DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed on 1/16/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 6, 17, and 19 have been amended. Claims 3, 7, and 18 have been cancelled. Claims 21-23 have been added. Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-17, and 19-23 are still pending in this application, with claims 1 and 23 being independent.
The Statutory Double Patenting rejection of Claim 2 has been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
The Nonstatutory Double Patenting rejections of Claims 1-11 and 13-20 have been withdrawn in view of the filing of a Terminal Disclaimer.
The rejection of Claim 17 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 1/16/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Patent Nos. 12,281,764, 12,123,560, 11,859,783, and 11,408,568 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-9, 11, 15, and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nyfelt et al. (US 2022/0340393, hereinafter “Nyfelt”) in view of Salzinger et al. (US 2016/0215941, hereinafter “Salzinger”).
Regarding claim 1, Nyfelt teaches a device (LED light hose reel; see Fig. 1; Abstract; para. [0006], [0020]-[0021]), comprising a housing (housing 10; see Fig. 1; para. [0006], [0008]-[0009], [0021]-[0022], [0024], [0026]-[0030], [0034]-[0038]); and a rope light coupled to the housing, the rope light comprising an elongate flexible light source at least partially enclosed by a sheath comprised of an at least partially transparent material (a rope light comprising a transparent hose 20 which is retractably reeled on a reel 12 inside the housing 10, and houses an LED light strip 22 defined by a flexible circuit board populated by LEDs therein; see Fig. 1; para. [0006]-[0007], [0011], [0021], [0025]-[0030], [0034], [0036], [0039]-[0042]); and a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs), wherein the sheath is configured to diffuse light emitted by the plurality of LEDs (the sheath of the rope light 20 diffuses light emitted by the LED light strip 22 disposed therein; see Fig. 1; para. [0006]-[0007], [0011], [0021], [0025]-[0030], [0034], [0036], [0039]-[0042]); wherein the device is configured to convert between a rope mode and a lantern mode (transparent hose 20 contains an LED strip light 22 therein to form a rope light which can be extended from the housing 10 in a rope light mode and retracted into the housing for a lantern mode; see Fig. 1; para. [0006]-[0011], [0013], [0021], [0023]-[0030], [0034]-[0036], [0039]-[0042]); and the device comprises a handle comprising a first end and a second end, wherein each of the first end and the second end is coupled to an end portion of the housing (handle 16 has two ends coupled to an upper end of the housing 10; see Fig. 1; para. [0011], [0037]).
However, the teachings of Nyfelt fail to disclose or fairly suggest the handle is configured to rotate at least 90 degrees about the end portion of the housing, via the coupling between the first and second ends of the handle with the end portion.
Salzinger teaches a lighting device (collapsible device 400 which comprises LED light sources; see Figs. 4A-4C; para. [0068]-[0075]), comprising a housing (housing 401; see Figs. 4A-4C; para. [0068]-[0071], [0073], [0075]); and a handle comprising a first end and a second end, wherein each of the first end and the second end is coupled to an end portion of the housing (a handle 405 comprising first and second ends 405a which are pivotably coupled to a second wall 404 of the housing 401; see Fig. 4B; par. [0073]), and the handle is configured to rotate at least 90 degrees about the end portion of the housing, via the coupling between the first and second ends of the handle with the end portion (the ends 405a of the handle 405 are configured to pivot with respect to the second wall 404 of the housing 401 such that the handle may lie flat against the second wall when not in use, which means the handle rotates at least 90 degrees from the position shown in Fig. 4B; see par. [0073]).
Therefore, in view of Salzinger, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nyfelt by configuring the handle to rotate at least 90 degrees about the end portion of the housing via the coupling between the first and second ends of the handle with the end portion. One would have been motivated to modify the known device of Nyfelt by configuring the handle to rotate at least 90 degrees about the end portion of the housing via the coupling between the first and second ends of the handle with the end portion, as taught by Salzinger, in order to enable the handle to be moved out of the way when not in use (see Salzinger, par. [0073] for the motivation).
Regarding claim 2, Nyfelt teaches wherein in the lantern mode, the rope light is retracted to define a concentrated area of light, and wherein in the rope mode, the rope light extends from the housing (the rope light 20 can be extended from the housing 10 in a rope light mode, and retracted into the housing for a lantern mode in which light is emitted in an area concentrated closer to the housing itself; see Fig. 1; para. [0006]-[0011], [0013], [0021], [0023]-[0030], [0034]-[0036], [0039]-[0042]).
Regarding claim 4, Nyfelt teaches the device further comprising a control panel coupled to the housing, the control panel configured to control an emission of light from the rope light (a control element 32 is provided on the housing 10 to provide a conventional panel having various buttons/switches for controlling light options of the LED light strip 22 of the rope light 20; see Fig. 1; para. [0008], [0013], [0034], [0039]-[0040], [0042]).
Regarding claim 5, Nyfelt teaches wherein the emission of light comprises a first light mode and a second light mode (the LED light strip 22 of the rope light 20 can be controlled by the control panel 32 to select between various light emission modes including different blinking sequences, solid light, different colors, etc.; see Fig. 1; para. [0034], [0039], [0042]).
Regarding claim 8, Nyfelt teaches the device further comprising a battery pack coupled to the housing, the battery pack configured to provide power to the rope light (a battery 40 is provided inside a compartment within the housing 10 to provide power; see Fig. 1; para. [0010], [0028], [0036], [0040]).
Regarding claim 9, Nyfelt teaches wherein the housing comprises an interior portion configured to receive the battery pack (a battery 40 is provided inside a compartment within the housing 10 to provide power; see Fig. 1; para. [0010], [0028], [0036], [0040]).
Regarding claim 11, Nyfelt teaches the device further comprising a charging port located on the housing, the charging port configured to enable charging of the battery pack (a charger 42 for charging the battery 40 is provided on the housing 10; see Fig. 1; para. [0010], [0029], [0036], [0040]).
However, regarding claims 15 and 20, the teachings of Nyfelt fail to disclose or fairly suggest a solar panel configured to provide power to the battery pack and the rope light.
Salzinger teaches the device further comprising a battery pack coupled to the housing, the battery pack configured to provide power to the lighting device (a solar panel 460 is coupled to a PCB assembly coupled to a battery and one or more LEDs to provide a rechargeable power source; see Fig. 4B; par. [0072]); and a solar panel configured to provide power to the battery pack and the lighting device (a solar panel 460 comprising an array of solar cells 406; see Fig. 4B; par. [0072]).
Therefore, in view of Salzinger, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nyfelt by providing a solar panel configured to provide power to the battery pack and the rope light. One would have been motivated to modify the known device of Nyfelt by providing a solar panel configured to provide power to the battery pack and the rope light, as taught by Salzinger, in order to enable the battery to be recharged by solar power (see Salzinger, par. [0072] for the motivation).
Regarding claim 19, although the combined teachings of Nyfelt modified by Salzinger fail to specifically disclose the handle is configured to rotate about 180 degrees, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device of Nyfelt by configuring the handle to rotate about 180 degrees, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only ordinary skill in the art. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In this case, further modifying the known device of Nyfelt by configuring the handle to rotate about 180 degrees would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the particular requirements of a given application, in order to enable the handle to be rotated in both directions rather than just a single direction in order to be stowed when not in use.
Regarding claim 21, Salzinger further teaches wherein each of the first end of the handle and the second end of the handle is pivotably coupled to a top surface of the housing such that the handle is configured to rotate and lie substantially flat along the top surface of the housing (the ends 405a of the handle 405 are configured to pivot with respect to a second wall 404 of the housing 401, the second wall defining a top surface of the housing, such that the handle may lie flat against the second wall when not in use; see Fig. 4B; par. [0073]), wherein when the handle lies substantially flat along the top surface of the housing, the handle defines an uppermost point of the device (when the handle 405 is rotated to lie flat against the top surface 404, it forms an uppermost point of the device 400 due to the top surface itself being flat; see Fig. 4B; par. [0073]).
Regarding claim 22, Nyfelt teaches a device (LED light hose reel; see Fig. 1; Abstract; para. [0006], [0020]-[0021]), comprising a housing (housing 10; see Fig. 1; para. [0006], [0008]-[0009], [0021]-[0022], [0024], [0026]-[0030], [0034]-[0038]); a rope light coupled to the housing (a rope light comprising a transparent hose 20 which is retractably reeled on a reel 12 inside the housing 10, and houses an LED light strip 22 defined by a flexible circuit board populated by LEDs therein; see Fig. 1; para. [0006]-[0007], [0011], [0021], [0025]-[0030], [0034], [0036], [0039]-[0042]), wherein the device is configured to convert between a rope mode and a lantern mode (transparent hose 20 contains an LED strip light 22 therein to form a rope light which can be extended from the housing 10 in a rope light mode and retracted into the housing for a lantern mode; see Fig. 1; para. [0006]-[0011], [0013], [0021], [0023]-[0030], [0034]-[0036], [0039]-[0042]); and a handle comprising a first end and a second end, wherein each of the first end and the second end is coupled to a top surface of the housing (handle 16 has two ends coupled to an upper surface of the housing 10; see Fig. 1; para. [0011], [0037]).
However, the teachings of Nyfelt fail to disclose or fairly suggest wherein each of the first end and the second end is pivotably coupled to the top surface of the housing.
Salzinger teaches a device (collapsible device 400 which comprises LED light sources; see Figs. 4A-4C; para. [0068]-[0075]), comprising a housing (housing 401; see Figs. 4A-4C; para. [0068]-[0071], [0073], [0075]); a light coupled to the housing (LED light sources are provided inside the housing 401; see Figs. 4A-4C; par. [0072]); and a handle comprising a first end and a second end, wherein each of the first end and the second end is pivotably coupled to a top surface of the housing (a handle 405 comprising first and second ends 405a which are pivotably coupled to a second wall 404 defining a top surface of the housing 401; see Fig. 4B; par. [0073]).
Therefore, in view of Salzinger, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nyfelt by pivotably coupling each of the first end and the second end of the handle to the top surface of the housing. One would have been motivated to modify the known device of Nyfelt by pivotably coupling each of the first end and the second end of the handle to the top surface of the housing, as taught by Salzinger, in order to enable the handle to be moved out of the way when not in use (see Salzinger, par. [0073] for the motivation).
Regarding claim 23, Salzinger further teaches wherein the handle is configured to rotate between a first position and a second position, wherein in the first position the handle extends from the top surface of the housing and in the second position, the handle lies substantially flat along the top surface of the housing (the ends 405a of the handle 405 are configured to pivot with respect to the top surface 404 of the housing 401 such that the handle may lie flat against the second wall when not in use, or positioned orthogonal relative to the top surface during use; see Fig. 4B; par. [0073]).
Claims 6, 10, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nyfelt (US 2022/0340393), as modified by Salzinger (US 2016/0215941) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang (US 2017/0207429). The teachings of Nyfelt modified by Salzinger have been discussed above.
Regarding claim 6, Nyfelt teaches the device further comprising a storage compartment located within an interior portion of the housing (a battery 40 is provided inside a compartment within the housing 10 to provide power; see Fig. 1; para. [0010], [0028], [0036], [0040]).
However, the teachings of Nyfelt modified by Salzinger fail to disclose or fairly suggest wherein the storage compartment is accessible via a lid removably coupled to the housing.
Wang teaches a device (flashlight or battery-operated device 14; see Figs. 1-3; Abstract; para. [0029], [0036], [0042]), comprising a housing (the housing of the device 14; see Fig. 3; para. [0029], [0036], [0042]); and a light coupled to the housing (the device 14 is a flashlight and thus has a light source; see Fig. 3; para. [0029], [0036], [0042]); wherein the device further comprises a storage compartment located within an interior portion of the housing, wherein the storage compartment is accessible via a lid removably coupled to the housing (a battery compartment 16 is defined within an interior portion of the housing of the device 14 and accessible via a conventional battery access lid; see Fig. 3; para. [0029], [0036], [0042]).
Therefore, in view of Wang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device of Nyfelt, as modified by Salzinger by providing a lid removably coupled to the housing to allow access to the storage compartment. One would have been motivated to modify the known device of Nyfelt by providing a lid removably coupled to the housing to allow access to the storage compartment, as taught by Wang, in order to enable the battery pack within the storage compartment to be easily accessed when necessary to remove and replace when needed.
However, regarding claim 10, the teachings of Nyfelt modified by Salzinger fail to disclose or fairly suggest a battery level indication light configured to indicate a level of charge of the battery pack.
Wang teaches the device further comprising a battery pack coupled to the housing, the battery pack configured to provide power to the light (a battery pack 10 which comprises a battery 20 therein is housed within the battery compartment 16 of the housing to provide a replacement of conventional batteries 46; see Figs. 1-3; para. [0029]-[0042]); and a battery level indication light configured to indicate a level of charge of the battery pack (the battery pack 10 has a first status indicator light 40 for indicating the charging status of the battery pack; see Fig. 2; para. [0033], [0039]).
Therefore, in view of Wang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device of Nyfelt, as modified by Salzinger by providing a battery level indication light configured to indicate a level of charge of the battery pack. One would have been motivated to modify the known device of Nyfelt by providing a battery level indication light configured to indicate a level of charge of the battery pack, as taught by Wang, in order to provide a clear indication to a user of when the battery pack needs to be charged based on a color of the battery level indication light (see Wang, par. [0039] for the motivation).
However, regarding claim 12, the teachings of Nyfelt modified by Salzinger fail to disclose or fairly suggest wherein the charging port is configured to enable charging of an external device.
Wang teaches the device further comprising a charging port configured to enable charging of an external device (an output power port 38 is provided to connect the battery pack 10 to a battery-powered device (not shown) to power the battery-powered device; see Fig. 2; para. [0033], [0038], [0040]).
Therefore, in view of Wang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device of Nyfelt, as modified by Salzinger by configuring the charging port to enable charging of an external device. One would have been motivated to further modify the known device of Nyfelt by configuring the charging port to enable charging of an external device, as taught by Wang, in order to enable the device to provide power to a suitable external battery-powered device when desired (see Wang, par. [0038] for the motivation).
However, regarding claim 13, the teachings of Nyfelt modified by Salzinger fail to disclose or fairly suggest a light emitting diode (LED) coupled to the battery pack, wherein the LED is configured to operate as a flashlight.
Wang teaches the device further comprising a light emitting diode (LED) coupled to the battery pack, wherein the LED is configured to operate as a flashlight (a light source 24 comprising a plurality of LED lights 30 is provided on a housing 12 of the battery pack; see Figs. 1-2; para. [0032]-[0035], [0041]).
Therefore, in view of Wang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device of Nyfelt, as modified by Salzinger by coupling an LED configured to operate as a flashlight to the battery pack. One would have been motivated to further modify the known device of Nyfelt by coupling an LED configured to operate as a flashlight to the battery pack, as taught by Wang, in order to enable the battery pack itself to be configured for use as a standalone lighting device (see Wang, par. [0035] for the motivation).
Regarding claim 14, Nyfelt teaches the device further comprising an activation mechanism selected from the group consisting of a button, a switch, and combinations thereof, the activation mechanism coupled to the battery pack and operatively coupled to the LED (a control element 32 is provided on the housing 10 to provide a conventional panel having various buttons/switches for controlling light options of the LED light strip 22 of the rope light 20; see Fig. 1; para. [0008], [0013], [0034], [0039]-[0040], [0042]).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nyfelt (US 2022/0340393), as modified by Salzinger (US 2016/0215941) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shih (US 2012/0032587). The teachings of Nyfelt modified by Salzinger have been discussed above.
However, regarding claim 16, the teachings of Nyfelt modified by Salzinger fail to disclose or fairly suggest wherein the rope light is detachably coupled to the housing.
Shih teaches a device (LED string light; see Figs. 1-3; Abstract; para. [0033]-[0036]), comprising a housing (a control unit 300 which can be a battery housing; see Figs. 1, 4; para. [0036]-[0039], [0047]-[0052]); and a rope light coupled to the housing (a light source arrangement 200 is received within a light cavity 102 of an elongated tubular casing 100 to define a rope light which is coupled to the housing 300 via adaptors 216 which comprise a first attachment 218 and a second attachment 220; see Figs. 1-4; para. [0033]-[0052]); wherein the rope light is detachably coupled to the housing (the rope light 200 is detachably coupled to the housing 300 via adaptors 216 which comprise a first attachment 218 and a second attachment 220 to physically couple the rope light to the housing via friction fit; see Figs. 1, 4; para. [0047]-[0052]).
Therefore, in view of Shih, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device of Nyfelt, as modified by Salzinger by detachably coupling the rope light to the housing. One would have been motivated to further modify the known device of Nyfelt by detachably coupling the rope light to the housing, as taught by Shih, in order to enable the rope light to be easily disconnected and replaced with another rope light if it is damaged or otherwise failing to operate, without having to replace the entire device.
Regarding claim 17, Shih further teaches wherein the rope light is detachably coupled to the housing via at least one of magnetic coupling or a friction fit (the rope light 200 is detachably coupled to the housing 300 via adaptors 216 which comprise a first attachment 218 and a second attachment 220 to physically couple the rope light to the housing via friction fit; see Figs. 1, 4; para. [0047]-[0052]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument, since the new limitation is addressed by the teachings of the newly cited reference Salzinger (US 2016/0215941).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Horne et al. (US 2019/0257479), McIntyre et al. (US 2017/0003009), and Bamber (US 5,860,729) all disclose lighting devices comprising a handle having first and second ends which are each rotationally coupled to a top surface of the device housing.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM N HARRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875