to either clearly positively recite the upper in the preamble, or to remove the positive recitation of the upper in the body of the claim.
Claims 12-20 depend from rejected claim 11.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,524,540. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed structure of the present invention may be wholly derived from the claimed subject matter of the patent.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,612,213. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed structure of the present invention may be wholly derived from the claimed subject matter of the patent.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,279,671. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed structure of the present invention may be wholly derived from the claimed subject matter of the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 8, 11-15, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cortez et al. (US 2016/0120263), herein Cortez.
Regarding claim 1, Cortez discloses a sole structure for an article of footwear, the sole structure comprising: a bladder (1216) having a chamber including an arcuate segment (24) extending around a heel region of the sole structure, a first segment (26A) extending from the arcuate segment and along a medial side of the sole structure, a second segment (26B) spaced apart from the first segment across a width of the sole structure, extending from the arcuate segment, and extending along a lateral side of the sole structure; and an outer cushion (1218) extending continuously around an outer perimeter of the sole structure to define a closed loop (around opening 1271), the outer cushion including a top surface and a bottom surface disposed on an opposite side of the outer cushion than the top surface and opposing and in contact with the first segment, the second segment, and the arcuate segment of the bladder (paragraphs 0085, 0144-0145; Fig. 29, 35-37).
Regarding claim 11, Cortez discloses a sole structure for an article of footwear having an upper, the sole structure comprising: a bladder (1216) having a chamber including an arcuate segment (2$) extending around a heel region of the sole structure, a first segment (26A) extending from the arcuate segment and along a medial side of the sole structure, a second segment (26B) spaced apart from the first segment across a width of the sole structure, extending from the arcuate segment, and extending along a lateral side of the sole structure; and an outer cushion (1218) extending around an outer perimeter of the sole structure and including a top surface in contact with the upper around the entire perimeter of the upper (Fig. 36) and a bottom surface disposed on an opposite side of the outer cushion than the top surface and opposing and in contact with the first segment, the second segment, and the arcuate segment of the bladder (paragraphs 0085, 0144-0145; Fig. 29, 35-37).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Cortez discloses that the bladder includes a web area (1260) extending continuously from the first segment to the second segment (across the forefoot area; Fig. 29) and from the arcuate segment to a terminal edge (1261) disposed in a mid-foot region of the sole structure (wherein the flange portion 1264 extends continuously around the outer edges from the arcuate segment to edge 1261; Fig. 29).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Cortez discloses an inner cushion (1266A-D) received within the outer cushion (paragraphs 0140-0141; Fig. 29, 36).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Cortez discloses that the inner cushion is received within a pocket defined by the first segment, the second segment, and the arcuate segment of the bladder (Fig. 29, 35).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Cortez discloses that the inner cushion is disposed between the first segment and the second segment of the bladder (Fig. 29, 35).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Cortez discloses a lower cushion (1214) disposed on an opposite side of the bladder than the inner cushion (paragraph 0143; Fig. 36).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Cortez discloses that the lower cushion is disposed between the first segment and the second segment of the bladder (Fig. 36).
Claim(s) 1, 3-11, and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cortez et al. (US 2016/0120263), herein Cortez.
Regarding claim 1, Cortez discloses a sole structure for an article of footwear, the sole structure comprising: a bladder (16) having a chamber including an arcuate segment (24) extending around a heel region of the sole structure, a first segment (26A) extending from the arcuate segment and along a medial side of the sole structure, a second segment (26B) spaced apart from the first segment across a width of the sole structure, extending from the arcuate segment, and extending along a lateral side of the sole structure; and an outer cushion (upper and outer portions of 1018) extending continuously around an outer perimeter of the sole structure to define a closed loop (wherein the outer perimeter of midsole layer 1018 has an outer flange extending around protrusions 1021 and forming a closed loop’ Fig. 23, 25), the outer cushion including a top surface and a bottom surface disposed on an opposite side of the outer cushion than the top surface and opposing and in contact with the first segment, the second segment, and the arcuate segment of the bladder (paragraphs 0085, 0128-0135; Fig. 23-27).
Regarding claim 11, Cortez discloses a sole structure for an article of footwear having an upper, the sole structure comprising: a bladder (16) having a chamber including an arcuate segment (2$) extending around a heel region of the sole structure, a first segment (26A) extending from the arcuate segment and along a medial side of the sole structure, a second segment (26B) spaced apart from the first segment across a width of the sole structure, extending from the arcuate segment, and extending along a lateral side of the sole structure; and an outer cushion (upper and outer portions of 1018) extending around an outer perimeter of the sole structure and including a top surface in contact with the upper around the entire perimeter of the upper (Fig. 25) and a bottom surface disposed on an opposite side of the outer cushion than the top surface and opposing and in contact with the first segment, the second segment, and the arcuate segment of the bladder (paragraphs 0085, 0128-0135; Fig. 23-27).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Cortez discloses an inner cushion (1021) received within the outer cushion (paragraphs 0129-0130; Fig. 23, 25).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Cortez discloses that the inner cushion is received within a pocket defined by the first segment, the second segment, and the arcuate segment of the bladder (Fig. 24, 25).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Cortez discloses that the inner cushion is disposed between the first segment and the second segment of the bladder (Fig. 25).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Cortez discloses that the inner cushion is in contact with the outer cushion and the bladder (Fig. 26).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Cortez discloses a lower cushion (1086) disposed on an opposite side of the bladder than the inner cushion (paragraphs 0128-0129; Fig. 25).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Cortez discloses that the lower cushion is disposed between the first segment and the second segment of the bladder (Fig. 25).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Cortez discloses that the bladder includes a web area (751) disposed between the first segment and the second segment of the bladder, the web area extending between the inner cushion and the lower cushion (paragraph 0124; Fig. 6, 26).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Cortez discloses an outsole (1086) defining a ground-contacting surface, the outsole including a continuous ring that is attached to the first segment, the second segment, and the arcuate segment of the bladder on an opposite side of the bladder than the outer cushion (Fig. 23, 25, 27).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/SHARON M PRANGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732