DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,2,5-15,18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Daniel-Wayman (US 20160117874 A1, herein now referred to as “DW”).
Claim 1. DW teaches a system comprising:
a server including one or more processors, the one or more processors communicatively coupled to an access point device and one or more portable devices
([0023] As illustrated, an owner operated communication device 10, a guest operated communication device 14, a server device 16, and an access control device 18 are capable of communication with one another through one or more communication networks 20.),
wherein the access point device comprises an access mechanism
([0054] access control device 18 controls the locking and unlocking of a door 42),
wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute program instructions stored in memory, the program instructions configured to cause the one or more processors to:
retrieve location data for the one or more portable devices via a sensor of the one or more portable devices configured to interact with one or more identification markers arranged proximate to the access point device and location circuitry of the one or more portable devices
([0028] As discussed in the background, the issue arises when a guest approaches the secured premises 38 and needs to be granted access by the owner. In a first instance, a machine readable code 43, such as a QR code, barcode, or the like, is positioned in a visible area 44 adjacent to an access point 42 controlled by the access control device 18.
[0033] the location determination can be performed prior to enabling the guest device 14 to contact the owner, so that the owner is not disturbed before a guest is actually present in a location where access is necessary.);
determine whether a location of the one or more portable devices is within a pre-defined geographical region
([0034] In a first approach, location can be determined using circuitry in the guest device 14 and signals with third party devices...[0035] In a second approach, the application can utilize near field communication to confirm the guest device's location within the application...[0036] In a third approach, the application can utilize a Bluetooth communication protocol to confirm the guest device's location... [0037] In a fourth approach, the application can utilize a WiFi network 46 to confirm the guest device's location.);
upon determining that the location of the one or more portable devices is within the pre-defined geographical region, receive a callee selection from at least one portable device of the one or more portable devices
([0041] the application can confirm the guest device's presence within the access location area 48 simply by determining that the Bluetooth signal can be received without fully pairing the devices and confirming that signal either locally at the guest device 14 or through communication over a network. [0042] As such, when the application is called on by the guest to gain access to the secured premises 38, the application automatically or manually determines a current location of the guest device 14...
[0046] To facilitate confirmation of the guest's identity to the owner, the guest can then be provided with a list of owners within the secured premises 38... With the selection, the application then provides a prompt asking the guest via the device display 32 whether the guest would like to contact the desired owner.
[0048] The application can initiate contact with the owner to inform the owner of the guest's presence within the access location area 48 and desire for entry into the secured premises 38 in any suitable way. In a first approach, the application causes a push notification to appear on the owner device 10 and produce an audible signal,)
, wherein the callee selection received via the at least one portable device is associated with at least one of accepting a request for access to the access point device or denying the request for access to the access point device
([0047] As such, when the application contacts the owner, the owner will be presented with the guest information, which will provide the owner with information to make an entry decision and warn the owner of the identity of the guest for a subsequent conversation.
[0048] The application can initiate contact with the owner to inform the owner of the guest's presence within the access location area 48 and desire for entry into the secured premises 38 in any suitable way...
[0049] In another approach, the application calls the owner device 10 or initiates a video conference with the owner device 10 utilizing a camera device 54 and/or microphone in the guest device 14 (or otherwise mounted near the access point 42) and, if desired, a camera device 54 in the owner device 10...)
; and upon receiving the callee selection associated with accepting the request for access to the access point device, transmit a control signal from the server to the access mechanism of the access point device to direct the access mechanism of the access point device to provide access to a caller
([0050] In order to be granted access to the secured premises 38, an authorized control signal is sent to the access control device 18. In one approach, the owner controls the operation of the access control device 18 via the user input 22 on the owner device 10.).
Claim 2. DW teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: upon determining that the location of the one or more portable devices is within the pre-defined geographical region, generating one or more control signals configured to cause the one or more portable devices to display a directory search user interface, wherein the directory search user interface is configured to allow the caller to search a directory associated with the access point device
([0042] The application can effect this comparison on the guest device 14 or by sending the guest device's location information to another device that effects the comparison to determine whether the guest device's current location is within the access location area 48.
[0043] To facilitate confirmation of the guest's identity to the owner, the guest can then be provided with a list of owners within the secured premises 38....).
Claim 5. DW teaches the system of claim 1, wherein upon receiving the callee selection associated with denying the request for access to the access point device, transmit the control signal from the server to the access mechanism of the access point device to direct the access mechanism of the access point device to deny access to the caller
([0071] By another approach, the owner can configure or request the intermediary server 16 to deny access control rights to an identified guest device 14 at times chosen by the owner.
[0073] If the owner denies access, the application identifies the decision and transmits a denial signal or message to the intermediary server 16, which then refuses to forward the control signal onto the access control device 18.).
Claim 6. DW teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more identification markers are at least one of disposed on the access point device, disposed within the access point device, or disposed near the access point device
([0028] As discussed in the background, the issue arises when a guest approaches the secured premises 38 and needs to be granted access by the owner. In a first instance, a machine readable code 43, such as a QR code, barcode, or the like, is positioned in a visible area 44 adjacent to an access point 42 controlled by the access control device 18.).
Claim 7. DW teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more identification markers is a QR code
([0028] As discussed in the background, the issue arises when a guest approaches the secured premises 38 and needs to be granted access by the owner. In a first instance, a machine readable code 43, such as a QR code)
Claim 8. DW teaches the system of claim 7, wherein the sensor of the one or more portable devices is configured to image the QR code
([0028] Instructions can be posted along with the machine readable code instructing the guest to scan the code with the guest device 14 for gaining access to the secured premises 38.)
Claim 9. DW teaches the system of claim 8, wherein upon imaging the QR code using the sensor of the one or more portable devices, the one or more processors are configured to cause the one or more portable devices to launch a default browser to cause the one or more portable devices to send location data to the server
([0032] As such, when a guest opens a browser on the guest device 14, the browser is directed to a desired website for gaining access to the secured premises.
[0033] Location determination provides a unique security function for granting a guest device 14 access to a secured premises 18. More specifically, the location determination can be performed prior to enabling the guest device 14 to contact the owner, so that the owner is not disturbed before a guest is actually present in a location where access is necessary.).
Claim 10. DW teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the access point device is a door
([0054] the access control device 18 controls the locking and unlocking of a door 42,).
Claim 11. DW teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the location circuitry comprises:
global position system (GPS) circuitry
([0075] Then, utilizing GPS circuitry 34 in the guest device 14, the application can display the location of the access point 42).
Claim 12. DW teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the location circuitry comprises:
WiFi location services circuitry
([0032] the guest device 14 can connect to a WiFi network 46).
Claim 13. DW teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the pre-defined geographical region includes at least one of a pre-defined distance from the access point device or a pre-defined geographical boundary
([0039] The access location area 48 can be set as a predetermined area surrounding the access control device 18, an area outside of the secured premises 38 adjacent to the access control device 18, or the like. By a further or alternative approach, the owner can input into the application or revise a length already set in the application to set a radius for the access location area 48 surrounding the access control device 18, which in operation would create a disk-shaped access location area 48. By yet another approach, the application can utilize a map or other display of an area surrounding the access control device 18 to allow the owner to directly input the access location area 48 by drawing or highlighting a desired area.).
Claim 14. DW teaches a method comprising:
retrieving location data for one or more portable devices via a sensor of the one or more portable devices configured to interact with one or more identification markers proximate to an access point device and location circuitry of the one or more portable devices
(([0028] As discussed in the background, the issue arises when a guest approaches the secured premises 38 and needs to be granted access by the owner. In a first instance, a machine readable code 43, such as a QR code, barcode, or the like, is positioned in a visible area 44 adjacent to an access point 42 controlled by the access control device 18.
[0033] the location determination can be performed prior to enabling the guest device 14 to contact the owner, so that the owner is not disturbed before a guest is actually present in a location where access is necessary.);
determining whether a location of the one or more portable devices is within a pre-defined geographical region
([0034] In a first approach, location can be determined using circuitry in the guest device 14 and signals with third party devices...[0035] In a second approach, the application can utilize near field communication to confirm the guest device's location within the application...[0036] In a third approach, the application can utilize a Bluetooth communication protocol to confirm the guest device's location... [0037] In a fourth approach, the application can utilize a WiFi network 46 to confirm the guest device's location.);
upon determining that the location of the one or more portable devices is within the pre-defined geographical region, receive a callee selection from the one or more portable devices
([0041] the application can confirm the guest device's presence within the access location area 48 simply by determining that the Bluetooth signal can be received without fully pairing the devices and confirming that signal either locally at the guest device 14 or through communication over a network. [0042] As such, when the application is called on by the guest to gain access to the secured premises 38, the application automatically or manually determines a current location of the guest device 14...
[0046] To facilitate confirmation of the guest's identity to the owner, the guest can then be provided with a list of owners within the secured premises 38... With the selection, the application then provides a prompt asking the guest via the device display 32 whether the guest would like to contact the desired owner.
[0048] The application can initiate contact with the owner to inform the owner of the guest's presence within the access location area 48 and desire for entry into the secured premises 38 in any suitable way. In a first approach, the application causes a push notification to appear on the owner device 10 and produce an audible signal,) ,
wherein the callee selection received is associated with at least one of accepting a request for access to the access point device or denying the request for access to the access point device
([0047] As such, when the application contacts the owner, the owner will be presented with the guest information, which will provide the owner with information to make an entry decision and warn the owner of the identity of the guest for a subsequent conversation.
[0048] The application can initiate contact with the owner to inform the owner of the guest's presence within the access location area 48 and desire for entry into the secured premises 38 in any suitable way...
[0049] In another approach, the application calls the owner device 10 or initiates a video conference with the owner device 10 utilizing a camera device 54 and/or microphone in the guest device 14 (or otherwise mounted near the access point 42) and, if desired, a camera device 54 in the owner device 10...);
and upon receiving the callee selection associated with accepting the request for access to the access point device, transmit a control signal from a server to an access mechanism of the access point device to direct the access mechanism of the access point device to provide access to a caller
([0050] In order to be granted access to the secured premises 38, an authorized control signal is sent to the access control device 18. In one approach, the owner controls the operation of the access control device 18 via the user input 22 on the owner device 10.).
Claim 15. DW teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising:
upon determining that the location of the one or more portable devices is within the pre-defined geographical region, generating one or more control signals configured to cause the one or more portable devices to display a directory search user interface, wherein the directory user interface is configured to allow the caller to search a directory associated with the access point device
([0042] The application can effect this comparison on the guest device 14 or by sending the guest device's location information to another device that effects the comparison to determine whether the guest device's current location is within the access location area 48.
[0043] To facilitate confirmation of the guest's identity to the owner, the guest can then be provided with a list of owners within the secured premises 38....).
Claim 18. DW teaches the method of claim 14, wherein upon receiving the callee selection associated with denying the request for access to the access point device, transmit the control signal from the server to the access mechanism of the access point device to direct the access mechanism of the access point device to deny access to the caller
([0071] By another approach, the owner can configure or request the intermediary server 16 to deny access control rights to an identified guest device 14 at times chosen by the owner.
[0073] If the owner denies access, the application identifies the decision and transmits a denial signal or message to the intermediary server 16, which then refuses to forward the control signal onto the access control device 18.).
Claim 19. DW teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the one or more identification markers are at least one of disposed on the access point device, disposed within the access point device, or disposed near the access point device
([0028] As discussed in the background, the issue arises when a guest approaches the secured premises 38 and needs to be granted access by the owner. In a first instance, a machine readable code 43, such as a QR code, barcode, or the like, is positioned in a visible area 44 adjacent to an access point 42 controlled by the access control device 18.).
Claim 20. DW teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the one or more identification markers is a QR code, wherein the sensor of the one or more portable devices is configured to image the QR code
([0028] As discussed in the background, the issue arises when a guest approaches the secured premises 38 and needs to be granted access by the owner. In a first instance, a machine readable code 43, such as a QR code).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3,4,16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DW in view of Nam (US 20140068519 A1).
Claim 3. DW teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
generate one or more control signals configured to cause the one or more portable devices to display a contact list user interface to the caller,
(([0043] [0046] To facilitate confirmation of the guest's identity to the owner, the guest can then be provided with a list of owners within the secured premises 38...
[0049] In another approach, the application calls the owner device 10 or initiates a video conference with the owner device 10 utilizing a camera device 54 and/or microphone in the guest device 14 (or otherwise mounted near the access point 42) and, if desired, a camera device 54 in the owner device 10.).
DW further discloses the process of imitating a video call or audio call to a callee on the user interface but does not specifically disclose wherein the contact list user interface includes one of a video call icon associated with initiating a video call to a callee or an audio call icon associated with initiating an audio call to the callee
However, Nam teaches wherein the contact list user interface includes one of a video call icon associated with initiating a video call to a callee or an audio call icon associated with initiating an audio call to the callee
([0048] If it is determined that the user input is a request for placing a call, the control unit 170 controls the touchscreen 110 to display a contact menu 530 as shown in FIG. 5 at step 404. For example, the contact menu includes a voice call item, video call item, text message item, and instant messenger item (e.g. KaKao Talk).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use user interface includes one of a video call icon associated with initiating a video call to a callee or an audio call icon associated with initiating an audio call to the callee as taught by Nam within the system of DW for the purpose of enhancing the user interface to organize communication options with the selected callee so that the mobile user can efficiently select options to make the call.
Claim 4. DW and Nam teach the system of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: upon selecting at least one of the video call icon or the audio call icon, generating one or more control signals configured to cause a portable device of the callee to display a notification associated with one of a video call request or an audio call request by the caller
(DW [0046] When a guest finds a desired owner, the guest can select the entry of the desired owner via the user input 22, such as a touch screen, button, or the like. With the selection, the application then provides a prompt asking the guest via the device display 32 whether the guest would like to contact the desired owner. This can be via a new window or screen displayed within the application, via a pop-up window, or within the original display. ).
Claim 16. DW teaches the method of claim 15, further comprising:
generating one or more control signals configured to cause the one or more portable devices to display a contact list user interface
(([0043] [0046] To facilitate confirmation of the guest's identity to the owner, the guest can then be provided with a list of owners within the secured premises 38...
[0049] In another approach, the application calls the owner device 10 or initiates a video conference with the owner device 10 utilizing a camera device 54 and/or microphone in the guest device 14 (or otherwise mounted near the access point 42) and, if desired, a camera device 54 in the owner device 10.).
DW further discloses the process of imitating a video call or audio call to a callee on the user interface but does not specifically disclose wherein the contact list user interface includes one of a video call icon associated with initiating a video call to a callee or an audio call icon associated with initiating an audio call to the callee.
However, Nam teaches wherein the contact list user interface includes one of a video call icon associated with initiating a video call to a callee or an audio call icon associated with initiating an audio call to the callee
([0048] If it is determined that the user input is a request for placing a call, the control unit 170 controls the touchscreen 110 to display a contact menu 530 as shown in FIG. 5 at step 404. For example, the contact menu includes a voice call item, video call item, text message item, and instant messenger item (e.g. KaKao Talk).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use user interface includes one of a video call icon associated with initiating a video call to a callee or an audio call icon associated with initiating an audio call to the callee as taught by Nam within the system of DW for the purpose of enhancing the user interface to organize communication options with the selected callee so that the mobile user can efficiently select options to make the call.
Claim 17. DW and Nam teach the method of claim 16, further comprising:
upon selecting at least one of the video call icon or the audio call icon, generating one or more control signals configured to cause a portable device of the callee to display a notification associated with one of a video call request or an audio call request by the caller
(DW [0046] When a guest finds a desired owner, the guest can select the entry of the desired owner via the user input 22, such as a touch screen, button, or the like. With the selection, the application then provides a prompt asking the guest via the device display 32 whether the guest would like to contact the desired owner. This can be via a new window or screen displayed within the application, via a pop-up window, or within the original display. ).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nhu (US 20160241660 A1) teaches use of BLE beacons to detect a mobile device and wakes up the mobile device application to communicate with an owner device and request access for opening a door.
/RUFUS C POINT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689