DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 7/30/2025 and 9/25/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claim limitation “on temporal indicator” should read “on a temporal indicator”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8, 11-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Incorvia (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0167145).
Referring to claim 1, Incorvia discloses a system for dynamic content extraction in visual media content (see authoring device 45 in Figure 1), the system comprising one or more processors and at least one non-transitory memory comprising instructions that, with the one or more processors (see Figures 5-6 and Paragraphs 0069 and 0072), cause the system to:
receive a segment selection indication associated with visual media content (see Paragraph 0067 and step 210 in Figure 7 for receiving video media including a plurality of objects within various frames of the video media and further note Paragraph 0034 for the authoring device 45 selecting video sequences and adding interactive objects to the video sequences);
identify a segment of the visual media content based on temporal indicator
associated with the segment selection indication (see Paragraph 0067 and step 210 in Figure 7 and the bottom of Paragraph 0068 for processing/identifying a segment’s identified time to map the object);
extract a content data object from at least one portion of the segment of the visual media content (see Paragraph 0033 for extracting stored unique identifiers (from a database) for content data objects such as a can of soda);
generate a relevance data object based on the content data object (see Paragraph 0034 for and modifying the unique identifiers by identifying a diet can of soda from the received database information indicating a regular can of soda); and
cause display of the relevance data object to a user (see Figures 3-4 and Paragraphs 0044-0045).
Referring to claim 2, Incorvia discloses that the segment of the visual media content includes a visual representation of a content object (see the bottom of Paragraph 0068).
Referring to claim 3, Incorvia discloses that the temporal indicator comprises a timestamp associated with the content object visually rendered in the visual media content (see Paragraphs 0034-0035 and the bottom of Paragraph 0068).
Referring to claim 4, Incorvia discloses that the segment comprises one or more frames of the visual media content and the temporal indicator comprises a frame identifier associated with the content object visually rendered in the visual media content (see Paragraphs 0034-0035 and the bottom of Paragraph 0068).
Referring to claim 5, Incorvia discloses that the content data object comprises a content object identifier for the content object visually rendered in the visual media content (see Paragraph 0033 for the database including object identifiers, wherein the object identifiers correspond to the various images of items displayed in the video data sequences).
Referring to claim 8, Incorvia discloses that the segment selection indication further comprises a spatial segment indicator, and the segment is identified based on the temporal indicator and the spatial segment indicator (see the bottom of Paragraph 0068 for the selection of the segment includes identification of a coordinate location of the object within an identified time).
Referring to claims 11-15 and 18, see the rejection of claims 1-5 and 8, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7, 9-10, 16-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Incorvia (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0167145) in view of Zhang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0127178).
Referring to claim 6, Incorvia discloses all of the limitations of claim 2, but fails to teach that the content data object comprises an image of the content object visually rendered in the visual media content.
Zhang discloses the content data object comprises an image of the content object visually rendered in the visual media content (see Figure 4 and Paragraphs 0052-0054).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the object identification process, as taught by Incorvia, using the image extraction process, as taught by Zhang, for the purpose of providing advertisements related to the content the viewer is watching (see Paragraphs 0137-0142 of Zhang).
Referring to claim 7, Incorvia discloses all of the limitations of claim 2, but fails to teach that extracting the content data object comprises capturing an image of the content object visually rendered in the visual media content and performing image analysis on the captured image to identify the content object visually rendered in the visual media content.
Zhang discloses that extracting the content data object comprises capturing an image of the content object visually rendered in the visual media content (see Paragraphs 0050-0051) and performing image analysis on the captured image to identify the content object visually rendered in the visual media content (see Paragraph 0061).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the object identification process, as taught by Incorvia, using the image extraction process, as taught by Zhang, for the purpose of providing advertisements related to the content the viewer is watching (see Paragraphs 0137-0142 of Zhang).
Referring to claim 9, Incorvia discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, but fails to teach that the relevance data object is generated using a machine learning relevance model analyzing the content data object and contextual data associated with the user.
Zhang discloses that the relevance data object is generated using a machine learning relevance model analyzing the content data object (see Paragraph 0054) and contextual data associated with the user (see Paragraph 0075).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the object identification process, as taught by Incorvia, using the image extraction process, as taught by Zhang, for the purpose of providing advertisements related to the content the viewer is watching (see Paragraphs 0137-0142 of Zhang).
Referring to claim 10, Incorvia discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, but fails to teach that the relevance data object is generated using a machine learning relevance model analyzing the content data object and user data.
Zhang discloses that the relevance data object is generated using a machine learning relevance model analyzing the content data object (see Paragraph 0054) and user data (see Paragraph 0075).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the object identification process, as taught by Incorvia, using the image extraction process, as taught by Zhang, for the purpose of providing advertisements related to the content the viewer is watching (see Paragraphs 0137-0142 of Zhang).
Referring to claims 16-17 and 19-20, see the rejection of claims 6-7 and 9-10, respectively.
Conclusion
/Jason Salce/Senior Examiner, Art Unit 2421
Jason P Salce
Senior Examiner
Art Unit 2421
June 4, 2026