DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DOWN et al. (US 2018/0292184 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Down et al. disclose a projectile 101 (Figs. 1, 2, 3, 4a, 4b; para [0039]) for attaching to a surface (surface of target 1001 – UAV), comprising: a projectile body 101, 109, 111, 113 comprising: a coupling mechanism (an adhesive or hook on the nose109- para [0053]); and an electronics component (ECM 105), the electronics component comprising a processor 119 and a communications component 117 (para [0051]).
Regarding claim 2, Down et al. disclose coupling mechanism comprises at least one of adhesive, or a hook (paras [0053]; [0055]).
Regarding claim 3, Down et al. disclose the coupling mechanism is disposed on a nose section 109 of the projectile (paras [0053]; [0055]).
Regarding claim 5, Down et al. disclose that the electronic component includes an electronic warfare component 105 (paras [0041]; [0061]).
Regarding claim 6, Down et al. disclose that the electronic warfare component comprises at least one of a jamming component, a disabling component, or a software-delivery component (paras [0041]; [0051]; [0061]).
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SAWYER et al. (US 2012/0166021 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sawyer et al. disclose a projectile for attaching to a surface (300; Fig. 7; paras [0002], [0064]), comprising: a projectile body (302; Fig. 7; para [0064]) comprising: a coupling mechanism (adhesive material 304, Fig. 7; para [0064]); and an electronics component 313 comprising GPS receiver 306, RF transponder 308, inertia or pressure switch 314, the electronics component 313 comprising a processor and a communications component (308 and 312; Fig. 7 – paras [0012], [0064]).
Regarding claim 4, Sawyer et al. disclose that the electronics component includes a location component (GPS receiver 306; RF transponder 308; Fig. 7; para [0064], [0065]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DOWN et al. (US 2018/0292184 A1) in view of SAWYER et al. (US 2012/0166021 A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Down et al. disclose the processor is further programmed to: receive, from a sensor 117 (accelerometer or pressure sensor), a signal indicating that the projectile has attached to the surface (117; Figs. 1, 2, 3, 4a, 4b; para [0063], [0064]), and transmits a signal to the processor 119 that controls activation of the ECM105. Down et al. do not specifically teach that the processor is programmed to initiate, via the communication component, transmission of information to a remote computing device.
However, Sawyer discloses a projectile for attaching to a surface (300, Fig. 7; para [0002], "The present invention is directed to a tracking, sensing and/or disablement system for a moving or fixed target, typically, but not limited to a fleeing vehicle. Specifically, the present invention is directed to a system which remotely tracks a vehicle with a location module, scans the vehicle for contraband substances and/or electronically disables the vehicle'; para [0064], 'projectile 300'), comprising: a projectile body (302, Fig. 7; para [0064], The projectile comprises an outer casing 302') comprising: a coupling mechanism (304, Fig. 7; para [0064], 'Inside the casing 302 is a gelatinous adhesive compound 304 which holds a GPS receiver 306, a radio frequency (RF) transponder 308, a battery 310, an antenna 312 and an inertia or pressure switch 314 The adhesive material 304 is used to attach the chip 313 to a fleeing vehicle or target and can be any material that helps to absorb the shock generated by the firing of the launcher 200 and the impact with the target, yet also has a cure rate that ensures that the electronic chip 313 sticks to the target 102'); and an electronics component, the electronics component comprising a processor and a communications component (308, 312, 313, Fig. 7 - SCC electronics component 313 comprising a microprocessor and a communications component 308/312; para [0012], 'the tagging device comprising a tracking chip having a microprocessor, a power source, and an emitting means for emitting a tracking signal'; para[0064], Inside the casing 302 is a gelatinous adhesive compound 304 which holds a GPS receiver 306, a radio frequency (RF) transponder 308, a battery 310, an antenna 312 and an inertia or pressure switch 314. These electronic components are preferably placed on a single electronic component or chip 313'); and further teaches a sensor for detecting when the projectile has attached to the surface (314, Fig. 7 - see how the sensor/pressure/inertial switch 314 detects when the projectile has impacted and attached to the surface; para [0065], 'the electronic chip 313 is initially in an "off" position to conserve the power in the battery 310. It is connected to the pressure or inertia switch 314 which turns the chip "on" due to the force generated by the firing of the launcher 200 or the impact with the target vehicle 102'), and upon impact with the surface, the processor configured to initiate, via the communications component, transmission of information to a remote computing device (Fig. 7 - see how the processor is configured to initiate, via the communications component 308/312, transmission of location information from the GPS receiver 306 to a remote computing device; para[0065], "Once the chip 313 is turned "on," the GPS receiver 306 begins to receive signals from terrestrial satellites to determine its location and conveys that information to the RF transponder 308. The RF transponder then transmits the information to law enforcement at a central command station who track the fleeing vehicle and direct field officers to its location').
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the electronics component of the Down et al. projectile by employing a GPS receiver, transponder and antenna as taught by Sawyer et al., such that the projectile could also transmit location information upon impact with the surface, in order to have allowed for the object to be tracked and located after disabling the object.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the attached PTO-FORM 892.
/JAMES S BERGIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641