DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: each instance of “fuse” should be amended to --switch-- to more accurately describe the invention.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 5, 8, and 14-16 are objected to because of the following informalities: each instance of “fuse” should be amended to --switch-- to more accurately describe the invention. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bloom et al (2025/0087995).
In re Claim 1, Crevenat teaches a surge protection circuit for transmitting electromagnetic signals of an operational frequency band, the surge protection circuit as seen in Figures 1, 4, and 10 comprising: (a) a transmission line (running from LINE to LINE_OUT) connecting an input terminal (LINE) to an output terminal (LINE_OUT); (b) a surge suppression device (306/406, paragraph 43) for treating any high-voltage, transient electromagnetic energy received by the transmission line, the surge suppression device having an operational state that transitions between an active operational state and an inactive operational state (paragraph 41), the surge suppression device connecting the transmission line to a ground terminal (paragraph 34), the surge suppression device being connected to the transmission line between the input terminal and the output terminal (as seen in Figure 4); and (c) a subcircuit (1002) for monitoring the operational state of the surge suppression device (paragraph 67).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bloom et al (2025/0087995) in view of Crevenat (2018/0102640).
In re Claims 2-4, Bloom teaches that the subcircuit 1002 includes a fuse 1006 that switches from a conducting to non-conducting state when the GDT 306 fails into a short circuit state when conducting a surge overvoltage (paragraph 66 and 67).
Bloom does not specifically teach that the fuse reacts to a thermal response of the GDT.
Crevenat teaches that when a GDT reaches end of life, it begins to short circuit and cause a thermal response (paragraphs 6 and 8). Crevenat further teaches utilizing a fuse 3 that is thermally coupled to a GDT 4 and configured to blow when a temperature of the GDT exceeds a threshold (paragraph 114).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to thermally couple the fuse 1006 to the GDT 306 of Bloom as taught by Crevenat since Crevenat teaches that by doing so a failure of the GDT can further be detected based on a temperature response of the GDT.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In re Claim 5, Bloom further teaches a monitoring port U1 connected with the fuse 1006 as seen in Figure 10, but Bloom fails to teach that the fuse 1006 is normally in an open switching state.
Claims 6-17 are dependent on claim 5.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER J CLARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838