DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5 are pending.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Page 5 line 5 refers to the new curb as feature 18. However, feature 18 is previously cited as referring to the upper portion.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re claim 1, claim 1 recites, “the lower end portion” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears this language is intended to recite, “the lower end portion” and will be interpreted as such.
Re claim 3, claim 3 recites, “the new curb” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears this language is intended to recite, “the new roof curb” and will be interpreted as such.
Re claim 4, claim 4 recites, “the new curb” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears this language is intended to recite, “the new roof curb” and will be interpreted as such.
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Brower (US 4,413,450).
Re claim 1, Brower discloses a roof curb extension (40) for attachment to an existing roof curb (10), the roof curb extension (40) comprising:
a lower end portion (42-46), an upper portion (56-59) and a central portion (48, 50, 52, 54) extending between (Fig. 1) the lower end portion (42/46) and the upper portion (56-59);
the lower portion (42-46) including a flashing (42-45) for attachment to (Fig. 3) the existing roof curb (10);
the central portion (48, 50, 52, 54) including side walls (48, 50, 52, 54) extending upwardly from (Fig. 1) the lower end portion (42-46) and angled away from vertical (Fig. 1-3) from the lower end portion (42-46) to the upper portion (56-59); and
the upper portion (56-59) defining a new roof curb (at 56-59) that is of a different size relative to (Fig. 1) the existing roof curb (10), and the new roof curb (at 56-59) being specifically sized, dimensioned and configured for supported attachment of (Fig. 1-3) a particular unit (38) of rooftop equipment thereon (38).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brower (US 4,413,450) in view of Fox (US 2008/0022615).
Re claim 2, Brower discloses the roof curb extension as recited in Claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the roof curb extension is formed as an integral one-piece monolithic body.
However, Fox discloses wherein the roof curb extension (26) is formed as an integral one-piece monolithic body ([0032]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the roof curb extension of Brower wherein the roof curb extension is formed as an integral one-piece monolithic body as disclosed by Fox in order to reduce assembly time via reducing the overall number of parts required for assembly. In addition, it has been held that making integral by using a once piece construction is within the level of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration of the claimed shape is significant. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968.
Re claim 3, Brower discloses the roof curb extension as recited in Claim 2, wherein the side walls (48, 50, 52, 54) of the central portion (48, 50, 52, 54) are angled inwardly relative to (Fig. 1-3) the existing roof curb (10) to provide a reduced size (Fig. 1-3) of the new curb (at 56-59) relative to the existing roof curb (10).
Re claim 5, Brower discloses the roof curb extension as recited in Claim 2, wherein a top end (top of 56-59) of the upper portion ((56-59) includes a lip (see examiner comments) extending inwardly and downwardly (Fig. 3-4), providing a flat horizontal ledge (see examiner comments) around a periphery (Fig. 1-4) of the top end (top of 56-59) of the upper portion (56-59).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brower (US 4,413,450) in view of Fox (US 2008/0022615) and Desmond et al (“Desmond”) (US 2015/0027066).
Re claim 4, Brower discloses the roof curb extension as recited in Claim 2, but fails to disclose wherein the side walls of the central portion are angled outwardly relative to the existing roof curb to provide an enlarged size of the new curb relative to the existing roof curb.
However, Desmond discloses wherein the side walls (102, 104, 106, 108) of the central portion (102, 104, 106, 108) are angled outwardly relative to (Fig. 1B) the existing roof curb (14) to provide an enlarged size (Fig. 3) of the new curb relative (top lip of 102, 104, 106, 108) to the existing roof curb (14).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the roof curb extension of Brower wherein the side walls of the central portion are angled outwardly relative to the existing roof curb to provide an enlarged size of the new curb relative to the existing roof curb as disclosed by Desmond in order to couple to fit to larger equipment without the need for replacing a roof curb and any underlying infrastructure ([0053]).
Examiner Comments
‘Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892.
KYLE WALRAED-SULLIVAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/KYLE J. WALRAED-SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635