DETAILED ACTION
This correspondence is in response to the application field on 3/21/2025.
Claims 1-12 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber (US 20130324772).
With respect to claim 1, Huber (US 20130324772) is directed to pyrolysis of hydrocarbon material such as waste plastics to produce aromatic and olefin chemicals. Par. [0006]. The feed may include waste plastic, which is a heavy aromatic waste. Par. [0020]. The feed is sent to a first reactor for thermal pyrolysis and at least a portion of the effluent is passed to a catalytic pyrolysis unit. Par. [0006]; [0087]; [0124]. The product includes aromatics and olefines, par. [0006], including styrene, benzene, ethylene, propylene, or a combination thereof, par. [0059].
With respect to claims 2-5, the art teaches wherein styrene, benzene, ethylene and propylene are produced. The art teaches that in a multiple-reactor system, the second products may comprise a relatively higher amount of aromatics or olefins than the previous product, which is higher than the feed. Par. [0125]. It is expected that when the pyrolysis reactions were tailored to produce each of the products, the individual product would increase in concentration as it moved through the system.
With respect to claims 6 and 7, the pyrolysis reactors operate at a temperature between 400 and 600 C. Par. [0021].
With respect to claims 8-9, the catalyst may be a zeolite catalyst such as ZSM-5, zeolite Y, zeolite beta, mordenite, MCM-22, ZSM-23, ZSM-57, SUZ-4, EU-1, ZSM-11, (S)AlP0-31, SSZ-23, and the like, which include both medium and large pore zeolites and those claimed.
With respect to claims 11 and 12, The art teaches returning a portion of the catalyst and effluent to the pyrolysis reactor. Before the filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recycle residual product in one or both pyrolysis reactors to increase conversion to the desired aromatic and olefin products.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber (US 20130324772) as applied to claims 1-9, further in view of Repsol (WO 2023209180).
With respect to claim 10, propylene may be produced. E.g. Table 3. The art is silent regarding catalytically reacting the propylene with ethylbenzene hydroperoxide to form propylene oxide and 1-phenyl ethanol and dehydrating the 1-phenyl ethanol to produce styrene monomer.
Repsol (WO 2023209180) is directed to the conversion of waste plastic via pyrolysis to hydrocarbon liquid and further upgrading the liquid to produce styrene polymer. Repsol discloses “oxidation of ethylbenzene (EB) to form ethylbenzene hydroperoxide (EBHP), followed by the catalytic reaction of the EBHP with propylene to produce PO and 1-phenylethanol (MBA, also referred as alpha-methylbenzyl alcohol), PO purification, dehydration of the MBA to produce SM.” Par. [0003]; [0015]-[0016]. Respol also discloses “[i]t is well known that waste plastic can be pyrolyzed to produce high yields of light gas olefins (i.e., ethylene, propylene, butylenes) and aromatics (i.e. , benzene, toluene, xylenes (BTX), ethylbenzene (EB)), along with low yields of paraffins, isoparaffins, and naphthenes. The pyrolysis can be configured to maximize propylene and/or aromatics, with high yields of BTX and EB.” Par. [0006].
Therefore, before the filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to send the propylene and ethyl benzene produced in the pyrolysis process of Huber to a styrene production process as taught in Respol for the benefit of creating a polymer end product from waste plastic.
Conclusion
/BRANDI M DOYLE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1771