DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed on 5/18/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 19, and 22 have been amended. Claims 21 and 23 have been cancelled. Claims 24-25 have been added. Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-17, 19-20, 22, and 24-25 are still pending in this application, with claims 1 and 22 being independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nyfelt et al. (US 2022/0340393, hereinafter “Nyfelt”).
Regarding claim 1, Nyfelt discloses a device (LED light hose reel; see Fig. 1; Abstract; para. [0006], [0020]-[0021]), comprising a housing (housing 10; see Fig. 1; para. [0006], [0008]-[0009], [0021]-[0022], [0024], [0026]-[0030], [0034]-[0038]); and a rope light coupled to the housing (an LED light strip 22 defined by a flexible circuit board populated by LEDs thereon forms a rope light which is housed in a transparent hose 20 which is retractably reeled on a reel 12 inside the housing 10; see Fig. 1; para. [0006]-[0007], [0011], [0021], [0025]-[0030], [0034], [0036], [0039]-[0042]); wherein the device is configured to convert between a rope mode and a lantern mode (the rope light 22 is housed within a transparent hose 20 which can be extended from the housing 10 in a rope light mode and retracted into the housing for a lantern mode; see Fig. 1; para. [0006]-[0011], [0013], [0021], [0023]-[0031], [0034]-[0036], [0039]-[0042]); and a rigid cover coupled to the housing and configured to diffuse the light emitted by the rope light when the device is in lantern mode (the transparent hose 20 surrounding the rope light 22 diffuses light emitted by the LEDs of the rope light and is coupled to the reel 12 inside the housing 10, and is designed to become stiff/rigid and inflated by compressed air or fluid which protects the LED light strip; see Fig. 1; para. [0006]-[0007], [0011], [0021], [0025]-[0031], [0034], [0036], [0039]-[0042]).
Regarding claim 2, Nyfelt discloses wherein in the lantern mode, the rope light is retracted to define a concentrated area of light, and wherein in the rope mode, the rope light extends from the housing (the rope light 20 can be extended from the housing 10 in a rope light mode, and retracted into the housing for a lantern mode in which light is emitted in an area concentrated closer to the housing itself; see Fig. 1; para. [0006]-[0011], [0013], [0021], [0023]-[0030], [0034]-[0036], [0039]-[0042]).
Regarding claim 4, Nyfelt discloses the device further comprising a control panel coupled to the housing, the control panel configured to control an emission of light from the rope light (a control element 32 is provided on the housing 10 to provide a conventional panel having various buttons/switches for controlling light options of the LED light strip 22 of the rope light 20; see Fig. 1; para. [0008], [0013], [0034], [0039]-[0040], [0042]).
Regarding claim 5, Nyfelt discloses wherein the emission of light comprises a first light mode and a second light mode (the LED light strip 22 of the rope light 20 can be controlled by the control panel 32 to select between various light emission modes including different blinking sequences, solid light, different colors, etc.; see Fig. 1; para. [0034], [0039], [0042]).
Regarding claim 8, Nyfelt discloses the device further comprising a battery pack coupled to the housing, the battery pack configured to provide power to the rope light (a battery 40 is provided inside a compartment within the housing 10 to provide power; see Fig. 1; para. [0010], [0028], [0036], [0040]).
Regarding claim 9, Nyfelt discloses wherein the housing comprises an interior portion configured to receive the battery pack (a battery 40 is provided inside a compartment within the housing 10 to provide power; see Fig. 1; para. [0010], [0028], [0036], [0040]).
Regarding claim 11, Nyfelt discloses the device further comprising a charging port located on the housing, the charging port configured to enable charging of the battery pack (a charger 42 for charging the battery 40 is provided on the housing 10; see Fig. 1; para. [0010], [0029], [0036], [0040]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 10, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nyfelt (US 2022/0340393) in view of Wang (US 2017/0207429). The teachings of Nyfelt have been discussed above.
Regarding claim 6, Nyfelt teaches the device further comprising a storage compartment located within an interior portion of the housing (a battery 40 is provided inside a compartment within the housing 10 to provide power; see Fig. 1; para. [0010], [0028], [0036], [0040]).
However, the teachings of Nyfelt fail to disclose or fairly suggest wherein the storage compartment is accessible via a lid removably coupled to the housing.
Wang teaches a device (flashlight or battery-operated device 14; see Figs. 1-3; Abstract; para. [0029], [0036], [0042]), comprising a housing (the housing of the device 14; see Fig. 3; para. [0029], [0036], [0042]); and a light coupled to the housing (the device 14 is a flashlight and thus has a light source; see Fig. 3; para. [0029], [0036], [0042]); wherein the device further comprises a storage compartment located within an interior portion of the housing, wherein the storage compartment is accessible via a lid removably coupled to the housing (a battery compartment 16 is defined within an interior portion of the housing of the device 14 and accessible via a conventional battery access lid; see Fig. 3; para. [0029], [0036], [0042]).
Therefore, in view of Wang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nyfelt by providing a lid removably coupled to the housing to allow access to the storage compartment. One would have been motivated to modify the known device of Nyfelt by providing a lid removably coupled to the housing to allow access to the storage compartment, as taught by Wang, in order to enable the battery pack within the storage compartment to be easily accessed when necessary to remove and replace when needed.
However, regarding claim 10, the teachings of Nyfelt fail to disclose or fairly suggest a battery level indication light configured to indicate a level of charge of the battery pack.
Wang teaches the device further comprising a battery pack coupled to the housing, the battery pack configured to provide power to the light (a battery pack 10 which comprises a battery 20 therein is housed within the battery compartment 16 of the housing to provide a replacement of conventional batteries 46; see Figs. 1-3; para. [0029]-[0042]); and a battery level indication light configured to indicate a level of charge of the battery pack (the battery pack 10 has a first status indicator light 40 for indicating the charging status of the battery pack; see Fig. 2; para. [0033], [0039]).
Therefore, in view of Wang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nyfelt by providing a battery level indication light configured to indicate a level of charge of the battery pack. One would have been motivated to modify the known device of Nyfelt by providing a battery level indication light configured to indicate a level of charge of the battery pack, as taught by Wang, in order to provide a clear indication to a user of when the battery pack needs to be charged based on a color of the battery level indication light (see Wang, par. [0039] for the motivation).
However, regarding claim 12, the teachings of Nyfelt fail to disclose or fairly suggest wherein the charging port is configured to enable charging of an external device.
Wang teaches the device further comprising a charging port configured to enable charging of an external device (an output power port 38 is provided to connect the battery pack 10 to a battery-powered device (not shown) to power the battery-powered device; see Fig. 2; para. [0033], [0038], [0040]).
Therefore, in view of Wang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nyfelt by configuring the charging port to enable charging of an external device. One would have been motivated to modify the known device of Nyfelt by configuring the charging port to enable charging of an external device, as taught by Wang, in order to enable the device to provide power to a suitable external battery-powered device when desired (see Wang, par. [0038] for the motivation).
However, regarding claim 13, the teachings of Nyfelt fail to disclose or fairly suggest a light emitting diode (LED) coupled to the battery pack, wherein the LED is configured to operate as a flashlight.
Wang teaches the device further comprising a light emitting diode (LED) coupled to the battery pack, wherein the LED is configured to operate as a flashlight (a light source 24 comprising a plurality of LED lights 30 is provided on a housing 12 of the battery pack; see Figs. 1-2; para. [0032]-[0035], [0041]).
Therefore, in view of Wang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nyfelt by coupling an LED configured to operate as a flashlight to the battery pack. One would have been motivated to modify the known device of Nyfelt by coupling an LED configured to operate as a flashlight to the battery pack, as taught by Wang, in order to enable the battery pack itself to be configured for use as a standalone lighting device (see Wang, par. [0035] for the motivation).
Regarding claim 14, Nyfelt teaches the device further comprising an activation mechanism selected from the group consisting of a button, a switch, and combinations thereof, the activation mechanism coupled to the battery pack and operatively coupled to the LED (a control element 32 is provided on the housing 10 to provide a conventional panel having various buttons/switches for controlling light options of the LED light strip 22 of the rope light 20; see Fig. 1; para. [0008], [0013], [0034], [0039]-[0040], [0042]).
Claims 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nyfelt et al. (US 2022/0340393, hereinafter “Nyfelt”) in view of Salzinger et al. (US 2016/0215941, hereinafter “Salzinger”).
However, regarding claims 15 and 20, the teachings of Nyfelt fail to disclose or fairly suggest a solar panel configured to provide power to the battery pack and the rope light.
Salzinger teaches a lighting device (collapsible device 400 which comprises LED light sources; see Figs. 4A-4C; para. [0068]-[0075]), comprising a housing (housing 401; see Figs. 4A-4C; para. [0068]-[0071], [0073], [0075]); and a handle comprising a first end and a second end, wherein each of the first end and the second end is coupled to an end portion of the housing (a handle 405 comprising first and second ends 405a which are pivotably coupled to a second wall 404 of the housing 401; see Fig. 4B; par. [0073]), and the handle is configured to rotate at least 90 degrees about the end portion of the housing, via the coupling between the first and second ends of the handle with the end portion (the ends 405a of the handle 405 are configured to pivot with respect to the second wall 404 of the housing 401 such that the handle may lie flat against the second wall when not in use, which means the handle rotates at least 90 degrees from the position shown in Fig. 4B; see par. [0073]); the device further comprising a battery pack coupled to the housing, the battery pack configured to provide power to the lighting device (a solar panel 460 is coupled to a PCB assembly coupled to a battery and one or more LEDs to provide a rechargeable power source; see Fig. 4B; par. [0072]); and a solar panel configured to provide power to the battery pack and the lighting device (a solar panel 460 comprising an array of solar cells 406; see Fig. 4B; par. [0072]).
Therefore, in view of Salzinger, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nyfelt by providing a solar panel configured to provide power to the battery pack and the rope light. One would have been motivated to modify the known device of Nyfelt by providing a solar panel configured to provide power to the battery pack and the rope light, as taught by Salzinger, in order to enable the battery to be recharged by solar power (see Salzinger, par. [0072] for the motivation).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nyfelt (US 2022/0340393) in view of Shih (US 2012/0032587). The teachings of Nyfelt have been discussed above.
However, regarding claim 16, the teachings of Nyfelt fail to disclose or fairly suggest wherein the rope light is detachably coupled to the housing.
Shih teaches a device (LED string light; see Figs. 1-3; Abstract; para. [0033]-[0036]), comprising a housing (a control unit 300 which can be a battery housing; see Figs. 1, 4; para. [0036]-[0039], [0047]-[0052]); and a rope light coupled to the housing (a light source arrangement 200 is received within a light cavity 102 of an elongated tubular casing 100 to define a rope light which is coupled to the housing 300 via adaptors 216 which comprise a first attachment 218 and a second attachment 220; see Figs. 1-4; para. [0033]-[0052]); wherein the rope light is detachably coupled to the housing (the rope light 200 is detachably coupled to the housing 300 via adaptors 216 which comprise a first attachment 218 and a second attachment 220 to physically couple the rope light to the housing via friction fit; see Figs. 1, 4; para. [0047]-[0052]).
Therefore, in view of Shih, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nyfelt by detachably coupling the rope light to the housing. One would have been motivated to modify the known device of Nyfelt by detachably coupling the rope light to the housing, as taught by Shih, in order to enable the rope light to be easily disconnected and replaced with another rope light if it is damaged or otherwise failing to operate, without having to replace the entire device.
Regarding claim 17, Shih further teaches wherein the rope light is detachably coupled to the housing via at least one of magnetic coupling or a friction fit (the rope light 200 is detachably coupled to the housing 300 via adaptors 216 which comprise a first attachment 218 and a second attachment 220 to physically couple the rope light to the housing via friction fit; see Figs. 1, 4; para. [0047]-[0052]).
Claims 19, 22, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nyfelt (US 2022/0340393) in view of Horne et al. (US 2019/0257479, previously listed on the form PTO-892 mailed 2/23/2026, hereinafter “Horne”). The teachings of Nyfelt have been discussed above.
Regarding claim 19, Nyfelt teaches the device further comprising a handle coupled to the housing (handle 16 has two ends coupled to an upper end of the housing 10; see Fig. 1; para. [0011], [0037]).
However, the teachings of Nyfelt fail to disclose or fairly suggest wherein the handle is configured to rotate about 180 degrees.
Horne teaches a device (collapsible container 10 which contains a removable light source 50; see Figs. 1A-6; para. [0032]-[0037]) comprising a housing (the device 10 comprises a flexible peripheral side wall or membrane 15 extending between a lower casing 20 and an upper casing 25 to define a housing structure; see Figs. 1A-1E, 3-6; para. [0032]-[0037]); and a handle coupled to the housing, wherein the handle is configured to rotate about 180 degrees (a handle 11 having a ratcheting structure to allow a rotation of 180 degrees is coupled to the upper casing 25 of the housing structure; see Figs. 1A, 1C-1D, 4; para. [0033]-[0034]).
Therefore, in view of Horne, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nyfelt by configuring the handle to rotate about 180 degrees. One would have been motivated to modify the known device of Nyfelt by configuring the handle to rotate about 180 degrees, as taught by Horne, in order to enable the handle to be moved out of the way when not in use, and additionally to enable the handle to be moved to a desired position to position the light source on the zone of the work area as needed (see Horne, par. [0033] for the motivation).
Regarding claim 22, Nyfelt teaches a device (LED light hose reel; see Fig. 1; Abstract; para. [0006], [0020]-[0021]), comprising a housing comprising a top portion end and a base portion end opposite the top portion end (housing 10 comprises a top portion end having a handle 16 mounted thereon, and a base portion end at a lower end thereof opposite the top portion end which contains a stand 18; see Fig. 1; para. [0006], [0008]-[0009], [0011], [0021]-[0022], [0024], [0026]-[0030], [0034]-[0038]); a battery pack coupled to an interior portion of the housing (a battery 40 is provided inside a compartment within the housing 10 to provide power; see Fig. 1; para. [0010], [0028], [0036], [0040]); a rope light coupled to the housing and electrically coupled to the battery pack, wherein the rope light comprises a plurality of LEDs (an LED light strip 22 defined by a flexible circuit board populated by LEDs thereon forms a rope light which is housed in a transparent hose 20 which is retractably reeled on a reel 12 inside the housing 10 and receives power from the battery pack 40; see Fig. 1; para. [0006]-[0007], [0011], [0021], [0025]-[0030], [0034], [0036], [0039]-[0042]), wherein the device is configured to convert between a rope mode and a lantern mode (transparent hose 20 contains an LED strip light 22 therein to form a rope light which can be extended from the housing 10 in a rope light mode and retracted into the housing for a lantern mode; see Fig. 1; para. [0006]-[0011], [0013], [0021], [0023]-[0030], [0034]-[0036], [0039]-[0042]).
However, the teachings of Nyfelt fail to disclose or fairly suggest at least one light configured to emit light from the base portion end around a center portion of the base portion.
Horne teaches a device (collapsible container 10 which contains a removable light source 50; see Figs. 1A-2D, 4; para. [0032]-[0037], [0039]-[0040]) comprising a housing comprising a top portion end and a base portion end opposite the top portion end (the device 10 comprises a flexible peripheral side wall or membrane 15 extending between a lower casing 20 defining a base portion end at a lower portion thereof, and an upper casing 25 defining a top portion end at an upper portion thereof, to define a housing structure; see Figs. 1A-1E, 4; para. [0032]-[0037], [0039]); and at least one light configured to emit light from the base portion end and around a center portion of the base portion (removable light source 50 is positioned at the base portion end of the lower casing 20 to direct light downward 55 from a center of the base portion; see Figs. 2A-2E, 4; para. [0036]-[0039]).
Therefore, in view of Horne, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nyfelt by disposing at least one light on the base portion end which is configured to emit light from the base portion end around a center portion of the base portion. One would have been motivated to modify the known device of Nyfelt by disposing at least one light on the base portion end which is configured to emit light from the base portion end around a center portion of the base portion, as taught by Horne, in order to enable light to be directed downward below the device and illuminate an area beneath the device (see Horne, par. [0039] for the motivation).
Regarding claim 24, Horne further teaches wherein the at least one light configured to emit light from the base portion end comprises a flashlight (the light 50 forms a flashlight structure attached to the base portion end of the lower casing 20 of the housing; see Figs. 2A-2E, 4; para. [0036]-[0039]).
Regarding claim 25, Nyfelt teaches the device further comprising a handle comprising a first end and a second end, wherein each of the first end and the second end is coupled to a top surface of the housing (handle 16 has two ends coupled to an upper surface of the housing 10; see Fig. 1; para. [0011], [0037]).
However, the teachings of Nyfelt fail to disclose or fairly suggest wherein each of the first end and the second end is pivotably coupled to the top surface of the housing.
Horne teaches the device further comprising a handle comprising a first end and a second end, wherein each of the first end and the second end is pivotably coupled to a top surface of the housing (a handle 11 having a ratcheting structure to allow a rotation of 180 degrees is coupled at two ends thereof to the top portion end of the upper casing 25 of the housing structure; see Figs. 1A, 1C-1D, 4; para. [0033]-[0034]).
Therefore, in view of Horne, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nyfelt by pivotably coupling each of the first end and the second end of the handle to the top surface of the housing. One would have been motivated to modify the known device of Nyfelt by pivotably coupling each of the first end and the second end of the handle to the top surface of the housing, as taught by Horne, in order to enable the handle to be moved out of the way when not in use, and additionally to enable the handle to be moved to a desired position to position the light source on the zone of the work area as needed (see Horne, par. [0033] for the motivation).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the Applicant’s argument with respect to amended Claim 1 that “Nyfelt, Salzinger, Wang, and Shih, taken alone or in combination, fail to teach, disclose, or make obvious the amendments to Claim 1, specifically “a rigid cover coupled to the housing and configured to diffuse the light emitted by the rope light when the device is in lantern mode””, specifically arguing “Nyfelt, Salzinger, and Wang each disclose a housing of their respective devices, but none disclose a “rigid cover coupled to the housing” as recited in amended Claim 1” (see Applicant’s Remarks, pg. 6, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As discussed above, Nyfelt teaches a device comprising a housing 10 (see Fig. 1; para. [0006], [0008]-[0009], [0021]-[0022], [0024], [0026]-[0030], [0034]-[0038]), and an LED light strip 22 defined by a flexible circuit board populated by LEDs thereon which forms a rope light housed in a transparent hose 20 which is retractably reeled on a reel 12 inside the housing 10 (see Fig. 1; para. [0006]-[0007], [0011], [0021], [0025]-[0030], [0034], [0036], [0039]-[0042]). Nyfelt explains that the transparent hose 20 is designed to become stiff (i.e., rigid) when inflated by a compressed air or fluid to protect the LED light strip 22 inside (see par. [0031]), and diffuses the light emitted by the LEDs when the rope light is in lantern mode with the rope light extended away from the housing 10 (see Fig. 1; para. [0006]-[0007], [0011], [0021], [0025]-[0031], [0034], [0036], [0039]-[0042]).
Therefore, Nyfelt teaches “a rigid cover coupled to the housing and configured to diffuse the light emitted by the rope light when the device is in lantern mode” as recited in amended Claim 1.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument, since the new limitation “at least one light configured to emit light from the base portion end and around a center portion of the base portion end” is addressed by the teachings of the newly applied reference Horne (US 2019/0257479).
Conclusion
/WILLIAM N HARRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875