DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The Instant Application filed, 03/22/2025, claims foreign priority to DKPA202470132, filed 05/02/2024 and claims foreign priority to EP24173624.8, filed 04/30/2024. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 10-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Circosta et al. (2023/0396658).
As per claim 1, Circosta et al. teaches a method of controlling a conference between a first communication device and a second communication device, the method comprising:
setting up the conference with associated conference requirements [paragraph 0021];
receiving a participation request to participate in the conference from the second communication device, the participation request comprising a device configuration [paragraph 0014];
determining whether the device configuration satisfies the conference requirements [paragraph 0041]; and
including the second communication device in the conference if the device configuration satisfies the conference requirements [paragraph 0048].
As per claim 2, Circosta et al. teaches the method of claim 1, comprising rejecting the participation request if the device configuration does not satisfy the conference requirements [paragraph 0049].
As per claim 3, Circosta et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the act of setting up a conference with associated conference requirements comprises transmitting a conference invitation comprising the conference requirements [paragraph 0056].
As per claim 8, Circosta et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the conference requirements comprise communication device requirements for participating in the conference, and wherein the act of determining whether the device configuration satisfies the conference requirements comprises determining whether a communication device parameter of the device configuration satisfies the communication device requirements [paragraph 0037].
As per claim 10, Circosta et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the device configuration is indicative of one or more devices associated with a participant for the conference [paragraph 0034].
As per claim 11, Circosta et al. teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the one or more devices comprise the second communication device [paragraph 0044].
As per claim 13, Circosta et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the device configuration comprises a digital signature [paragraph 0052].
As per claim 14, Circosta et al. teaches an electronic device comprising an interface, memory circuitry, and processor circuitry, the processor circuitry configured to perform the method of claim 1 [paragraph 0033].
As per claim 15, Circosta et al. teaches the electronic device of claim 14, wherein the electronic device is a communication device [paragraph 0028].
Claims 16-20 have similar limitations as to the rejected claims above therefore they are being rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Circosta et al. (2023/0396658) in view of Jensen (2024/0137464).
As per claim 4, Circosta et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1 as above but fails to explicitly teach, however, Jensen in the same field of endeavor teaches, wherein the conference requirements comprise audio device requirements for participating in the conference, and wherein the act of determining whether the device configuration satisfies the conference requirements comprises determining whether an audio device parameter of the device configuration satisfies the audio device requirements [Jensen, paragraphs 0083-0084].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Circosta et al. with Jensen in order to ensure a client device operates in a compliant manner when the client device executes virtual conference client software and attempts to connect to a virtual conference provider.
As per claim 5, Circosta-Jensen teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the audio device requirements comprise audio device type requirements indicative of a required audio device type, and wherein the act of determining whether the device configuration satisfies the conference requirements comprises determining whether an audio device type parameter of the device configuration satisfies the audio device type requirements [Jensen, paragraphs 0083-0084].
As per claim 6, Circosta-Jensen teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the conference requirements comprise video device requirements for participating in the conference, and wherein the act of comprises determining whether a video device parameter of the device configuration satisfies the video device requirements [Jensen, paragraph 0086].
As per claim 7, Circosta-Jensen teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the video device requirements comprise video device type requirements indicative of a required video device type, and wherein the act of determining whether the device configuration satisfies the conference requirements comprises determining whether a video device type parameter of the device configuration satisfies the video device type requirements [Jensen, paragraph 0086].
As per claim 9, Circosta-Jensen teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the communication device requirements comprise communication device type requirements indicative of a required communication device type, and wherein the act of determining whether the device configuration satisfies the conference requirements comprises determining whether a communication device type parameter of the device configuration satisfies the communication device type requirements [Jensen, paragraph 0084].
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Circosta et al. (2023/0396658) in view of Lyons (2023/0030230).
As per claim 12, Circosta et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1 as above but fails to explicitly teach, however, Lyons in the same field of endeavor teaches, wherein the device configuration comprises a message authentication code [Lyons, paragraph 0086].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Circosta et al. with Lyons in order to provide a device management system that detects an attempt to access a user account by an unenrolled device.
There are prior art made of record not relied upon but is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached.
Conclusion
Ranodhi N. Serrao
/RANODHI SERRAO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444