DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 03/21/25. Examiner acknowledged that claims 1-22 are pending.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/25/25, 08/19/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seler (US 2019/0198985).
Regarding Claim 1, Seler discloses a directional antenna system configured to be installed in an Unmanned Airborne System (UAS) ([abstract] “unmanned vehicles”), comprising: an antenna array (Fig. 3: 214) comprising one or more directional antennas ([0023] “This shape allows the different transmitting ports (TX) to transmit the radar signals in different directions”) that are arranged around a central axis (Fig. 3: central axis of 206) in a two-dimensional structure or a three-dimensional structure (Fig. 3: structure 200 is 3D), wherein each antenna is configured to transmit signals into a predetermined outgoing directional beam and to receive signals coming along a predetermined incoming directional beam (Fig. 3: antenna Tx/Rx are set to transceive from different directions), wherein the antenna array comprises one or more antenna elements made of a material suitable for additive manufacturing ([0012] “antenna body is formed from 3-dimensional (3D) plastic printing”); and a control system (Fig. 3: 206) configured to supply signals to the antennas of the antenna array and to receive signals from antennas of the antenna array ([0024]), and configured to exchange signals with a mission equipment on the UAS ([0015] “processing unit 106 and antenna 108 can transmit and receive radar signals through the waveguides and use those signals to provide for navigation and obstacle avoidance in the unmanned vehicle 100”).
Regarding Claim 2, Seler teaches the directional antenna system of claim 1 wherein the antennas are arranged in a shape of a disk about the central axis (Fig. 3; antennas are arranged in half disk shaped about the central axis of 206).
Regarding Claim 3, Seler teaches the directional antenna system of claim 2 wherein the antennas are configured to transmit signals outward direction substantially perpendicular (Fig. 3: signals are transmit perpendicular to the central axis of 206 coming out of the paper) to the central axis.
Regarding Claim 13, Seler discloses a method for manufacturing a directional antenna system, comprising: fabricating an antenna array frame with a material suitable for additive manufacturing by using an additive manufacturing machine ([0012] “antenna body is formed from 3-dimensional (3D) plastic printing”); fabricating one or more waveguides with a material suitable for additive manufacturing by using the additive manufacturing machine; assembling the one or more waveguides into the antenna frame to build an antenna array (Fig. 3: 214); and coupling the antenna array to a control system (Fig. 3: 206) configured to supply signals to the antennas of the antenna array and to receive signals from antennas of the antenna array, wherein the control system is configured to exchange signals with a mission equipment on the UAS ([0015] “processing unit 106 and antenna 108 can transmit and receive radar signals through the waveguides and use those signals to provide for navigation and obstacle avoidance in the unmanned vehicle 100”), wherein the antenna array comprises one or more directional antennas that are arranged around a central axis (Fig. 3: central axis of 206) in a two-dimensional structure or a three-dimensional structure (Fig. 3: structure 200 is 3D), wherein each antenna is configured to transmit signals into a predetermined outgoing directional beam and to receive signals coming along a predetermined incoming directional beam (Fig. 3: antenna Tx/Rx are set to transceive from different directions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seler.
Regarding Claim 4, Seler teaches the directional antenna system of claim 1 except wherein the antennas are arranged in a shape of a sphere about an axis of the sphere. However, Fig. 3 teaches the antenna arranged in a hemisphere arrangement if would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Seler in order to have a spherical arrangement since this allows the antenna system to be able to receive signal in a 360 direction which would enhance navigation.
Regarding Claim 5, Seler teaches the directional antenna system of claim 4 wherein the antennas are configured to transmit signals outward direction substantially perpendicular to the axis of the sphere (Fig. 3: signals are transmit perpendicular to the central axis of 206 coming out of the paper).
Claim(s) 6, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seler as applied to claim 1 in view of Bae (EP 3896786A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Seler teaches the directional antenna system of claim 1 except the antenna array comprises a set of patch antennas arranged on a toroidal surface.
Bae is in the field of antenna (abstract) and teaches the antenna array comprises a set of patch antennas (Fig. 6: 112b) arranged on a toroidal surface (Fig. 3: Hall of the Unmanned aerophane is hollow in the center making it a toroidal surface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to modify the device of Seler with patch antenna as taught by Bae in order to provide wireless communication since patch antennas are generally light weight and most desirable for aircraft operation.
Regarding Claim 22, Seler teaches the method of claim 13 except the antennas are arranged in a shape of a toroid around an axis of symmetry of the toroid (Fig. 3: Hall of the Unmanned aerophane is hollow in the center making it a toroidal surface).
Bae is in the field of antenna (abstract) and teaches the antennas are arranged in a shape of a toroid around an axis of symmetry of the toroid (Fig. 3: Hall of the Unmanned aerophane is hollow in the center making it a toroidal surface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to modify the device of Seler with patch antenna as taught by Bae in order to provide wireless communication since patch antennas are generally light weight and most desirable for aircraft operation.
Claim(s) 7-12, 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seler as applied to claim 1 in view of Welsh (US 2023/0187841).
Regarding Claim 7, Seler teaches the directional antenna system of claim 1 except the one or more antenna elements comprise a waveguide to transmit the signals into the predetermined outgoing directional beam and to receive signals coming along the predetermined directional beam.
Welsh is in the field of antenna (abstract) and teaches the one or more antenna elements comprise a waveguide (Fig. 6: 20 defines the waveguide forming the horn-type structure) to transmit the signals into the predetermined outgoing directional beam and to receive signals coming along the predetermined directional beam.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to modify the device of Seler with waveguide as taught by Welsh in order to create horn-type surfaces since this geometric create the top aperture surface.
Regarding Claim 8, Seler teaches the directional antenna system of claim 7 except the waveguide comprises one selected from the group consisting of a horn shape structure, a dish shape structure, a planar patch structure, and a YAGI structure.
Welsh is in the field of antenna (abstract) and teaches the waveguide comprises one selected from the group consisting of a horn shape structure (Fig. 6: 20 defines the waveguide forming the horn-type structure), a dish shape structure, a planar patch structure, and a YAGI structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to modify the device of Seler with waveguide as taught by Welsh in order to create horn-type surfaces since this geometric create the top aperture surface.
Regarding Claim 9, Seler teaches the directional antenna system of claim 7 except the waveguide is made of an electrically inert material and is fabricated by using an additive manufacturing machine, wherein the waveguide comprises a coating of an electrically conductive material formed on the electrically inert material, and wherein the coating of the electrically conductive material inherently provides required electrical characteristics for the antennas.
Welsh is in the field of antenna (abstract) and teaches the waveguide is made of an electrically inert material and is fabricated by using an additive manufacturing machine, wherein the waveguide comprises a coating of an electrically conductive material formed on the electrically inert material, and wherein the coating of the electrically conductive material inherently provides required electrical characteristics for the antennas ([0034] “The dielectric tapered projections may, for example, be made of an electrically insulating plastic or ceramic material…and may be manufactured by injection molding, three-dimensional (3D) printing…The electrically conductive layer 72 may be any suitable electrically conductive material”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to modify the device of Seler with waveguide as taught by Welsh in order to create horn-type surfaces since this geometric create the top aperture surface.
Regarding Claim 10, Seler teaches the directional antenna system of claim 7 except the waveguide is made of an electrically conductive material and is fabricated by using an additive manufacturing machine, and wherein the electrically conductive material inherently provides required electrical characteristics for the antennas.
Welsh is in the field of antenna (abstract) and teaches the waveguide is made of an electrically conductive material and is fabricated by using an additive manufacturing machine, and wherein the electrically conductive material inherently provides required electrical characteristics for the antennas ([0034] “The dielectric tapered projections may, for example, be made of an electrically insulating plastic or ceramic material…and may be manufactured by injection molding, three-dimensional (3D) printing…The electrically conductive layer 72 may be any suitable electrically conductive material”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to modify the device of Seler with waveguide as taught by Welsh in order to create horn-type surfaces since this geometric create the top aperture surface.
Regarding Claim 11, Seler teaches the directional antenna system of claim 1, except the control system comprises: an interface system configured to communicate using analog and/or digital signals with the mission equipment on the UAS for reception and transmission of signals; a receiving system comprising Low Noise Amplification system and MIMO system; and a transmitting system comprising High Power Amplification system.
Welsh is in the field of antenna (abstract) and teaches the control system comprises: an interface system configured to communicate using analog and/or digital signals with the mission equipment on the UAS for reception and transmission of signals; a receiving system comprising Low Noise Amplification system and MIMO system ([0041] “multiple input/multiple output (MIMO)”); and a transmitting system comprising High Power Amplification system (Fig. 3: amplifier T & R and interface port system 60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to modify the device of Seler with waveguide as taught by Welsh in order to create horn-type surfaces since this geometric create the top aperture surface.
Regarding Claim 12, Seler teaches the directional antenna system of claim 1, except the antenna array is configured to modulate and amplify analog or digital waveforms prior to transmission, and to demodulate received analog energy to create analog or digital signals that are sent to the mission equipment.
Welsh is in the field of antenna (abstract) and teaches the antenna array is configured to modulate and amplify analog or digital waveforms prior to transmission (Fig. 3: amplifier T and the signal modulation), and to demodulate received analog energy to create analog or digital signals that are sent to the mission equipment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to modify the device of Seler with waveguide as taught by Welsh in order to create horn-type surfaces since this geometric create the top aperture surface.
Regarding Claim 14, Seler teaches the method of claim 13 except the additive manufacturing machine comprises a 3D printer.
Welsch is in the field of antenna (abstract) and teaches additive manufacturing machine comprises a 3D printer ([0034] “three-dimensional (3D) printing”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to modify the device of Seler with 3D printing as taught by Welsh in order to create layered stack of different conductive since this can be done through 3D printing.
Regarding Claim 15, Seler teaches the method of claim 13 except the material suitable for additive manufacturing comprises an electrically inert material.
Welsh is in the field of antenna (abstract) and teaches the material suitable for additive manufacturing comprises an electrically inert material ([0034] “The dielectric tapered projections may, for example, be made of an electrically insulating plastic or ceramic material…and may be manufactured by injection molding, three-dimensional (3D) printing…The electrically conductive layer 72 may be any suitable electrically conductive material”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to modify the device of Seler with 3D printing as taught by Welsh in order to create layered stack of different conductive since this can be done through 3D printing.
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Seler and Welsh teach the method of claim 15 wherein the electrically inert material comprises one selected from the group consisting of electrically inert plastic materials, thermoplastics and ceramics (Welsh [0034] “The dielectric tapered projections may, for example, be made of an electrically insulating plastic or ceramic material…and may be manufactured by injection molding, three-dimensional (3D) printing…The electrically conductive layer 72 may be any suitable electrically conductive material”).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Seler and Welsh teach the method of claim 15 further comprising coating the one or more waveguides with an electrically conductive material that inherently provides required electrical characteristics for the antennas (Welsh [0034] “The dielectric tapered projections may, for example, be made of an electrically insulating plastic or ceramic material…and may be manufactured by injection molding, three-dimensional (3D) printing…The electrically conductive layer 72 may be any suitable electrically conductive material”).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Seler and Welsh teach the method of claim 13 wherein the material suitable for additive manufacturing comprises an electrically conductive material that inherently provides required electrical characteristics for the antennas (Welsh [0034] “The dielectric tapered projections may, for example, be made of an electrically insulating plastic or ceramic material…and may be manufactured by injection molding, three-dimensional (3D) printing…The electrically conductive layer 72 may be any suitable electrically conductive material”).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Seler and Welsh teach the method of claim 13 wherein the antennas are arranged in a shape of a disk about the central axis (Seler Fig. 3: antenna are arrange in a half disk shaped).
Claim(s) 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seler as applied to claim 13 in view of Choi (US 2021/0313687).
Regarding Claim 20, Seler teaches the method of claim 13 except the antennas are arranged in a shape of a sphere about an axis of the sphere.
Choi is in the field of antenna (abstract) and teaches the antennas are arranged in a shape of a sphere about an axis of the sphere (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to modify the device of Seler with sphere as taught by Choi in order to create a wide field view since it at least can covers 180 degrees.
Regarding Claim 21, Seler teaches the method of claim 13 except the antennas are arranged in a shape of an oblate spheroid about an axis of the oblate spheroid.
Choi is in the field of antenna (abstract) and teaches the antennas are arranged in a shape of an oblate spheroid about an axis of the oblate spheroid (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to modify the device of Seler with sphere as taught by Choi in order to create a wide field view since it at least can covers 180 degrees.
Conclusion
/Henry Luong/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845