DETAILED ACTION
.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/23/2025 was considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the sealant must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites a first housing part made of metal and having a groove containing a sealant; and a second housing part made of metal and having one or more crimping ribs that engage in the groove. However, the specification teaches the first housing having the crimping ribs and the second housing having the groove, see for example figure 2 and paragraph [0017]. It is not clear if the specification has an error or if the claim has an error. Claims 2-13 are dependent for claim 1, directly or indirectly, and therefore carries the same issue as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jocham (6469896). With respect to claim 1, Jocham discloses a housing (1) for an electrical or electronic device, the housing (1) comprising: a first housing part (2) made of metal and having a groove (4) [spec. has groove in second housing see fig. 2 and [0017]] containing a sealant (see column 2 lines 43-47 ) not shown; and a second housing part (3) [spec. has rib in first housing see fig. 2 and [0017]] made of metal and having one or more crimping ribs (end of 11 in figure 2) that engage in the groove (4). With respect to claim 2, Jocham discloses the housing (1) according to claim 1, wherein the two housing parts (2, 3) are additionally connected by screws (7). With respect to claim 3, Jocham discloses the housing (1) according to claim 2, wherein the screws (7) are self-tapping screws or self-cutting screws. With respect to claim 5, Jocham discloses the housing (1) according to claim 1, wherein the sealant (see column 2 lines 43-47 ) is an adhesive. With respect to claim 6, Jocham discloses the housing (1) according to claim 1, wherein the sealant (see column 2 lines 43-47 ) is an electrically isolating adhesive. With respect to claim 7, Jocham discloses the housing (1) according to claim 1, wherein the first housing part (2) and the second housing part (3) are made of an aluminium-based alloy. With respect to claim 12, Jocham discloses the housing (1) according to claim 1, wherein the groove (4) is a circumferential groove (4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 8-11, and 13 are would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LISA LEA-EDMONDS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/LISA LEA-EDMONDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847 2026-09-05