The amendments filed 4/9/26 overcome the rejections of claim 1 and its dependent claims over Gingerich and ACS Material set forth in the office action mailed 11/10/25, but do not overcome the rejection of claim 1 over Zhou, or other rejections set forth in the office action mailed 11/10/25. The discussions of the rejections have been updated as necessitated by the amendment. The rejections set forth under 35 USC 112(b) are overcome by the amendments to claims 5, 8, 11, 16, 21, and 27, and applicant’s indication in the remarks filed 4/9/26 that the concentration is relative to the alloy feedstock. A new ground of rejection set forth under 35 USC 112(b), necessitated by the amendments, is set forth below.
A new ground of rejection under 35 USC 103 for claims 2 and 17-21, necessitated by the amendments, is also set forth below. The rejection has not been applied to claim 1 and its other dependent claims since the rejection over Zhou has been maintained without any new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Amended claim 8 depends on itself. The examiner recommends that the claim be amended to depend on claim 6, which is equivalent to previous claim 7, which claim 8 previously depended on. For the purposes of examination, the claim is considered to depend on claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gingerich (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2004/0038832).
In paragraph 2 Gingerich discloses a tungsten disulfide powder. This powder meets the limitations of claims 6 and 8, since it is pure tungsten disulfide powder, and will be capable of performing the intended use of forming a coating under a certain powder feed rate and temperature as recited in amended claim 6 and having the coefficient of friction recited in claim 8, and noting that claim 6 is drawn to the cold spray lubricant and not a coating or a method of forming a coating. As discussed in paragraph 2 above, claim 8 has been considered to depend on claim 6 for the purposes of examination.
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ACS Material (Tungsten Disulfide sales page, retrieved from the internet at < https://web.archive.org/web/20221202034224/https://www.acsmaterial.com/tungsten-disulfide-ws2.html> on 11/6/25).
The Internet Archive URL for ACS Material indicates that the archived version of the website is from 12/2/22, and therefore qualifies as prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(1). In the “Product Detail” section of the reference, ACS Material discloses a tungsten disulfide (WS2) powder (GLWS2131) having a diameter of 100 nm. This powder meets the limitations of claims 6 and 8, since it is pure tungsten disulfide powder, and will be capable of performing the intended use of forming a coating under a certain powder feed rate and temperature as recited in amended claim 6 and having the coefficient of friction recited in claim 8, and noting that claim 6 is drawn to the cold spray lubricant and not a coating or a method of forming a coating. As discussed in paragraph 2 above, claim 8 has been considered to depend on claim 6 for the purposes of examination.
Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou (CN 109504963 A).
An English-language machine translation of Zhou, which was attached to the office action mailed 11/10/25, has been used in setting forth this rejection, and the paragraph numbers referred to herein are those of the machine translation.
In paragraph 9 Zhou discloses an anti-radiation solid lubricating coating comprising 20 to 50% by weight of copper powder, as recited in claim 1, and 50 to 80% by weight of nickel-coated tungsten disulfide powder, meeting the limitations of the tungsten disulfide powder of claim 1. In paragraph 11 (see also paragraph 8 of the original reference) Zhou discloses that the tungsten disulfide is present in an amount of 20 to 80% of the nickel-coated tungsten disulfide powder, leading to an amount of 10 to 64% by weight of tungsten disulfide in the composition, meeting the limitations of the tungsten disulfide of claim 1 even when the nickel coating is not considered part of the tungsten disulfide powder. In paragraph 13 Zhou discloses that the coating is applied by cold spraying, indicating that the composition is useful as a cold spray lubricant. Claim 1 is therefore anticipated by Zhou. Since the cold spray lubricant of Zhou meets the compositional limitations of claim 1, it will possess the properties recited in claims 4-5, noting that these claims are drawn to the cold spray lubricant composition and not a method or a coating. Claims 1 and 4-5 are therefore anticipated by Zhou.
Claims 9-13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ronzio (U.S. Pat. No. 3,991,156).
In the abstract, Ronzio discloses a process for purifying molybdenum disulfide concentrates that results in a purified molybdenum disulfide powder product. Ronzio teaches in column 1 lines 7-8 that the molybdenum disulfide has excellent lubricating properties, and therefore meets the limitations of the pure molybdenum disulfide powder lubricant of claim 9, noting that since the molybdenum disulfide powder of Ronzio meets the compositional limitations of claim 9, it will be capable of use as a cold spray lubricant. The molybdenum disulfide powder of Ronzio similarly meets the limitations of claims 12-13 for the case where the concentration of nickel powder is 0%. Since the cold spray lubricant of Ronzio meets the compositional limitations of claims 9 and 12, it will be capable of forming a coating under the conditions recited in claims 9 and 15 and having the properties recited in claims 11 and 16, noting that these claims are drawn to the cold spray lubricant composition and not a method or a coating. Claims 9, 11-13, and 15-16 are therefore anticipated by Ronzio.
Claims 9, 11-13, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawasato (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2006/0030496).
In paragraph 12 Kawasato discloses a powder spray lubricant comprising molybdenum disulfide powder and a high-pressure gas. While Kawasato discloses the concentrations including the high-temperature gas, the resulting lubricant coating consists of only the molybdenum disulfide, and it is also noted that the claimed cold spray lubricant compositions are recited independent of the gas. The molybdenum disulfide powder of Kawasato therefore meets the limitations of the pure molybdenum disulfide composition of claim 9, as well as claims 12-13 for the case where the concentration of nickel powder is 0%. Since the cold spray lubricant of Kawasato meets the compositional limitations of claims 9 and 12, it will be capable of forming a coating under the conditions recited in claims 9 and 15 and having the properties recited in claims 11 and 16, noting that these claims are drawn to the cold spray lubricant composition and not a method or a coating. Claims 9, 11-13, and 15-16 are therefore anticipated by Kawasato.
Claims 23 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huo (CN 112705441 A).
An English-language machine translation of Huo, which was attached to the office action mailed 11/10/25, has been used in setting forth this rejection, and the paragraph numbers referred to herein are those of the machine translation.
In paragraph n0007, Huo discloses a composite powder of metal powder and molybdenum disulfide, where the metal powder can be copper powder and is present in an amount of 50 to 70% by weight, and the molybdenum disulfide is present in an amount of 30 to 50% by weight, meeting the compositional limitations of claim 23. In paragraph n0008 Huo discloses that this composite powder is applied by cold spraying, indicating that the composite powder is useful as a cold spray lubricant. Since the cold spray lubricant of Huo meets the compositional limitations of claim 23, it will be capable of being formed into a coating under the conditions recited in amended claim 23, where the coating has the coefficient of friction recited in claim 27, noting that these claims are drawn to the cold spray lubricant composition and not a method or a coating. Claims 23 and 27 are therefore anticipated by Huo.
Claim 23 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Epshteyn (U.S. Pat. No. 9,790,448).
In column 1 lines 15-18 Epshteyn discloses composite powders comprising copper and molybdenum disulfide. In column 14 lines 32-43 Epshteyn discloses a dry granulation process for producing these powders, comprising the dry mixing or blending of a copper-containing powder and a molybdenum disulfide powder. In column 7 lines 5-6 and 36-38, Epshteyn discloses that the copper-containing powder can be copper metal powder, meeting the limitations of the copper powder of claim 23. Epshteyn discloses that the powders can be added in the various proportions described elsewhere in the reference, and in Table II (column 15) discloses compositions comprising molybdenum disulfide powder in amounts of 50%, 75%, and 95% by weight, within the range recited in claim 23. The dry mixture of copper-containing powder and molybdenum disulfide powder of Epshteyn, prior to compacting, therefore meets the limitations of claim 23, noting that since the composition meets the compositional limitations of the claim, it will be capable of use as a cold spray lubricant. Since the cold spray lubricant of Epshteyn meets the compositional limitations of claim 23, it will be capable of being formed into a coating under the conditions recited in amended claim 23, where the coating has the coefficient of friction recited in claim 27, noting that these claims are drawn to the cold spray lubricant composition and not a method or a coating. Claims 23 and 27 are therefore anticipated by Epshteyn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishida (JP 5-320681).
An English-language machine translation of Nishida, which is attached, has been used in setting forth this rejection, and the paragraph numbers referred to herein are those of the translation.
In paragraph 8 Nishida discloses a lubricating member layer comprising 5 to 95% by weight of a solid lubricant, which can be tungsten disulfide (WS2), and a metal powder which can be copper powder, as recited in claim 2, or nickel powder, as recited in claim 17. The tungsten disulfide concentration overlaps the range recited in claims 2 (which include the limitations of claim 1) and 17. In paragraph 29 Nishida discloses that the metal powder preferably has a particle size of 100 µm or less, encompassing the ranges recited for the copper powder of claim 2 and the nickel powder of claim 18. In paragraph 22 Nishida discloses that the tungsten disulfide has a particle size of 1 to 500 µm, encompassing the range recited in claim 19.
See MPEP 2144.05(I): “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976);” "[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Claims 2 and 17-19 are therefore rendered obvious by Nishida. Additionally, since the composition of Nishida meets the compositional limitations of claims 2 and 17, it will be capable of use as a cold spray lubricant, and it will be capable of being formed into a coating under the conditions recited in amended claim 20, where the coating has the coefficient of friction recited in claim 21, noting that these claims are drawn to the cold spray lubricant composition and not a method or a coating. Claims 20-21 are therefore also rendered obvious by Nishida.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou.
The discussion of Zhou in paragraph 6 above is incorporated here by reference. Zhou discloses a composition meeting the limitations , but does not disclose a powder having the specific particle size recited in claim 3. In paragraph 11 Zhou discloses that the nickel coated tungsten disulfide particles in the powder have an average particle diameter of 5 to 30 µm, encompassing the range recited in claim 3. See MPEP 2144.05(I): “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976);” "[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Claim 3 is therefore rendered obvious by Zhou.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawasato.
The discussion of Kawasato in paragraph 8 above is incorporated here by reference. Kawasato discloses a composition meeting the limitations of claim 12, but does not disclose a molybdenum powder having the specific particle size recited in claim 14. In paragraph 22 Kawasato discloses that the molybdenum disulfide particles in the composite powder have an average particle diameter of 0.1 to 200 µm, encompassing the value recited in claim 14. See MPEP 2144.05(I): “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976);” "[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Claim 14 is therefore rendered obvious by Kawasato.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huo.
The discussion of Huo in paragraph 9 above is incorporated here by reference. Zhou discloses a composition meeting the limitations of claim 23, but does not disclose a powder having the specific particle size recited in claim 25. In paragraph n0010 Huo discloses that the molybdenum disulfide particles in the composite powder have an average particle diameter of 5 to 30 µm, encompassing the value recited in claim 25. See MPEP 2144.05(I): “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976);” "[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Claim 25 is therefore rendered obvious by Huo.
Claims 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Epshteyn.
The discussion of Epshteyn in paragraph 10 above is incorporated by reference. Epshteyn discloses a composition meeting the limitations of claim 23, but does not disclose compositions comprising copper powder and molybdenum disulfide in the particle sizes of claims 24-25.
In column 7 lines 23-26 Epshteyn discloses that the copper-containing powder can have a particle size of about 0.5 µm to about 1 µm, overlapping the range recited in claim 24. In column 7 lines 50-52 Epshteyn discloses that the molybdenum disulfide powder can have a particle size of about 0.1 µm to about 30 µm, encompassing the range recited in claim 25. See MPEP 2144.05(I): “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976);” "[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Claims 24-25 are therefore rendered obvious by Epshteyn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/9/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejections over Gingerich and ACS Materials, applicant argues that claim 6 has been amended to incorporate the limitations of claim 7 regarding the powder feed rate and temperature at which the coating is produced from the cold spray lubricant, and that the cited references do not teach this limitation. However, as discussed in the rejections, the claims are drawn to the composition, not a coating or a method of producing the coating. Since Gingerich and ACS Materials meet the compositional limitations of the claim, which require only a tungsten disulfide powder, they will be capable of producing a coating under the conditions recited in claim 6 and having the friction coefficient recited in claim 8. Applicant’s arguments on this point are therefore not persuasive. The examiner agrees that the amendments filed 4/9/26 overcome the rejections of claim 1, 17, and their dependent claims over Gingerich and ACS Materials.
Regarding the rejections over Zhou, applicant argues that the tungsten disulfide powder of Zhou is nickel-coated, whereas the claims allegedly only recite tungsten disulfide powder that is not coated. However, there is no indication in the claims that the tungsten powder cannot be coated or otherwise surface-modified. Additionally, as discussed in the rejection, the tungsten disulfide powder of Zhou is present in an amount within the claimed range even if the nickel is not counted. Applicant argues that the particle size of the copper powder of Zhou is greater than the claimed copper powder, but Zhou has not been cited against any claims that recite the particle size of the copper powder. Applicant argues that Zhou does not disclose the claimed process parameters (claims 4 and 6) or the friction coefficient (claims 5 and 8), but as discussed above the claims are drawn only to the composition, not a method or a coating, and as long as Zhou meets the compositional limitations of the claims is will be capable of producing a coating under the claimed process parameters and having the claimed friction coefficient.
Regarding the rejections set forth over Ronzio and Kawasato, applicant argues that the references do not disclose any cold spray technique, but again the claims are drawn only to the composition, and since the compositions of Ronzio and Kawasato meet the compositional limitations of the claims they will be capable of performing the recited intended uses. Applicant argues that claim 12 has been amended to positively recite nickel powder, but no such amendment has been made to claim 12, but continues to recite a nickel powder concentration “equal to or greater than 0% by weight”. Compositions free of nickel powder therefore continue to meet the limitations of claim 12.
Regarding the rejections set forth over Huo, applicant again argues that Huo does not teach the parameters under which the coating is produced, and the examiner takes the same position taken above. The claims are drawn to the composition, not a method or a coating.
Regarding the rejections set forth over Epshteyn, applicant argues that Epshteyn discloses a compacted copper/molybdenum composite article rather than a mixture of copper powder particles and molybdenum disulfide powder particles. However, the rejection explicitly relies upon the dry mixture of copper powder and molybdenum disulfide powder of Epshteyn, prior to compacting. Since this mixture meets the compositional limitations of the claims it will be capable of use as a cold spray lubricant, and capable of being formed into a coating under the recited process parameters.
The newly applied Nishida reference addresses the limitations introduced by the amendments to claims 2 and 17-21.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES C GOLOBOY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771