Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 3/21/2025 and 11/28/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 21 March 2025. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2024/062749 to Nishimura et al, all citations are to the attached English language machine translation (hereafter Nishimura), in view of US 2018/0267227 to Takata et al., made of record in the IDS filed 11/28/2025 (hereafter Takata).
Regarding claim 1, Nishimura discloses a display device configured for displaying an aerial image by using retro- reflection (see at least the abstract and Fig. 16c), the display device comprising: a light source disposed being inclined to one side of a reference line (see at least the abstract and Fig. 16c, where image display device 1 is a light source); a retroreflective member disposed being inclined to another side of the reference line (see at least the abstract and Fig. 16c, where 2 is a retroreflective member); a polarized-beam splitter disposed to face the light source and the retroreflective member (see at least the abstract and Fig. 16c, where 101 is a polarization separate member); and a light shielding portion provided on a front surface of the display device that blocks light from the light source from being visible by a user (see at least Fig. 16c and page 30, fourth paragraph, where 161C is a light shielding portion).
Nishimura does not specifically disclose a transmission film formed on the polarized-beam splitter, wherein the transmission film includes a low transmittance area in which the light source is difficult to be seen in an observation range where the aerial image is visible.
However, Takata teaches a display device comprising a light source and a cover, wherein a transmission film is formed on the cover, wherein the transmission film includes a low transmittance area in which the light source is difficult to be seen in an observation range where an image is visible (see at least the abstract, Fig. 1B, and paragraph [0037], where light shielding layer 82 is formed on light transmission layer 81).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nishimura to include the teachings of Takata so that the device comprises a transmission film formed on the polarized-beam splitter, wherein the transmission film includes a low transmittance area in which the light source is difficult to be seen in an observation range where the aerial image is visible for the purpose of using a known light shielding layer in order to block direct viewing of the light source within the display device.
Regarding claim 3, Nishimura as modified by Takata discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Nishimura as modified by Takata does not specifically disclose that the low transmittance area is in an observation range in which the aerial image is not clipped, the observation range in which the aerial image is not clipped being within an observation range in which at least a part of the aerial image is visible.
However, Nishimura discloses that the image is visible via a ray trace directly adjacent to the low transmittance area (see at least Fig. 16C).
One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that at least a portion of the displayed image would be visible in an observation range that overlaps the transmittance area.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nishimura as modified by Takata so that the low transmittance area is in an observation range in which the aerial image is not clipped, the observation range in which the aerial image is not clipped being within an observation range in which at least a part of the aerial image is visible for the purpose of viewing at least a portion of the aerial image in an observation range overlapping the low transmittance area.
Regarding claim 4, Nishimura as modified by Takata discloses all of the limitations of claim 3.
Nishimura also discloses that the low transmittance area is determined based on a position where a straight line connecting an end of the aerial image and an end of the light source crosses the transmission film (see at least Fig. 16C, where the low transmittance area is determined such that it completely blocks the view of the light source when viewing the image). Figure 16C is reproduced below with a line added to demonstrate a straight line connecting an end of the aerial image and an end of the light source.
Regarding claim 5, Nishimura as modified by Takata discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Nishimura also discloses that the reference line is orthogonal to a main surface of the polarized-beam splitter, an angle between the reference line and an optical axis orthogonal to the main surface of the light source is less than 90 degrees, and an angle between the reference line and the optical axis orthogonal to the main surface of the retroreflective member is less than 90 degrees (see at least Fig. 16C).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2024/062749 to Nishimura et al, all citations are to the attached English language machine translation (hereafter Nishimura), in view of US 2018/0267227 to Takata et al., made of record in the IDS filed 11/28/2025 (hereafter Takata) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2017/0157420 to Smedinga et al. (hereafter Smedinga).
Regarding claim 2, Nishimura as modified by Takata discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Nishimura as modified by Takata does not specifically disclose that the transmission film includes an area in which a transmittance gradually increases from the low transmittance area.
However, Smedinga teaches a lighting device comprising a light shielding region with a gradient (see at least the abstract, Fig. 1 and paragraph [0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nishimura as modified by Takata to include the teachings of Smedinga so that the transmission film includes an area in which a transmittance gradually increases from the low transmittance area for the purpose of creating a smooth transition (see at least paragraph [0007] of Smedinga).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2024/0004216 to Hirata et al. discloses an aerial display device comprising light shielding members that block direct viewing of the light source (see at least Fig. 6A and paragraph [0052], light shielding members 23 and 24).
/A.W.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872