DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 29, 2026, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawing Objections
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference signs mentioned in the description: “150” designating a sleeve top section outer surface, “D1” designating a sleeve top section outer diameter, “D2” designating a sleeve top section inner surface diameter, “D3” designating a sleeve bottom section outer diameter, and “D4” designating a sleeve bottom section inner diameter (para. 0040 et al.); “171” designating a collar first end and “172” designating a collar second end (para. 0042); “TD1” designating a first tab distance, “TD2” designating a second tab distance, “CD1” designating a first collar diameter, and “CD2” designating a second collar diameter (para. 0043); “123” designating a shaft upper section length and “124” designating a shaft lower section length (para. 0052); “386” designating a clasp section outer surface and “372” designating a clasp section (para. 0056).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following references characters not mentioned in the description: “201”, “203”, and “205” in Fig. 14 et al.; “206”, “207”, and “209” in Fig. 16; “215”, “216”, “217”, and “218” in Fig. 17; “211” in Fig. 18; and “301” in Fig. 22.
The drawings are objected to because, in Fig. 23, it appears that reference number “378” is misplaced. At para. 0056, the specification states that “a grip cross-sectional profile 74 obscures most of the … second tab cross-sectional profile 378,” but Fig. 23 appears to use reference number “378” to refer to some part of the lever (302) rather than a cross-sectional profile of the second tab (316). Fig. 23 and para. 0056 should be reviewed for accuracy. No new matter should be entered.
Objections to the Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In para. 0038, line 1, it appears that “shaft upper end 62” should read --shaft upper end 68-- (consistent with para. 0037 and Fig. 1).
In para. 0043, lines 6-7, it appears that “the first collar diameter CD2” should read --the first collar diameter CD1-- (though the examiner notes that neither CD1 nor CD2 are shown in the drawings; see Drawing Objections above).
In para. 0049, lines 5 and 6, it appears that each instance of “putter shaft 129” should read --putter shaft 58-- (consistent with Fig. 1 et al.; reference number “129” does not appear in the drawings).
In para. 0052, the disclosed lengths of the shaft upper section (58b) and the shaft lower section (58a) do not appear to be consistent with the rest of the disclosure. For example, the shaft upper section (58b) is shown in Fig. 1 to extend the full length of the grip (70), and the shaft lower section (58a) is shown in Fig. 1 to extend the remaining length of the shaft (58) from the grip (70) to the hosel (67) or the putter head (52). However, para. 0052 describes the length of the shaft upper section (58b) as being “between 1.500 and 1.600 inches” (this being the longest of the disclosed dimensions) and the length of the shaft lower section (58a) as being “between 1.150 and 1.250 inches” (this again being the longest of the disclosed dimensions), which considered together appear to describe an impractically short golf club shaft. It appears to the examiner that this paragraph should be reviewed for accuracy. No new matter should be entered.
In para. 0056, lines 9-10, it appears that “compression collar 104” should read --compression collar 304-- (in the context of the embodiment of Figs. 22-23).
In para. 0071, in the title of Table 1, “Puter” should read --Putter--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitations “relatively linearly” and “relatively arcuately” at the bottom of pg. 2 render the claim indefinite because it is unclear what degree of linearity or curvature is required by the term “relatively.” It is unclear relative to what standard the linearity or curvature is measured. For these reasons, one of ordinary skill in the art would not reasonably be apprised of the scope of the invention covered by these terms.
Further regarding claim 1, the limitation “the grip cross-sectional profile obscures most of the clasp cross-sectional profile, first tab cross-sectional profile, and second tab cross-sectional profile” in the last two lines of the claim renders the claim indefinite because the degree to which the grip cross-sectional profile obscures the other cross-sectional profiles would appear to depend on the perspective from which the components are viewed by a user, which is a variable that is not defined by the claim. See MPEP § 2173.05(b), subsection II. For example, Applicant’s Fig. 23 appears to show a view along the shaft axis (65) from the grip end of the putter in which the cross-sectional profiles of the clasp and first and second tabs are obscured to some degree by the cross-sectional profile of the grip, but Fig. 21B suggests that the cross-sectional profiles of the clasp and first and second tabs would be fully visible (i.e., not obscured) when viewed from the opposite end (e.g., when the grip is being fitted to the shaft). The claim is indefinite because it does not clearly define in what sense the grip cross-sectional profile “obscures” the other cross-sectional profiles.
Claims 2-6 are rejected in view of their dependency from claim 1.
Further regarding claim 2, the limitation “the grip cross-sectional profile obscures an entirety of the clasp cross-sectional profile” renders the claim indefinite for the reasons discussed above with respect to the obscuring function recited in claim 1.
Further regarding claim 6, the limitation “more closely conforms” in line 2 renders the claim indefinite, because it is unclear what the conformity of the tapered clasp free end is being compared to (i.e., more closely than what?).
Claim 17 recites the limitation “the finger tip gap.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in claim 14, from which claim 17 depends. For the purpose of examination, claim 17 is interpreted as depending from claim 16, which provides antecedent basis for the finger tip gap.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hicks (US Patent Pub. 2011/0230275, hereinafter Hicks).
Regarding claim 7, Hicks discloses a putter fitting kit (golf putter fitting system, Figs. 1-15; ¶ 68) comprising: a first putter head (head unit 7 including head member 17, ¶¶ 68-69); a first shaft lower section (shaft 61, ¶ 84; shown as shaft 131 in Figs. 31-33) coupled to the first putter head (17); and a set of grip assemblies (grip unit 63, Figs. 1 and 9-11; shown as grip unit 130 in Figs. 31-33) comprising a first grip assembly (63/130) and a second grip assembly (“another grip unit (not shown), such as a mid size grip, over size grip or any other size or style of grip that the professional or golfer prefers to suit his or hers hand size,” ¶ 99). The first and second grip assemblies are understood to respectively include the same features, including: a first/second grip (73, Fig. 9; ¶ 87) inserted onto a first/second shaft upper section (bore 77, ¶ 88; e.g., the bore 77 being made of plastic constituting the respective shaft upper section, ¶ 102); a first/second adjustable clamp (collar 79 with locking member 75, ¶¶ 88-89; shown as clamping element 135 in Figs. 31-33, ¶ 99) coupled to a bottom end of the first/second shaft upper section and having an open configuration, in which the first/second adjustable clamp slidingly receives the first shaft lower section (“slideably mounted to the shaft 61 such as to be moveable axially therealong,” ¶ 88; “axially movable along the shaft to provide for adjustment,” ¶ 99), and a closed configuration in which the first/second adjustable clamp engages the first shaft lower section (“to lock the grip unit 63 in a desired position axially relative to the shaft 61,” ¶ 89; “to selectively clamp the grip unit 130 into place,” ¶ 99).
Regarding claim 8, Hicks further discloses the first putter head (7, 17) is releasably coupled to the first shaft lower section (61/131; “a shaft releasably connected to the head,” ¶ 13; “the shaft is removably securable to the head,” ¶ 14).
Regarding claim 10, Hicks further discloses the first grip comprises a different size or shape than the second grip (each grip being “a mid size grip, over size grip or any other size or style of grip that the professional or golfer prefers to suit his or hers hand size,” ¶ 99).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Solheim et al. (US Patent Pub. 2013/0109491, hereinafter Solheim) in view of Heim (US Patent No. 10,051,930, hereinafter Heim).
Regarding claim 1, Solheim discloses a putter-type golf club (e.g., club 100, Fig. 1, being “a ‘standard’ putter,” ¶ 61), comprising:
a putter head (120) having a toe and a heel (see Fig. 1);
a shaft (112, 124) including:
a shaft lower section (112) defining a shaft lower end (114, Fig. 2) coupled to the putter head (via hosel 122), the shaft lower section (112) having a toe-ward side, oriented toward the toe of the putter head, and a heel-ward side, oriented toward the heel of the putter head (Fig. 1);
a shaft upper section (124) separate from the shaft lower section (112) extending along a shaft upper section axis and sized to telescopically receive at least a portion of the shaft lower section (“second shaft 124 may be hollow and have a portion with a larger inner diameter than an outer diameter of a portion of the first shaft 112 to moveably accommodate the first shaft 112 therein,” ¶ 62), the shaft upper section (124) defining a shaft upper end (128, Fig. 2) opposite the shaft lower end (114);
a grip (132) attached to the shaft upper section (124) and having a grip outer surface defining a grip cross-sectional profile perpendicular to the shaft upper section axis (Fig. 1);
an adjustable clamp (Figs. 11-14; ¶¶ 69-75), including:
a shaft sleeve (138, Fig. 11, which “may be a separately manufactured part that is attached to the first end 126 of the second shaft 124,” ¶ 122), comprising:
a shaft sleeve top section coupled to and surrounding a bottom end of the shaft upper section (“attached to the first end 126 of the second shaft 124,” ¶ 122; the top section being the section that is attached to the second shaft 124), inherently defining a sleeve top section outer surface, a sleeve top section outer diameter, and a sleeve top section inner surface, defining a sleeve top section receptacle and having a sleeve top section inner surface diameter sized to receive at least a portion of the shaft lower section (as the shaft lower section 112 is inserted through the end portion 138 for telescopic adjustment into the shaft upper section 124, as shown in Fig. 12); and
a shaft sleeve bottom section (the section including slits 140 to be clamped to the first shaft 112, Fig. 12), inherently defining a sleeve bottom section outer surface, having a sleeve bottom section outer diameter, and a sleeve bottom section inner surface, defining a sleeve bottom section receptacle, the shaft sleeve bottom section being movable between a sleeve bottom open state (when locking mechanism 200 is unlocked), in which the sleeve bottom section inner surface has a first sleeve bottom section inner surface diameter sized to receive at least a portion of the shaft lower section (112), and a sleeve bottom closed state (when locking mechanism 200 is locked), in which the sleeve bottom section inner surface has a second sleeve bottom section inner surface diameter sized to frictionally engage the shaft lower section (when bolt 216 is advanced to compress the collar 202 of the locking mechanism 200, causing the leaves 142 of the shaft sleeve/end portion 138 to press against the shaft 112 “to frictionally lock the first shaft 112 to the second shaft 124,” ¶ 74);
wherein the sleeve top section receptacle fluidly communicates with the sleeve bottom section receptacle (so that the shaft lower section 112 can telescope within the shaft upper section 124 to adjust the length of the putter 100, ¶ 75);
a compression collar (202) operably coupled to the shaft sleeve bottom section (see Fig. 12), comprising:
a collar body (C-shaped section 204, ¶ 73) extending from a collar first end to a collar second end and surrounding a majority of the shaft sleeve bottom section (Fig. 12), the collar body (204) defining a collar body inner surface and a collar body outer surface (Figs. 12-13);
a first tab (flange 206) extending outwardly from the collar first end and defining a first tab aperture (212), the first tab (206) including a first tab free end defining a first tab cross-sectional profile perpendicular to the shaft upper section axis (Fig. 12); and
a second tab (flange 208) extending outwardly from the collar second end and spaced from the first tab (206), the second tab (208) defining a second tab aperture (214), axially aligned with the first tab aperture (212), and having a second tab free end defining a second tab cross-sectional profile perpendicular to the shaft upper section axis (Fig. 12);
wherein the compression collar (202) is movable between a released state, in which the first tab (206) is spaced from the second tab (208) by a first tab distance (at gap 210) and the collar body inner surface has a first collar diameter (“When the bolt 216 is loosened, the elastic restoring force of the collar 202 biases the collar 202 toward the generally uncompressed configuration of the collar 202 to widen the gap 210,” ¶ 75), and a compressed state, in which the first tab (206) is spaced from the second tab (208) by a second tab distance less than the first tab distance and the body collar inner surface has a second collar diameter less than the first collar diameter (“Moving the flanges 206 and 208 toward each other shrinks the gap 210, thereby compressing the collar 202 to reduce the inner diameter of the collar 202,” ¶ 74), and the collar body (204) compresses the shaft sleeve bottom section to the sleeve bottom closed state when the compression collar (202) is in the compressed state (“Compressing the collar 202 causes the leaves 142 to press against the first shaft 112 (i.e., moves the leaves 142 toward the center axis 144) to frictionally lock the first shaft 112 to the second shaft 124,” ¶ 74); and
a lever (“an arm having a cam at one end that causes the collar to compress when the arm is rotated from an open position to a closed position,” ¶ 124) coupled to the compression collar (202), comprising:
a cam section (“a cam at one end,” ¶ 124) movable between a disengaged state (“open position,” ¶ 124) and an engaged state (“closed position,” ¶ 124); and
a clasp section (“an arm” which “may be lockable to the collar 202 in the closed position of the arm,” ¶ 124) coupled to the cam section;
wherein the lever is selectively rotatable to move the cam section between the disengaged state and engaged state (“the arm is rotated from an open position to a closed position,” ¶ 124).
Solheim does not teach that the sleeve bottom section outer diameter is smaller than the sleeve top section outer diameter. Additionally, with respect to the lever, Solheim does not explicitly disclose that the cam section is positioned adjacent the second tab and includes a clasp base extending relatively linearly from the cam section and a clasp free end extending relatively arcuately from the clasp base, with the clasp section outer surface oriented toward the toe-ward side of the shaft lower section and the first and second tabs oriented toward the heel-ward side of the shaft lower section, with the grip cross-sectional profile obscuring most of the clasp cross-sectional profile, first tab cross-sectional profile, and second tab cross-sectional profile.
However, to solve the problem of adjusting the length of a pole, Heim teaches a similar adjustable clamp (Figs. 1-4) comprising a shaft sleeve (plastics material sleeve 5; col. 10:45-11:17) comprising a shaft sleeve top section (solid portion of tube sleeve 34, Fig. 4) coupled to and surrounding one end of a first larger-diameter shaft section (outside tube portion 2, Fig. 3b), and a shaft sleeve bottom section (tapered portion 20 of sleeve 34, Fig. 4) defining a sleeve bottom section outer surface having a sleeve bottom section outer diameter that is smaller than the sleeve top section outer diameter (see Figs. 3-b and 4), a compression collar (clamping clip 16) comprising a first and second tabs (projections 14, 13), and a lever (clamping lever 4) coupled to the compression collar (16).
Heim teaches the lever (4) comprises:
a cam section (roll-off region 8, col. 11:39-46) positioned adjacent the second tab (13) of the compression collar (16) and defining an inner cam surface movable between a disengaged state in which the inner cam surface is in an initial position relative to the second tab (13) of the compression collar (16) with the compression collar in a released state, and an engaged state in which the inner cam surface moves the first tab (14) radially inwardly to place the compression collar (16) in the compressed state (col. 11:39-46); and
a clasp section (arm of lever 4) coupled to the cam section (8) and including a clasp base extending relatively linearly from the cam section (most clearly shown in Figs. 2a and 4), and clasp free end (tip 9a, Figs. 2a and 2d) extending relatively arcuately from the clasp base (see Figs. 2a and 4), wherein the clasp section defines a clasp section inner surface, closely overlying the collar body outer surface (at portion of collar body adjacent to projection 13), and a clasp section outer surface defining a clasp cross-sectional profile perpendicular to the shaft upper section axis (see Figs. 1a-b);
wherein the first larger-diameter shaft section (2) is oriented relative to the second smaller-diameter shaft section (3) so that the clasp section outer surface is oriented toward one side of the second smaller-diameter section (3), and the first and second tabs (14, 15) of the compression collar are oriented toward an opposite side of the second smaller-diameter shaft section (see, e.g., Fig. 1b); and
wherein the clasp section of the lever (4) and the first and second tabs (14, 15) of the compression collar (16) are sized to create “a harmonious transition of the overall contour” (col. 11:59-67).
Heim teaches that this construction results in an improved clamping force, easy release, and a slim profile of the adjustable clamp (col. 2:3-16).
Considering the disclosures of Solheim and Heim, the examiner finds that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Solheim by configuring the sleeve bottom section outer diameter to be smaller than the sleeve top section outer diameter and positioning the cam section adjacent the second tab with a clasp base extending relatively linearly from the cam section and a clasp free end extending relatively arcuately from the clasp base, as taught by Heim, in order to provide a secure clamping force while permitting easy release and contributing to a harmonious overall contour of the adjustable-length putter.
Regarding the toe-ward orientation of the clasp section outer surface and the heel-ward orientation of the tabs, the examiner notes that the adjustable clamp (200) of Solheim is inherently capable of being oriented with the tabs (206, 208) oriented toward the heel-ward side of the shaft lower section, and Heim teaches the clasp section outer surface being oriented opposite the first and second tabs, as noted above. Moreover, considering Solheim’s disclosure that the grip may have a circular cross-section (¶ 129), one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that orienting the tabs (206, 208) of Solheim toward the heel-ward side of the shaft lower section would have little to no impact on the functionality of the putter (since the circular grip is rotationally symmetrical and would function the same regardless of the direction in which the tabs 206, 208 are oriented). Therefore, the examiner concludes that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (or simply to a user of the putter) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the removable clamp of the modified Solheim to the shaft lower section with the tabs (206, 208) oriented toward the heel-ward side of the shaft lower section, with the clasp section outer surface being consequently oriented toward the opposite toe-ward side of the shaft lower section, as a simple matter of convenience or personal preference.
Regarding the obscuring relationship of the grip cross-sectional profile to the clasp cross-sectional profile, first tab cross-sectional profile, and second tab cross-sectional profile, the examiner notes that Heim teaches a compact configuration of the adjustable clamp “in as thin a manner as possible, i.e. with regard to the axial and circumferential extension” (col. 2:13-16) to yield “a harmonious transition of the overall contour” (col. 11:66-67), as noted above. Additionally, Solheim teaches a tapered grip (see Fig. 1) with a grip cross-sectional profile that, when viewed from the top of the putter, would appear to obscure most of the adjustable clamp, since the diameter of the grip is larger at the top. Therefore, the examiner concludes that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, when modifying Solheim in view of Heim as discussed above, to size the clasp section and the first and second tabs so that the grip cross-sectional profile (e.g., the largest diameter profile at the top of the grip, Fig. 1) obscures most of the clasp cross-sectional profile, first tab cross-sectional profile, and second tab cross-sectional profile (e.g., when viewed from a top end of the putter), in order to achieve a harmonious transition of the overall contour of the putter.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Solheim teaches the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1. Considering the larger grip cross-sectional profile at the top end of Solheim’s grip (Fig. 1) and the recessed configuration of the clasp section taught by Heim (see Heim, Figs. 1a-b), as discussed above, the examiner concludes that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, when modifying Solheim in view of Heim as discussed above, to size the clasp section so that the grip cross-sectional profile obscures an entirety of the clasp cross-sectional profile (e.g., when viewed from a top end of the putter), in order to achieve a harmonious transition of the overall contour of the putter.
Regarding claim 5, the modified Solheim teaches the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1. Heim further teaches the clasp free end (9a, Figs. 2a-b and d) of the lever (4) includes a finger tab (tip 9a with gripping knobs 9b, Fig. 2d) that angles radially outwardly (“outwardly bulging,” col. 11:64-66) to create a finger tip gap between the clasp free end (9a) and the collar body outer surface (see Figs. 1a-b and 2d; “as a result of the bulging at the tip together with the gripping knobs, the lever is … easily able to be grasped and pivoted up with a finger,” col. 12:1-3).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Solheim teaches the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1. Heim further teaches the clasp free end (9a, Figs. 2a-b and d) comprises a tapered clasp free end (“tapering lightly toward its tip,” col. 11:62-64) that more closely conforms to the collar body outer surface (e.g., more closely than if it were not tapered; or more closely than the clasp base).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Solheim in view of Heim, in further view of Lenhart et al. (US Patent No. 8,496,018, hereinafter Lenhart).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, the modified Solheim teaches the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1. Solheim and Hicks do not teach first and second indents of the collar body outer surface in which the inner cam surface is at least partially harbored. However, Lenhart teaches a similar adjustable clamp (Fig. 6) comprising a lever (lever 4) having a cam section (rolling region 8), and a compression collar (sleeve 5) having a collar body outer surface including first and second indents (encircling depression 25 divided into two indents by elevation 50; col. 12:30-34), wherein an inner cam surface of the cam section (8) is at least partially harbored in the first and second indents (see Figs. 6d-f, k-l, m-n, and p) (claim 3); wherein the inner cam surface comprises first and second cam projections (see Figs. 6i and 6l) sized to harbor within the first and second indents (i.e., within depression 25 on either side of elevation 50), and first and second recesses (where rolling portion 8 transitions to the lever arm, see Fig. 6l; compare to Applicant’s recesses 291 in Fig. 20) adjacent the first and second cam projections, respectively (claim 4). Lenhart teaches that this configuration helps to better define the closed position (col. 12:30-34). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the invention of Solheim by configuring the collar body outer surface to include first and second indents harboring first and second cam projections of the inner cam surface, adjacent to first and second recesses, as taught by Lenhart, in order to better define the closed position of the adjustable clamp.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hicks in view of Brady (US Patent Pub. 2014/0187342, hereinafter Brady).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Hicks teaches the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 7. Hicks does not explicitly disclose a second putter head. However, Brady discloses a putter fitting kit (¶¶ 10, 143) comprising first and second putter heads (“various putter head styles,” ¶ 143) configured to be releasably coupled to a shaft (“a small number of shafts can be shared across the various putter head styles,” ¶ 143). Brady teaches that “being able to snap in any head to any shaft handle combination allows significant reduction in the number of clubs required in a fitting kit” (¶ 143). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hicks by adding a second putter head as suggested by Brady that is configured to be releasably coupled to the first shaft lower section, so that different styles of putter heads can be coupled to the shaft for fitting the putter.
Claims 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hicks in view of Heim.
Regarding claim 11, the modified Hicks teaches the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 7. Hicks does not teach that the first adjustable clamp includes the claimed combination of a compression collar, a screw, a lever, a shaft sleeve, and a receiver pin. However, to solve the problem of adjusting the length of a pole, Heim teaches an adjustable clamp (Figs. 1-4) comprising a compression collar (clamping clip 16), a screw (stop 12; “the stop is realized as a nut or screw,” col. 7:21), a lever (clamping lever 4), a shaft sleeve (plastics material sleeve 5; col. 10:45-11:17), and a receiver pin (cross pin 11). Heim teaches that this construction results in an improved clamping force while permitting easy release and maintaining a slim exterior profile (col. 2:3-16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first adjustable clamp of Hicks to include a compression collar, a screw, a lever, a shaft sleeve, and a receiver pin, as taught by Heim, in order to provide a secure clamping force while permitting easy release and contributing to a harmonious overall contour of the adjustable-length putter.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, the modified Hicks teaches the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 11. With regard to the compression collar, Heim further teaches a collar body (16, Fig. 4) extending from a collar first end (adjacent to projection 13) to a collar second end (adjacent to projection 14), a collar body inner surface, and a collar body outer surface (see Fig. 4) (claim 12); wherein the compression collar can be moved between a released state and a compressed state (by operation of lever 4) (claim 13).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, the modified Hicks teaches the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 11. With regard to the shaft sleeve, Heim further teaches a shaft sleeve top section (solid portion of tube sleeve 34, Fig. 4) having a sleeve top section outer surface and a sleeve top section outer diameter, and a sleeve top section inner surface having a sleeve top section receptacle and a sleeve top section inner surface diameter (see Figs. 3-4) (claim 14); and a shaft sleeve bottom section (tapered portion 20 of sleeve 34, Fig. 4) having a sleeve bottom section outer surface and a sleeve bottom section outer diameter that is smaller than the sleeve top section outer diameter (see Figs. 3-b and 4), and a sleeve bottom section inner surface having a sleeve bottom section receptacle (see Figs. 3-4) (claim 15).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, the modified Hicks teaches the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 11 (and/or claim 14 if claim 17 is interpreted as depending from claim 14). With regard to the lever, Heim further teaches a clasp free end (9a, Figs. 2a-b and d) that includes a finger tab (tip 9a with gripping knobs 9b, Fig. 2d) that angles radially outwardly (“outwardly bulging,” col. 11:64-66) to create a finger tip gap between the clasp free end (9a) and a collar body outer surface (see Figs. 1a-b and 2d) (claim 16); wherein the finger tip gap better enables a user to grasp and rotate the lever (“as a result of the bulging at the tip together with the gripping knobs, the lever is … easily able to be grasped and pivoted up with a finger,” col. 12:1-3) (claim 17).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bouchet-Lassale (US Patent No. 5,299,802) discloses a removable golf club grip comprising an adjustable clamp with a lever having an angled finger tab.
/Laura Davison/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3993