DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2024-0138443, filed on 10/11/2024.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on 6/5/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR10-2024-0073891 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10, 16-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kwon et al. (US 20210286193 A1, hereinafter Kwon).
Regarding claim 1, Kwon discloses a reflective module (module 1100, figs. 1-26), comprising:
a housing (1010, figs. 1-26, Abstract, ¶0092, 0099-0109);
a reflective member (1150, figs. 2-26, ¶0093-0095) configured to rotate about a first axis in the housing (abstract, ¶0009, ¶0107, 0141, 0194-0196, 0230, 0254-0256, 0259, 0264-0265, claim 1);
a driving unit (driving unit includes a second magnet 1133 and a second coil 1134. – ¶0194) configured to rotate the reflective member based on the first axis (With additional reference to FIGS. 11 to 13, the rotation holder 1130 is provided in the carrier 1110. The rotation holder 1130 is provided with the reflective member 1150, and the rotation holder 1130 is rotationally driven by a second driving unit. The second driving unit includes a second magnet 1133 and a second coil 1134. – ¶0194, figs. 11-13); and
a pair of magnetic members (yoke 1112 and magnet 1113, figs. 5a, 6, 10-13. Also, potentially magnetic bodies 1138 & 1132 and/or yoke 1113a, fig. 20) disposed to face each other in a direction between the housing and the reflective member (¶0152, ¶0190-0194 and ¶0203-0206, figs. 5a, 6, 10-13, 20),
wherein the driving unit comprises a driving magnet and a driving coil (driving unit includes a second magnet 1133 and a second coil 1134. – ¶0194) that face each other in a direction (z-axis direction, see fig. 13), different from the direction in which the pair of magnetic members (1112+1113, figs. 5a, 6, 13, 20) face each other (y-axis direction, figs. 13, 20), and
wherein the first axis passes through the reflective member (first axis could potentially be any of x, y or z axis, under broadest reasonable interpretation, and understood passes through the reflective member 1150 according to figs. 10-13).
Regarding claim 2, Kwon discloses the reflective module of claim 1, wherein the pair of magnetic members (1112+1113, figs. 13, 20) face each other in a direction (y-axis direction, fig. 13, ¶0152, 0190-0194), parallel to the first axis (any/all of x, y, z axes, potentially), and the driving magnet (1133) and the driving coil (1134) face each other in a second axis direction (z-axis direction), perpendicular to the first axis (z and x are mutually perpendicular, figs. 13, 20).
Regarding claim 3, Kwon discloses the reflective module of claim 1, further comprising:
a reflective holder (1130, figs. 11-13) on which the reflective member (1150) is disposed (abstract, ¶0196, figs. 11-13); and
a carrier (1110, figs. 11-13) on which the reflective holder is supported (abstract, ¶0194, 0230, 0256, claim 1);
wherein the carrier (1110) configured to rotate about the first axis (any/all of x, y, z axes, potentially) together with the reflective member (1150) and the reflective holder (1130), while being disposed in the housing (1010, abstract, ¶0009, ¶0194-0196, 0230, 0256, claim 1, figs. 11-13, 22a-b).
Regarding claim 4, Kwon discloses the reflective module of claim 3, wherein the driving magnet (1133+1134) and one of the pair of magnetic members (1112+1113) are respectively disposed on different sides of the carrier (1110, evident from fig. 5a, 6, 11-13).
Regarding claim 6, Kwon discloses the reflective module of claim 4, wherein:
a plurality of ball members (1111a-c, fig. 15) are disposed between the housing (1010, figs. 5, 15) and the carrier (1110, figs. 5, 15), the plurality of ball members comprise a pivot ball (1111a, fig. 15) through which the first axis (any one of x, y, z axes, fig. 15) passes and a plurality of guide balls (1111b-c, fig. 15) that are spaced apart from the pivot ball (fig. 15), and
a shortest distance between the pivot ball (1111a) and the guide ball (1111b-c) is less than a shortest distance between the pivot ball and the driving magnet (evident from figs. 15, 18, 19).
Regarding claim 7, Kwon discloses the reflective module of claim 6, wherein the plurality of guide balls comprise two ball members (1111b-c, figs. 5, 15), and an angle between the two ball members based on the pivot ball is an acute angle (evident from fig. 15, and also from basic theorems of Euclidian geometry).
Regarding claim 8, Kwon discloses the reflective module of claim 6, wherein the magnetic member (1113, fig. 15) disposed on the carrier (1110, fig. 15), among the pair of magnetic members (1112+11113), is disposed inside a support region that is formed by connecting the plurality of ball members (1111-c, evident from fig. 15).
Regarding claim 9, Kwon discloses the reflective module of claim 3, wherein the reflective holder (1130) is rotated based on a second axis, perpendicular to the first axis (a, y, or z axis), together with the reflective member (1150, fig. 21, ¶0256, 0259).
Regarding claim 10, Kwon discloses the reflective module of claim 3, wherein:
a buffer member (1114, fig. 13) is disposed to protrude in a direction, parallel to the first axis (parallel to y axis, fig. 13), toward the carrier in the housing (1010, fig. 13), and the buffer member (1114, fig. 13) is spaced apart from a pivot ball (1111a) of a plurality of ball members (1111a-c) in a direction of a second axis (z axis), perpendicular to the first axis (fig. 13), with the first axis interposed therebetween (evident fr0m fig. 13).
Regarding claim 16, Kwon discloses a camera module (500, 1000, figs. 1-4), comprising:
the reflective module (1100) according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above); and
a lens module (1200, ¶0092-0112, figs. 5a-b, 6) comprising a plurality of lenses (fig. 5b) configured to refract light passing through the reflective module (¶0093, ¶0097, ¶0110).
Regarding claim 17, Kwon discloses a reflective module (module 1100, figs. 1-26), comprising:
a housing (1010) having an internal space (1010, figs. 1-26, Abstract, ¶0092, 0099-0109);
a carrier (1110, figs. 11-13) disposed within the internal space (abstract, ¶0194, 0230, 0256, claim 1, figs. 4-26);
a reflective holder (1130, figs. 11-13) disposed on the carrier (1110, figs. 10-15, abstract), and
a reflective member (1150, figs. 2-26, ¶0093-0095) mounted on the reflective holder (1130, figs. 12-15, abstract, ¶0196),
wherein the housing (1010) comprises a buffer member (1114, fig. 13) that protrudes toward the carrier (fig. 13), and wherein the carrier (1110) comprises an accommodating portion configured to accommodate the buffer member (…first coil 1114 is provided on the carrier 1110 – ¶0173, figs. 18-20).
Regarding claim 18, Kwon discloses the reflective module of claim 17, wherein the carrier (1110) is rotated about a first axis with respect to the housing (1010, ), and the reflective holder (1130) is rotated about a second axis, perpendicular to the first axis, with respect to the carrier (1110) and the housing (1010, abstract, 0009, 0025, 0146-0147, 0255).
Regarding claim 19, Kwon discloses the reflective module of claim 18, further comprising
a pivot ball (1111a) through which the first axis (any one of x, y, z axes, fig. 15) passes and a plurality of guide balls (1111b-c, fig. 15) spaced apart from the pivot ball (fig. 15),
wherein the pivot ball and the plurality of guide balls are arranged between the carrier (1110) and the housing (1010, figs. 13-19).
Regarding claim 20, Kwon discloses the reflective module of claim 19, wherein the buffer member is provided in plural (two 1114, figs. 18-19), and the plurality of buffer members (1114) are spaced apart from each other with the pivot ball (1111a) disposed therebetween (figs. 18-19).
Regarding claim 21, Kwon discloses the reflective module of claim 20, wherein the pivot ball (1111a) and the plurality of buffer members (1114) are arranged in a direction parallel to the second axis (evident from figs. 13-19).
Regarding claim 22, Kwon discloses the reflective module of claim 18, wherein the buffer member (1114) is spaced apart from the reflective holder (1130) in a direction parallel to the first axis (evident from fig. 18).
Regarding claim 23, Kwon discloses the reflective module of claim 17, further comprising a support frame (1070) that is at least partially disposed inside the housing (1010, fig. 13),
wherein the buffer member (1114) is disposed on the support frame (1070, fig. 13, ¶0144).
Regarding claim 24 Kwon discloses the reflective module of claim 19, further comprising:
a first driving unit (driving unit includes a second magnet 1133 and a second coil 1134. – ¶0194) comprising a first driving magnet (1133) and a first driving coil (1134) and configured to generate a driving force to rotate the carrier about the first axis (¶0228-0238); and
a pair of magnetic members (yoke 1112 and magnet 1113, figs. 5a, 6, 10-13. Also, potentially magnetic bodies 1138 & 1132 and/or yoke 1113a, fig. 20) respectively disposed on the carrier (1110) and the housing (1010) and configured to generate a magnetic force to press the carrier (1110) against the housing (1010, ¶0190-0194),
wherein a direction (z-axis direction, see fig. 13) in which the first driving magnet (1133) and the first driving coil (1134) face each other (fig. 13), and a direction (y-axis direction, figs. 13, 20) in which the pair of magnetic members (1112+1113) face each other are perpendicular to each other (figs. 13, 20).
Regarding claim 25, Kwon discloses the reflective module of claim 24, wherein the first driving magnet (1133) and the first driving coil (1134) face each other in a direction parallel to the second axis (y-axis), and the pair of magnetic members (1112+1113) face each other in a direction parallel to the first axis (figs. 13, 20).
Regarding claim 26, Kwon discloses the camera module (500, 1000, figs. 1-4), comprising:
the reflective module (1100) according to claim 17 (see claim 17 rejection above); and
a lens module (1200, ¶0092-0112, figs. 5a-b, 6) comprising a plurality of lenses (fig. 5b) configured to refract light passing through the reflective module (¶0093, ¶0097, ¶0110).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon in view of KWON et al. (US 20220210299 A1, hereinafter Kwon’299).
Regarding claim 5, Kwon discloses the reflective module of claim 4, further comprising:
a position sensor (1135) disposed in the housing ¶0239).
Kwon in not found disclosing, a sensing magnet disposed in the carrier in parallel with the driving magnet; and the position sensor disposed in the housing to face the sensing magnet.
However, Kwon’299 discloses that position sensing part 1233 may include an additional sensing magnet (¶0117).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the invention of Kwon with the teaching of Kwon’299 in using an additional sensing magnet on top of position sensing part 1135, because, combination of these sensor provides more accurate position detection of the holder 1130 using the guidance of using two or more position detection sensors described in Kwon (¶0239), and the additional sensor being the sensing magnet of Kwon’299. Furthermore, combining prior art elements ready to be improved according to known method to yield predictable results is obvious (see MPEP §2143.I).
Claim(s) 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon.
Regarding claim 11, Kwon discloses a reflective module (module 1100, figs. 1-26), comprising:
a housing (1010) having an internal space (1010, figs. 1-26, Abstract, ¶0092, 0099-0109);
a reflective member (1150, figs. 2-26, ¶0093-0095) disposed in the internal space (abstract, ¶0009, ¶0107, 0141, 0194-0196, 0230, 0254-0256, 0259, 0264-0265, claim 1);
a carrier (1110, figs. 11-13) rotatably supported in the internal space (abstract, ¶0194, 0230, 0256, claim 1, figs. 4-26); and
three ball members (1111a-c, figs. 10, 14-19) disposed between the housing (1010, fig. 14) and the carrier (1110, fig. 14), and configured to support a rotation of the carrier (abstract, ¶0148, 0154, 0158-0162, 0171, 0213, 0255, clam 1),
wherein a triangle formed by connecting the three ball members is an
Kwon is not found disclosing expressly that the triangle formed by the roller balls 1111a-c form an acute triangle.
However, it would have been obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to make the triangle and acute triangle under the provisions of “obvious to try” rationale under KSR, because, the acute triangle is chosen from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (acute, right or obtuse triangles), with a reasonable expectation of success (see MPEP 2143.I), and also since such design choice does not raise and issue of criticality (see MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claim 12, Kwon discloses the reflective module of claim 11, further comprising:
a pair of magnetic members (yoke 1112 and magnet 1113, figs. 5a, 6, 10-13. Also, potentially magnetic bodies 1138 & 1132 and/or yoke 1113a, fig. 20) respectively disposed on a surface of the housing (1010, figs. 5, 6, 10-11, 13-19) and a surface of the carrier (1110, figs. 5, 6, 10-11, 13-19) which face each other with the three ball members interposed therebetween (figs. 5, 6, 10-11, 13-19), and the pair of magnetic members are configured to generate a magnetic attraction (¶0152),
wherein the pair of magnetic members (1112+1113) are disposed so that a center of a magnetic attraction formed by the pair of magnetic members is located within the acute triangle (evident from fig. 15, ¶0152, ¶0183-0184, 0192).
Regarding claim 13, Kwon discloses the reflective module of claim 12, wherein:
the pair of magnetic members (1112+1113) comprise:
a pulling magnet (1113) disposed on the carrier (¶0152, 0183-0184, 0192); and
a pulling yoke (1112) disposed in the housing to face the pulling magnet (¶0152, 0183-0184, 0192).
Regarding claim 14, Kwon discloses the reflective module of claim 13, wherein:
the three ball members comprise:
a pivot ball (1111a, fig. 15) through which a rotational axis of the carrier passes (fig. 18); and
two guide balls (1111b-c) spaced apart from the pivot ball (figs. 15, 18-19),
wherein the pulling magnet (1113) is disposed in a position at which a distance between a center of the pulling magnet and the pivot ball is less than a distance between the center of the pulling magnet and the two guide balls (evident from figs. 15, 18, 19).
Regarding claim 15, Kwon discloses the reflective module of claim 14, wherein the center of the pulling magnet (1113) is spaced apart from the pivot ball (1111a) in a direction perpendicular to the rotational axis of the carrier (evident from figs. 15, 18, 19).
Conclusion
The prior and/or pertinent art(s) made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, are – Kim et al. (US 12455497 B2), Im et al. (US 20240295746 A1), Lee et al. (US 20240210719 A1), Jang et al. (US 20240080560 A1), Iwase et al. (US 11789286 B2), Kwon et al. (US 20220279093 A1), Lee et al. (US 11102387 B2), Seo et al. (US 20200363626 A1), Jun et al. (US 20200028999 A1), Lee et al. (US 20180239162 A1) – who disclose different camera modules of interest having therein reflective module to reflect incoming light at 90 degrees to direct it toward the lens module for image capturing on an image sensor.
/SHAHBAZ NAZRUL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638