DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The applicant elected Group V: Figs. 26-30 and subsequently amended claims. Claims 2 and 6-12 are cancelled. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/11/26.
Claims 19-26 are drawn to Group VI: Figs. 31-32. Claim 1 is drawn to “randomly arranged concave portions of convex portions” and Claim 19 is drawn to protrusions. The only embodiment with both features is Group VI. Thus, Claims 19-26 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 13-15, and 17-18, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsui et al. (JP 2007-168356) (See NPL for English Translation).
In respect to claims 1 and 17, Matsui et al. disclose a display comprising a first portion 20A and a second portion 10A, the portions being capable of being spaced apart then placed in overlap, via a folded and unfolded configuration “deformed” (Fig. 4); the first portion and second portion include first and second regions, the first regions having a shape extending in a first direction and alternately and regularly spaced in a second direction intersection with the first direction (Fig. 2); a printed latent image “moiré pattern” is not identifiable until the first portion is superimposed on the second portion (“first state”), and can include an image e.g. characters (Fig. 4). (0049; Fig. 4); the first regions of the first portion may be made by roughening of the surface in those regions, thus creating “light-scattering” regions which are readily inferred to “hav[e] randomly arranged concave or convex portion” (0034). The light-scattering regions naturally allow provide for less transparency than the regions without a light-scattering property, thus the second regions (non-scattering) allow light to emerge with a higher intensity.
In respect to claim 3, Matsui et al. disclose that the display is on a carrier which may be a polymer (plastic) (0034).
In respect to claim 4, Matsui et al. disclose line widths of 30-500 μm, wherein the line width and spacing between is equal, thus, periods of 60-1000 μm (0026).
In respect to claim 5, Matsui et al. disclose a band-shaped region having first to fourth sub-regions, wherein each of the first and second sub-regions have a first color (shaded on page) and the third and fourth sub-regions have a second color (white on page); the first and third sub-regions are arranged in a width direction (top row) and the second and fourth sub-regions are arranged in the width direction (second row) and the first and second sub-regions are at different positions in the width direction (Fig. 7).
In respect to claim 13, Matsui et al. disclose that the width direction of the plurality of band-shaped regions is perpendicular to the “second direction” and thus “inclined” (see claim 1). Furthermore, the second state is a user-defined state of bending the display, wherein an oblique angle is possible.
In respect to claims 14, 15, and 18, Matsui et al. disclose that the display is a sheet which is folded from the first state to the second state (Fig. 3) and has a “substantially square shape” (0033) as any slight deviation from a square e.g. substantially is a rectangle, which one of ordinary skill would understand to include a rectangle, with the second direction and width direction being parallel to a long side of the display (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsui et al. (JP 2007-168356) (See NPL for English Translation) in view of Hersh et al. (U 2006/0003295).
Matsui et al. substantially disclose the claims, including providing a banknote as the display, however, they do not disclose using a booklet as the display. However, Hersh et al. teach a similar first and second portions which are similarly overlapped to form a moiré latent image. Banknotes, checks, and other similar planar articles to Matsui et al. are disclosed, in addition to passports (booklets). The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, namely, selecting a known suitable document substrate for a security feature.
Claims 21 and 24 are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsui et al. (JP 2007-168356) (See NPL for English Translation).
Matsui et al. discloses a rectangle, as would be readily gleaned by one of ordinary skill in the art, however, does not explicitly disclose a rectangle. However, Matsui et al. further disclose stocks, bonds, gift certificates, etc. (0001), which one of ordinary skill readily ascertains to include rectangular formats. The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, namely, selecting a rectangular document to provide the display upon with absolutely no unexpected result. As long as the shape allows the document to be folded over itself, a rectangle is an obvious choice for a display shape, with no change in the invention concept.
Conclusion
/KYLE R GRABOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637