DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final Rejection
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/21/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No.12306283. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations as written and claimed in the instant application are present in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No.12306283.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No.12306283. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations as written and claimed in the instant application are present in claim 2 of U.S. Patent No.12306283.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No.12306283. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations as written and claimed in the instant application are present in claim 6 of U.S. Patent No.12306283.
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of U.S. Patent No.12306283. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations as written and claimed in the instant application are present in claim 14 of U.S. Patent No.12306283.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over El-Hoiydi (US 20200029160 A1) in view of Kadri (US 20170094437 A1).
Regarding claim 1, El-Hoiydi teaches a method for determining a distance between two devices, comprising: playing audio (52) at a first device (14). (Paragraphs 71, 95-96, Figs.2-3)
El-Hoiydi also teaches recording, via a microphone (30) of a second device (16), the audio played by the first device (14). (Paragraphs 57-61, Figs.2-4)
El-Hoiydi also teaches transmitting audio data from the first device (14) to the second device (16) via a Bluetooth connection (data may be exchanged between the hearing device and the mobile device, for example via BLUETOOTH), wherein the audio data corresponds to the audio played at the first device. (Paragraphs 29, 67, 70, Claims 1, 4, Figs.2-4)
El-Hoiydi also teaches determining a distance between the first device and the second device based on a latency constant of a Bluetooth connection between the first device and the second device. (Paragraphs 58, 81, 29-30, 23)
El-Hoiydi does not explicitly teach determining a time delay based on the audio played at the first device and the audio recorded via the microphone of the second device and determining a distance between the first device and the second device based on the time delay.
Kadri teaches determining a time delay based on the audio played at the first device (102-124) and the audio recorded via the microphone (220) of the second device (102-124). (Paragraphs 32-33, 96, 125, 39, Fig.2)
Kadri also teaches determining a distance between the first device and the second device based on the time delay. (Paragraphs 32-33, 96, 125, 39, Fig.2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify El-Hoiydi to incorporate determining a time delay based on the audio played at the first device and the audio recorded via the microphone of the second device and determining a distance between the first device and the second device based on the time delay as taught by Kadri in order to determine an angular orientation and henceforth distance of the playback device relative to each other.
Regarding claim 2, El-Hoiydi teaches wherein the audio data is transmitted by the first device simultaneously with the audio being played at the first device. (Paragraph 57, 63, 99, Fig.3)
Regarding claim 3, El-Hoiydi teaches wherein the audio data is transmitted by the first device before or after the audio is played at the first device according to an offset time. (Paragraph 57, 63, 99, Fig.3)
Regarding claim 4, El-Hoiydi teaches wherein the latency constant is a known latency constant associated with Bluetooth Low Energy (LE) Audio. (Paragraphs 30, 58, 62)
Regarding claim 5, El-Hoiydi does not explicitly teach wherein the time delay is determined based on a first point in time corresponding to when the audio was played by the first device and a second point in time corresponding to when the audio was recorded by the second device.
Kadri teaches wherein the time delay is determined based on a first point in time corresponding to when the audio was played by the first device and a second point in time corresponding to when the audio was recorded by the second device. (Paragraphs 96)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify El-Hoiydi to incorporate wherein the time delay is determined based on a first point in time corresponding to when the audio was played by the first device and a second point in time corresponding to when the audio was recorded by the second device as taught by Kadri in order to determine an angular orientation and henceforth distance of the playback device relative to each other.
Regarding claim 6, El-Hoiydi does not explicitly teach wherein the distance is determined by multiplying the time delay by a speed of sound.
Kadri teaches wherein the distance is determined by multiplying the time delay by a speed of sound. (Paragraphs 125, 96)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify El-Hoiydi to incorporate wherein the distance is determined by multiplying the time delay by a speed of sound as taught by Kadri in order to determine an angular orientation and henceforth distance of the playback device relative to each other.
Regarding claim 8, El-Hoiydi teaches wherein the Bluetooth connection is a Bluetooth protocol. (Paragraphs 30, 58, 62) El-Hoiydi discloses the claimed invention except for Broadcast Isochronous Stream. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filled to incorporate Broadcast Isochronous Stream, since it has been held to be within general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Regarding claim 9, El-Hoiydi teaches wherein the Bluetooth connection is a Bluetooth protocol. (Paragraphs 30, 58, 62) El-Hoiydi discloses the claimed invention except for a connected isochronous stream. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filled to incorporate a connected isochronous stream, since it has been held to be within general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Regarding claim 10, El-Hoiydi teaches wherein the first device is a smartphone or tablet computer, and wherein the second device is an earbud, hearing aid, audio headset, smart speaker, or set of audio eyeglasses. (Paragraphs 58-59, 61-63, Figs.2-3)
Regarding claim 11, El-Hoiydi teaches a system for determining a distance between two devices, comprising: a first device (14) configured to play audio (52) and transmit audio data corresponding to the audio via a Bluetooth connection (data may be exchanged between the hearing device and the mobile device, for example via BLUETOOTH). (Paragraphs 70-71, 95-96, 29, 67, Figs.2-3)
El-Hoiydi also teaches a second device (16) comprising a microphone (30), wherein the microphone is configured to record the audio played at the first device (14), and wherein the second device is configured to receive the audio data transmitted by the first device via the Bluetooth connection. (Paragraphs 57-61, 29, 67, 70, Claims 1, 4, Figs.2-4)
El-Hoiydi also teaches determining a distance between the first device and the second device based on a latency constant of the Bluetooth connection between the first device and the second device. (Paragraphs 58, 81, 29-30, 23)
El-Hoiydi does not explicitly teach a processor configured to: determine a time delay based on the audio played at the first device and the audio recorded via the microphone of the second device and determining a distance between the first device and the second device based on the time delay.
Kadri teaches a processor configured to: determine a time delay based on the audio played at the first device (102-124) and the audio recorded via the microphone (220) of the second device (102-124). (Paragraphs 32-33, 96, 125, 39, Fig.2)
Kadri also teaches determining a distance between the first device and the second device based on the time delay. (Paragraphs 32-33, 96, 125, 39, Fig.2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify El-Hoiydi to incorporate a processor configured to: determine a time delay based on the audio played at the first device and the audio recorded via the microphone of the second device and determining a distance between the first device and the second device based on the time delay as taught by Kadri in order to determine an angular orientation and henceforth distance of the playback device relative to each other.
Regarding claim 12, the claim discloses substantially the same limitations, as claim 2. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 12, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected for the same rational over the prior art cited in claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, the claim discloses substantially the same limitations, as claim 3. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 13, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected for the same rational over the prior art cited in claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, the claim discloses substantially the same limitations, as claim 4. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 14, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected for the same rational over the prior art cited in claim 4.
Regarding claim 15, the claim discloses substantially the same limitations, as claim 5. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 15, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected for the same rational over the prior art cited in claim 5.
Regarding claim 16, the claim discloses substantially the same limitations, as claim 6. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 16, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected for the same rational over the prior art cited in claim 6.
Regarding claim 18, the claim discloses substantially the same limitations, as claim 8. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 18, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected for the same rational over the prior art cited in claim 8.
Regarding claim 19, the claim discloses substantially the same limitations, as claim 9. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 19, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected for the same rational over the prior art cited in claim 9.
Regarding claim 20, the claim discloses substantially the same limitations, as claim 10. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 20, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected for the same rational over the prior art cited in claim 10.
Claim(s) 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over El-Hoiydi in view of Kadri and Keyser-Allen (US 20170181113 A1)
Regarding claim 7, El-Hoiydi does not explicitly teach wherein the first point in time is determined by subtracting the latency constant from the second point in time.
Keyser-Allen teaches wherein the first point in time is determined by subtracting the latency constant from the second point in time. (Paragraphs 41-42)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify El-Hoiydi to incorporate wherein the first point in time is determined by subtracting the latency constant from the second point in time as taught by Keyser-Allen in order to determine a time to play the content.
Regarding claim 17, the claim discloses substantially the same limitations, as claim 7. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 17, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected for the same rational over the prior art cited in claim 7.
Conclusion
/ABDALLAH ABULABAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645