DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takewa et al. (JP H07-298392).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Takewa et al. teaches a speaker device comprising voice coil (21, 51, 61, figures 1-6, 8, 9) comprising a bobbin (22, 23, 23b, 52, 53, 62, 63) formed approximately cylindrically (figures 1-6, 8, 9), a coil (9) wound around the bobbin, and a plurality of protrusions (24, 53, 53a, 53b, 63) projected from an outer peripheral surface of the bobbin (22, 23, 23b, 52, 62) and formed over a whole circumference of the outer peripheral surface (figures 1-6, 8, 9).
Regarding claims 2-3, Takewa et al. teaches the voice coil, wherein a conductive foil (the metal or aluminum sheet 53 with the concave and protruding portions 53a, 53b) having a projected part is attached to an outer peripheral surface of the bobbin (52, figures 6(a), 6(b)), and wherein the projected part of the conductive foil is formed in such a manner that a plurality of protrusions projects from a surface of an outer peripheral side of the conductive foil (figures 6(a), 6(b)).
Regarding claim 7, Takewa et al. teaches a material of the bobbin (22, 23, 52, 53, 62) that is formed of any of metal, polyimide film, glass fiber, meta-aramid fiber, and composites thereof as claimed (see the text for the material of the bobbin in the translation).
Claims 1 and 7-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Panasonic (JP S52-064833 as cited in the IDS filed 06/12/2025).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Panasonic (JP S52-064833) teaches a speaker device comprising a voice coil (figures 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7) comprising a bobbin (13, 27, 28) formed approximately cylindrically (figures 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7), a coil (14, 29) wound around the bobbin, and a plurality of protrusions (27, figures 4, 5, 6, 7) projected from an outer peripheral surface of the bobbin (figures 4, 5, 6, 7) and formed over a whole circumference of the outer peripheral surface (figures 4, 5).
Regarding claim 7, Panasonic (JP S52-064833) teaches a material of the bobbin (13, 27, 278) that is formed of any of metal, polyimide film, glass fiber, meta-aramid fiber, and composites thereof as claimed (see the text for the material of the bobbin in the translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takewa et al. (JP H07-298392).
Takewa et al. does not specifically disclose the protrusion (53, 53a, 53b, 63) having a length as claimed.
However, Takewa et al. does not restrict to any size for the protrusion; it therefore would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide any size for the protrusion in the system of Takewa et al. such as providing the protrusion having a length of 1 mm or less for providing a better structure depending on the applications and the desired frequency characteristics in the system.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panasonic (JP S52-064833 as cited in the IDS filed 06/12/2025).
Panasonic (JP S52-064833) does not specifically disclose the protrusion (27, figures 4, 5, 6, 7) having a length as claimed.
However, Panasonic (JP S52-064833) does not restrict to any size for the protrusion; it therefore would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide any size for the protrusion in the system of Panasonic (JP S52-064833) such as providing the protrusion having a length of 1 mm or less for providing a better structure depending on the applications and the desired frequency characteristics in the system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Babb (US 4,188,711) teaches a loudspeaker including a speaker cone and a voice coil structure comprising a coil (60) that is wound partially on a paper cylinder (62) and partially on a Teflon sleeve (64), wherein the rear end of sleeve (64) is formed into a bearing portion (66), wherein the bearing portion encircles and slides on a magnetic pole of the loudspeaker.
Suzuki (US 7,460,682) teaches a speaker apparatus comprising a voice that is configured so that a lead wire electrically connected to a coil is clamped between an insulating sheet and a bobbin.
/HUYEN D LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694 HL
August 21, 2026