DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 10, 12, 13, 15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nomura et al. (US 2014/0226117 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Nomura et al. discloses an optical element comprising (see e.g. Figures 1-2):
a primary electrode array comprising a plurality of primary electrodes 12 (denoted “second electrodes”, see e.g. paragraph [0033] and Figures 1-2) extending in a first direction;
a secondary electrode array comprising a plurality of secondary electrodes 11 (denoted “first electrodes”, see e.g. paragraph [0033] and Figures 1-2) extending in a second direction, wherein at least one secondary electrode 11 overlaps a portion of at least one primary electrode 12 (see e.g. Figures 1-2); and
a switchable active layer 3 (denoted “liquid crystal layer”, see e.g. paragraph [0030], Figures 1-2) disposed between the primary electrode array 12 and the secondary electrode array 11, wherein the switchable active layer 3 is configured to modulate light transmission through the optical element in response to an applied voltage (noted that this is an inherent property of liquid crystal layers and will have a switching effect due to director orientation with respect to light and adjacent polarizers).
In regard to claim 2, Nomura et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
wherein the primary electrodes 12 and the secondary electrodes 11 are substantially optically transparent (see e.g. paragraph [0033] for use of ITO).
In regard to claim 3, Nomura et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
wherein an angle between the first direction and the second direction is 30 degrees to 90 degrees (see e.g. Figure 2 where the directions are substantially perpendicular).
In regard to claim 4, Nomura et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
wherein the plurality of primary electrodes 12 form a plurality of rows, the plurality of secondary electrodes form a plurality of columns 11, and individual electrode rows and columns are electrically isolated from each other (see e.g. Figure 2 for spacing between rows and columns).
In regard to claim 6, Nomura et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
wherein the switchable active layer 3 comprises a material characterized by a threshold switching voltage (see e.g. paragraph [0030] for use of liquid crystal material and note that a threshold switching voltage is an inherent property of liquid crystals).
In regard to claim 10, Nomura et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
wherein the switchable active layer is disposed between optically transparent and electrically insulating substrates 1, 2 (see e.g. paragraph [0029] for transparent glass or plastic substrates).
In regard to claim 12, Nomura et al. discloses an optical element comprising (see e.g. Figures 1-2):
a primary electrode array comprising a plurality of primary electrodes 12 (denoted “second electrodes”, see e.g. paragraph [0033] and Figures 1-2) extending in a first direction;
a secondary electrode array comprising a plurality of secondary electrodes 11 (denoted “first electrodes”, see e.g. paragraph [0033] and Figures 1-2) extending in a second direction, wherein at least one secondary electrode 11 overlaps a portion of at least one primary electrode 12 (see e.g. Figures 1-2), individual primary and second electrodes 12, 11 are electrically isolated from each other (see e.g. Figure 2 for spacing between rows and columns), and an angle between the first direction and the second direction is approximately 90 degrees (see e.g. Figure 2 where the directions are substantially perpendicular); and
a switchable active layer 3 (denoted “liquid crystal layer”, see e.g. paragraph [0030], Figures 1-2) disposed between the primary electrode array 12 and the secondary electrode array 11, wherein the switchable active layer 3 is configured to modulate light transmission through the optical element in response to an applied voltage (noted that this is an inherent property of liquid crystal layers and will have a switching effect due to director orientation with respect to light and adjacent polarizers).
In regard to claim 13, Nomura et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 12 above, and
wherein the primary electrodes 12 and the secondary electrodes 11 are substantially optically transparent (see e.g. paragraph [0033] for use of ITO).
In regard to claim 15, Nomura et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 12 above, and
wherein the switchable active layer 3 comprises a material characterized by a threshold switching voltage (see e.g. paragraph [0030] for use of liquid crystal material and note that a threshold switching voltage is an inherent property of liquid crystals).
In regard to claim 18, Nomura et al. discloses an optical element comprising (see e.g. Figures 1-2):
a plurality of primary electrodes 12 (denoted “second electrodes”, see e.g. paragraph [0033] and Figures 1-2) extending in a first direction;
a plurality of secondary electrodes 11 (denoted “first electrodes”, see e.g. paragraph [0033] and Figures 1-2) extending in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction, wherein at least one secondary electrode 12 overlaps a portion of at least one primary electrode 11 (see e.g. Figures 1-2); and
a switchable active layer 3 (denoted “liquid crystal layer”, see e.g. paragraph [0030], Figures 1-2) disposed between the primary electrode array 12 and the secondary electrode array 11, wherein the switchable active layer 3 is configured to modulate light transmission through the optical element in response to an applied voltage (noted that this is an inherent property of liquid crystal layers and will have a switching effect due to director orientation with respect to light and adjacent polarizers).
In regard to claim 19, Nomura et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 18 above, and
wherein the primary electrodes 12 and the secondary electrodes 11 are substantially optically transparent (see e.g. paragraph [0033] for use of ITO).
In regard to claim 20, Nomura et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 18 above, and
wherein the plurality of primary electrodes 12 form a plurality of rows, the plurality of secondary electrodes form a plurality of columns 11, and individual electrode rows and columns are electrically isolated from each other (see e.g. Figure 2 for spacing between rows and columns).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomura et al. (US 2014/0226117 A1) in view of Bell et al. (US 2018/0188536 A1).
In regard to claim 5, Nomura et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the switchable active layer comprises an assembly selected from the group consisting of a polymer-stabilized liquid crystal (PSLC), a liquid crystal physical gel (LCPG), a polymer-dispersed liquid crystal (PDLC), a polymer-stabilized cholesteric texture (PSCT), a polymer network liquid crystal (PNLC), a guest-host liquid crystal (GHLC), an electrochromic (EC) layer, a reversible metal electrodeposition (RME) structure, and a ferroelectric nematic liquid crystal (FNLC).
However, Bell et al. discloses
wherein the switchable active layer comprises an assembly selected from the group consisting of a polymer-stabilized liquid crystal (PSLC), a liquid crystal physical gel (LCPG), a polymer-dispersed liquid crystal (PDLC), a polymer-stabilized cholesteric texture (PSCT), a polymer network liquid crystal (PNLC), a guest-host liquid crystal (GHLC), an electrochromic (EC) layer, a reversible metal electrodeposition (RME) structure, and a ferroelectric nematic liquid crystal (FNLC) (see e.g. paragraph [0067] for guest host liquid crystal material).
Given the teachings of Bell et al., it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nomura et al. with wherein the switchable active layer comprises an assembly selected from the group consisting of a polymer-stabilized liquid crystal (PSLC), a liquid crystal physical gel (LCPG), a polymer-dispersed liquid crystal (PDLC), a polymer-stabilized cholesteric texture (PSCT), a polymer network liquid crystal (PNLC), a guest-host liquid crystal (GHLC), an electrochromic (EC) layer, a reversible metal electrodeposition (RME) structure, and a ferroelectric nematic liquid crystal (FNLC).
Using a guest host type liquid crystal material would allow the device to operate without crossed polarizers, which prevents transmission lost through the extra layers.
In regard to claim 11, Nomura et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the switchable active layer is configured to modulate light transmission through one or more of optical absorption, scattering, and reflection effects.
However, Bell et al. discloses
wherein the switchable active layer is configured to modulate light transmission through one or more of optical absorption, scattering, and reflection effects (see e.g. paragraph [0067] for absorptions).
Given the teachings of Bell et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nomura et al. with wherein the switchable active layer is configured to modulate light transmission through one or more of optical absorption, scattering, and reflection effects.
Using a guest host type liquid crystal material would allow the device to operate without crossed polarizers, which prevents transmission lost through the extra layers.
In regard to claim 14, Nomura et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 12 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the switchable active layer comprises an assembly selected from the group consisting of a polymer-stabilized liquid crystal (PSLC), a liquid crystal physical gel (LCPG), a polymer-dispersed liquid crystal (PDLC), a polymer-stabilized cholesteric texture (PSCT), a polymer network liquid crystal (PNLC), a guest-host liquid crystal (GHLC), an electrochromic (EC) layer, a reversible metal electrodeposition (RME) structure, and a ferroelectric nematic liquid crystal (FNLC).
However, Bell et al. discloses
wherein the switchable active layer comprises an assembly selected from the group consisting of a polymer-stabilized liquid crystal (PSLC), a liquid crystal physical gel (LCPG), a polymer-dispersed liquid crystal (PDLC), a polymer-stabilized cholesteric texture (PSCT), a polymer network liquid crystal (PNLC), a guest-host liquid crystal (GHLC), an electrochromic (EC) layer, a reversible metal electrodeposition (RME) structure, and a ferroelectric nematic liquid crystal (FNLC) (see e.g. paragraph [0067] for guest host liquid crystal material).
Given the teachings of Bell et al., it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nomura et al. with wherein the switchable active layer comprises an assembly selected from the group consisting of a polymer-stabilized liquid crystal (PSLC), a liquid crystal physical gel (LCPG), a polymer-dispersed liquid crystal (PDLC), a polymer-stabilized cholesteric texture (PSCT), a polymer network liquid crystal (PNLC), a guest-host liquid crystal (GHLC), an electrochromic (EC) layer, a reversible metal electrodeposition (RME) structure, and a ferroelectric nematic liquid crystal (FNLC).
Using a guest host type liquid crystal material would allow the device to operate without crossed polarizers, which prevents transmission lost through the extra layers.
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomura et al. (US 2014/0226117 A1) in view of Atkinson et al. (US 2017/0301273 A1).
In regard to claim 7, Nomura et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the switchable active layer comprises a material having a degree of optical bi-stability.
However, Atkinson et al. disclose
wherein the switchable active layer comprises a material having a degree of optical bi-stability (see e.g. paragraph [0053] for bistable display types).
Given the teachings of Atkinson et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nomura et al. with wherein the switchable active layer comprises a material having a degree of optical bi-stability.
Using a bistable material allows for a degree of stability without continuous application of voltage (see e.g. paragraph [0053] of Atkinson et al.).
In regard to claim 16, Nomura et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 12 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the switchable active layer comprises a material having a degree of optical bi-stability.
However, Atkinson et al. disclose
wherein the switchable active layer comprises a material having a degree of optical bi-stability (see e.g. paragraph [0053] for bistable display types).
Given the teachings of Atkinson et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nomura et al. with wherein the switchable active layer comprises a material having a degree of optical bi-stability.
Using a bistable material allows for a degree of stability without continuous application of voltage (see e.g. paragraph [0053] of Atkinson et al.).
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomura et al. (US 2014/0226117 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US 2019/0377218 A1).
In regard to claim 8¸ Nomura et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the switchable active layer is configured to provide a high optical transmission clear state in an unbiased state and a low transmission dimming state in a biased state.
However, Liu et al. discloses
wherein the switchable active layer is configured to provide a high optical transmission clear state in an unbiased state and a low transmission dimming state in a biased state (see e.g. paragraph [0180]).
Given the teachings of Liu et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nomura et al. with wherein the switchable active layer is configured to provide a high optical transmission clear state in an unbiased state and a low transmission dimming state in a biased state.
Selecting the device to be in a normally white/transmission mode allows the device to transmit light without applied voltage.
In regard to claim 17¸ Nomura et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 12 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the switchable active layer is configured to provide a high optical transmission clear state in an unbiased state and a low transmission dimming state in a biased state.
However, Liu et al. discloses
wherein the switchable active layer is configured to provide a high optical transmission clear state in an unbiased state and a low transmission dimming state in a biased state (see e.g. paragraph [0180]).
Given the teachings of Liu et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nomura et al. with wherein the switchable active layer is configured to provide a high optical transmission clear state in an unbiased state and a low transmission dimming state in a biased state.
Selecting the device to be in a normally white/transmission mode allows the device to transmit light without applied voltage.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomura et al. (US 2014/0226117 A1) in view of Alton et al. (US 2015/0309312 A1).
In regard to claim 9, Nomura et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the switchable active layer includes a switchable scattering material configured to introduce optical scattering to a real-world scene.
However, Alton et al. discloses
wherein the switchable active layer includes a switchable scattering material configured to introduce optical scattering to a real-world scene (see e.g. paragraph [0040] for dimming panel with scattering).
Given the teachings of Alton et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nomura et al. with wherein the switchable active layer includes a switchable scattering material configured to introduce optical scattering to a real-world scene.
Using a PDLC element with scattering would allow for the voltage to control the transmittance/scattering characteristic of the device.
Conclusion
/JESSICA M MERLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871