DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “phase adjustment mechanism” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “phase adjustment mechanism” use throughout the claims.
For the record:
“Phase adjustment mechanism” has been interpreted according to the corresponding structure described in the specification at para. 0060 as being a controller, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “a fluid working medium” in line 4 of the claim. However, base claim 1 already recites “a fluid working medium” at lines 3-4 of the claim. As recited, it is unclear whether these are meant to connote the same or different fluid working medium. The recitation in claim 9 should be changed to “the fluid working medium”. Claim 10 is also rejected since it depends from claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Yamada et al. (US 2009/0229305 A1 – hereinafter Yamada et al. ‘305).
As per claim 1, Yamada et al. disclose an ejector refrigeration system comprising:
a compressor 1 having a suction port and a discharge port;
a first heat exchanger 2 connected to the discharge port of the compressor to receive a fluid working medium flowing out from the discharge port of the compressor; and
an ejector 5 including a primary flow inlet connected to the first heat exchanger to receive a fluid working medium from the first heat exchanger (inlet connected to line 81), a secondary flow inlet 5B, and an ejector outlet (outlet to HX 6) connected to the suction port of the compressor to return a fluid working medium entering the ejector to the suction port of the compressor, wherein
the ejector refrigeration system further comprises:
a phase adjustment mechanism (control unit described at paras. 0038-0040) configured to adjust a phase state of the fluid working medium entering the primary flow inlet of the ejector (control of dryness as described at paras. 0010-0011, 0051, 0054, 0059; etc.).
As per claim 6, Yamada et al. disclose the system further comprising: an expansion valve 3 disposed between the primary flow inlet and the first heat exchanger (Fig. 1; etc.), wherein the phase adjustment mechanism is a mechanism for controlling an opening degree of the expansion valve (paras. 0010-0011, 0051, 0054, 0059; etc.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada ‘305 in view of Yamada et al. (US 2009/0229306 A1 – hereinafter Yamada et al. ‘306) and Yokoyama et al. (US 2018/0058738 A1).
As per claim 3, Yamada ‘305 discloses a second heat exchanger 6, but does not teach and a gas-liquid separator including an inlet connected to the ejector outlet, a gas outlet connected to the suction port of the compressor, and a liquid outlet connected to the secondary flow inlet via the second heat exchanger. Yamada ‘306 teaches a similar system (see Fig. 1; etc.), and further that a gas-liquid separator can be placed downstream of the ejector (para.0090). Further, Yokoyama et al. teach an ejector system comprising second heat exchanger 14 and a gas-liquid separator 13 including an inlet connected to the ejector 20 outlet, a gas outlet connected to the suction port of the compressor 11, and a liquid outlet connected to the secondary flow inlet via the second heat exchanger (Fig. 1; etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to similarly modify Yamada ‘305 in this manner for the purpose of controlling both pressure and dryness downstream of the ejector (Yamada ‘306, para. 0090).
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada ‘305.
As per claim 4, Yamada et al. do not teach the system further comprising: a differential pressure sensor configured to measure a differential pressure between the secondary flow inlet of the ejector and the ejector outlet, the phase adjustment mechanism being in communication connection with the differential pressure sensor, or the ejector refrigeration system further comprising: a pressure detection assembly configured to detect pressures of the ejector outlet and the secondary flow inlet, the phase adjustment mechanism being in communication connection with the pressure detection assembly. However, note that the output from the pressure sensors are never functionally applied in any manner, but that the phase adjustment mechanism (which according to the interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), above, is simply a controller) is in communication with the sensors. First, in the absence of any related controls being performed, it is considered a simple expedient to place pressure sensors within a refrigeration system and that such would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application for the general purpose of monitoring the functioning of the system. Further, having the sensors being in communication with a controller is a further simple expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application for the purpose of collecting the sensor output and facilitating the monitoring.
As per claim 5, similarly, Yamada et al. ‘305 does not teach the system further comprising: a dryness sensor disposed at the primary flow inlet, the phase adjustment mechanism being in communication connection with the dryness sensor. Again, note that the output from the dryness sensor are never functionally applied in any manner, but that the phase adjustment mechanism (which according to the interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), above, is simply a controller) is in communication with the sensor. First, in the absence of any related controls being performed, it is considered a simple expedient to place a dryness sensor at a location within a refrigeration system and that such would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application for the general purpose of monitoring the functioning of the system. Further, having the sensor being in communication with a controller is a further simple expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application for the purpose of collecting the sensor output and facilitating the monitoring.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada ‘305 in view of Ikegami et al. (US 2007/0000262 A1).
As per claim 7, Yamada et al. ‘305 does not teach wherein the phase adjustment mechanism is a mechanism for controlling a rotation speed of a fan of the first heat exchanger. Ikegami et al. teach an ejector refrigeration system comprising a controller 21 (considered equivalent to the “phase adjustment mechanism” as discussed above regarding interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f)) which controls a rotation speed of a fan 12a of the first heat exchanger 12 (Figs. 1-21; etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to similarly control the fan of the first heat exchanger of Yamada et al. ‘305 for the general purpose optimizing system efficiency by achieving a desired amount of cooling of the refrigerant being performed at the first heat exchanger.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 9-10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Yamada et al. as applied above constitutes the closest prior art.
As per claim 2, there is no teaching or suggestion in the prior art to further modify the system of Yamada et al. wherein the phase adjustment mechanism is configured to adjust the fluid working medium entering the primary flow inlet of the ejector into a gas-liquid two-phase state in response to an external ambient temperature being lower than a specified value.
As per claim 8, there is no teaching or suggestion in the prior art to further modify the system of Yamada et al. to further comprise a bypass pipeline connected, at one end, between the discharge port of the compressor and the first heat exchanger, and connected, at the other end, between an outlet of the first heat exchanger and the primary flow inlet; and a first opening regulating valve disposed in the bypass pipeline, wherein the phase adjustment mechanism is a mechanism for adjusting an opening degree of the first opening regulating valve.
As per claim 9 (and claim 10 which depends therefrom), there is no teaching or suggestion in the prior art to further modify the system of Yamada et al. to further comprise a reservoir including: a reservoir inlet communicating with a first pipe section of the first heat exchanger to receive a fluid working medium at an outlet of the first pipe section; a reservoir liquid refrigerant outlet communicating with a second pipe section of the first heat exchanger; and a reservoir gaseous refrigerant outlet located at the top of the reservoir and connected between an outlet of the first heat exchanger and the primary flow inlet.
Conclusion
/MARC E NORMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763