DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bell et al. (2015/0070337) in view of Hung et al. (2007/0176870) and Nagahama et al. (2012/0002282).
Regarding claim 8, Bell teaches a display device, comprising: a color temperature sensor (14; Fig 1) for sensing color temperature of ambient light (para [0022] Ambient light sensor 14 typically is a small group of photodetectors with optical filtering that is configured to sense both luminance and also a color condition such as a correlated color temperature (CCT) of the detected ambient light.) and outputting target white point information (para [0036] At 602, ambient light data is received, which may include an ambient light color condition indicating the ambient white point (e.g., represented by a CCT) and brightness. The ambient light data may be obtained substantially continuously or sampled at intervals during the duration of operation of device 10 as described above, and may be received from a light sensor such as an ambient light sensor, front camera, and or rear camera.); and a display panel (12; Fig 1) including a red sub-pixel, a green sub-pixel and a blue sub-pixel (para [0043] At 614, the display-ready image received at 608 is color-shifted based on the ambient light history and particularly based on the recent portion of the ambient light history. As described above, at least a subset of pixels in the display-ready image may be color-shifted, and in most scenarios, substantially all of the pixels of the image may be color-shifted. ), wherein the display panel is coupled to the gamma unit for receiving an image signal, and the display panel provides data signal to the red sub-pixel, the green sub-pixel and the blue sub-pixel based on the gamma curves corresponding to red, green and blue colors (para [0032] ] It will be appreciated that, in some embodiments, content properties of the image 28 to be adjusted are received by the adaptive display module 22. The content properties may include the pixel values of the image including a color value associated with each pixel. The color values may be encoded as RGB values, for example).
Bell fails to teach, a computing unit coupled to the color temperature sensor for calculating three adjustment factors corresponding to red, green and blue colors based on the target white point information; a gamma unit coupled to the computing unit for receiving the three adjustment factors and adjusting gamma curves corresponding to red, green and blue colors; wherein the display device comprises an optical structure layer disposed on the display panel, and the glossiness of the optical structure layer is between 4 GU and 35 GU; as claimed.
Hung teaches a display device comprising: a computing unit coupled to the color temperature sensor for calculating three adjustment factors corresponding to red, green and blue colors based on the target white point information (para [0015] The control circuit 32 is coupled to the ambient sensor 30 for adjusting display characteristics of the video frame according to the ambient brightness sensing signal without adjusting the display light source 24. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the control circuit 32 includes a .gamma. (gamma) curve characteristic control module 41 and a color temperature regulator 42. The .gamma. curve characteristic control module 41 is coupled to the ambient sensor 30, and the color temperature regulator 42 is then coupled to the ambient sensor 30 and the .gamma. curve characteristic control module 41); a gamma unit coupled to the computing unit for receiving the three adjustment factors and adjusting gamma curves corresponding to red, green and blue colors (para [0016] The .gamma. curve characteristic control module 41 adjusts .gamma. curve characteristics of the display apparatus 100 according to the ambient brightness sensing signal to change brightness corresponding to a video frame to be outputted; para [0020] As illustrated in the above steps, when the display apparatus 100 outputs a corresponding video frame according to a display data DATA, the following steps 202 to 206 are executed sequentially. Lastly, the display apparatus 100 outputs the adjusted video frame where the .gamma. curve characteristic of display apparatus 100 includes a plurality of the .gamma. curves corresponding to three RGB colors, therefore in step 204, the .gamma. curve characteristic control module 41 adjusts a .gamma. curve of the plurality of .gamma. curves according to the ambient brightness sensing signal to change brightness corresponding to the video frame.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the display device of Bell with the teachings of Hung, because this will provide display apparatus and method capable of dynamically adjusting display characteristics of a video frame outputted by the display apparatus without adjusting a display light source of the display apparatus to maintain the lifespan of the back light module (para [0006]).
Bell and Hung fails to teach, wherein the display device comprises an optical structure layer disposed on the display panel, and the glossiness of the optical structure layer is between 4 GU and 35 GU; as claimed.
Nagahama teaches a display device comprising an optical structure layer disposed on the display panel (para [0081] The optical films of the present embodiment have high transmission clarity, though they have an irregular shape on the surface thereof. Therefore, the optical films of the present invention can be arranged on a front surface a display apparatus), and the glossiness of the optical structure layer is between 4 GU and 35 GU (para [0132] In this case, the 20.degree. glossiness is preferably low, and specifically, preferably 40 or less, more preferably 35 or less, and further preferably 30 or less.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the display device of Bell and Hung with the teachings of Nagahama, because this will provide display panel wherein a fine image can be displayed more clearly to emphasize the edge, and an image having a high contrast can be obtained (Nagahama: para [0128]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3-7 and 9-20 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 8 on page 9-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on some of the reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/PREMAL R PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624