DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
This action responds to the application 19/087,040 filed on 02-07-2025.
Claims 1-8 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
6. Claims 1-8 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Igarashi et al. (US 2021/0345057) in view of Nakadai et al. (US 2008/0199024).
Consider Claim 1, Igarashi teaches a sound space construction device comprising processing circuitry(see fig. 1):
to(see fig. 1) acquire audio data including audio from a plurality of sound sources;
to determine(see fig. 2) a plurality of sound source positions as positions of the plurality of sound sources based on the audio data(see figs.1-2 and paragraphs [0063]-[0069]);
to generate(see fig. 2(control box2)) a plurality of pieces of extraction audio data by extracting audio represented by the audio data in regard to each sound source and generating the extraction audio data representing the extracted audio (see figs.1-2 and paragraphs [0063]-[0069]);
to generate a plurality of stereophonic sounds corresponding to the plurality of sound sources by converting a format of the plurality of pieces of extraction audio data to a format of stereophonic audio; to acquire an auditory position as a position where audio is listened to(see figs.20-24 and paragraphs [0160]-[0162]);
to calculate an angle and a distance between the auditory position and each of the plurality of sound source positions(see figs.20-24 and paragraphs [0117]-[0127]);
to adjust each of the plurality of stereophonic sounds by using the angle and the distance corresponding to each of the plurality of sound source positions and thereby generate a plurality of adjusted stereophonic sounds as a plurality of stereophonic sounds at the auditory position; and to superimpose the plurality of adjusted stereophonic sounds together(see figs.1, 17-24 and paragraphs [0150]-[0169]); but Nakadai does not explicitly teach to generate a plurality of pieces of extraction audio data by extracting audio represented by the audio data in regard to each sound source and generating the extraction audio data representing the extracted audio.
However, Nakadai teaches to generate a plurality of pieces of extraction audio data by extracting audio represented by the audio data in regard to each sound source and generating the extraction audio data representing the extracted audio (see figs.1-5 and paragraphs [0058]-[0088]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of Nakadai into the teaching of Igarashi to provide a sound source characteristic determining device (10) capable of being applied in an environmental where the type of a sound source is unknown. The device includes a plurality of beamformers (21-1 to 21-M) used when a sound source signal generated from a sound source at an arbitrary position in a space is inputted to a plurality of microphones (14-1 to 14-N), for weighting the acoustic signal detected by each of the microphones by using a function for correcting the difference of the sound source signals generated between the microphones and outputting a totaled signal. Each of the beamformers (21-1 to 21-M) contains a function having a unit directivity characteristic corresponding to one arbitrary direction in the space and is arranged for each of the directions corresponding to an arbitrary position in the space and the unit directivity characteristic. The sound source characteristic determining device (10) further includes means (23) for estimating the position and the direction in the space corresponding to the beamformer outputting a maximum value as the position and the direction of the sound source when the microphone (14) detects a sound source signal.
Consider Claim 2, Igarashi as modified by Nakadai teaches the sound space construction device wherein the processing circuitry generates the extraction audio data corresponding to one sound source included in the plurality of sound sources, among the plurality of pieces of extraction audio data, by subtracting data remaining after separating the audio from the one sound source from the audio data, from the audio data(In Nakadai, see figs.1-5 and paragraphs [0058]-[0088]).
Consider Claims 3 and 4, Igarashi as modified by Nakadai teaches the sound space construction device wherein processing circuitry determines the plurality of sound source positions by using an image obtained by photographing a space including the plurality of sound sources(see figs.1-9 and paragraphs [0064]-[0067]); and the sound space construction device wherein the audio data is data representing audio captured by a sound collection device connected to the sound space construction device by a network(see figs.1-9 and paragraphs [0064]-[0071])..
Consider Claims 5 and 6, Igarashi as modified by Nakadai teaches the sound space construction device wherein the processing circuitry further: acquires superimposition-dedicated audio data representing superimposition-dedicated stereophonic sound as stereophonic sound generated by converting audio data of audio, different from the audio included in the acquired audio data in at least one of a time and a position of capture, to the format of stereophonic audio; and generates superimposition-dedicated adjusted stereophonic sound as stereophonic sound at the auditory position from the superimposition-dedicated stereophonic sound, wherein the processing circuitry superimposes together the plurality of adjusted stereophonic sounds and the superimposition-dedicated adjusted stereophonic sound(see figs.1, 17-24 and paragraphs [0147]-[0162]); and a sound space construction system comprising the sound space construction device and a sound collection device that is connected to the sound space construction device by a network and generates audio data including audio from a plurality of sound sources(see figs.1-9 and paragraphs [0064]-[0071]).
Consider Claim 7, Igarashi teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program that causes a computer to execute processing(see figs.1, 17 and paragraphs[0169]).:
to(see fig. 1) acquire audio data including audio from a plurality of sound sources;
to determine(see fig. 2-16D) a plurality of sound source positions as positions of the plurality of sound sources based on the audio data(see figs.1-2 and paragraphs [0063]-[0069]);
to generate a plurality of stereophonic sounds corresponding to the plurality of sound sources by converting a format of the plurality of pieces of extraction audio data to a format of stereophonic audio; to acquire an auditory position as a position where audio is listened to(see figs.20-24 and paragraphs [0160]-[0162]);
to calculate an angle and a distance between the auditory position and each of the plurality of sound source positions(see figs.20-24 and paragraphs [0117]-[0127]);
to adjust each of the plurality of stereophonic sounds by using the angle and the distance corresponding to each of the plurality of sound source positions and thereby generate a plurality of adjusted stereophonic sounds as a plurality of stereophonic sounds at the auditory position; and to superimpose the plurality of adjusted stereophonic sounds together(see figs.1, 17-24 and paragraphs [0150]-[0169]); ]); but Nakadai does not explicitly teach to generate a plurality of pieces of extraction audio data by extracting audio represented by the audio data in regard to each sound source and generating the extraction audio data representing the extracted audio.
However, Nakadai teaches to generate a plurality of pieces of extraction audio data by extracting audio represented by the audio data in regard to each sound source and generating the extraction audio data representing the extracted audio (see figs.1-5 and paragraphs [0058]-[0088]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of Nakadai into the teaching of Igarashi to provide a sound source characteristic determining device (10) capable of being applied in an environmental where the type of a sound source is unknown. The device includes a plurality of beamformers (21-1 to 21-M) used when a sound source signal generated from a sound source at an arbitrary position in a space is inputted to a plurality of microphones (14-1 to 14-N), for weighting the acoustic signal detected by each of the microphones by using a function for correcting the difference of the sound source signals generated between the microphones and outputting a totaled signal. Each of the beamformers (21-1 to 21-M) contains a function having a unit directivity characteristic corresponding to one arbitrary direction in the space and is arranged for each of the directions corresponding to an arbitrary position in the space and the unit directivity characteristic. The sound source characteristic determining device (10) further includes means (23) for estimating the position and the direction in the space corresponding to the beamformer outputting a maximum value as the position and the direction of the sound source when the microphone (14) detects a sound source signal.
Consider Claim 8, Igarashi teaches a sound space construction method comprising
:acquiring audio data including audio from a plurality of sound sources(see fig. 1);
determining(see figs 1-16d) a plurality of sound source positions as positions of the plurality of sound sources based on the audio data(see figs.1-2 and paragraphs [0063]-[0069]);
calculating an angle and a distance between the auditory position and each of the plurality of sound source positions(see figs.20-24 and paragraphs [0117]-[0127]);
adjusting each of the plurality of stereophonic sounds by using the angle and the distance corresponding to each of the plurality of sound source positions and thereby generating a plurality of adjusted stereophonic sounds as a plurality of stereophonic sounds at the auditory position; and superimposing the plurality of adjusted stereophonic sounds together(see figs.1, 17-24 and paragraphs [0150]-[0169]) ]); but Nakadai does not explicitly teach to generate a plurality of pieces of extraction audio data by extracting audio represented by the audio data in regard to each sound source and generating the extraction audio data representing the extracted audio.
However, Nakadai teaches to generate a plurality of pieces of extraction audio data by extracting audio represented by the audio data in regard to each sound source and generating the extraction audio data representing the extracted audio (see figs.1-5 and paragraphs [0058]-[0088]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of Nakadai into the teaching of Igarashi to provide a sound source characteristic determining device (10) capable of being applied in an environmental where the type of a sound source is unknown. The device includes a plurality of beamformers (21-1 to 21-M) used when a sound source signal generated from a sound source at an arbitrary position in a space is inputted to a plurality of microphones (14-1 to 14-N), for weighting the acoustic signal detected by each of the microphones by using a function for correcting the difference of the sound source signals generated between the microphones and outputting a totaled signal. Each of the beamformers (21-1 to 21-M) contains a function having a unit directivity characteristic corresponding to one arbitrary direction in the space and is arranged for each of the directions corresponding to an arbitrary position in the space and the unit directivity characteristic. The sound source characteristic determining device (10) further includes means (23) for estimating the position and the direction in the space corresponding to the beamformer outputting a maximum value as the position and the direction of the sound source when the microphone (14) detects a sound source signal.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Kon et al.(US 2017/0127035) is cited to show other SOUND SPACE CONSTRUCTION DEVICE, SOUND SPACE CONSTRUCTION SYSTEM, STORAGE MEDIUM STORING PROGRAM, AND SOUND SPACE CONSTRUCTION METHOD..
8. Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Mail Stop ____(explanation, e.g., Amendment or After-final, etc.)
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Facsimile responses should be faxed to:
(571) 273-8300
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
should be directed to Lao,Lun-See whose telephone number is (571) 272-7501 The examiner
can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:00 to 5:30.
supervisor, Nguyen Duc M, can be reached on (571) 272-7503.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding
should be directed to the Technology Center 2600 whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/LUN-SEE LAO/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2651 Patent Examiner
US Patent and Trademark Office
Knox
571-272-7501
Date 09-19-2026