DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to amendment filed on December 29, 2025 in this application Raghavan et al., U.S. Patent Application No. 19/087,225 (Filed March 21, 2025), claiming priority to Raghavan et al., U.S. Patent Application No. 18/098,405 (Filed January 18, 2023), claiming priority to Raghavan et al., U.S. Patent Application No. 16/892,508 (Filed June 4, 2020), claiming priority to Raghavan et al., U.S. Patent Application No. 16/691,979 (Filed November 22, 2019) now U.S. Patent No. 11,048,501 claiming priority to Raghavan et al., U.S. Patent Application No. 16/453,214 (Filed June 26, 2019) now U.S. Patent No. 10,656,937 claiming priority to Raghavan et al., U.S. Patent Application No. 16/392,752 (Filed April 24, 2019) now U.S. Patent No. 10,579,369 claiming priority to Raghavan et al., U.S. Patent Application No. 14/975,084 (Filed December 18, 2015) now U.S. Patent No. 10,379,843 (“Raghavan”). Claims 22 - 41 were pending. Claims 22, 30, 33, 34, 36, 38, 40, and 41 are amended. Claims 22 - 41 are pending.
Applicants' arguments have been carefully and respectfully considered and found not persuasive. Accordingly, this action has been made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
1. With respect to Applicant’s argument on pgs. 7 – 8 of the Applicant’s Remarks (“Remarks”) stating that the filed terminal disclaimer overcomes the double patenting rejection, examiner respectfully agrees in part.
The terminal disclaimer appears to contain a typo that disclaims a patent number that is not co-assigned and that was/is not the basis for the double patenting rejection. In addition, the terminal disclaimer fails to include Patent no. 10,656,937 in light of which the application remains rejected under the doctrine of double patenting. See infra.
2. With respect to Applicant’s argument on pgs. 8 – 15 of the Remarks stating that the prior art references fail to teach the newly amended limitations directed to requesting and receiving a container instantiation, examiner respectfully disagrees. See infra § Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103, § Claim 22.
Pletcher teaches capturing application data at a particular time and storing it at a secondary location from the application to be accessed via a pointer to restore the application in a container at a later time. Pletcher at id. at ¶¶ 0002 & 0003 (compress OS and user data and restore from compressed file); id. at ¶¶ 0022 & 0033 (application state data is “included in compressed container 102”); id. at ¶ 0023 (configuration information); id. at ¶¶ 0050 & 0053 (timestamps); id. at fig. 1 (first portion of memory area holds compressed container).
While Pletcher teaches requests for restoring previously archived container data, Cherukuri makes clear that the restored data will be used to execute the application in a container. Cherukuri at ¶¶ 0034 - 0036, & 0077.
Therefore, the prior art teaches the newly amended limitations directed to requesting and receiving a container instantiation.
3. With respect to Applicant’s argument on pgs. 10 - 11 of the Remarks stating that the prior art reference Srinivasan fails to teach “backup information”, examiner respectfully disagrees in part. See infra § Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103, § Claim 22.
In its argument, Applicant fails to correctly quote the instant claim by alleging Srinivasan is used to teach ‘“wherein the backup information comprises information associated with application data at the first time” as recited in independent claim 22,’ when claim 22 actually states “wherein the backup information comprises information associated with a configuration of the application at the first time” (emphasis added). Therefore, this argument is moot.
It is noted that Srinivasan teaches configurations which are stored prior to being accessed and thus are from a “first time” and since they have been stored they represent a backup, or record, of the configuration. Srinivasan at ¶¶ 0029 & 0033. Srinivasan is relied on to teach the storing of a configuration in particular as prior art reference Pletcher teaches making a backup at a first time and accessing it at a second time as well.
Therefore, the prior art teaches a backup of configuration data.
Double Patenting
Claims 22, 34, and 38 are rejected on the ground of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 5, of respectively U.S. Patent Nos. 10656937. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the Patents anticipate the claims of the instant application.
Dependent claims 23 – 33, 35 – 37, and 39 – 41 are rejected on the ground of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over, respectively, the claims of U.S. Patent Nos. 10656937. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are obvious in view of the Patents and the art used in the dependent claims and associated motivation (see infra).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22 – 29 and 31 - 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Rodgers et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0072235 (Published March 20, 2008, filed September 13, 2007) (“Rodgers”) in view of Pletcher et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0161155 (Published June 11, 2015, filed December 8, 2013) (“Pletcher”), Srinivasan et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2003/0101245 (Published May 29, 2003, filed November 26, 2001) (“Srinivasan”), and Cherukuri et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0005255 (Published January 5, 2012, filed June 30, 2010) (“Cherukuri”).
Claims 22, 34, and 38
With respect to claims 22, 34, and 38, Rodgers teaches the invention as claimed including a system comprising: a processing system; and one or more computer readable storage media, operatively coupled to the processing system, including program instructions that, when executed by the processing system, cause the processing system to: {A system for reification is performed by a computing system and associated software executing on hardware. Rodgers at ¶¶ 0100 – 0102 (reification system executed by a computing device).}
However, Rodgers does not explicitly teach the limitation:
preserve, at a secondary storage repository, backup information associated with a state of an application at a first time, wherein the backup information comprises information associated with application data at the first time, … receive, at a second time subsequent to the first time, a request to instantiate a container, on a target system, for the application to be restored in the state corresponding to the first time; create a container … and wherein the application is restored based at least in part on the backup information. {Pletcher does teach this limitation. Pletcher teaches that the reification environment taught by Rodgers may include capturing application data at a particular time and storing it at a secondary location from the application to be accessed via a pointer to restore the application in a container at a later time. Pletcher at Abstract (pointer); id. at ¶¶ 0002 & 0003 (compress OS and user data and restore from compressed file); id. at ¶¶ 0022 & 0033 (application state data is “included in compressed container 102”); id. at ¶ 0023 (configuration information); id. at ¶¶ 0050 & 0053 (timestamps); id. at fig. 1 (first portion of memory area holds compressed container).
Rodgers and Pletcher are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are both from the same “problem-solving area.” Specifically, they are both from the field of software development, and both are trying to solve the problem of how to identify components of a software system in a useful addressable manner.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine a method of reification, as taught in Rodgers, with capturing application data and configurations at particular times, as taught in Pletcher. Pletcher teaches that using pointers to identify application data helps with storage space concerns at the location of application execution. Id. at ¶¶ 0001, 0002, 0013 & 0014. Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine a method of reification, as taught in Rodgers, with capturing application data and configurations at particular times, as taught in Pletcher, for the purposes of polymorphism and to save on storage space at an execution location.}
However, Rodgers and Pletcher do not explicitly teach the limitation:
and wherein the backup information comprises information associated with a configuration of the application at the first time; {Srinivasan does teach this limitation. Srinivasan teaches that the application reification method of using pointers to application data in secondary storage as taught by Rodgers and Pletcher may include capturing and storing the application configuration with the application data in a secondary storage repository 118 for later restoration using pointers. Srinivasan at figs. 1 & 2; id. at ¶¶ 0015, 0029, & 0033.
Rodgers, Pletcher, and Srinivasan are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are both from the same “problem-solving area.” Specifically, they are both from the field of software development, and both are trying to solve the problem of how to identify components of a software system in a useful addressable manner.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine a method of application reification using pointers to application data in secondary storage, as taught in Rodgers and Pletcher, with capturing and storing the application configuration with the application data, as taught in Srinivasan. Srinivasan teaches that configuration data abstracted in this manner provides flexible application updating allowing for continued processing. Id. at ¶¶ 0015 – 0017. Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine a method of application reification using pointers to application data in secondary storage, as taught in Rodgers and Pletcher, with capturing and storing the application configuration with the application data, as taught in Srinivasan, for the purpose of polymorphism and to save on storage space at an execution location.}
However, Rodgers, Pletcher, and Srinivasan do not explicitly teach the limitation:
template, wherein the container template comprises information associated with the backup information; and in response to the request, cause the container to be instantiated on the target system, based at least in part on the container [template], wherein the application is restored on the instantiated container, {Cherukuri does teach this limitation. Cherukuri teaches that the application reification method which stores application data taught by Rodgers, Pletcher, and Srinivasan may include storing the application data and configurations in a template which will later be used to execute the application in a container. Cherukuri at ¶¶ 0034 - 0036, & 0077.
Rodgers, Pletcher, Srinivasan, and Cherukuri are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are both from the same “problem-solving area.” Specifically, they are both from the field of software development, and both are trying to solve the problem of how to improve verification at various stages of development.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine a method to store application data in a template-type container, as taught in Rodgers, Pletcher, and Srinivasan, with using a template to hold the application data, as taught in Cherukuri. Pletcher teaches that template-type containers may be used to hold application data. Id. at ¶ 0050. Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine a method to store application data in a template-type container, as taught in Rodgers, Pletcher, and Srinivasan, with using a template to hold the application data, as taught in Cherukuri, for the purpose of using a structured format to store data.}
Claim 23
With respect to claim 23, Rodgers, Pletcher, Srinivasan, and Cherukuri teach the invention as claimed, including:
wherein the container template comprises a data version pointer associated with the application data at the first time. {Redirect pointers are used to retrieve the application data template from the secondary store repository 102. Pletcher at Abstract (pointer); id. at ¶¶ 0002 & 0003 (compress OS and user data and restore from compressed file); id. at ¶¶ 0022 & 0033 (application state data is “included in compressed container 102”); id. at ¶ 0023 (configuration information); id. at ¶¶ 0050 & 0053 (timestamps); id. at fig. 1 (first portion of memory area holds compressed container); Cherukuri at ¶¶ 0034 - 0036, & 0077 (template).}
Claim 24
With respect to claim 24, Rodgers, Pletcher, Srinivasan, and Cherukuri teach the invention as claimed, including:
wherein the data version pointer points to data stored in the secondary storage repository. {Redirect pointers are used to retrieve the application data from the secondary store repository 102. Pletcher at Abstract (pointer); id. at ¶¶ 0002 & 0003 (compress OS and user data and restore from compressed file); id. at ¶¶ 0022 & 0033 (application state data is “included in compressed container 102”); id. at ¶ 0023 (configuration information); id. at ¶¶ 0050 & 0053 (timestamps); id. at fig. 1 (first portion of memory area holds compressed container).}
Claim 25
With respect to claim 25, Rodgers, Pletcher, Srinivasan, and Cherukuri teach the invention as claimed, including:
wherein the target system is a host system, wherein the application is executing natively on the host system at the first time. {Executing application data is captured from a host system at a particular first time, stored it at a secondary location from the application, and accessed via a pointer to restore the application in a container on the host system at a later time. Pletcher at Abstract (pointer); id. at ¶¶ 0002 & 0003 (compress OS and user data and restore from compressed file); id. at ¶¶ 0022 & 0033 (application state data is “included in compressed container 102”); id. at ¶ 0023 (configuration information); id. at ¶¶ 0050 & 0053 (timestamps); id. at fig. 1 (first portion of memory area holds compressed container).
Claim 26
With respect to claim 26, Rodgers, Pletcher, Srinivasan, and Cherukuri teach the invention as claimed, including:
wherein the configuration of the application includes parameters of the application to replicate processing results of the application corresponding to the first time. {Kernel replicates the pattern described for TRANSREPT post-processing … and an appropriate Executable Action used to indicate the processing action.” Rodgers at ¶ 0071.}
Claim 27
With respect to claim 27, Rodgers, Pletcher, Srinivasan, and Cherukuri teach the invention as claimed, including:
wherein the program instructions, when executed by the processing system, cause the processing system to: perform a data integrity check on a portion of the backup information. {Validation is performed on the version of the application data. Pletcher at ¶ 0039.}
Claim 28
With respect to claim 28, Rodgers, Pletcher, Srinivasan, and Cherukuri teach the invention as claimed, including:
wherein the program instructions, when executed by the processing system, cause the processing system to: provide an amount of computing resources to restore the application at the state corresponding to the first time in the container on the target system. {“The resources module may allot and/or manage the resources (e.g., memory, etc.) for proper execution of the functions.” Cherukuri at ¶¶ 0061 - 0063.}
Claim 29
With respect to claim 29, Rodgers, Pletcher, Srinivasan, and Cherukuri teach the invention as claimed, including:
wherein the amount of computing resources is equal to or scaled from a production environment for the application at the first time. {“The resources module may allot and/or manage the resources (e.g., memory, etc.) for proper execution of the functions.” Cherukuri at ¶¶ 0061 - 0063.}
Claims 31, 37, and 41
With respect to claims 31, 37, and 41, Rodgers, Pletcher, Srinivasan, and Cherukuri teach the invention as claimed, including:
wherein the program instructions, when executed by the processing system, cause the processing system to: execute the application in the instantiated container, wherein the executing application is in the state corresponding to the first time. {Executing application data is captured at a particular time and stored it at a secondary location from the application to be accessed via a pointer to restore the application in a container at a later time. Pletcher at Abstract (pointer); id. at ¶¶ 0002 & 0003 (compress OS and user data and restore from compressed file); id. at ¶¶ 0022 & 0033 (application state data is “included in compressed container 102”); id. at ¶ 0023 (configuration information); id. at ¶¶ 0050 & 0053 (timestamps); id. at fig. 1 (first portion of memory area holds compressed container).}
Claims 32, 35, 39
With respect to claims 32, 35, 39, Rodgers, Pletcher, Srinivasan, and Cherukuri teach the invention as claimed, including:
wherein the program instructions, when executed by the processing system, cause the processing system to: execute the application in the instantiated container, wherein the executing application is in the state corresponding to the first time. {The application configuration may be captured and stored with the application data in a secondary storage repository 118 for later restoration using pointers. Srinivasan at figs. 1 & 2; id. at ¶¶ 0015, 0029, & 0033.}
Claims 33, 36, and 40
With respect to claims 33, 36, and 40, Rodgers, Pletcher, Srinivasan, and Cherukuri teach the invention as claimed, including:
wherein the container [template] comprises the information associated with the application data at the first time. {Executing application data is captured at a particular time and stored it at a secondary location from the application to be accessed via a pointer to restore the application in a container at a later time. Pletcher at Abstract (pointer); id. at ¶¶ 0002 & 0003 (compress OS and user data and restore from compressed file); id. at ¶¶ 0022 & 0033 (application state data is “included in compressed container 102”); id. at ¶ 0023 (configuration information); id. at ¶¶ 0050 & 0053 (timestamps); id. at fig. 1 (first portion of memory area holds compressed container).}
template {Storing the application data and configurations in a template which will later be used to execute the application in a container. Cherukuri at ¶¶ 0034 - 0036, & 0077.}
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Rodgers in view of Pletcher, Srinivasan, Cherukuri, and Lipchuk et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0347165 (Published December 3, 2015, filed May 28, 2014) (“Lipchuk”).
Claim 30
With respect to claim 30, Rodgers, Pletcher, Srinivasan, and Cherukuri teach the invention as claimed, however, Rodgers, Pletcher, Srinivasan, and Cherukuri do not explicitly teach the limitation:
wherein the container template comprises an indicator associated with a snapshot of the application data at the first time. {Lipchuk does teach this limitation. Lipchuk teaches that the application reification method which stores application data and configurations saved as templates as taught by Rodgers, Pletcher, Srinivasan, and Cherukuri may include where the templates may be a virtual machine snapshot that “saves the data currently present in a virtual machine hard disk image as a read-only volume and allows for a recovery to the disk image state as it existed at the time the snapshot was taken.” Lipchuk at Abstract; id. at ¶¶ 0019 - 0022.
Rodgers, Pletcher, Srinivasan, Cherukuri, and Lipchuk are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are both from the same “problem-solving area.” Specifically, they are both from the field of software development, and both are trying to solve the problem of how to improve verification at various stages of development.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine storing application data and configurations saved as templates, as taught in Rodgers, Pletcher, Srinivasan, and Cherukuri, with using a VM snapshot, as taught in Lipchuk. Lipchuk teaches that its snapshots act as a restore point. Id. at ¶ 0021. Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine storing application data and configurations saved as templates, as taught in Rodgers, Pletcher, Srinivasan, and Cherukuri, with using a VM snapshot, as taught in Lipchuk, for the purpose of using a known system restore point creation mechanism with a method that requires restoring systems from particular stored points.}
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
//T.H./ January 24, 2026
Examiner, Art Unit 2199
/LEWIS A BULLOCK JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2199