Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
2. Claims 4, 7-8, 10-18, 21 and 23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 5-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,260,027 B2.
Instant application,
Claims # 4, 7-8, 10-18, 21 and 23
U.S. Patent No. 12,260,027 B2,
Claims # 1-3 and 5-12
4. (New) A method whereby a typed character is rendered and settled, the method comprising: providing a user-interface wherein the user-interface comprises a display and at least one of a keyboard and a touchscreen; activating a feature of the user-interface to provide a first symbol on the display, wherein the first symbol comprises at least one of a character and a glyph; providing a plurality of options, the plurality of options each comprising a second symbol to which the first symbol may be converted; and performing a second activity to at least one of settle the first symbol and convert the first symbol to the second symbol; wherein the second activity comprises at least one of a keystroke, a click of a mouse, and saving a file.
7. (New) The method of claim 4, wherein the character comprises an Ethiopic character.
8. (New) The method of claim 4, wherein the user-interface comprises a QWERTY keyboard.
10. (New) The method of claim 4, further comprising: activating the feature of the user-interface to create at least one of a second character and a second glyph; and performing a third activity different from the second activity to modify the at least one of a second character and a second glyph; wherein the third activity renders and settles the at least one of a second character and a second glyph.
11. (New) The method of claim 10, wherein the third activity to modify the at least one of a second character and a second glyph occurs independent of a timer.
12. (New) The method of claim 4, wherein the user-interface further comprises a mouse.
13. (New) The method of claim 12, wherein one of the plurality of options on the display is selected by operating the mouse to convert the first symbol to the second symbol.
14. (New) The method of claim 4, wherein the plurality of options on the display comprises a first set of symbols and a second set of symbols; wherein the first set of symbols comprises characters with corresponding keys provided on the at least one of a keyboard; wherein the second set of symbols comprises characters that are not represented on the at least one of a keyboard.
15. (New) The method of claim 14, wherein a keystroke corresponding to one of the first set of symbols settles a symbol from the second set of symbols.
16. (New) The method of claim 14, wherein the first set of symbols comprise characters of a first language and the second set of symbols comprise characters of a second language.
17. (New) The method of claim 14, wherein one symbol of the second set of symbols is settled by at least one of: typing a key corresponding to one symbol of the first set of symbols, and clicking on a symbol of the second set of symbols using a mouse or a touchscreen.
18. (New) A method whereby a typed character is rendered and settled, the method comprising: providing a user-interface comprising a display and at least one of a keyboard and a touchscreen; activating a feature of the user-interface to provide a first symbol on the display; providing a plurality of options, the plurality of options each comprising a second symbol to which the first symbol may be converted; and performing a second activity to convert the first symbol to the second symbol; wherein the second activity comprises at least one of a keystroke, a click of a mouse, and saving a file.
21. (New) The method of claim 18, wherein the user-interface comprises a touchscreen.
23. (New) The method of claim 18, wherein the plurality of options on the display comprises a first set of symbols and a second set of symbols; wherein the first set of symbols comprises characters with corresponding keys provided on the at least one of a keyboard; wherein the second set of symbols comprises characters that are not represented on the at least one of a keyboard.
1. A method whereby a typed glyph is rendered and settled, the method comprising: providing a user-interface wherein the user-interface comprises a display and at least one of a keyboard and a touchscreen; activating a feature of the user-interface to render a first symbol on the display without settling the first symbol, wherein the first symbol comprises at least one of a character and a glyph; providing a plurality of options on the display, the plurality of options each comprising a second symbol to which the first symbol may be converted; and performing a second activity to at least one of settle the first symbol and convert the first symbol to the second symbol; wherein the second activity comprises at least one of a keystroke, a click of a mouse, and saving a file.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one of a character and a glyph comprises an Ethiopic character.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the user-interface comprises a QWERTY keyboard.
5. The method of claim 1, further comprising: activating the feature of the user-interface to create at least one of a second character and a second glyph; performing a third activity different from the second activity to modify the at least one of a second character and a second glyph; and wherein the third activity renders and settles the at least one of a second character and a second glyph.
6. The method of claim 5, wherein the third activity to modify that at least one of a second character and a second glyph occurs independent of a timer.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the user-interface further comprises a mouse.
8. The method of claim 7, wherein one of the plurality of options on the display is selected by operating the mouse to convert the first symbol to the second symbol.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of options on the display comprises a first set of symbols and a second set of symbols; wherein the first set of symbols comprises characters with corresponding keys provided on the at least one of a keyboard; wherein the second set of symbols comprises characters that are not represented on the at least one of a keyboard.
10. The method of claim 9, wherein a keystroke corresponding to one of the first set of symbols settles a symbol from the second set of symbols.
11. The method of claim 9, wherein the first set of symbols comprise characters of a first language and the second set of symbols comprise characters of a second language.
12. The method of claim 9, wherein one symbol of the second set of symbols is settled by at least one of: typing a key corresponding to one symbol of the first set of symbols, and clicking on a symbol of the second set of symbols using a mouse or a touchscreen.
A method whereby a typed glyph is rendered and settled, the method comprising: providing a user-interface wherein the user-interface comprises a display and at least one of a keyboard and a touchscreen; activating a feature of the user-interface to render a first symbol on the display without settling the first symbol, wherein the first symbol comprises at least one of a character and a glyph; providing a plurality of options on the display, the plurality of options each comprising a second symbol to which the first symbol may be converted; and performing a second activity to at least one of settle the first symbol and convert the first symbol to the second symbol; wherein the second activity comprises at least one of a keystroke, a click of a mouse, and saving a file.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of options on the display comprises a first set of symbols and a second set of symbols; wherein the first set of symbols comprises characters with corresponding keys provided on the at least one of a keyboard; wherein the second set of symbols comprises characters that are not represented on the at least one of a keyboard.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because limitations in claims 4, 7-8, 10-18, 21 and 23 of the instant application read on claims 1-3 and 5-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,260,027 B2. The claimed limitations recited in the present application are transparently found in U.S. Patent No. 12,260,027 B2 with obvious wording variations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 4-5, 12-13, 18-19, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ohara et al. (US 2003/0017873 A1, hereinafter referred as “Ohara”).
Regarding claim 4, Ohara discloses a method whereby a typed character is rendered and settled (¶0025-¶0026 discloses the character input method according to one aspect of the present invention comprises indicating a first character; displaying a window with a selectable second character arranged around the first character), the method comprising:
providing a user-interface wherein the user-interface comprises a display and at least one of a keyboard and a touchscreen (¶0028 and ¶0193 discloses a software keyboard is displayed on the screen; the first character is indicated on the software keyboard; and the window is displayed on the key of the first character on the software keyboard);
activating a feature of the user-interface to provide a first symbol on the display, wherein the first symbol comprises at least one of a character and a glyph (¶0025 and ¶0028 discloses the first character is indicated on the software keyboard; and the window is displayed on the key of the first character on the software keyboard);
providing a plurality of options, the plurality of options each comprising a second symbol to which the first symbol may be converted (¶0027 and ¶0187 discloses it is possible that the window is a cross-shaped window with the first character located at the center; and the second character is selected by indicating a direction originating at the first character); and
performing a second activity to at least one of settle the first symbol and convert the first symbol to the second symbol (¶0030 and ¶0188 discloses the window is displayed by starting operation of prescribed operation means, and the selected character is decided by finishing the operation of the prescribed operation means); and
wherein the second activity comprises at least one of a keystroke (claim 21 and ¶0188 discloses when a figure button is pressed and then is continuously pressed, the cross-shaped window is displayed on the screen, and the associated characters are displayed in the cross-shaped window. A character is selected out of the associated characters by using the direction key), a click of a mouse, and saving a file.
Regarding claim 5, Ohara discloses method of claim 4, wherein the second activity comprises a keystroke selected from a predetermined subset of keys on the at least one of a keyboard and a touchscreen (claim 21 and ¶0188 discloses when a figure button is pressed and then is continuously pressed, the cross-shaped window is displayed on the screen, and the associated characters are displayed in the cross-shaped window. A character is selected out of the associated characters by using the direction key).
Regarding claim 12, Ohara discloses method of claim 4, wherein the user-interface further comprises a mouse (¶0061 discloses information processing systems 10 are, e.g., personal computers and computer game apparatuses, and each includes a control unit provided by a CPU, a display, such as a CRT display, a liquid crystal display or others, and an input device, such as a keyboard, a mouse or others).
Regarding claim 13, Ohara discloses method of claim 12, wherein one of the plurality of options on the display is selected by operating the mouse to convert the first symbol to the second symbol (¶0176 discloses the software keyboard is a keyboard, as shown in FIG. 15A, having a keyboard 100 displayed on the screen, which permits characters to be inputted by clicking the keys or operational inputs of the keys).
Regarding claim 18, Ohara discloses a method whereby a typed character is rendered and settled (¶0025-¶0026 discloses the character input method according to one aspect of the present invention comprises indicating a first character; displaying a window with a selectable second character arranged around the first character), the method comprising:
providing a user-interface comprising a display and at least one of a keyboard and a touchscreen (¶0028 and ¶0193 discloses a software keyboard is displayed on the screen; the first character is indicated on the software keyboard; and the window is displayed on the key of the first character on the software keyboard);
activating a feature of the user-interface to provide a first symbol on the display (¶0025 and ¶0028 discloses the first character is indicated on the software keyboard; and the window is displayed on the key of the first character on the software keyboard);
providing a plurality of options, the plurality of options each comprising a second symbol to which the first symbol may be converted (¶0027 and ¶0187 discloses it is possible that the window is a cross-shaped window with the first character located at the center; and the second character is selected by indicating a direction originating at the first character); and
performing a second activity to convert the first symbol to the second symbol (¶0030 and ¶0188 discloses the window is displayed by starting operation of prescribed operation means, and the selected character is decided by finishing the operation of the prescribed operation means);
wherein the second activity comprises at least one of a keystroke (claim 21 and ¶0188 discloses when a figure button is pressed and then is continuously pressed, the cross-shaped window is displayed on the screen, and the associated characters are displayed in the cross-shaped window. A character is selected out of the associated characters by using the direction key), a click of a mouse, and saving a file.
Regarding claim(s) 19, this/these method claim(s) has/have similar limitations as method claim(s) 5, and therefore rejected on similar grounds.
Regarding claim 21, Ohara discloses method of claim 18, wherein the user-interface comprises a touchscreen (¶0193 discloses in the character input in PDA, a software keyboard 142 is displayed on a screen 140, and a pen 146 touches characters on the software keyboard 142 to input the characters.).
Regarding claim 22, Ohara discloses method of claim 21, wherein the at least one of a keyboard and a touchscreen comprises a keyboard displayed on the touchscreen (Fig. 15a and ¶0176 discloses having a keyboard 100 displayed on the screen, which permits characters to be inputted by clicking the keys or operational inputs of the keys; and ¶0193 discloses in the character input in PDA, a software keyboard 142 is displayed on a screen 140, and a pen 146 touches characters on the software keyboard 142 to input the characters).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 6-8 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohara in view of Molla (US 2015/0212592 A1, hereinafter referred as “Molla”).
Regarding claim 6, Ohara doesn’t disclose the method of claim 5, wherein the predetermined subset of keys comprises a set of vowel keys.
However, in the same field, Molla discloses wherein the predetermined subset of keys comprises a set of vowel keys (¶0048 discloses depending on which vowel key is received as the second keystroke, a particular Ethiopic character belonging to a particular order will be rendered. As the Ethiopic characters are themselves naturally grouped as vowel expansions, pairing keys to the vowel keys provides an advantageous and intuitive mapping for at least those who are familiar with both the Ethiopic and Latin characters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ohara for the purpose of using a keyboard that is native to a user’s language.
Regarding claim 7, Ohara doesn’t disclose the method of claim 4, wherein the character comprises an Ethiopic character.
However, in the same field, Molla discloses wherein the character comprises an Ethiopic character (¶0041 discloses embodiments of the present invention are used to enter Ethiopic character).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ohara for the purpose of using a keyboard that is native to a user’s language.
Regarding claim 8, Ohara doesn’t disclose the method of claim 4, wherein the user-interface comprises a QWERTY keyboard.
However, in the same field, Molla discloses wherein the user-interface comprises a QWERTY keyboard (¶0048 discloses this arrangement is particularly advantageous in mapping from a QWERTY keyboard 116 input to Ethiopic characters, which include groupings of characters that are related phonetically).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ohara for the purpose of include groupings of characters that are related phonetically (¶0048).
Regarding claim(s) 20, this/these method claim(s) has/have similar limitations as method claim(s) 6, and therefore rejected on similar grounds.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 9-11, 14-17 and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PRIYANK J SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626