DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Objections
The claims objected to because of the following informalities: the claims both use a dash between a letter and “cell” (e.g. T-cells in claim 8) and do not use a dash (e.g. B cell in claim 7). The formatting of the claims should be consistent and so appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, these claims depend from claim 10, but 19 is identical with claim 10 and claim 20 is identical with claim 12, all of which ultimately depend from claim 1 creating an indefiniteness issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wasson (US 2021/0052882).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Wasson discloses a method of inserting an instrument with an energy delivery body into a patient adjacent to tissue ([0056]) and delivering a pulsed electric field comprising packets of biphasic pulses (fig. 1B) that produce an increase in systemic immune cells as part of a systemic immune response ([0018], see also [0026]). This method also results in immune cells entering the tumor, at least because using the body’s own immune system to kill tumor cells is included in the definition of “immunotherapy” ([0125], but note also that removing elements like MDSC allow the immune system to better function to eliminate tumor cells, [0159], [0163]).
Claims 1, 2, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Davalos (US 2019/0282294).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 12 and 14, Davalos discloses a method of inserting an instrument with an energy delivery body into a patient adjacent to tissue ([0006]) and delivering a pulsed electric field comprising packets of biphasic pulses (e.g. fig. 26) to affect target tissue in a manner that elicits an increase in CD4 helper cells (fig. 9) and CD8 cytotoxic T-cells ([0145]), among other structures (including CD3 T-cells [0010]-[0011], lymphocytes in general which is understood to include B-cells [0143], [0147], and M1 macrophages [0142]) both systematically ([0024], see also [0118] and [0138]) and within a tumor ([0022], fig. 14). It is noted that these citations have been provided as exemplary, but the entire disclosure by Davalos being directed to using a pulse field ablation method for improving immune response is relevant to the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 11, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wasson.
Regarding claims 10, 11, 19 and 20, Wasson does not expressly teach the specific values for an “inter-cycle delay” and an “inter-packet delay.” However, Wasson does disclose that ranges for an inter-cycle delay can be between 0.1 microsecond to 1 second (“inter-pulse delay,” [0124]) and the inter-packet delay can be between 1-30 seconds (“inter-burst delay,” fig. 1b, [0063]). Therefore, before the application was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose appropriate pulse electric field parameters, including 1000 microsecond inter-cycle delay and a 3 second inter-packet delay such as taught by Wasson that would produce the predictable result of treating tissue in a desired manner.
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davalos in view of Guo (US 2018/0154142).
Regarding claims 2-5, Davalos does not specifically discuss memory CD4/8 cells or by how much those cells are increased by the pulsed electric field. However, increasing memory CD4/8 cells by at least double is known in the art as a function of pulsed electric field generation such as taught by Guo (fig. 13A-B, [0202]-[0203]). Therefore, before the application was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Davalos to increase memory CD8 cells by at least double as taught by Guo to produce the predictable result of treating tumor cells in a desired manner.
Claims 3, 6-9, 13 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davalos.
Regarding claims 3, 6-9, 13 and 15-18, these claims all recite that one of the disclosed substances (CD4 helper cells, B-cells, CD 8 cytotoxic T-cells, etc.) increases by an open-ended range. The claims do not recite any details of how these increases are achieved (for example, 10-fold to infinity increase in B-cells as in claim 18) and the specification poorly associates these specific values with operational parameters raising material questions about (a) the degree to which a person of ordinary skill in the art would be able to produce these results based on the disclosure and (b) whether these values are in fact supported by the specification. To give just one of many examples, the specification stating a range of “folds” for B-cells from 2-20 “to name a few” ([00436]) does not inspire confidence that “at least 10” is an unexpected result (within the meaning of MPEP 716.02(a), relative to the increase in immune response disclosed in the prior art) or that the higher values claimed are supported. This does not even account for the fact that the prior art (with the references cited in the parent application, US 18/792,495, including Wasson, in view) discloses ranges of electrical parameters that at least overlap substantially with the disclosed (but for the most part unclaimed) ranges, where there is no evidence that operating a system within these ranges would not necessarily produce the same results in tissue whether a user is aware or not (which ignores the fact that the prior art is clearly aware of the relationship between pulsed electric fields and immune response and would therefore be motivated to attempt to achieve a particular result). However, at least for the time being, the claims are being interpreted extremely broadly to fall within the level of ordinary skill in the art in view of the cited references. That is, that the level of ordinary skill in the art as demonstrated by Davalos would understand that beneficial immune-system components can be increased as much as desired using commonly known pulsed electric filed parameters, such that the claims are both enabled and supported in the written description. Therefore, before the application was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Davalos to produce a desired amount of any beneficial immune components recognized to be (a) increased using pulsed electric fields (b) useful to treating tumor cells, including any increase in CD4 helper cells, B-cells, CD8 cytotoxic T-cells, CD3 T-cells and M1 macrophage cells such as taught by Davalos, including 2-fold or 10-fold or more, to produce the predictable result of treating tumor cells.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Waldstreicher (US 2021/0236816) discloses a pulsed electric field method that operates at the claimed delays ([0431]-[0434]) and teaches an immune response to pulsed electric fields ([0386]). It is noted that Waldstreicher has an unclear relationship to the pending application, sharing an inventor (William Sanford Krimsky) but having a different applicant and inventive entity.
/DANIEL W FOWLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794