DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites determining an auction close time at which an auction will close; enabling a bidder to place at least one bid on the asset being auctioned; determining whether the bidder has access to an immediate-purchase option; in response to determining that the bidder has access to the immediate-purchase option, enabling the bidder to immediately purchase the asset for an immediate-purchase price prior to the auction close time expiring; in response to determining that a bid has been received on the asset being auctioned while the online auction is in progress and prior to the auction close time expiring, displaying a current highest bid; and in response to a selection to immediately purchase the asset prior to the auction close time expiring, indicating that the auction has been closed prematurely, which is an abstract idea reasonably categorized as a certain method of organizing human (i.e., marketing/sales activities in the form of auctions).
The additional elements unencompassed by the abstract idea include a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions and an interface. These additional elements fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional elements merely serve as generic computer components on which the abstract idea is implemented. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
The claim does not include limitations sufficient, either alone or in combination, to amount to significantly more than the claimed abstract idea because the aforementioned additional elements merely serve as generic computer components on which the abstract idea is implemented. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claims 2-13 describe information, evaluation of information, and the results of such evaluation and thus further describe the abstract idea.
Claims 14-20 describe substantially the same abstract idea as claims 1-13 and are rejected for substantially the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miller (US 11625768 B2).
As per claim 1, Miller discloses at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium storing thereon sequences of computer-executable instructions for providing a real-time dynamically adjusted user interface for an online auction (Miller Fig. 4.), the sequences of computer-executable instructions including instructions that instruct at least one processor to:
determine, for an asset being auctioned in the online auction, an auction close time at which the online auction will close (Miller c4 l5-6. Auction can have set duration.);
provide a bidder interface for a bidder, the bidder interface including one or more first user-interface elements to enable the bidder to place at least one bid on the asset being auctioned (Miller Fig. 1 item 154.);
determine, dynamically in real-time while the online auction is being conducted, whether the bidder has access to an immediate-purchase option (Miller c4 l17-53. Buy-now option available based on factors.);
in response to determining that the bidder has access to the immediate-purchase option, provide one or more second user-interface elements on the bidder interface to enable the bidder to immediately purchase the asset for an immediate-purchase price prior to the auction close time expiring (Miller Fig. 1 item 144.);
in response to determining that a bid has been received on the asset being auctioned while the online auction is in progress and prior to the auction close time expiring, update the bidder interface in real-time to display a current highest bid (Miller Fig. 1 item 152.); and
in response to determining that a selection of the one or more second user-interface elements has been received to immediately purchase the asset prior to the auction close time expiring, update the bidder interface in real-time prior to the auction close time expiring to indicate that the auction has been closed prematurely (Miller c5 l58-60. Sale ends when buyer invokes buy-now option.).
As per claim 14, Miller discloses a method of providing a real-time dynamically adjusted user interface for an online auction, the method comprising:
determining, for an asset being auctioned in the online auction, an auction close time at which the online auction will close (Miller c4 l5-6. Auction can have set duration.);
providing a bidder interface for a bidder, the bidder interface including one or more first user-interface elements to enable the bidder to place at least one bid on the asset being auctioned (Miller Fig. 1 item 154.);
determining, dynamically in real-time while the online auction is being conducted, whether the bidder has access to an immediate-purchase option (Miller c4 l17-53. Buy-now option available based on factors.);
in response to determining that the bidder has access to the immediate-purchase option, providing one or more second user-interface elements on the bidder interface to enable the bidder to immediately purchase the asset for an immediate-purchase price prior to the auction close time expiring (Miller Fig. 1 item 144.);
in response to determining that a bid has been received on the asset being auctioned while the online auction is in progress and prior to the auction close time expiring, updating the bidder interface in real-time to display a current highest bid (Miller Fig. 1 item 152.); and
in response to determining that a selection of the one or more second user-interface elements has been received to immediately purchase the asset prior to the auction close time expiring, updating the bidder interface in real-time prior to the auction close time expiring to indicate that the auction has been closed prematurely (Miller c5 l58-60. Sale ends when buyer invokes buy-now option.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 6, 15, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller (US 11625768 B2) in view of Stein et al. (US 20140195304 A1).
As per claim 2, Miller discloses the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Miller may not explicitly disclose, however Stein discloses wherein the instructions further instruct the at least one processor to: monitor one or more asset-popularity metrics indicative of an amount of interest in the asset; and dynamically update the immediate-purchase price in real-time on the bidder interface while the online auction is in progress based on the one or more asset-popularity metrics (Stein [0033] system automatically changes prices based on user traffic to a website.).
Both Miller and Stein are directed to dynamic pricing of products. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Stein’s features to Miller with the motivation to encourage sales (Stein Abstract.).
Furthermore, all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art of Miller and Stein and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As per claim 3, Miller in view of Stein discloses the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above. Miller may not explicitly disclose, however Stein discloses wherein the one or more asset-popularity metrics include an amount of website traffic to the bidder interface for the asset (Stein [0033] system automatically changes prices based on user traffic to a website.).
Both Miller and Stein are directed to dynamic pricing of products. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Stein’s features to Miller with the motivation to encourage sales (Stein Abstract.).
Furthermore, all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art of Miller and Stein and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As per claim 6, Miller in view of Stein discloses the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above. Miller further discloses wherein the one or more asset-popularity metrics include an amount of time until the auction close time expires (Miller c3 l47-48. Price automatically decreases as time passes.).
As per claim 15, Miller discloses the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Miller may not explicitly disclose, however Stein discloses wherein the instructions further instruct the at least one processor to: monitor one or more asset-popularity metrics indicative of an amount of interest in the asset; and dynamically update the immediate-purchase price in real-time on the bidder interface while the online auction is in progress based on the one or more asset-popularity metrics (Stein [0033] system automatically changes prices based on user traffic to a website.).
Both Miller and Stein are directed to dynamic pricing of products. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Stein’s features to Miller with the motivation to encourage sales (Stein Abstract.).
Furthermore, all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art of Miller and Stein and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As per claim 16, Miller in view of Stein discloses the limitations of claim 15 as discussed above. Miller may not explicitly disclose, however Stein discloses wherein the one or more asset-popularity metrics include an amount of website traffic to the bidder interface for the asset (Stein [0033] system automatically changes prices based on user traffic to a website.).
Both Miller and Stein are directed to dynamic pricing of products. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Stein’s features to Miller with the motivation to encourage sales (Stein Abstract.).
Furthermore, all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art of Miller and Stein and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As per claim 19, Miller in view of Stein discloses the limitations of claim 15 as discussed above. Miller further discloses wherein the one or more asset-popularity metrics include an amount of time until the auction close time expires (Miller c3 l47-48. Price automatically decreases as time passes.).
Claims 4, 5, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller (US 11625768 B2) in view of Stein et al. (US 20140195304 A1) and Yenisetty et al. (US 20170039634 A1).
As per claim 4, Miller in view of Stein discloses the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above. Miller may not explicitly disclose, however Yenisetty discloses wherein the one or more asset-popularity metrics include a number of bids placed on the asset (Yenisetty [0066]. Current bid velocity of item at auction analyzed and price generated based on analysis. [0059] Bid velocity data includes number of bids and frequency of bids.).
Each of Miller, Stein, and Yenisetty involve the pricing of items. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Yenisetty’s features to Miller and Stein with the motivation to reduce uncertainty in item pricing (Yenisetty [0002].).
Furthermore, all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art of Miller, Stein, and Yenisetty and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As per claim 5, Miller in view of Stein discloses the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above. Miller may not explicitly disclose, however Yenisetty discloses wherein the one or more asset-popularity metrics include a frequency of bids placed on the asset (Yenisetty [0066]. Current bid velocity of item at auction analyzed and price generated based on analysis. [0059] Bid velocity data includes number of bids and frequency of bids.).
Each of Miller, Stein, and Yenisetty involve the pricing of items. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Yenisetty’s features to Miller and Stein with the motivation to reduce uncertainty in item pricing (Yenisetty [0002].).
Furthermore, all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art of Miller, Stein, and Yenisetty and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As per claim 17, Miller in view of Stein discloses the limitations of claim 15 as discussed above. Miller may not explicitly disclose, however Yenisetty discloses wherein the one or more asset-popularity metrics include a number of bids placed on the asset (Yenisetty [0066]. Current bid velocity of item at auction analyzed and price generated based on analysis. [0059] Bid velocity data includes number of bids and frequency of bids.).
Each of Miller, Stein, and Yenisetty involve the pricing of items. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Yenisetty’s features to Miller and Stein with the motivation to reduce uncertainty in item pricing (Yenisetty [0002].).
Furthermore, all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art of Miller, Stein, and Yenisetty and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As per claim 18, Miller in view of Stein discloses the limitations of claim 15 as discussed above. Miller may not explicitly disclose, however Yenisetty discloses wherein the one or more asset-popularity metrics include a frequency of bids placed on the asset (Yenisetty [0066]. Current bid velocity of item at auction analyzed and price generated based on analysis. [0059] Bid velocity data includes number of bids and frequency of bids.).
Each of Miller, Stein, and Yenisetty involve the pricing of items. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Yenisetty’s features to Miller and Stein with the motivation to reduce uncertainty in item pricing (Yenisetty [0002].).
Furthermore, all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art of Miller, Stein, and Yenisetty and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller (US 11625768 B2) in view of Stein et al. (US 20140195304 A1) and Dillon-Ferris (US 20070094122 A1).
As per claim 8, Miller in view of Stein discloses the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above. Miller may not explicitly disclose, however Dillon-Ferris discloses wherein dynamically updating the immediate-purchase price is executed within a lower bound and an upper bound of purchase prices (Dillon-Ferris claim 3. Selling price range.).
Each of Miller, Stein, and Dillon-Ferris involve the pricing of items. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Dillon-Ferris’s features to Miller and Stein with the motivation to better match buyers and sellers of items (Dillon-Ferris [0016]).
Furthermore, all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art of Miller, Stein, and Dillon-Ferris and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As per claim 9, Miller in view of Stein discloses the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above. Miller may not explicitly disclose, however Dillon-Ferris discloses wherein the instructions further instruct the at least one processor to extend the auction close time based on the one or more asset-popularity metrics (Dillon-Ferris claim 16.).
Each of Miller, Stein, and Dillon-Ferris involve the pricing of items. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Dillon-Ferris’s features to Miller and Stein with the motivation to better match buyers and sellers of items (Dillon-Ferris [0016]).
Furthermore, all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art of Miller, Stein, and Dillon-Ferris and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller (US 11625768 B2) in view of Stein et al. (US 20140195304 A1) and Darveau-Garneau (US 20100332306 A1).
As per claim 7, Miller in view of Stein discloses the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above. Miller may not explicitly disclose, however Darveau-Garneau discloses herein the one or more asset-popularity metrics include whether the bidder has previously placed a bid on the asset during the online auction (Darveau-Garneau [0044]. E.g., buy it now price updated based on bid placed by bidder.).
Each of Miller, Stein, and Darveau-Garneau involve the pricing of items. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Darveau-Garneau’s features to Miller and Stein with the motivation to beneficially allow bidders to purchase items at fair market value (Darveau-Garneau [0035]).
Furthermore, all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art of Miller, Stein, and Darveau-Garneau and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As per claim 20, Miller in view of Stein discloses the limitations of claim 15 as discussed above. Miller may not explicitly disclose, however Darveau-Garneau discloses herein the one or more asset-popularity metrics include whether the bidder has previously placed a bid on the asset during the online auction (Darveau-Garneau [0044]. E.g., buy it now price updated based on bid placed by bidder.).
Each of Miller, Stein, and Darveau-Garneau involve the pricing of items. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Darveau-Garneau’s features to Miller and Stein with the motivation to beneficially allow bidders to purchase items at fair market value (Darveau-Garneau [0035]).
Furthermore, all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art of Miller, Stein, and Darveau-Garneau and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller (US 11625768 B2) in view of D’Arcy (US 20250095058 A1).
As per claim 10, Miller discloses the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Miller may not explicitly disclose, however D’Arcy discloses wherein the instructions further instruct the at least one processor to determine whether the bidder has access to the immediate-purchase option based on authenticating at least one of financial information, identity information, or closing documentation of the bidder (D’Arcy [0033]).
Both Miller and D’Arcy are directed to auctioning items. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add D’Arcy’s features to Miller with the motivation to provide bidders with improved purchase opportunities and experiences (D’Arcy [0004]).
Furthermore, all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art of Miller and D’Arcy and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As per claim 11, Miller in view of D’Arcy discloses the limitations of claim 10 as discussed above. Miller may not explicitly disclose, however D’Arcy discloses wherein the financial information includes documentation indicating the bidder's ability to pay the immediate-purchase price (D’Arcy [0033]).
Both Miller and D’Arcy are directed to auctioning items. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add D’Arcy’s features to Miller with the motivation to provide bidders with improved purchase opportunities and experiences (D’Arcy [0004]).
Furthermore, all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art of Miller and D’Arcy and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As per claim 12, Miller discloses the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above. Miller may not explicitly disclose, however D’Arcy discloses wherein the documentation includes bank account information indicative of an amount of money currently held by the bidder in a bank account (D’Arcy [0033]).
Both Miller and D’Arcy are directed to auctioning items. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add D’Arcy’s features to Miller with the motivation to provide bidders with improved purchase opportunities and experiences (D’Arcy [0004]).
Furthermore, all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art of Miller and D’Arcy and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As per claim 13, Miller discloses the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above. Miller may not explicitly disclose, however D’Arcy discloses wherein the documentation includes loan information indicative of an amount of money available to the bidder as a pre-approved loan (D’Arcy [0033]).
Both Miller and D’Arcy are directed to auctioning items. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add D’Arcy’s features to Miller with the motivation to provide bidders with improved purchase opportunities and experiences (D’Arcy [0004]).
Furthermore, all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art of Miller and D’Arcy and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
Applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892.
JEFF ZIMMERMAN
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3628
/JEFF ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3628