DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/23/2025, 12/17/2025, 04/21/2026 and 06/05/2026 have been considered by the examiner and initialed copies of the IDS are hereby attached.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites, “,;” after the limitation of “obtaining a first initial location of a first device, a field of view of the first device, location information of a second device, and a field of view of the second device, wherein the first device and the second device are each ultra-wideband devices, and wherein the first device and the second device are located in a target area”. This should only include a semicolon.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The Examiner would like to point out that independent claim 1 is a method claim which includes the contingent limitation of “and outputting first prompt information in response to detecting, based on the first radar coverage and the second radar coverage, a need to adjust at least one of a location of the first device or a location of the second device, wherein the first prompt information is associated with prompting a user to adjust the at least one of the location of the first device or the location of the second device.”. The feature of “in response to…” indicates that the outputting of the first prompt is only when a need to adjust is detected. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation of this method claim, when the need to adjust is not dete4cted, no outputting feature is performed. Therefore, this method claim is being interpreted under its broadest reasonable interpretation where no “outputting first prompt information” is performed. (SEE MPEP 2111.04, II. Contingent Limitations).
Dependent claims 2-5, 10-12, 15 and 18 also contain contingent limitation under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
For purposes of examiner, most prior art rejections have been provided below for the contingent limitations. However, the limitations above must be amended so that they are no longer contingent limitations to carry patentable weight. For example, claim 1 can be amended to recite:
“detecting, based on the first radar coverage and the second radar coverage, a need to adjust at least one of a location of the first device or a location of the second device,
in response to detecting the need to adjust at least one of a location of the first device or a location of the second device, outputting first prompt information…”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by MERLIN et al. (US 20220329330 A1).
Regarding claim 1, MERLIN discloses
A communication method (see Abstract), comprising:
obtaining a first initial location of a first device, a field of view of the first device, location information of a second device, and a field of view of the second device, wherein the first device and the second device are each ultra-wideband devices, and wherein the first device and the second device are located in a target area, (see at least paragraph 0035 and supporting paragraphs and figures, “The distributed sensing system (e.g., one of the sensing devices in the environment and/or the server) can then determine whether the position of the one or more existing and/or new sensing devices are at appropriate locations based on sensing or positional data. The distributed sensing system can provide indications such as the need to add a sensing device at a location that extends or increases power output of an area of interest. The distributed sensing system can transmit a sensing coverage to the user device. The sensing coverage can include information or instructions indicating whether and/or how to position the existing or new sensing device(s) throughout the environment. The sensing coverage can be displayed and/or played (e.g., using one or more speakers) by the user device and/or can be displayed and/or played (e.g., using one or more speakers) by one or more of the sensing devices.”);
displaying first radar coverage of the first device in a spatial layout diagram of the target area based on the first initial location of the first device and the field of view of the first device (see at least paragraph 0036 and supporting paragraphs and figures, “In one illustrative example, the sensing coverage can indicate (e.g., via a visual indication on a display or an audible indication via one or more speakers) that “Access point 1 and 2 are too far”, that “Access point 1 and 2 are too close”, that “In your current position, the detection is weak, move Access Point 2 closer to this area”, that “In your current position, we cannot detect your motion, move or add one Access point closer to this area”, “Adding a sensing device in ‘this’ area may improve detection” among other possible outputs. In some cases, if the distributed sensing system determines that an existing or new sensing device is in a suitable or optimal position in the environment, the distributed sensing system can provide a sensing coverage (e.g., via a message, such as text, colored lights, symbols, etc.) to indicate that the sensing device(s) do not need to be modified.”);
displaying second radar coverage of the second device in the spatial layout diagram based on the location information of the second device and the field of view of the second device (see at least paragraphs 0035-0036 and supporting paragraphs and figures); and
outputting first prompt information in response to detecting, based on the first radar coverage and the second radar coverage, a need to adjust at least one of a location of the first device or a location of the second device, wherein the first prompt information is associated with prompting a user to adjust the at least one of the location of the first device or the location of the second device (see at least paragraph 0036 and supporting paragraphs and figures, “In one illustrative example, the sensing coverage can indicate (e.g., via a visual indication on a display or an audible indication via one or more speakers) that “Access point 1 and 2 are too far”, that “Access point 1 and 2 are too close”, that “In your current position, the detection is weak, move Access Point 2 closer to this area”, that “In your current position, we cannot detect your motion, move or add one Access point closer to this area”, “Adding a sensing device in ‘this’ area may improve detection” among other possible outputs. In some cases, if the distributed sensing system determines that an existing or new sensing device is in a suitable or optimal position in the environment, the distributed sensing system can provide a sensing coverage (e.g., via a message, such as text, colored lights, symbols, etc.) to indicate that the sensing device(s) do not need to be modified.”).
Regarding claim 2, MERLIN further discloses
The method according to claim 1, further comprising performing, before the obtaining the first initial location of the first device and a field of view of the first device: displaying the spatial layout diagram; and displaying the first initial location in the spatial layout diagram in response to a first operation of the user (see at least paragraph 0119, “The device can keep track of the device's pose within the environment (e.g., location and/or orientation) as the device updates the map. For example, the device can be activated in a particular room of a building and can move throughout the interior of the building, capturing images. The device can map the environment, and keep track of its location in the environment, based on tracking where different objects in the environment appear in different images. The mapping data can then be utilized by the distributed sensing system for sensing purposes, such as for sensing device positioning, object motion detection, etc.”, where updating the map indicates there is an initial map that is stored prior).
Regarding claim 3, MERLIN further discloses
The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises performing at least one of: determining that there is no need to adjust the at least one of the location of the first device or the location of the second device in response to an overlap existing between the first radar coverage and the second radar coverage; or determining that there is a need to adjust the at least one of the location of the first device or the location of the second device in response to a lack of an overlap between the first radar coverage and the second radar coverage (see at least paragraph 0036 and supporting paragraphs and figures, “In one illustrative example, the sensing coverage can indicate (e.g., via a visual indication on a display or an audible indication via one or more speakers) that “Access point 1 and 2 are too far”, that “Access point 1 and 2 are too close”, that “In your current position, the detection is weak, move Access Point 2 closer to this area”, that “In your current position, we cannot detect your motion, move or add one Access point closer to this area”, “Adding a sensing device in ‘this’ area may improve detection” among other possible outputs. In some cases, if the distributed sensing system determines that an existing or new sensing device is in a suitable or optimal position in the environment, the distributed sensing system can provide a sensing coverage (e.g., via a message, such as text, colored lights, symbols, etc.) to indicate that the sensing device(s) do not need to be modified.”)..
Regarding claim 4, MERLIN further discloses
The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: detecting, based on the target area, further based on the first radar coverage, and further based on the second radar coverage, whether a blind area of radar coverage exists in the target area; and determining that there is a need to adjust the at least one of the location of the first device or the location of the second device in response to a blind area of radar coverage existing in the target area; or determining that there is no need to adjust the at least one of location of the first device or the location of the second device in response to a lack of a blind area of radar coverage in the target area (see at least paragraph 0036, further see paragraph 0106, “In the sensing device deployment 910, the sensing devices 920 are positioned too far apart from one another, thereby experiencing “dead zones” in the sensing coverage towards the center of the residence 912. In the sensing device deployment 930, the sensing devices 922 are positioned towards the center of the first and second floors of the residence 912. This arrangement of the sensing devices 922 provides a distributed sensing system with a maximum sensing coverage, as the distributed sensing system can provide sensing coverage towards the center and edges of the residence 912.”).
Regarding claim 5, MERLIN further discloses
The method according to claim 2, further comprising performing, before the displaying the spatial layout diagram: outputting second prompt information in response to a deployment indication and further in response to the spatial layout diagram not being stored in the first device, wherein the second prompt information is associated with prompting the user to input the spatial layout diagram (NOTE: this limitation does not carry patentable weight, see claim interpretation section).
Regarding claim 6, MERLIN further discloses
The method according to claim 1, wherein the first prompt information comprises an at least one of adjusted location of the first device or an adjusted location of the second device (see at least paragraphs 0035-0036 and supporting paragraphs and figures).
Regarding claim 7, MERLIN further discloses
The method according to claim 1, wherein the method is applied to the first device; and wherein the obtaining location information of the second device comprises obtaining the location information of the second device by localizing the second device (see at least paragraph 0035 and supporting paragraphs and figures, “The distributed sensing system (e.g., one of the sensing devices in the environment and/or the server) can then determine whether the position of the one or more existing and/or new sensing devices are at appropriate locations based on sensing or positional data. The distributed sensing system can provide indications such as the need to add a sensing device at a location that extends or increases power output of an area of interest.”).
Regarding claim 8, MERLIN further discloses
The method according to claim 7, wherein the method further comprises: receiving the field of view from the second device (see at least paragraph 0115, “Data measured by the RSSI measuring device 1020 and the sensing access points 1030, 1040 can then be provided to the controller 1010 of the distributed sensing system 1000 for sensing purposes, such as for sensing device positioning, object motion detection, etc. The controller 1010 of the distributed sensing system 1000 can utilize the measured data to generate expected sensing coverage provided by each transmitter/receiver sensing device pair (or per each monostatic device). The controller 1010 can also be a sensing device as described herein such as an access point or a wireless device such as a mobile phone.”, where “receiving the field of view” is very broad and data obtained using the second device is indeed “receiving a field of view”).
Regarding claim 9, MERLIN further discloses
The method according to claim 1, wherein the method is applied to a control device; and wherein the obtaining the field of view of the first device, location information of the second device, and the field of view of the second device comprises: receiving the field of view of the first device, the location information of the second device, and the field of view of the second device from the first device, wherein the location information of the second device is obtained by the first device through localization; or receiving the field of view of the first device from the first device and receiving the location information of the second device and the field of view of the second device from the second device (see at least paragraph 0115, “Data measured by the RSSI measuring device 1020 and the sensing access points 1030, 1040 can then be provided to the controller 1010 of the distributed sensing system 1000 for sensing purposes, such as for sensing device positioning, object motion detection, etc. The controller 1010 of the distributed sensing system 1000 can utilize the measured data to generate expected sensing coverage provided by each transmitter/receiver sensing device pair (or per each monostatic device). The controller 1010 can also be a sensing device as described herein such as an access point or a wireless device such as a mobile phone.”, where “receiving the field of view” is very broad and data obtained a device is indeed “receiving a field of view”).
Regarding claim 19, the same cited section and rationale as claim 1 is applied.
Regarding claim 20, the same cited section and rationale as claim 2 is applied.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. NOTE: THIS INIDCATION OF ALLOWABLE SUBJECT MATTER IS RELIANT ON THE MODIFICATION OF THE CONTINGNET METHOD CLAIMS (SEE CLAIM INTERPRETATION SECTION ABOVE).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In reference to claims 10-18, the prior arts made of record individually or in any combination, failed to teach, render obvious, or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the combination of the claimed features of claims 10-18.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
The following arts are considered closer pertinent arts to the claimed invention as they all discloses the placement of wireless sensors in an environment to optimize sensor coverage:
Bolot et al. (US 11323867 B2)
Chambers et al. (US 10664502 B2)
Wilson et al. (US 10366183 B2)
Baroudi et al. (US 10112300 B2)
Wu et al. (US 9964468 B1)
Golshan et al. (US 20230062363 A1) is also considered closer pertinent art to the claimed invention as it discloses,
A communication method (see Abstract, “Techniques for ranging for a mobile device with one or more electronic devices using communication circuitry implementing a wireless protocol can include storing a schedule for a plurality of communication sessions.”), comprising:
obtaining a first initial location of a first device, a field of view of the first device, location information of a second device, and a field of view of the second device, wherein the first device and the second device are each ultra-wideband devices, and wherein the first device and the second device are located in a target area, (see paragraph 0045, “At 303, processor 314 of mobile device 310 computes distance information 330, e.g., as described herein. Processor 314 can receive the times from the antennas and more specifically from circuitry (e.g., UWB circuitry or communication circuitry), that analyzes signals from antennas 311, 312, 313. As described later, processor 314 can be an always-on processor that uses less power than an application processor that can perform functionality that is more general. Distance information 330 can be used to determine a 2D or 3D position of mobile device 320, where such position can be used to configure a display screen of mobile device 310. For instance, the position can be used to determine where to display an icon corresponding to mobile device 320, e.g., which position in a list, which position in a 2D grid, or in which cluster of 1D, 2D, or 3D distance/position ranges to display the icon.”);
displaying first radar coverage of the first device in a spatial layout diagram of the target area based on the first initial location of the first device and the field of view of the first device (see paragraph 0045, “At 303, processor 314 of mobile device 310 computes distance information 330, e.g., as described herein. Processor 314 can receive the times from the antennas and more specifically from circuitry (e.g., UWB circuitry or communication circuitry), that analyzes signals from antennas 311, 312, 313. As described later, processor 314 can be an always-on processor that uses less power than an application processor that can perform functionality that is more general. Distance information 330 can be used to determine a 2D or 3D position of mobile device 320, where such position can be used to configure a display screen of mobile device 310. For instance, the position can be used to determine where to display an icon corresponding to mobile device 320, e.g., which position in a list, which position in a 2D grid, or in which cluster of 1D, 2D, or 3D distance/position ranges to display the icon.”);
displaying second radar coverage of the second device in the spatial layout diagram based on the location information of the second device and the field of view of the second device (see paragraph 0045, “At 303, processor 314 of mobile device 310 computes distance information 330, e.g., as described herein. Processor 314 can receive the times from the antennas and more specifically from circuitry (e.g., UWB circuitry or communication circuitry), that analyzes signals from antennas 311, 312, 313. As described later, processor 314 can be an always-on processor that uses less power than an application processor that can perform functionality that is more general. Distance information 330 can be used to determine a 2D or 3D position of mobile device 320, where such position can be used to configure a display screen of mobile device 310. For instance, the position can be used to determine where to display an icon corresponding to mobile device 320, e.g., which position in a list, which position in a 2D grid, or in which cluster of 1D, 2D, or 3D distance/position ranges to display the icon.”, further see paragraph 0041, “FIG. 3 shows a sequence diagram 300 of a ranging operation involving a mobile device 310 having three antennas 311, 312, and 313 according to embodiments of the present disclosure. Antennas 311, 312, 313 can be arranged to have different orientations, e.g., to define a field of view for performing ranging measurements.”);
/NAZRA NUR WAHEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648