DETAILED ACTION
This is a first office action in response to application No. 19/087,150 filed on 03/21/2025, in which claims 1 - 20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1 - 4, 7 - 8, 10 - 14, 16 - 17 and 19 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suk “KR 20110063412A” in view of Kim “US 2014/0164941”.
Re-claim 1, Suk teaches an electronic device (fig. 2; terminal device) comprising:
memory storing instructions; (fig. 2; 207 and par. [0047] The storage unit 207 may be composed of non-volatile memory such as a flash memory, EEPROM (Electrically Erasable and Programmable Read Only Memory), etc., and may be stored in the form of a program that can be read out and executed by the control unit (205))
a display; (fig. 2; 201 touch screen) and
at least one processor comprising processing circuitry, (fig. 2; 203)
wherein the display (fig. 2; 201 touch screen) includes:
a display panel; (fig. 2; 201 touch screen) and
a touch screen panel, (fig. 2; 201 touch screen)
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, (fig. 2; 203) cause the electronic device to: (fig. 4 and par. [0012] the terminal device executing the same, the window of a first application and the window of a second application executed on different processes can be displayed on a single screen of the terminal device)
display a plurality of windows through the display; (fig. 5 and par. [0059] for controlling the contents of a first application window and a second application window displayed on the screen of a terminal device)
set a first window as an active window by activating the first window among the plurality of windows; (par. [0023] the first application is activated and displayed on the left side of the screen, and the window of the second application is deactivated and displayed on the right side of the screen)
while the first window is activated, perform a function corresponding to a first user input based on receiving the first user input within the area of the first window; (par. [0045] when the window of the first application is activated and the window of the second application is deactivated, the control unit (205) ensures that only the content included in the window of the first application can be controlled by the user) and
Suk does not explicitly teach while the first window is activated, set a touch screen driver to refrain from recognizing a touch input in another area different from an area of the first window;
while the first window is activated, perform a function corresponding to a second user input that is not a touch input based on receiving, in the another area different from the area of the first window, the second user input that is not the touch input.
However, Kim teaches while the first window is activated, set a touch screen driver to refrain from recognizing a touch input in another area different from an area of the first window; (par. [0012] determine whether a lock command is input into a particular window of the at least one window, and configured to control to display only a window into which the lock command has been input in a locked state if it is determined that lock command is input)
while the first window is activated, perform a function corresponding to a second user input that is not a touch input based on receiving, in the another area different from the area of the first window, the second user input that is not the touch input. (par. [0013] determining whether an unlock command is input into the window displayed in the locked state, if the unlock command is input into the window displayed in the locked state, displaying a password input screen into which a password can be input, and if a preset password is input, replacing a screen displayed in the locked state of the window into which the unlock command has been input with an application execution screen and displaying the replaced application execution screen and par. [0105] the display device controls to display only a window into which the lock command is input in a locked state, thereby creating an effect of allowing the remaining windows to be continuously used.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the invention of Suk with the teaching of Kim controlling a display device that displays an application execution window on a screen of the display device is provided. (par. [0011])
Re-claim 2, Suk teaches wherein the first window is positioned at a topmost layer among the plurality of windows. (par. [0058] the first application and the second application windows are displayed partially overlapping each other)
Re-claim 3, Suk teaches wherein the first window is set as the active window based on a third user input for selecting an active window area among the plurality of windows. (par. [0023] two-fingers pinch gesture activates the window of the first application) two fingers are used to pinch on a touch screen, the window of the first application is activated)
Re-claim 4, Suk teaches a digitizer, wherein the second user input includes a pen input received through the digitizer. (par. [0004] wherein the touch pad detects contact using a pen or a finger)
Re-claim 7, Suk teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to set the touch screen driver to refrain from recognizing a touch input in another area different from an area of the second window while the second window is activated when the active window is changed from the first window to a second window. (par. [0062] the content included in the window of the activated second application is controlled by the user, and the content included in the window of the deactivated first application is not controlled by the user. And par. [0063] when the window of the first application is selected by the user, the window of the first application is switched from an inactive state to an active state, and the window of the second application is switched from an active state to an inactive state,)
Re-claim 8, Suk teaches wherein, to identify whether the active window is changed from the first window to the second window, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to monitor whether an active window change event has occurred. (par. [0063] when the window of the first application is selected by the user, the window of the first application is switched from an inactive state to an active state, and the window of the second application is switched from an active state to an inactive state)
Re-claim 10, Suk teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, (fig. 2; 203) cause the electronic device to:
set both the first window and a second window among the plurality of windows as active windows; (fig. 5 and par. [0059] for controlling the contents of a first application window and a second application window displayed on the screen of a terminal device)
while the first window and the second window are activated, perform a function corresponding to the first user input based on receiving the first user input within the areas of the first window and the second window; (par. [0045] the control unit (205) enables only the content included in the window of the active application among the first application and the second application displayed on the screen to be controlled by the user) and
Suk does not explicitly teach while the first window and the second window are activated, set the touch screen driver to refrain from recognizing a touch input in areas different from areas of the first window and the second window;
while the first window and the second window are activated, perform a function corresponding to a second user input that is not a touch input based on receiving, in the areas different from the areas of the first window and the second window, the second user input that is not the touch input.
However, Kim teaches while the first window and the second window are activated, set the touch screen driver to refrain from recognizing a touch input in areas different from areas of the first window and the second window; (par. [0012] determine whether a lock command is input into a particular window of the at least one window, and configured to control to display only a window into which the lock command has been input in a locked state if it is determined that lock command is input)
while the first window and the second window are activated, perform a function corresponding to a second user input that is not a touch input based on receiving, in the areas different from the areas of the first window and the second window, the second user input that is not the touch input. (par. [0013] determining whether an unlock command is input into the window displayed in the locked state, if the unlock command is input into the window displayed in the locked state, displaying a password input screen into which a password can be input, and if a preset password is input, replacing a screen displayed in the locked state of the window into which the unlock command has been input with an application execution screen and displaying the replaced application execution screen and par. [0105] the display device controls to display only a window into which the lock command is input in a locked state, thereby creating an effect of allowing the remaining windows to be continuously used.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the invention of the combination with the teaching of Kim controlling a display device that displays an application execution window on a screen of the display device is provided. (par. [0011])
Re-claim 11, is rejected as a method as applied to claim 1 above because the scope and contents of the recited limitations are substantially the same.
Re-claims 12 - 14 and 16, are rejected as a method as applied to claims 2 - 4 and 10 above because the scope and contents of the recited limitations are substantially the same.
Re-claim 17, Suk teaches wherein the first window is set as the active window based on being a most recently used window. (par. [0023] the first application is activated and displayed on the left side of the screen, and the window of the second application is deactivated and displayed on the right side of the screen)
Re-claim 19, the rejected of claim 1 is incorporated herein and only further limitations are addressed below.
Suk teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (fig. 2; 207) configured to store instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, (fig. 2; 203) cause an electronic device to perform operations including: (par. [0047] The storage unit 207 may be configured as a nonvolatile memory such as a flash memory, an electrically erasable and programmable read only memory (EEPROM), or the like. The storage unit 207 may be stored as a program that can be read and executed by the controller 205.)
Re-claim 20, is rejected as applied to claim 2 above because the scope and contents of the recited limitations are substantially the same.
5. Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suk “KR 20110063412A” in view of Kim “US 2014/0164941” and further in view of Lee “US 2016/0239148”.
Re-claim 5, Suk teaches wherein, to activate the first window, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: (fig. 4 and par. [0012] the terminal device executing the same, the window of a first application and the window of a second application executed on different processes can be displayed on a single screen of the terminal device)
identify the first window among the plurality of windows; (par. [0023] the first application is activated and displayed on the left side of the screen, and the window of the second application is deactivated and displayed on the right side of the screen)
Suk and Kim do not explicitly teach obtain coordinate information on the area of the first window, the coordinate information including coordinate information of vertices of the first window; and
determine an internal area determined through the coordinate information as an active area.
However, Lee teaches obtain coordinate information on the area of the first window, the coordinate information including coordinate information of vertices of the first window; (par. [0066] Further, the unique cover information may include recognition information required by the processor 110 to recognize the shape, size, location coordinates, etc. of the view window.) and
determine an internal area determined through the coordinate information as an active area. (par. [0070] In operation 503, the processor 110 may control an activation area for the touch screen panel 120 based on the recognized view window.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the invention of the combination with the teaching of Lee to provide a method of controlling an activation area of a touch screen panel and an electronic device. (par. [0005])
Re-claim 15, is rejected as a method as applied to claim 5 above because the scope and contents of the recited limitations are substantially the same.
6. Claims 6, 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suk “KR 20110063412A” in view of Kim “US 2014/0164941” and further in view of Bang “US 2014/0195957”.
Re-claim 6, Suk and Kim do not explicitly teach wherein, to set the touch screen driver to refrain from recognizing a touch input in another area different from the area of the first window, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to:
provide information on the area of the first window to the touch screen driver; and
set the touch screen driver to filter out a touch input within the another area different from the area of the first window among at least one touch input.
However, Bang teaches wherein, to set the touch screen driver to refrain from recognizing a touch input in another area different from the area of the first window, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, (par. [0132] The controller 180 can compare a coordinate value received by executing the touch filter driver program with a coordinate value in the region displayed with the touch input window (can be determined whether or not the touch input window is activated) to determine whether a touch corresponding to the received coordinate value is performed within the touch input window or performed in a region out of the touch input window) cause the electronic device to:
provide information on the area of the first window to the touch screen driver; and
set the touch screen driver to filter out a touch input within the another area different from the area of the first window among at least one touch input. (par. [0143] the controller 180 first determines whether a coordinate value corresponding to the touch input is started from within the touch input window (filtering) using a touch filter driver program, and when it is determined that the coordinate value corresponding to the touch input is started from within the touch input window)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the invention of the combination with the teaching of Bang the displayed touch input window may include a first and a second region capable of executing at least different functions. (par. [169])
Re-claim 9, Suk and Kim do not explicitly teach wherein the touch screen driver includes a setting configured by a filter driver for providing a touch input to an application layer by filtering out the touch input in another area different from an active window area, and
wherein the filter driver is further configured such that, while the first window is activated, based on receiving a touch input in another area different from the area of the first window, the filter driver filters out information on the touch input in the another area different from the area of the first window.
However, Bang teaches wherein the touch screen driver includes a setting configured by a filter driver for providing a touch input to an application layer by filtering out the touch input in another area different from an active window area, (par. [0132] The controller 180 can compare a coordinate value received by executing the touch filter driver program with a coordinate value in the region displayed with the touch input window (can be determined whether or not the touch input window is activated) to determine whether a touch corresponding to the received coordinate value is performed within the touch input window or performed in a region out of the touch input window) and
wherein the filter driver is further configured such that, while the first window is activated, based on receiving a touch input in another area different from the area of the first window, the filter driver filters out information on the touch input in the another area different from the area of the first window. (par. [0143] the controller 180 first determines whether a coordinate value corresponding to the touch input is started from within the touch input window (filtering) using a touch filter driver program, and when it is determined that the coordinate value corresponding to the touch input is started from within the touch input window)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the invention of the combination with the teaching of Bang the displayed touch input window may include a first and a second region capable of executing at least different functions. (par. [169])
Re-claim 18, is rejected as a method as applied to claim 9 above because the scope and contents of the recited limitations are substantially the same.
Contact Information
7. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Sosina Abebe whose telephone number is (571) 270-7929. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Friday from 9:00-5:30 If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's Supervisor, Temesghen Ghebretinsae can be reached on (571) 272-3017. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 703-872-9306. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/S.A/Examiner, Art Unit 2626
/TEMESGHEN GHEBRETINSAE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626 5/14/26B