DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communication received 03/21/2025 for application number 19/087,352. The Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Claims, Drawings, Abstract, and Oath/Declaration.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 11, 12, 14-16, 18, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, lines 2-3; 5-6; and 7-8 recite, “…first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster,” (emphasis added) and should instead read, “…first set of computing nodes within the first computing cluster,” (emphasis added) to better reflect the relationship of the computing cluster and the computing nodes within, as supported by paragraph [0004] of the Specification, which recites, “a first computing cluster comprising a first set of computing nodes.”
Claims 5, 6, 11, 12, and 18 recite limitations similar to those of Claim 1 and are objected to accordingly.
Claim 3, lines 3-4 and 6-7 recite, “…second set of computing nodes comprising the second computing cluster,” (emphasis added) and should instead read, “…second set of computing nodes within the second computing cluster,” (emphasis added) to better reflect the relationship of the computing cluster and the computing nodes within, as supported in paragraph [0004] of the Specification, which recites, “…second computing cluster comprises a second set of one or more computing nodes.”
Claims 14 and 19 recite limitations similar to those of Claim 3 and are objected to accordingly.
Claims 15 and 16, recites, “The system of Claim 11,” (emphasis added) and should read, “The system of Claim 12,” (emphasis added), as claim 11 is a method claim that depends on Claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18, lines 16-17 recite, “updated data segments stored in the nearline storage system,” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether the “nearline storage system” of lines 16-17 are intended to be the same “storage system” of lines 9-11. For the purposes of examination, lines 16-17 are interpreted to instead read, “updated data segments stored in the storage system.”
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14, and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7-12, and 15-18 of US 11,429,397 B1, in view of JAGTIANI, US 2018/0129692 A1 and VASUDEVAN, US 2018/0081562 A1.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, the differences are highlighted below:
Instant Application
US 11,429,397 B1
A method, comprising:
identifying, by a computing node in a first set of computing nodes comprising a first computing cluster in a distributed computing system, one or more data segments for executing a query;
executing, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, the query to obtain one or more updated data segments;
writing, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, the one or more updated data segments to a storage system associated with the distributed computing system;
receiving, by the distributed computing system, a request to create a second computing cluster comprising a second set of computing nodes in the distributed computing system; and
responsive to the request, bootstrapping, by the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster using the one or more updated data segments stored in the storage system
A method, comprising:
executing, by a distributed computing system providing a data processing service, a first computing cluster comprising a first set of one or more computing nodes;
determining, by the distributed computing system, a set of one or more data segments to be written to a nearline storage system associated with the distributed computing system;
based at least in part on the determining, writing, by the distributed computing system, the set of one or more data segments to the nearline storage system;
receiving, by the distributed computing system, a request to create a second computing cluster in the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster comprising a second set of one or more computing nodes; and
responsive to the request, bootstrapping, by the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster using the set of one or more data segments stored on the nearline storage system.
The method of claim 1,
wherein the request to create the second computing cluster is received responsive to at least one of a cluster upgrade, a cluster migration, or a cluster failover associated with the first computing cluster.
The method of claim 1,
wherein the request to create the second computing cluster is received responsive to at least one of a cluster upgrade, a cluster migration, or a cluster failover associated with the first computing cluster.
The method of claim 1,
wherein bootstrapping, by the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster comprises:
obtaining, by one or more computing nodes in the second set of computing nodes comprising the second computing cluster, the one or more updated data segments stored in the storage system associated with the distributed computing system; and
pre-populating, by the one or more computing nodes in the second set of computing nodes comprising the second computing cluster, a cache associated with the second computing cluster with the one or more updated data segments.
The method of claim 1,
wherein bootstrapping, by the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster comprises:
obtaining, by one or more computing nodes in the second set of computing nodes comprising the second computing cluster, the set of one or more data segments stored in the nearline storage system; and
pre-populating, by the one or more computing nodes, a cache associated with the one or more computing nodes with the set of one or more data segments.
The method of claim 1,
wherein the storage system represents an intermediary storage layer between a cache associated with the computing node in the first computing cluster and an object storage system associated with the distributed computing system.
The method of claim 3,
wherein the nearline storage system represents an intermediary storage layer between the cache associated with the one or more computing nodes and an object storage system associated with the cloud computing system.
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, that one or more data segments for executing the query are not present in the computing node; and
responsive to determining that the one or more data segments are not present in the computing node, obtaining, by the computing node, the one or more data segments for executing the query from an object storage system associated with the distributed computing system.
The method of claim 1,
wherein determining, by the distributed computing system, the set of one or more data segments to be written to the nearline storage system comprises:
receiving, by a computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, a query for execution;
determining, by the computing node, that one or more data segments for executing the query are not present in a cache associated with the computing node;
responsive to determining that the one or more data segments are not present in the cache, obtaining, by the computing node, the one or more data segments from an object storage system associated with the distributed computing system; and
writing, by the computing node, the one or more data segments to the nearline storage system.
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
selecting, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, a subset of data segments from the one or more data segments associated with the computing node in the first computing cluster to be moved to the storage system; and
writing, by the computing node, the selected subset of data segments to the storage system.
The method of claim 1,
wherein determining, by the distributed computing system, the set of one or more data segments to be written to the nearline storage system comprises:
identifying, by a computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, a plurality of data segments stored in a cache of the computing node;
selecting, by the computing node, a subset of data segments from the plurality of data segments; and
writing, by the computing node, the selected subset of data segments to the nearline storage system.
The method of claim 6,
wherein the subset of data segments to be moved to the storage system are selected by the computing node using a selection technique,
wherein the selection technique comprises at least one of a least recently used (LRU) selection technique or a least frequently used (LFU) selection technique.
The method of claim 7,
wherein selecting, by the computing node, the one or more data segments from the plurality of data segments is performed using a selection technique,
wherein the selection technique comprises at least one of a least recently used (LRU) selection technique or a least frequently used (LFU) selection technique.
The method of claim 1,
wherein the one or more data segments are present in a cache associated with the computing node in the first set of computing nodes,
wherein the cache associated with the computing node comprises a set of one or more cache memory tiers,
wherein the set of one or more cache memory tiers comprises an object storage cache tier and a nearline storage cache tier.
The method of claim 1,
wherein a computing node in the first set of computing nodes is associated with a cache,
wherein the cache comprises a set of one or more cache memory tiers,
wherein the set of one or more cache memory tiers comprises an object storage cache tier and a nearline storage cache tier.
The method of claim 8,
wherein the object storage cache tier is mapped to an object storage system associated with the distributed computing system,
wherein the object storage cache tier is configured to temporarily store a plurality of data segments for the object storage system.
The method of claim 9,
wherein the object storage cache tier is mapped to an object storage system associated with the distributed computing system,
wherein the object storage cache tier is configured to temporarily store a plurality of data segments for the object storage system.
The method of claim 8,
wherein the nearline storage cache tier is mapped to the storage system associated with the distributed computing system,
wherein the nearline storage cache tier is configured to temporarily store a plurality of data segments for the storage system.
The method of claim 9,
wherein the nearline storage cache tier is mapped to the nearline storage system associated with the distributed computing system,
wherein the nearline storage cache tier is configured to temporarily store a plurality of data segments for the nearline storage system.
The method of claim 1,
wherein writing, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, the one or more updated data segments to the storage system associated with the distributed computing system comprises:
writing, by the computing node, the one or more updated data segments to a nearline storage cache tier in a cache associated with the computing node; and
moving, by the computing node, the one or more updated data segments from the nearline storage cache tier to the storage system associated with the distributed computing system.
The method of claim 1,
wherein writing, by the distributed computing system, the set of one or more data segments to the nearline storage system comprises
writing, by a computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, the set of one or more data segments to a nearline storage cache tier associated with the computing node.
A distributed computing system providing a data processing service comprising:
a memory; and
one or more processors configured to perform processing, the processing comprising:
identifying, by a computing node in a first set of computing nodes comprising a first computing cluster in the distributed computing system, one or more data segments for executing a query;
executing, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, the query to obtain one or more updated data segments;
writing, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, the one or more updated data segments to a storage system associated with the distributed computing system;
receiving, by the distributed computing system, a request to create a second computing cluster comprising a second set of computing nodes in the distributed computing system; and
responsive to the request, bootstrapping, by the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster using the one or more updated data segments stored in the storage system.
A distributed computing system providing a data processing service comprising:
a memory; and
one or more processors configured to perform processing, the processing comprising:
executing, by a distributed computing system providing a data processing service, a first computing cluster comprising a first set of one or more computing nodes;
determining, by the distributed computing system, a set of one or more data segments to be written to a nearline storage system associated with the distributed computing system;
based at least in part on the determining, writing, by the distributed computing system, the set of one or more data segments to the nearline storage system;
receiving, by the distributed computing system, a request to create a second computing cluster in the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster comprising a second set of one or more computing nodes; and
responsive to the request, bootstrapping, by the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster using the set of one or more data segments stored on the nearline storage system.
The system of claim 12,
wherein the request to create the second computing cluster is received responsive to at least one of a cluster upgrade, a cluster migration, or a cluster failover associated with the first computing cluster.
The system of claim 15,
wherein the request to create the second computing cluster is received responsive to at least one of a cluster upgrade, a cluster migration, or a cluster failover associated with the first computing cluster.
The system of claim 12,
wherein bootstrapping, by the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster comprises:
obtaining, by one or more computing nodes in the second set of computing nodes comprising the second computing cluster, the one or more updated data segments stored in the storage system associated with the distributed computing system; and
pre-populating, by the one or more computing nodes in the second set of computing nodes comprising the second computing cluster, a cache associated with the second computing cluster with the one or more updated data segments.
The system of claim 15,
wherein bootstrapping, by the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster comprises:
obtaining, by one or more computing nodes in the second set of computing nodes comprising the second computing cluster, the set of one or more data segments stored in the nearline storage system; and
pre-populating, by the one or more computing nodes, a cache associated with the one or more computing nodes with the set of one or more data segments.
A non-transitory computer-readable medium having program code that is stored thereon, the program code executable by one or more processing devices for performing operations comprising:
identifying, by a computing node in a first set of computing nodes comprising a first computing cluster in a distributed computing system, one or more data segments for executing a query;
executing, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, the query to obtain one or more updated data segments;
writing, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, the one or more updated data segments to a storage system associated with the distributed computing system;
receiving, by the distributed computing system, a request to create a second computing cluster comprising a second set of computing nodes in the distributed computing system; and
responsive to the request, bootstrapping, by the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster using the one or more updated data segments stored in the nearline storage system.
A non-transitory computer-readable medium having program code that is 2 stored thereon, the program code executable by one or more processing devices for performing operations comprising:
executing a first computing cluster comprising a first set of one or more computing nodes;
determining a set of one or more data segments to be written to a nearline storage system associated with the distributed computing system;
based at least in part on the determining, writing the set of one or more data segments to the nearline storage system;
receiving a request to create a second computing cluster in the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster comprising a second set of one or more computing nodes; and
responsive to the request, bootstrapping the second computing cluster using the set of one or more data segments stored on the nearline storage system.
Claim 1 of the instant application and Claim 1 of the ‘397 patent are both directed towards writing data segments to a storage system and creating a second cluster comprising a second set of computing nodes in a distributed computing system. However, Claim 1 of the ‘397 patent does not explicitly teach identifying, by a computing node in a first set of computing nodes comprising a first computing cluster in a distributed computing system, one or more data segments for executing a query;
executing, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, the query to obtain one or more updated data segments.
JAGTIANI teaches identifying, by a computing node in a set of computing nodes comprising a computing cluster in a distributed computing system, one or more data segments for executing a query (Fig. 2A illustrates computing nodes 204a, 204b, and 204c in system 201 (i.e. a set of computing nodes as a cluster inside the distributed computing system); [0084] discloses the computing node obtains data (i.e. identifying data segments) for processing the query (i.e. for executing a query) from the storage device at step 405),
executing, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, the query to obtain one or more updated data segments ([0083] discloses the computing node processes the query (i.e. executing the query) using the data to provide a corresponding reply at step 406; [0085] discloses the processing of the query at step 406 by the computing node could result in modifying the data in the cache to provide modified data (i.e. obtaining updated data segments); at step 407, it is determined if the data has been modified in the cache in connection with step 406); [0085] discloses obtaining the modified data to write the modified data (i.e. writes the updated data segments) to the storage device in step 408; Fig. 2A illustrates computing nodes 204a-204c coupled with storage device 209 (i.e. a storage system associated with the distributed computing system)).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of the ‘397 patent and JAGTIANI before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate identifying the data segments for executing a query followed by the execution of the query as taught by JAGTIANI into a method disclosed by the ‘397 patent to provide a quick reply to queries (JAGTIANI [0053]).
Claim 3 of the instant application and Claim 3 of the ‘397 patent are both directed towards bootstrapping the newly created second cluster in the distributed computing system. JAGTIANI teaches updated data segments ([0085] discloses obtaining the modified data to write the modified data (i.e. writes the updated data segments) to the storage device in step 408; Fig. 2A illustrates computing nodes 204a-204c coupled with storage device 209 (i.e. a storage system associated with the distributed computing system)); and
a cache associated with the computing cluster (Fig. 1 illustrates computing nodes 204a, 204b, and 204c with caches 206b, 207b, and 208b respectively (i.e. caches associated with the computing cluster)).
Claim 6 of the instant application and Claim 7 of the ‘397 patent are both directed towards selecting a subset of data segments and writing them into a storage system. However, the ‘397 patent does not explicitly teach selecting, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, a subset of data segments from the one or more data segments associated with the computing node in the first computing cluster to be moved to the storage system.
VASUDEVAN teaches a subset of data segments from the one or more data segments associated with the computing node in the computing cluster to be moved to the storage system ([0069] teaches select data (i.e. a subset of data segments) written to the memory cache 220 (i.e. the one or more data segments associated with the computing node) is also separately written to the read cache 204 of the block storage 136 (i.e. the storage system) (i.e. there is select data from the data that is being written into the cache of the compute node that is also being written into the storage system); Fig. 3 illustrates write path 274a where the memory cache 220 of the cloud compute 132 (i.e. the computing node) is writing the select data (cache-worthy) to the block storage 136).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of the ‘397 patent and VASUDEVAN before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate selecting and moving a subset of data into the storage system as taught by VASUDEVAN into a method disclosed by the ‘397 patent to make it efficient for returning requested data (VASUDEVAN [0070]).
Claim 7 of the instant application and Claim 8 of the ‘397 patent are both directed towards selecting data segments to move to the storage system using a selection technique. VASUDEVAN further teaches the subset of data segments to be moved to the storage system ([0069] teaches select data (i.e. a subset of data segments) written to the memory cache 220 (i.e. the one or more data segments associated with the computing node) is also separately written to the read cache 204 of the block storage 136 (i.e. the storage system) (i.e. there is select data from the data that is being written into the cache of the compute node that is also being written into the storage system); Fig. 3 illustrates write path 274a where the memory cache 220 of the cloud compute 132 (i.e. the computing node) is writing the select data (cache-worthy) to the block storage 136).
Claim 8 of the instant application and Claim 9 of the ‘397 patent are both directed towards a cache associated with a computing node, the cache comprising of a nearline cache tier and an object storage cache tier. VASUDEVAN further teaches the one or more data segments are present in a cache associated with the computing node ([0066] teaches memory cache 220 inside cloud compute 132 (i.e. a cache inside the computing node) will hold the complete set of the data (i.e. one or more data segments are present) written by application 108).
Claim 11 of the instant application and Claim 12 of the ‘397 patent are both directed towards writing data into a cache associated with a computing node. JAGTIANI further teaches moving, by the computing node, the one or more updated data segments from the cache to the storage system associated with the distributed computing system ([0085] discloses the computing node writes the modified data (i.e. moves the modified data) to the storage device (i.e. the storage system) in step 408).
Claim 12 of the instant application recites limitations similar to those of Claim 1 of the instant application, corresponds to Claim 15 of the ‘397 patent, and is rejected accordingly.
Claim 14 of the instant application recites limitations similar to those of Claim 3 of the instant application, corresponds to Claim 17 of the ‘397 patent, and is rejected accordingly.
Claim 18 of the instant application recites limitations similar to those of Claim 1 of the instant application, corresponds to Claim 19 of the ‘397 patent, and is rejected accordingly.
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 12-14, and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7-10, and 12-15 of US 11,966,754 B2, in view of in view of JAGTIANI, and VASUDEVAN.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, the differences are highlighted below:
Instant Application
US 11,966,754 B2
A method, comprising:
identifying, by a computing node in a first set of computing nodes comprising a first computing cluster in a distributed computing system, one or more data segments for executing a query;
executing, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, the query to obtain one or more updated data segments;
writing, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, the one or more updated data segments to a storage system associated with the distributed computing system;
receiving, by the distributed computing system, a request to create a second computing cluster comprising a second set of computing nodes in the distributed computing system; and
responsive to the request, bootstrapping, by the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster using the one or more updated data segments stored in the storage system.
A method, comprising:
executing, by a distributed computing system providing a data processing service, a first computing cluster comprising a first set of one or more computing nodes;
identifying, by a computing node in the first set of one or more computing nodes of the distributed computing system, a plurality of data segments stored in a cache associated with the computing node, the cache comprising a set of one or more cache memory tiers;
selecting, by the computing node in the first set of one or more computing nodes of the distributed computing system, a set of one or more data segments from the plurality of data segments to be moved to a nearline storage cache tier, the set of one or more cache memory tiers comprising the nearline storage cache tier;
determining, by the distributed computing system, a subset of one or more data segments from the set of one or more data segments to be moved to a nearline storage system associated with the distributed computing system;
based at least in part upon the determining, writing, by the computing node in the first set of one or more computing nodes of the distributed computing system, the subset of one or more data segments to the nearline storage system;
receiving, by the distributed computing system, a request to create a second computing cluster in the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster comprising a second set of one or more computing nodes; and
responsive to the request, bootstrapping, by the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster using the subset of one or more data segments stored in the nearline storage system.
The method of claim 1,
wherein the request to create the second computing cluster is received responsive to at least one of a cluster upgrade, a cluster migration, or a cluster failover associated with the first computing cluster.
The method of claim 1,
wherein the request to create the second computing cluster is received responsive to at least one of a cluster upgrade, a cluster migration, or a cluster failover associated with the first computing cluster.
The method of claim 1,
wherein bootstrapping, by the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster comprises:
obtaining, by one or more computing nodes in the second set of computing nodes comprising the second computing cluster, the one or more updated data segments stored in the storage system associated with the distributed computing system; and
pre-populating, by the one or more computing nodes in the second set of computing nodes comprising the second computing cluster, a cache associated with the second computing cluster with the one or more updated data segments.
The method of claim 1,
wherein bootstrapping, by the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster comprises:
obtaining, by one or more computing nodes in the second set of computing nodes comprising the second computing cluster, the subset of one or more data segments stored in the nearline storage system; and
pre-populating, by the one or more computing nodes, a cache associated with the one or more computing nodes in the second set of computing nodes with the subset of one or more data segments.
The method of claim 1,
wherein the storage system represents an intermediary storage layer between a cache associated with the computing node in the first computing cluster and an object storage system associated with the distributed computing system.
The method of claim 3,
wherein the nearline storage system represents an intermediary storage layer between the cache associated with the one or more computing nodes in the second set of computing nodes and an object storage system associated with the distributed computing system.
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, that one or more data segments for executing the query are not present in the computing node; and
responsive to determining that the one or more data segments are not present in the computing node, obtaining, by the computing node, the one or more data segments for executing the query from an object storage system associated with the distributed computing system.
The method of claim 1, further comprising
receiving, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, a query for execution;
determining, by the computing node, that one or more data segments for executing the query are not present in the cache associated with the computing node;
responsive to determining that the one or more data segments are not present in the cache, obtaining, by the computing node, the one or more data segments from an object storage system associated with the distributed computing system; and
writing, by the computing node, the one or more data segments to the nearline storage system associated with the distributed computing system.
The method of claim 6,
wherein the subset of data segments to be moved to the storage system are selected by the computing node using a selection technique,
wherein the selection technique comprises at least one of a least recently used (LRU) selection technique or a least frequently used (LFU) selection technique.
The method of claim 1,
wherein selecting, by the computing node, the set of one or more data segments from the plurality of data segments is performed using a selection technique,
wherein the selection technique comprises at least one of a least recently used (LRU) selection technique or a least frequently used (LFU) selection technique.
The method of claim 1,
wherein the one or more data segments are present in a cache associated with the computing node in the first set of computing nodes,
wherein the cache associated with the computing node comprises a set of one or more cache memory tiers,
wherein the set of one or more cache memory tiers comprises an object storage cache tier and a nearline storage cache tier.
The method of claim 1,
wherein the set of one or more cache memory tiers comprises an object storage cache tier.
The method of claim 8,
wherein the object storage cache tier is mapped to an object storage system associated with the distributed computing system, wherein the object storage cache tier is configured to temporarily store a plurality of data segments for the object storage system.
The method of claim 8,
wherein the object storage cache tier is mapped to an object storage system associated with the distributed computing system, wherein the object storage cache tier is configured to temporarily store the plurality of data segments for the object storage system.
The method of claim 8,
wherein the nearline storage cache tier is mapped to the storage system associated with the distributed computing system,
wherein the nearline storage cache tier is configured to temporarily store a plurality of data segments for the storage system.
The method of claim 1,
wherein the nearline storage cache tier is mapped to a nearline storage system associated with the distributed computing system,
wherein the nearline storage cache tier is configured to temporarily store the set of one or more data segments for the nearline storage system.
A distributed computing system providing a data processing service comprising:
a memory; and
one or more processors configured to perform processing, the processing comprising:
identifying, by a computing node in a first set of computing nodes comprising a first computing cluster in the distributed computing system, one or more data segments for executing a query;
executing, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, the query to obtain one or more updated data segments;
writing, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, the one or more updated data segments to a storage system associated with the distributed computing system;
receiving, by the distributed computing system, a request to create a second computing cluster comprising a second set of computing nodes in the distributed computing system; and
responsive to the request, bootstrapping, by the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster using the one or more updated data segments stored in the storage system.
A distributed computing system providing a data processing service comprising:
a memory; and
one or more processors configured to perform processing, the processing comprising:
executing, by the distributed computing system, a first computing cluster comprising a first set of one or more computing nodes;
identifying, by a computing node in the first set of one or more computing nodes of the distributed computing system, a plurality of data segments stored in a cache associated with the computing node, the cache comprising a set of one or more cache memory tiers;
selecting, by the computing node in the first set of one or more computing nodes of the distributed computing system, a set of one or more data segments from the plurality of data segments to be moved to a nearline storage cache tier, the set of one or more cache memory tiers comprising the nearline storage cache tier;
determining, by the distributed computing system, a subset of one or more data segments from the set of one or more data segments to be moved to a nearline storage system associated with the distributed computing system;
based at least in part upon the determining, writing, by the computing node in the first set of one or more computing nodes of the distributed computing system, the subset of one or more data segments to the nearline storage system;
receiving, by the distributed computing system, a request to create a second computing cluster in the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster comprising a second set of one or more computing nodes; and
responsive to the request, bootstrapping, by the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster using the subset of one or more data segments stored in the nearline storage system.
The system of claim 12,
wherein the request to create the second computing cluster is received responsive to at least one of a cluster upgrade, a cluster migration, or a cluster failover associated with the first computing cluster.
The system of claim 12,
wherein the request to create the second computing cluster is received responsive to at least one of a cluster upgrade, a cluster migration, or a cluster failover associated with the first computing cluster.
The system of claim 12,
wherein bootstrapping, by the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster comprises:
obtaining, by one or more computing nodes in the second set of computing nodes comprising the second computing cluster, the one or more updated data segments stored in the storage system associated with the distributed computing system; and
pre-populating, by the one or more computing nodes in the second set of computing nodes comprising the second computing cluster, a cache associated with the second computing cluster with the one or more updated data segments.
The system of claim 12,
wherein bootstrapping, by the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster comprises:
obtaining, by one or more computing nodes in the second set of computing nodes comprising the second computing cluster, the subset of one or more data segments stored in the nearline storage system; and
pre-populating, by the one or more computing nodes, a cache associated with the one or more computing nodes in the second set of computing nodes with the subset of one or more data segments.
A non-transitory computer-readable medium having program code that is stored thereon, the program code executable by one or more processing devices for performing operations comprising:
identifying, by a computing node in a first set of computing nodes comprising a first computing cluster in a distributed computing system, one or more data segments for executing a query;
executing, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, the query to obtain one or more updated data segments;
writing, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, the one or more updated data segments to a storage system associated with the distributed computing system;
receiving, by the distributed computing system, a request to create a second computing cluster comprising a second set of computing nodes in the distributed computing system; and
responsive to the request, bootstrapping, by the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster using the one or more updated data segments stored in the nearline storage system.
A non-transitory computer-readable medium having program code that is stored thereon, the program code executable by one or more processing devices for performing operations comprising:
executing, by a distributed computing system, a first computing cluster comprising a first set of one or more computing nodes;
identifying, by a computing node in the first set of one or more computing nodes of the distributed computing system, a plurality of data segments stored in a cache associated with the computing node, the cache comprising a set of one or more cache memory tiers;
selecting, by the computing node in the first set of one or more computing nodes of the distributed computing system, a set of one or more data segments from the plurality of data segments to be moved to a nearline storage cache tier, the set of one or more cache memory tiers comprising the nearline storage cache tier;
determining, by the distributed computing system, a subset of one or more data segments from the set of one or more data segments to be moved to a nearline storage system associated with the distributed computing system;
based at least in part upon the determining, writing, by the computing node in the first set of one or more computing nodes of the distributed computing system, the subset of one or more data segments to the nearline storage system;
receiving a request to create a second computing cluster in the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster comprising a second set of one or more computing nodes; and
responsive to the request, bootstrapping the second computing cluster using the subset of one or more data segments stored in the nearline storage system.
Claim 1 of the instant application and Claim 1 of the ‘754 patent are both directed towards writing data segments to a storage system and creating a second cluster comprising a second set of computing nodes in a distributed computing system. However, Claim 1 of the ‘754 patent does not explicitly teach identifying, one or more data segments for executing a query;
executing, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, the query to obtain one or more updated data segments.
JAGTIANI teaches identifying, one or more data segments for executing a query ([0084] discloses the computing node obtains data (i.e. identifying data segments) for processing the query (i.e. for executing a query) from the storage device at step 405),
executing, by the computing node in the set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, the query to obtain one or more updated data segments ([0083] discloses the computing node processes the query (i.e. executing the query) using the data to provide a corresponding reply at step 406; [0085] discloses the processing of the query at step 406 by the computing node could result in modifying the data in the cache to provide modified data (i.e. obtaining updated data segments); at step 407, it is determined if the data has been modified in the cache in connection with step 406); [0085] discloses obtaining the modified data to write the modified data (i.e. writes the updated data segments) to the storage device in step 408; Fig. 2A illustrates computing nodes 204a-204c coupled with storage device 209 (i.e. a storage system associated with the distributed computing system)).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of the ‘754 patent and JAGTIANI before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate identifying the data segments for executing a query followed by the execution of the query as taught by JAGTIANI into a method disclosed by the ‘754 patent to provide a quick reply to queries (JAGTIANI [0053]).
Claim 3 of the instant application and Claim 3 of the ‘754 patent are both directed towards bootstrapping the newly created second cluster in the distributed computing system. JAGTIANI teaches updated data segments ([0085] discloses obtaining the modified data to write the modified data (i.e. writes the updated data segments) to the storage device in step 408; Fig. 2A illustrates computing nodes 204a-204c coupled with storage device 209 (i.e. a storage system associated with the distributed computing system)). However, the combination of the ‘754 patent and JAGTIANI do not explicitly teach pre-populating, by the one or more computing nodes in the second set of computing nodes comprising the second computing cluster, with the one or more data segments.
Claim 7 of the instant application and Claim 7 of the ‘754 patent are both directed towards selecting data segments to move to the storage system using a selection technique. The combination of the ‘754 patent, JAGTIANI, and MALLIPEDDI do not explicitly teach the subset of data segments to be moved to the storage system.
VASUDEVAN teaches the subset of data segments to be moved to the storage system ([0069] teaches select data (i.e. a subset of data segments) written to the memory cache 220 (i.e. the one or more data segments associated with the computing node) is also separately written to the read cache 204 of the block storage 136 (i.e. the storage system) (i.e. there is select data from the data that is being written into the cache of the compute node that is also being written into the storage system); Fig. 3 illustrates write path 274a where the memory cache 220 of the cloud compute 132 (i.e. the computing node) is writing the select data (cache-worthy) to the block storage 136).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of the ‘754 patent, JAGTIANI, MALLIPEDDI, and VASUDEVAN before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate moving a subset of data into the storage system as taught by VASUDEVAN into a method disclosed by the ‘754 patent, JAGTIANI and MALLIPEDDI to make it efficient for returning requested data (VASUDEVAN [0070]).
Claim 12 of the instant application recites limitations similar to those of Claim 1 of the instant application, corresponds to Claim 12 of the ‘754 patent, and is rejected accordingly.
Claim 14 of the instant application recites limitations similar to those of Claim 3 of the instant application, corresponds to Claim 14 of the ‘754 patent, and is rejected accordingly.
Claim 18 of the instant application recites limitations similar to those of Claim 1 of the instant application, corresponds to Claim 15 of the ‘754 patent, and is rejected accordingly.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of US 12,282,781 B2, in view of JAGTIANI, and further in view of VASUDEVAN.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, the differences are highlighted below:
Instant Application
US 12,282,781 B2
A method, comprising:
identifying, by a computing node in a first set of computing nodes comprising a first computing cluster in a distributed computing system, one or more data segments for executing a query;
executing, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, the query to obtain one or more updated data segments;
writing, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, the one or more updated data segments to a storage system associated with the distributed computing system;
receiving, by the distributed computing system, a request to create a second computing cluster comprising a second set of computing nodes in the distributed computing system; and
responsive to the request, bootstrapping, by the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster using the one or more updated data segments stored in the storage system.
A method, comprising:
executing, by a distributed computing system providing a data processing service, a first computing cluster comprising a first set of computing nodes;
receiving, by a computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, a query for execution;
determining, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, that one or more data segments for executing the query are present in a cache associated with the computing node;
executing, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, the query using the one or more data segments to obtain one or more updated data segments;
writing, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, the one or more updated data segments to a nearline storage system associated with the distributed computing system;
receiving, by the distributed computing system, a request to create a second computing cluster comprising a second set of computing nodes in the distributed computing system; and
responsive to the request, bootstrapping, by the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster using the one or more updated data segments stored in the nearline storage system.
The method of claim 1,
wherein the request to create the second computing cluster is received responsive to at least one of a cluster upgrade, a cluster migration, or a cluster failover associated with the first computing cluster.
The method of claim 1,
wherein the request to create the second computing cluster is received responsive to at least one of a cluster upgrade, a cluster migration, or a cluster failover associated with the first computing cluster.
The method of claim 1,
wherein bootstrapping, by the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster comprises:
obtaining, by one or more computing nodes in the second set of computing nodes comprising the second computing cluster, the one or more updated data segments stored in the storage system associated with the distributed computing system; and
pre-populating, by the one or more computing nodes in the second set of computing nodes comprising the second computing cluster, a cache associated with the second computing cluster with the one or more updated data segments.
The method of claim 1,
wherein bootstrapping, by the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster comprises:
obtaining, by one or more computing nodes in the second set of computing nodes comprising the second computing cluster, the one or more updated data segments stored in the nearline storage system associated with the distributed computing system; and
pre-populating, by the one or more computing nodes in the second set of computing nodes comprising the second computing cluster, a cache associated with the second computing cluster with the one or more updated data segments.
The method of claim 1,
wherein the storage system represents an intermediary storage layer between a cache associated with the computing node in the first computing cluster and an object storage system associated with the distributed computing system.
The method of claim 1,
wherein the nearline storage system represents an intermediary storage layer between the cache associated with the computing node in the first computing cluster and an object storage system associated with the distributed computing system.
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, that one or more data segments for executing the query are not present in the computing node; and
responsive to determining that the one or more data segments are not present in the computing node, obtaining, by the computing node, the one or more data segments for executing the query from an object storage system associated with the distributed computing system.
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, that one or more data segments for executing the query are not present in a cache associated with the computing node; and
responsive to determining that the one or more data segments are not present in the cache, obtaining, by the computing node, the one or more data segments for executing the query from an object storage system associated with the distributed computing system.
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
selecting, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, a subset of data segments from the one or more data segments associated with the computing node in the first computing cluster to be moved to the storage system; and
writing, by the computing node, the selected subset of data segments to the storage system.
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
selecting, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, a subset of data segments from the one or more data segments stored in the cache associated with the computing node in the first computing cluster to be moved to the nearline storage system; and
writing, by the computing node, the selected subset of data segments to the nearline storage system.
The method of claim 6,
wherein the subset of data segments to be moved to the storage system are selected by the computing node using a selection technique, wherein the selection technique comprises at least one of a least recently used (LRU) selection technique or a least frequently used (LFU) selection technique.
The method of claim 6,
wherein the subset of data segments to be moved to the nearline storage system are selected by the computing node using a selection technique, wherein the selection technique comprises at least one of a least recently used (LRU) selection technique or a least frequently used (LFU) selection technique.
The method of claim 1,
wherein the one or more data segments are present in a cache associated with the computing node in the first set of computing nodes,
wherein the cache associated with the computing node comprises a set of one or more cache memory tiers,
wherein the set of one or more cache memory tiers comprises an object storage cache tier and a nearline storage cache tier
The method of claim 1,
wherein the cache associated with the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprises a set of one or more cache memory tiers,
wherein the set of one or more cache memory tiers comprises an object storage cache tier and a nearline storage cache tier
The method of claim 8,
wherein the object storage cache tier is mapped to an object storage system associated with the distributed computing system,
wherein the object storage cache tier is configured to temporarily store a plurality of data segments for the object storage system.
The method of claim 8,
wherein the object storage cache tier is mapped to an object storage system associated with the distributed computing system,
wherein the object storage cache tier is configured to temporarily store a plurality of data segments for the object storage system.
The method of claim 8,
wherein the nearline storage cache tier is mapped to the storage system associated with the distributed computing system,
wherein the nearline storage cache tier is configured to temporarily store a plurality of data segments for the storage system.
The method of claim 8,
wherein the nearline storage cache tier is mapped to the nearline storage system associated with the distributed computing system,
wherein the nearline storage cache tier is configured to temporarily store a plurality of data segments for the nearline storage system.
The method of claim 1,
wherein writing, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, the one or more updated data segments to the storage system associated with the distributed computing system comprises:
writing, by the computing node, the one or more updated data segments to a nearline storage cache tier in a cache associated with the computing node; and
moving, by the computing node, the one or more updated data segments from the nearline storage cache tier to the storage system associated with the distributed computing system.
The method of claim 1,
wherein writing, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, the one or more updated data segments to the nearline storage system associated with the distributed computing system comprises:
writing, by the computing node, the one or more updated data segments to a nearline storage cache tier in the cache associated with the computing node; and
moving, by the computing node, the one or more updated data segments from the nearline storage cache tier to the nearline storage system associated with the distributed computing system.
A distributed computing system providing a data processing service comprising:
a memory; and
one or more processors configured to perform processing, the processing comprising:
identifying, by a computing node in a first set of computing nodes comprising a first computing cluster in the distributed computing system, one or more data segments for executing a query;
executing, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, the query to obtain one or more updated data segments;
writing, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, the one or more updated data segments to a storage system associated with the distributed computing system;
receiving, by the distributed computing system, a request to create a second computing cluster comprising a second set of computing nodes in the distributed computing system; and
responsive to the request, bootstrapping, by the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster using the one or more updated data segments stored in the storage system.
A distributed computing system providing a data processing service comprising:
a memory; and
one or more processors configured to perform processing, the processing comprising:
executing, by the distributed computing system, a first computing cluster comprising a first set of computing nodes;
receiving, by a computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, a query for execution;
determining, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, that one or more data segments for executing the query are present in a cache associated with the computing node;
executing, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, the query using the one or more data segments to obtain one or more updated data segments;
writing, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, the one or more updated data segments to a nearline storage system associated with the distributed computing system;
receiving, by the distributed computing system, a request to create a second computing cluster comprising a second set of computing nodes in the distributed computing system; and
responsive to the request, bootstrapping, by the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster using the one or more updated data segments stored in the nearline storage system.
The system of claim 12,
wherein the request to create the second computing cluster is received responsive to at least one of a cluster upgrade, a cluster migration, or a cluster failover associated with the first computing cluster.
The system of claim 12,
wherein the request to create the second computing cluster is received responsive to at least one of a cluster upgrade, a cluster migration, or a cluster failover associated with the first computing cluster.
The system of claim 12,
wherein bootstrapping, by the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster comprises:
obtaining, by one or more computing nodes in the second set of computing nodes comprising the second computing cluster, the one or more updated data segments stored in the storage system associated with the distributed computing system; and
pre-populating, by the one or more computing nodes in the second set of computing nodes comprising the second computing cluster, a cache associated with the second computing cluster with the one or more updated data segments.
The system of claim 12,
wherein bootstrapping, by the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster comprises:
obtaining, by one or more computing nodes in the second set of computing nodes comprising the second computing cluster, the one or more updated data segments stored in the nearline storage system associated with the distributed computing system; and
pre-populating, by the one or more computing nodes in the second set of computing nodes comprising the second computing cluster, a cache associated with the second computing cluster with the one or more updated data segments.
The system of claim 11,
wherein the storage system represents an intermediary storage layer between the cache associated with one or more computing nodes in the first computing cluster and an object storage system associated with the distributed computing system.
The system of claim 12,
wherein the nearline storage system represents an intermediary storage layer between the cache associated with one or more computing nodes in the first computing cluster and an object storage system associated with the distributed computing system.
The system of claim 11,
wherein the one or more data segments are present in a cache associated with the computing node in the first set of computing nodes,
wherein the cache associated with the computing node comprises a set of one or more cache memory tiers, wherein the set of one or more cache memory tiers comprises an object storage cache tier and a nearline storage cache tier.
The system of claim 12,
wherein the cache associated with the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprises a set of one or more cache memory tiers, wherein the set of one or more cache memory tiers comprises an object storage cache tier and a nearline storage cache tier
The system of claim 16,
wherein the object storage cache tier is mapped to an object storage system associated with the distributed computing system,
wherein the object storage cache tier is configured to temporarily store a plurality of data segments for the object storage system.
The system of claim 16,
wherein the object storage cache tier is mapped to an object storage system associated with the distributed computing system,
wherein the object storage cache tier is configured to temporarily store a plurality of data segments for the object storage system.
A non-transitory computer-readable medium having program code that is stored thereon, the program code executable by one or more processing devices for performing operations comprising:
identifying, by a computing node in a first set of computing nodes comprising a first computing cluster in a distributed computing system, one or more data segments for executing a query;
executing, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, the query to obtain one or more updated data segments;
writing, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, the one or more updated data segments to a storage system associated with the distributed computing system;
receiving, by the distributed computing system, a request to create a second computing cluster comprising a second set of computing nodes in the distributed computing system; and
responsive to the request, bootstrapping, by the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster using the one or more updated data segments stored in the nearline storage system.
A non-transitory computer-readable medium having program code that is stored thereon, the program code executable by one or more processing devices for performing operations comprising:
executing, by a distributed computing system, a first computing cluster comprising a first set of computing nodes;
receiving, by a computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, a query for execution;
determining, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, that one or more data segments for executing the query are present in a cache associated with the computing node;
executing, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, the query using the one or more data segments to obtain one or more updated data segments;
writing, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, the one or more updated data segments to a nearline storage system associated with the distributed computing system;
receiving, by the distributed computing system, a request to create a second computing cluster comprising a second set of computing nodes in the distributed computing system; and
responsive to the request, bootstrapping, by the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster using the one or more updated data segments stored in the nearline storage system.
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 18,
wherein bootstrapping, by the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster comprises:
obtaining, by one or more computing nodes in the second set of computing nodes comprising the second computing cluster, the one or more updated data segments stored in the storage system associated with the distributed computing system; and
pre-populating, by the one or more computing nodes in the second set of computing nodes comprising the second computing cluster, a cache associated with the second computing cluster with the one or more updated data segments.
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 18,
wherein bootstrapping, by the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster comprises:
obtaining, by one or more computing nodes in the second set of computing nodes comprising the second computing cluster, the one or more updated data segments stored in the nearline storage system associated with the distributed computing system; and
pre-populating, by the one or more computing nodes in the second set of computing nodes comprising the second computing cluster, a cache associated with the second computing cluster with the one or more updated data segments.
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 18,
wherein the request to create the second computing cluster is received responsive to at least one of a cluster upgrade, a cluster migration, or a cluster failover associated with the first computing cluster.
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 18,
wherein the request to create the second computing cluster is received responsive to at least one of a cluster upgrade, a cluster migration, or a cluster failover associated with the first computing cluster.
Claim 1 of the instant application and Claim 1 of the ‘781 patent are both directed towards creating a second cluster using updated segments from the first computing node executing a query with the data segments. However, the ‘781 patent does not explicitly teach identifying, one or more data segments for executing a query.
JAGTIANI teaches identifying, one or more data segments for executing a query (Fig. 2A illustrates computing nodes 204a, 204b, and 204c in system 201 (i.e. a set of computing nodes as a cluster inside the distributed computing system); [0084] discloses the computing node obtains data (i.e. identifying data segments) for processing the query (i.e. for executing a query) from the storage device at step 405).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of the ‘781 patent and JAGTIANI before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate identifying the data segments for executing a query followed by the execution of the query as taught by JAGTIANI into a method disclosed by the ‘781 patent to provide a quick reply to queries (JAGTIANI [0053]).
Claim 8 of the instant application and Claim 8 of the ‘781 patent are both directed towards a cache having a nearline cache tier and object storage cache tier. However, the combination of the ‘781 patent and JAGTIANI do not explicitly teach wherein the one or more data segments are present in a cache associated with the computing node in the set of computing nodes.
VASUDEVAN teaches wherein the one or more data segments are present in a cache associated with the computing node in the set of computing nodes ([0066] teaches memory cache 220 inside cloud compute 132 (i.e. a cache inside the computing node) will hold the complete set of the data (i.e. one or more data segments are present) written by application 108; Fig. 1 illustrates multiple virtual machines (VM) 104 (i.e. a set of computing nodes)).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of the ‘781 patent, JAGTIANI, and VASUDEVAN before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate data present in the cache of a computing node as taught by VASUDEVAN into a method disclosed by the ‘781 patent and JAGTIANI to make it efficient for returning requested data (VASUDEVAN [0070]).
Claim 12 of the instant application recites limitations similar to those of Claim 1 of the instant application, corresponds to Claim 12 of the ‘781 patent, and is rejected accordingly.
Claim 16 of the instant application recites limitations similar to those of Claim 1 of the instant application, corresponds to Claim 16 of the ‘781 patent, and is rejected accordingly.
Claim 18 of the instant application recites limitations similar to those of Claim 1 of the instant application, corresponds to Claim 18 of the ‘781 patent, and is rejected accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 12-14, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JAGTIANI in view MALLIPEDDI et al., US 2014/0149590 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, JAGTIANI discloses:
A method (Fig. 4, method 400), comprising:
identifying, by a computing node in a set of computing nodes comprising a computing cluster in a distributed computing system, one or more data segments for executing a query ( [0084] discloses the computing node obtains data (i.e. identifying data segments) for processing the query (i.e. for executing a query) from the storage device at step 405 Fig. 2A illustrates computing nodes 204a, 204b, and 204c in system 201 (i.e. a set of computing nodes as a cluster inside the distributed computing system););
executing, by the computing node in the set of computing nodes comprising the computing cluster, the query to obtain one or more updated data segments; writing, by the computing node in the set of computing nodes comprising the computing cluster, the one or more updated data segments to a storage system associated with the distributed computing system ([0083] discloses the computing node processes the query (i.e. executing the query) using the data to provide a corresponding reply at step 406; [0085] discloses the processing of the query at step 406 by the computing node could result in modifying the data in the cache to provide modified data (i.e. obtaining updated data segments); at step 407, it is determined if the data has been modified in the cache in connection with step 406); [0085] discloses obtaining the modified data to write the modified data (i.e. writes the updated data segments) to the storage device in step 408; Fig. 2A illustrates computing nodes 204a-204c coupled with storage device 209 (i.e. a storage system associated with the distributed computing system));
However, JAGTIANI does not explicitly disclose a first set of computing nodes comprising a first computing cluster in a distributed computing system,
receiving, by the distributed computing system, a request to create a second computing cluster comprising a second set of computing nodes in the distributed computing system, and
responsive to the request, bootstrapping, by the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster using the one or more data segments stored in the storage system.
MALLIPEDDI teaches a first set of computing nodes comprising a first computing cluster in a distributed computing system (Fig. 1 illustrates current cluster 112 (i.e. a first computing cluster) having three nodes (i.e. a first set of computing nodes) in a distributed computing system),
receiving, by the distributed computing system, a request to create a second computing cluster comprising a second set of computing nodes in the distributed computing system ([0017] teaches the cluster control interface (i.e. part of the distributed computing system) may receive a cluster scaling request from a user, where the request may indicate a change in the number or type of nodes in a currently operating cluster; in response to receiving the cluster scaling request, the control interface may create a new cluster (i.e. a second computing cluster having a second set of computing nodes) that has the number and/or type of nodes indicated in the request message (i.e. the request leads to a creation of a new cluster); [0038] teaches a cluster control interface, for example, such as a network-based cluster hosting service manager 302 of Fig. 3), and
responsive to the request, bootstrapping, by the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster using the one or more data segments stored in the storage system ([0017] teaches in response to receiving the cluster scaling request, the control interface may create a new cluster (i.e. bootstrapping a second computing cluster having a second set of computing nodes) that has the number and/or type of nodes indicated in the request message; the cluster control interface may then initiate a copy of the cluster data stored in the current cluster being scaled).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of JAGTIANI and MALLIPEDDI before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate creating a second new cluster using data from the first cluster as taught by MALLIPEDDI into a method of obtaining and storing updated data when processing a query disclosed by JAGTIANI to maintain the efficient utilization of computing resources for the computing task (MALLIPEDDI [0001]).
Regarding Claim 2, JAGTIANI and MALLIPEDDI disclose the method of Claim 1. MALLIPEDDI further teaches:
wherein the request to create the second computing cluster is received responsive to at least one of a cluster upgrade ([0017] teaches the cluster control interface may receive a cluster scaling request from a user; the cluster scaling request may indicate a change in the number or type of nodes in a currently operating cluster; for example, if the current cluster operates two nodes, then the cluster scale request may indicate a change to operate five nodes (i.e. the cluster scaling request is upgrading the cluster by increasing the number of nodes); in response to receiving the cluster scaling request, the control interface may create a new cluster that has the number and/or type of nodes indicated in the request message (i.e. creating the second computing cluster is in response to the cluster scaling request that indicates a cluster upgrade by a user)),
a cluster migration, or
a cluster failover associated with the first computing cluster.
Regarding Claim 3, JAGTIANI and MALLIPEDDI disclose the method of Claim 1. JAGTIANI further discloses:
updated data segments ([0085] discloses obtaining the modified data to write the modified data (i.e. writes the updated data segments) to the storage device in step 408; Fig. 2A illustrates computing nodes 204a-204c coupled with storage device 209 (i.e. a storage system associated with the distributed computing system)), and
a cache associated with the computing cluster (Fig. 1 illustrates computing nodes 204a, 204b, and 204c with caches 206b, 207b, and 208b respectively (i.e. caches associated with the computing cluster)).
MALLIPEDDI further teaches wherein bootstrapping, by the distributed computing system, the second computing cluster comprises: obtaining, by one or more computing nodes in the second set of computing nodes comprising the second computing cluster, the one or more data segments stored in the storage system associated with the distributed computing system ([0026] teaches nodes may implement one or more data slices for storing cluster data, and may be part of storage devices, such as disk storage (i.e. data segments are stored in the storage system associated with the distributed computing system); [0044] teaches a cluster control interface may initiate the copy of cluster data by directing one of the nodes of the new cluster (i.e. one or more computing nodes in the second set of computing nodes within the second computing cluster), such as a leader node, to begin performing copy operations to retrieve sets of data from the current cluster (i.e. obtaining the one or more data segments stored in the storage system)); and
pre-populating, by the one or more computing nodes in the second set of computing nodes comprising the second computing cluster, with the one or more data segments ([0044] teaches the leader node of the new cluster may, for example, build a list of data to be copied and generate instructions for nodes in the new cluster to retrieve data from the nodes (i.e. a computing node in the second set of computing nodes within the second cluster is controlling the retrieval of the data segments) of the current cluster and generate instructions for nodes in the current cluster to send data; [0051] teaches after all of the cluster data has been received at the data slices in the new node, the new cluster may distribute the data in the data slices on the nodes (i.e. pre-populating the nodes with the one or more data segments) according to a distribution scheme).
Regarding Claim 12, JAGTIANI discloses A distributed computing system providing a data processing service (Fig. 2A illustrates a network 200 (i.e. a distributed computing system) for accessing data) comprising: a memory (storage device 209); and one or more processors (manager computer 205). The remainder of Claim 12 recites limitations similar to those of Claim 1 and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding Claim 13, JAGTIANI and MALLIPEDDI disclose the system of Claim 12. Claim 13 recites limitations similar to those of Claim 2 and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding Claim 14, JAGTIANI and MALLIPEDDI disclose the system of Claim 12. Claim 14 recites limitations similar to those of Claim 3 and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding Claim 18, JAGTIANI discloses A non-transitory computer-readable medium having program code that is stored thereon, the program code executable by one or more processing devices for performing operations (Fig 2B illustrates computing node 204A containing memory 242; [0071] discloses the memories 224, 242, and 253 may be non-volatile storage for code which is loaded into the working memory 223, 241, and 252, respectively, and executed by the processors 220, 206a, and 250, respectively, to perform the functions described herein). The remainder of Claim 18 recites limitations similar to those of Claim 1 and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding Claim 19, JAGTIANI and MALLIPEDDI disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of Claim 18. The remainder of Claim 19 recites limitations similar to those of Claim 3 and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding Claim 20, JAGTIANI and MALLIPEDDI disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of Claim 18. The remainder of Claim 20 recites limitations similar to those of Claim 2 and is rejected accordingly.
Claims 4-7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JAGTIANI in view of MALLIPEDDI, and further in view of VASUDEVAN.
Regarding Claim 4, JAGTIANI and MALLIPEDDI disclose the method of Claim 1. MALLIPEDDI further teaches:
the computing node in the first computing cluster (Fig. 1 illustrates current cluster 112 (i.e. a first computing cluster) having three nodes (i.e. a first set of computing nodes) in a distributed computing system).
However the combination of JAGTIANI and MALLIPEDDI does not explicitly disclose wherein the storage system represents an intermediary storage layer between a cache associated with the computing node and an object storage system associated with the distributed computing system.
VASUDEVAN teaches wherein the storage system represents an intermediary storage layer between a cache associated with the computing node and an object storage system associated with the distributed computing system (Fig. 2 illustrates the storage app 106 of the cloud compute 132 (i.e. the computing node) that points to both the object storage 134 (i.e. object storage system) and block storage 136 (i.e. the storage system); Fig. 3 illustrates inside the storage app 106 of the cloud compute 132 is a memory cache (i.e. a cache associated with the computing node) that can directly coordinate functions with the block storage 136 or go through data reduction logic 240 and coalescing logic 250 to get to the object storage (i.e. the block storage 136 is a storage layer between the cache in the computing node and the object storage 134)).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of JAGTIANI, MALLIPEDDI, and VASUDEVAN before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate a block storage between a computing node cache and object storage as taught by VASUDEVAN into a method disclosed by JAGTIANI and MALLIPEDDI to reduce processing power, reduce delays, and reduce inefficient cost spends when incorrectly formatted data is written to certain types of storage (VASUDEVAN [0010]).
Regarding Claim 5, JAGTIANI and MALLIPEDDI disclose the method of Claim 1. JAGTIANI further discloses:
one or more data segments for executing the query ([0084] discloses the computing node obtains data (i.e. identifying data segments) for processing the query (i.e. for executing a query) from the storage device at step 405).
MALLIPEDDI further teaches the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster (Fig. 1 illustrates current cluster 112 (i.e. a first computing cluster) having three nodes (i.e. a first set of computing nodes) in a distributed computing system).
However, the combination of JAGTIANI and MALLIPEDDI do not explicitly disclose determining, by the computing node, that one or more data segments are not present in the computing node; and responsive to determining that the one or more data segments are not present in the computing node, obtaining, by the computing node, the one or more data segments from an object storage system associated with the distributed computing system.
VASUDEVAN teaches determining, by the computing node, that one or more data segments are not present in the computing node; and responsive to determining that the one or more data segments are not present in the computing node, obtaining, by the computing node, the one or more data segments from an object storage system associated with the distributed computing system (([0070] teaches in a first attempt to serve the data rapidly, read logic will read from memory cache 220 of the cloud compute 132 to determine whether the request data is still present in memory cache 220); if it is determined that memory cache 220 does not have the request data, the read logic will process a read 282 from the read cache 204 of the block storage 136; [0071] teaches if it is determined that the read cache 204 does not contain the request data blocks, read logic 260 will read from object storage 134 (i.e. determining that the one or more data segments are not present in the computing node, the read logic 260 in the cloud compute 132 will eventually obtain it from the object storage 134)).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of JAGTIANI, MALLIPEDDI, and VASUDEVAN before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate reading logic that checks the through the order of the cache, block storage, then object storage when searching for requested data as taught by VASUDEVAN into a method disclosed by JAGTIANI and MALLIPEDDI to make it efficient for returning requested data (VASUDEVAN [0070].
Regarding Claim 6, JAGTIANI and MALLIPEDDI disclose the method of Claim 1. MALLIPEDDI further teaches:
the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster (Fig. 1 illustrates current cluster 112 (i.e. a first computing cluster) having three nodes (i.e. a first set of computing nodes) in a distributed computing system).
However, the combination of JAGTIANI and MALLIPEDDI do not explicitly disclose selecting, by the computing node, a subset of data segments from the one or more data segments associated with the computing node to be moved to the storage system; and
writing, by the computing node, the selected subset of data segments to the storage system.
VASUDEVAN teaches selecting, by the computing node, a subset of data segments from the one or more data segments associated with the computing node to be moved to the storage system; and writing, by the computing node, the selected subset of data segments to the storage system ([0069] teaches select data (i.e. a subset of data segments) written to the memory cache 220 (i.e. the one or more data segments associated with the computing node) is also separately written to the read cache 204 of the block storage 136 (i.e. the storage system) (i.e. there is select data from the data that is being written into the cache of the compute node that is also being written into the storage system); Fig. 3 illustrates write path 274a where the memory cache 220 of the cloud compute 132 (i.e. the computing node) is writing the select data (cache-worthy) to the block storage 136).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of JAGTIANI, MALLIPEDDI, and VASUDEVAN before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate selecting a subset of data to send to the storage system as taught by VASUDEVAN into a method disclosed by JAGTIANI and MALLIPEDDI to make it efficient for returning requested data (VASUDEVAN [0070]).
Regarding Claim 7, JAGTIANI and MALLIPEDDI disclose the method of Claim 6. JAGTIANI further discloses:
data segments to be selected using a selection technique, wherein the selection technique comprises at least one of a least recently used (LRU) selection technique ([0051] discloses data which is stored at a cache can remain there until it is deleted using a least recently used (LRU) algorithm) (i.e. data segments are selected to be deleted using the LRU selection technique)).
or a least frequently used (LFU) selection technique.
VASUDEVAN further teaches wherein the subset of data segments to be moved to the storage system are selected by the computing node ([0069] teaches select data (i.e. a subset of data segments) written to the memory cache 220 (i.e. the one or more data segments associated with the computing node) is also separately written to the read cache 204 of the block storage 136 (i.e. the storage system) (i.e. there is select data from the data that is being written into the cache of the compute node that is also being written into the storage system); Fig. 3 illustrates write path 274a where the memory cache 220 of the cloud compute 132 (i.e. the computing node) is writing the select data (cache-worthy) to the block storage 136).
Regarding Claim 15, JAGTIANI and MALLIPEDDI disclose the system of Claim 12. Claim 15 recites limitations similar to those of Claim 4 and is rejected accordingly.
Claims 8-10 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JAGTIANI, in view of MALLIPEDDI, in view of VASUDEVAN, and further in view of SHAFIEE et al., US 2014/0172926 A1.
Regarding Claim 8, JAGTIANI and MALLIPEDDI disclose the method of Claim 1. MALLIPEDDI further teaches:
the computing node in the first set of computing nodes (Fig. 1 illustrates current cluster 112 (i.e. a first computing cluster) having three nodes (i.e. a first set of computing nodes) in a distributed computing system).
However, the combination of JAGTIANI and MALLIPEDDI do not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more data segments are present in a cache associated with the computing node in the set of computing nodes, wherein the cache associated with the computing node comprises a set of one or more cache memory tiers, wherein the set of one or more cache memory tiers comprises an object storage cache tier and a nearline storage cache tier.
VASUDEVAN teaches wherein the one or more data segments are present in a cache associated with the computing node in the set of computing nodes ([0066] teaches memory cache 220 inside cloud compute 132 (i.e. a cache inside the computing node) will hold the complete set of the data (i.e. one or more data segments are present) written by application 108; Fig. 1 illustrates multiple virtual machines (VM) 104 (i.e. a set of computing nodes)).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of JAGTIANI, MALLIPEDDI, and VASUDEVAN before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate data segments already present in a cache, as taught by VASUDEVAN into a method disclosed by JAGTIANI and MALLIPEDDI to make it efficient for returning requested data (VASUDEVAN [0070]).
However, the combination of JAGTIANI, MALLIPEDDI, and VASUDEVAN do not explicitly disclose wherein the computing node comprises a set of one or more memory tiers, and
wherein the set of one or more memory tiers comprises an object storage cache tier and a nearline storage cache tier.
SHAFIEE teaches wherein the computing node comprises a set of one or more memory tiers (Fig. 3 illustrates a system 300 in a digital data clearinghouse (DDC) (i.e. the computing node); the system comprising an online storage 340 and an archive storage 350 (i.e. a set of one or more memory tiers); [0019] teaches a DDC may include a server/computing device or a set of servers/computing devices),
wherein the set of one or more memory tiers comprises an object storage cache tier and a nearline storage cache tier ([0049] teaches online storage 340 (i.e. nearline storage cache tier) may store assets processed by the DDC 150 for various customers; [0050] teaches archive storage 350 (i.e. object storage cache tier) may store assets processed by the DDC 150 that are not expected to be used as frequently as assets stored in online storage 340 (i.e. the two storages available comprise of an object storage and a nearline storage)).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of JAGTIANI, MALLIPEDDI, VASUDEVAN, and SHAFIEE before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate multiple storage layers for different purposes as taught by SHAFIEE into a method disclosed by JAGTIANI, MALLIPEDDI, and VASUDEVAN to allow for easy retrieval of content when the content is needed (SHAFIEE [0019]).
Regarding Claim 9, JAGTIANI, MALLIPEDDI, VASUDEVAN, and SHAFIEE disclose the method of Claim 8. VASUDEVAN further teaches:
wherein the cache is mapped to an object storage system associated with the distributed computing system (Fig. 3 illustrates memory cache 220 (i.e. the cache) is mapped to the object storage 134 (i.e. an object storage system) through path 273, data reduction logic 240, path 275, coalescing logic 250, and path 276),
wherein the cache is configured to temporarily store a plurality of data segments for the object storage system ([0064] teaches the memory cache 220 is a random access memory (RAM) that is utilized as part of the compute node (i.e. the memory cache is volatile memory that temporarily stores data); [0066] teaches the memory cache will hold the set of data and that data is transferred via path 273 and will eventually reach object storage 134 as illustrated in Fig. 3).
SHAFIEE further teaches an object storage cache tier ([0050] teaches archive storage 350 (i.e. object storage cache tier) may store assets processed by the DDC 150 that are not expected to be used as frequently).
Regarding Claim 10, JAGTIANI, MALLIPEDDI, VASUDEVAN, and SHAFIEE disclose the method of Claim 8. VASUDEVAN further teaches:
wherein the cache is mapped to the storage system associated with the distributed computing system (Fig. 3 illustrates memory cache 220 (i.e. the cache) is mapped to the block storage 136 (i.e. the storage system) through write paths 272 and 274a),
wherein the cache is configured to temporarily store a plurality of data segments for the storage system ([0064] teaches the memory cache 220 is a random access memory (RAM) that is utilized as part of the compute node (i.e. the memory cache is volatile memory that temporarily stores data); As shown in Fig. 3, the memory cache 220 can write complete data to the block storage through path 272 and can write select data through 274a)
SHAFIEE further teaches a nearline storage cache tier ([0049] teaches online storage 340 (i.e. nearline storage cache tier) may store assets processed by the DDC 150 for various customers).
Regarding Claim 16, JAGTIANI and MALLIPEDDI disclose the system of Claim 12. Claim 16 recites limitations similar to those of Claim 8 and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding Claim 17, JAGTIANI, MALLIPEDDI, VASUDEVAN, and SHAFIEE disclose the system of Claim 16. Claim 17 recites limitations similar to those of Claim 9 and is rejected accordingly.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JAGTIANI, in view of MALLIPEDDI, and further in view of SHAFIEE.
Regarding Claim 11, JAGTIANI and MALLIPEDDI disclose the method of Claim 1. JAGTIANI further discloses:
wherein writing, by the computing node in the first set of computing nodes comprising the first computing cluster, the one or more updated data segments to the storage system associated with the distributed computing system comprises: writing, by the computing node, the one or more updated data segments to a cache associated with the computing node ([0085] discloses the processing of the query at step 406 by the computing node could result in modifying (i.e. writing) the data (i.e. the one or more updated segments) in the cache to provide modified data);
moving, by the computing node, the one or more updated data segments from the cache to the storage system associated with the distributed computing system ([0085] discloses the computing node writes the modified data (i.e. moves the modified data) to the storage device (i.e. the storage system) in step 408).
However, the combination of JAGTIANI and MALLIPEDDI do not explicitly disclose a nearline storage cache tier.
SHAFIEE teaches a nearline storage cache tier ([0049] teaches online storage 340 (i.e. nearline storage cache tier) may store assets processed by the DDC 150 for various customers).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of JAGTIANI, MALLIPEDDI, and SHAFIEE before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate a nearline storage as taught by SHAFIEE into a method disclosed by JAGTIANI and MALLIPEDDI to allow for easy retrieval of content when the content is needed (SHAFIEE [0019]).
Conclusion
/L.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2175
/ANDREW J JUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2175