DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to 03/21/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 12, change, as a suggestion, “at least one processor” to “the at least one processor”, in order to refer back to previous recitation of “at least one processor” in line 11. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark et al. (US Patent 11,036,454 B2), hereinafter Clark, in view of Lee et al. (US Pub. 2014/0340299), hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 1, Clark discloses an electronic device (computing device 100-see fig. 1) comprising: a first housing (housing 203 of first display-see fig. 2 and [col. 6, ll. 46-48]); a second housing slidably coupled to the first housing (second display (104, 205) slides in and out of pocket (106, 206) of the first display housing-see figs. 1-2, with description in [col. 6, ll. 21-60]); a display, comprising a first display area (first display 102-see fig. 1) and a second display area extending from the first display area (second display 104 slidable from a pocket 106 of the first display-see fig. 1, [col. 5, ll. 7-9] and [col. 6, ll. 21-28]), configured to provide a first state in which the second display area is rolled into the first housing by the second housing sliding relative to the first housing and a second state in which the second display area is visible outside the first housing by the second housing sliding relative to the first housing (i.e., second processing resource is coupled toa logic unit (see figs. 3-4) to receive an input to indicate a position of the second display 104, e.g., a first position 109 (fully stored in pocket 106), a second position 111 (fully extended from first display 102), and a third position 113 (partially extended some percentage of a full area of the second display)-see fig. 1 and [col. 6, ll. 28-45]); and at least one processor, comprising processing circuitry, connected to the flexible display (first processing resource (e.g., 520) and second processing resource (e.g., 528) connected to first display (e.g., 502) and second display (e.g., 531)-see figs. 3-5) through each of a first electrical path and a second electrical path (as shown in, for example, fig. 4 with further description in [col. 5, ll. 25-29], the first display 102 is controlled by the first processing resource (320, 420), and the second in the specific example of fig. 4, the first processing resource and the second processing resource share control over the second display (104, 438) via a display output combinational switching logic 434), wherein the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to control the flexible display to: display, based on the flexible display being in the first state, a first screen provided through the first electrical path within the first display area (i.e., based on the second display 438 (104) being in the fully retracted state or first position 109 (see figs. 1-2, [col. 5, ll. 53-56] and [col. 10, ll. 13-25]), the first processing resource (320, 420) presents content (e.g., 108) to the first display 102-see figs. 1-4), and display, based on the display being in the second state, the first screen provided through the first electrical path within the first display area and a second screen provided through the second electrical path within the second display area (i.e., when the second display is in, for example, the second position 111 (fully extended from the pocket 106-see [col. 5, ll. 56-59] and [col. 10, ll. 13-25]), the first processing resource (e.g., 420-see fig. 4) is to provide content to the second display (e.g., 438-see fig. 4) as controlled by an operating system (OS) display driver 422, converted to an applicable display format by a converter 424, and selected to be presented by the display output combinational switching logic 434, concurrently while the computing system 400 is in active mode-see [col. 10, ll. 55-[col. 11, ll. 36], and, for example, fig. 1 with description in [col. 5, ll. 35-52]).
Clark does not appear to expressly disclose a flexible display.
Lee is relied upon to teach a flexible display (see figs. 1 and 3 with description in [0035]-a portable device includes a main display and a flexible display; both the main display and the flexible display may be configured as one flexible display panel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee with the invention of Clark by implementing the display as a flexible display, as taught by Lee, in order to provide a display that is more lightweight, thinner, have stronger impact resistance, and bent more freely than existing hard display (see [0031]).
Regarding claim 16, Clark discloses a method of operating an electronic device (see [col. 8, ll. 49-51]), comprising: identifying a state of a display (see figs. 1-2) comprising a first display area (first display 102-see fig. 1) and a second display area extending from the first display area (second display 104 slidable from a pocket 106 of the first display-see fig. 1, [col. 5, ll. 7-9] and [col. 6, ll. 21-28]), as one of a first state in which the second display area is rolled into a first housing of the electronic device by a second housing of the electronic device, sliding relative to the first housing (i.e., second display is fully retracted into pocket 106 of the first display 102 as shown by first position 109-see fig. 1 and [col. 5, ll. 53-56]) and a second state in which the second display area is visible outside the first housing by the second housing sliding relative to the first housing displaying (i.e., the second display may be fully extended from the pocket 106 in the first display 102 to a second position 111 to provide the fullest extended workspace for the computing device 100-see fig. 1 and [col. 5, ll. 56-59]), based on the display in the first state, a first screen provided through a first electrical path within the first display area (i.e., based on the second display 438 (104) being in the fully retracted or first position 109 (see figs. 1-2, [col. 5, ll. 53-56] and [col. 10, ll. 13-25]), the first processing resource (320, 420) presents content (e.g., 108) to the first display 102-see figs. 1-4), and displaying, based on the flexible display in the second state, the first screen provided through the first electrical path within the first display area and a second screen provided through a second electrical path within the second display area (i.e., when the second display is in, for example, the second position 111 (fully extended from the pocket 106-see [col. 5, ll. 56-59] and [col. 10, ll. 13-25]), the first processing resource (e.g., 420-see fig. 4) is to provide content to the second display (e.g., 438-see fig. 4) as controlled by an operating system (OS) display driver 422, converted to an applicable display format by a converter 424, and selected to be presented by the display output combinational switching logic 434, concurrently while the computing system 400 is in active mode-see [col. 10, ll. 55-[col. 11, ll. 36], and, for example, fig. 1 with description in [col. 5, ll. 35-52]).
Clark does not appear to expressly disclose a flexible display.
Lee is relied upon to teach a flexible display (see figs. 1 and 3 with description in [0035]-a portable device includes a main display and a flexible display; both the main display and the flexible display may be configured as one flexible display panel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee with the invention of Clark by implementing the display as a flexible display, as taught by Lee, in order to provide a display that is more lightweight, thinner, have stronger impact resistance, and bent more freely than existing hard display (see [0031]).
Regarding claims 2 and 17, Clark discloses wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to: identify that a state of the flexible display is changed from the first state to the second state, and activate, based on identifying that the state of the flexible display is changed from the first state to the second state, the second electrical path (i.e., the second processing resource is coupled to a logic unit (e.g., 330-see fig. 3) to receive an input to indicate a position of the second display, e.g., first position 109 (fully stored or retracted so as not to serve as extended workspace), second position 111 (fully extended) or third position 113 (partially extended by some percentage of a full display area of the second display 104-see figs. 1-2, [col. 5, ll. 53-67], [col. 6, ll. 28-36], and [col. 10, ll. 13-25]).
Regarding claims 3 and 18, Clark discloses wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to: identify that a state of the flexible display is changed from the second state to the first state, and deactivate, based on identifying that the state of the flexible display is changed from the second state to the first state, the second electrical path (see, for example, [col. 6, ll. 28-45], which discloses that the second processing resource is coupled to a logic unit to receive an input to indicate a position of the second display from … optical encoders, rotational magnetic sensors, and/or similar components, and, for example, fig. 2 with description in [col. 9, ll. 10-19], which further discloses that when the second display (205) is fully retracted into the pocket (206) of the housing, the second processing resource is to disconnect the operating system (OS) and associated OS display driver from the second display).
Regarding claim 15, Clark discloses wherein the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to: identify that a report mode is executed, and based on execution of the report mode, display a fourth screen provided through the first electrical path and related to the report mode within the first display area and the second display area, using the flexible display configured in the second state (see, for example, [col. 11, ll. 24-36], which further discloses that the second display 438 (see fig. 4) may serve as an extended workspace for the computing device 400 for content (shown as 110 in fig. 1) on a first display associated with the first processing resource 420).
Claims 4-8, 11, 14, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark in view of Lee, and further in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. 2021/0124548), hereinafter Kim548.
Regarding claim 4, Clark discloses further comprising: first output selection circuitry, wherein the first output selection circuitry is configured for activating at least one of the second electronic path for connecting at least one processor and the flexible display (display output combinational switching logic (334, 434)-see figs. 3-4 with description in, for example, [col. 10, ll. 55-col. 11, ll. 7]).
Clark in view of Lee does not appear to expressly teach and a third electronic path for connecting at least one processor and an external electronic device.
Kim is relied upon to teach a third electronic path for connecting at least one processor and an external electronic device (see, for example, fig. 5, wherein a control circuit 540 controls a first display 510, a second display 520 and an external device 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim548 with the inventions of Clark and Lee to include extending a display of the electronic device to an external electronic device through at least a different connecting path, as taught by Kim548, in order to provide an electronic device that can not only share at least a portion of an image output on a display with an external device, but also handle a different action on the display in a multitasking fashion (see [0007]).
Regarding claim 5, Kim548 is further relied upon to teach wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to: in response to identifying that the external electronic device is connected, provide a third screen to be displayed through the external electronic device, and provide, based on activating the third electrical path using the first output selection circuitry the third screen to the external electronic device through the third electrical path (to share a first image displayed on the first display 510 with the external device 10, the control circuit may send the first image to the first display 510 through a first interface, and send the first image to the external device 10 through a communication circuit 550 at the same time. A second image may be output on the second display 520 in parallel with the display of the first image-see fig. 5, [0123], and more particularly, [0128]).
Regarding claims 6 and 19, Kim548 is further relied upon to teach wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to: identify, based on receiving, using the first output selection circuitry, a signal including information indicating that the external electronic device is connected to the electronic device from the external electronic device, that the external electronic device is connected, and based on the signal (see fig. 8 with description in [0147]-[0149], which teach establishing communication with the external device 10), deactivate the second electrical path and activate the third electrical path, using the first output selection circuitry (the ability of the control circuit to share or to stop sharing data associated with any one of the displays with the external device can be gleaned from [0167]).
Regarding claims 7 and 20, Kim548 is further relied upon to teach wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to: based on identifying that the external electronic device is connected, cease an operation of providing, through the first electrical path, the first screen and an operation of providing, through the second electrical path, the second screen, and based on the operations being ceased, display a fourth screen provided through the first electrical path within the first display area and the second display area (see, for example, figs. 5, 7, and 13, which illustrate a device (e.g. device 500-see fig. 5) connected to an external device 10, and, the ability to display content in both first and second displays, or switch content from one display to another, or stop sending sharing data to the external display can be gleaned from [0108] and [0167]).
Regarding claim 8, Clark discloses wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to: identify, based on a size of the first display area and the second display area, resolution of a screen to be displayed through the first display area and the second display area, provide, based on the identified resolution, the fourth screen, and provide, through the first electrical path, the fourth screen to the flexible display (see, for example, figs. 3-4 with description in, for example, [col. 10, ll. 63-col. 11, ll.16], which further discloses a converter (324, 424) that receives content from an operating system (OS) display driver (e.g., 422-see fig. 4), and converts a format of the content to an applicable format to be presented on the second display 438. Please, note that the OS display driver 422 is for the first display).
Regarding claim 11, Clark, in for example, [col. 6, ll. 36-45], [col. 8, ll. 49-[col. 9, ll. 10], disclose using sensors such as optical encoders, rotational magnetic sensors, and/or similar components to determine a position of the second display 205 as it extends from and retracts into the pocket 206 (see fig. 2).
However, Clark in view of Lee does not appear to expressly teach further comprising: a third housing, rotatably coupled to the first housing, comprising at least one input device configured to receive an input; an acceleration sensor; and a gyroscope sensor, wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to: identify a first input for changing a state of the flexible display from the first state to the second state, identify, based on the first input, a value representing a motion of the electronic device using the acceleration sensor and the gyroscope sensor, identify, based on the first input, an angle between the first housing and the third housing, and change, based on identifying that the value representing the motion of the electronic device is less than or equal to a reference value and the angle between the first housing and the third housing is within a reference range, the state of the flexible display from the first state to the second state.
Kim548, in for example, fig. 2 with description in [0067], teaches that a sensor module 240 may measure physical quantity or sense an operating status of an electronic device 201, and then convert measured or sensed information into electric signals, wherein, the sensor module may include, amongst others, a gyro sensor 240B, a magnetic sensor 240D, an acceleration or accelerator sensor 240E, …, also, for example in fig. 4D with description in [0115], when a display of an electronic device 400d is bent at an angle greater than or equal to a threshold, the display may be divided into two display areas with respect to the axis of bending and one of the display areas may be defined as a first display 420d and the other may be defined as a second display 430d.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim548 with the inventions of Clark and Lee to include changing a state of a flexible display having two or more display housings based on one or more sensor inputs, as taught by Kim548, which constitutes combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 14, Clark in view of Lee does not appear to expressly teach wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to: identify a second input for changing the state of the flexible display from the second state to the first state, based on the second input, identify, using the acceleration sensor and the gyroscope sensor, the value representing the motion of the electronic device, based on the second input, identify the angle between the first housing and the third housing, and based on identifying that the value representing the motion of the electronic device is less than or equal to the reference value and the angle between the first housing and the third housing is within the reference range, change the state of the flexible display from the second state to the first state.
Kim548, in for example, fig. 2 with description in [0067], teaches that a sensor module 240 may measure physical quantity or sense an operating status of an electronic device 201, and then convert measured or sensed information into electric signals, wherein, the sensor module may include, amongst others, a gyro sensor 240B, a magnetic sensor 240D, an acceleration or accelerator sensor 240E, …, also, for example in fig. 4D with description in [0115], when a display of an electronic device 400d is bent at an angle greater than or equal to a threshold, the display may be divided into two display areas with respect to the axis of bending and one of the display areas may be defined as a first display 420d and the other may be defined as a second display 430d, i.e., the ability to change the state of anyone of extended displays of the display device based on sensor measurements, such as acceleration or gyro sensor, can be gleaned from the teachings of Kim546.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim548 with the inventions of Clark and Lee to include changing a state of a flexible display having two or more display housings based on one or more sensor inputs, as taught by Kim548, which constitutes combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claims 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark in view of Lee, and further in view of Kim as in claim 4, and further in view of Scott, II (US Pub. 2007/0247798).
Regarding claim 9, Clark in view of Lee and Kim does not appear to expressly teach further comprising: a third housing, rotatably coupled to the first housing, comprising at least one input device configured to receive an input; and a fourth housing slidably coupled to the first housing in a direction opposite to a direction in which the second housing slides, wherein the flexible display further comprises a third display area configured to be rolled into the first housing or visible outside the first housing, based on the fourth housing sliding relative to the first housing and wherein at least one processor is connected to the flexible display through a fourth electrical path used for providing a fourth screen within the third display area.
Scott, II., in for example, fig. 1 with description in [0017], teaches a display housing 110 having a main display panel 130, two auxiliary display panels 132 that are slidably extendable from a storage position within the display panel 110 through slots 124, and in other embodiments (see fig. 3 and [0026]), the auxiliary display panels 132 may be pivotally mounted on a pivot mounting 310, and operable to pivot about an axis 320 coincident with the pivot mounting 310 when maximally extended. An electronic device having this structure further comprises a content generating component to generate content for display on the main display and the auxiliary displays, wherein, a digital processing apparatus allocates content for display on the main display and also on the auxiliary displays based on a sensor indicating the level of extension of the auxiliary displays (see fig. 2 and [0009], and [0023]-[0024]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Scott, II with the inventions of Clark, Lee, and Kim, to include any number of housings in the display device, including both slidable and rotatable housings, as taught by Scott, II, in order to increase functionality of notebook computers (see [0002]-[0003]).
Regarding claim 10, Clark in view of Lee, Kim and Scott, II does not appear to expressly teach further comprising second output selection circuitry distinct from the first output selection circuitry, wherein the second output selection circuitry is configured to activate one of the fourth electrical path for connecting at least one processor and the flexible display and a fifth electrical path for connecting at least one processor and another external electronic device.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to increase the number of output selection circuitry to any desired number corresponding to a desired number of display housings, which simply amounts to “making plural” by mere duplication of parts. Mere duplication of parts has not patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)).
Claim 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark in view of Lee and Kim548 as in claim 11, and further in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. 2022/0113763), hereinafter Kim763.
Regarding claim 12, Clark in view of Lee and Kim548 does not appear to expressly teach wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to: based on identifying that the value representing the motion of the electronic device is greater than the reference value and the angle between the first housing and the third housing is out of the reference range, maintain the state of the flexible display as the first state.
Kim763 is relied upon to teach wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to: based on identifying that the value representing the motion of the electronic device is greater than the reference value and the angle between the first housing and the third housing is out of the reference range, maintain the state of the flexible display as the first state (see, for example, [0084], which teaches that a sensor 250 may detect at least one of angle information (by sensing at least some components, e.g., a first housing structure 110A and a second housing structure 110B of fig. 1) or motion information, transmit the sensed information to a controller 240 such that the controller determines a condition under which a drive signal is generated, wherein the controller 240 may transmit the drive signal to a motor 260, and, according to various embodiments, the motor 260 operates depending on the drive signal to switch a screen of at least one of a first display 230 or a second display 235 to a set mode (see [0083]), and wherein the sensor 250 may include at least one of an angle sensor, a gyro sensor, an acceleration sensor … (see [0084])).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim763 with the inventions of Clark, Lee and Kim548 to include generating a control signal for controlling any desired state of the flexible display based on motion of the electronic device and/or angle between two display housings, as taught by Kim763, which constitutes combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark in view of Lee and Kim548 as in claim 11, and further in view of Kim763 as in claim 12, and further in view of Nguyen et al. (US Pub. 2021/0368099), hereinafter Nguyen.
Regarding claim 13, Clark in view of Lee, Kim548, and Kim763 does not appear to expressly teach wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to control the flexible display to: display, within the first display area, a screen representing information for guiding to change the angle between the first housing and the third housing within the reference range and maintain the electronic device in a fixed state.
Nguyen is relied upon to teach wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to control the flexible display to: display, within the first display area, a screen representing information for guiding to change the angle between the first housing and the third housing within the reference range and maintain the electronic device in a fixed state (see, for example, figs. 3 and 10 with description in [0204]-processor 360 may output guide information to instruct a user to rotate at least one of a first housing 210 or a second housing 220 on a hinge unit so that a folding angle between the first and the second housing is large than a current folding angle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Nguyen with the inventions of Clark, Lee, Kim548, and Kim763 to include providing information for guiding a change between housings of displays, as taught by Nguyen, which constitutes combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
/SARDIS F AZONGHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627