DETAILED ACTION
Claims filed: 03-22-2025
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/22/2025 was filed after the mailing date of 03/22/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 recites “…. is connected . . . . in a magnetic suction manner.”, which is vague and requires clarification, based on Applicant’s specification, see para 46.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 4, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US Publication) 20050047616 A1 in view of Park (US Publication) 20250287144 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a display component (In Fig 2, there is a flat panel monitor [22] is used to display an image and panel monitors are used for video display [para 4].);
a body, wherein a front panel (Fig 2 [22], monitor panel, para 23) of the wall-mounted box body is provided with a rim region (Fig 1 [12, 14, 16, 18], the frame section: Top-Bottom-Left-Right, see para 23) and a display region (Fig 2 [22], flat panel monitor, see para 23 );
the display component is arranged in the display region (In Fig 3A, the frame sections are attached to the back support panel [20], which support the panel monitor [22], see para 24);
a speaker module (Fig 4 [26], speakers, para 26), wherein the speaker module is arranged inside the body (In Fig 4, the speaker sits withing a speaker volume [32], which is an enclosure [30] in the frame [12] section, see para 26), is provided in the rim region (In Fig 5, the speakers [26] are placed in a row configuration and are housed in frame [12] section, see para 27. Note: the speakers are housed in frame [16] section as well, see para 29);
and an mesh (Fig 4 [34], grill, para 26), wherein an area of the mesh is matched with an area of the rim region (The grill sits over the speaker portion, para 26. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the grille would provide coverage of the rim region [or frame sections] due to the grill residing over the speaker [para 26]; as seen in Fig 5, where the speakers [26] are within the frame [12, 16] sections [see para 27]);
and the mesh is detachably connected to the front panel of the body (In para 26, the grill is removable and replaceable).
Lee does not explicitly teach A wall-mounted audio device, a rear panel of the wall-mounted box body is provided with a wall connector; wall-mounted box and a sound outlet hole corresponding to the speaker module, a sound output end of the speaker module faces the sound outlet hole;
Park discloses a wall-mounted audio device (In Fig 1, the housing [10] has various electronic devices, including speakers (Fig 2 [31], para 69), and has a wall-mountable form, see para 52), comprising: a rear panel (In Fig 13, though not disclosed, the rear surface of the housing [10] is considered the rear panel, para 194) of the wall-mounted box body (In Fig 1, the housing [10] has a box-like shape and may be described differently as a box, see para 51. In Fig 13, the housing may be “hung up” on a structure such as a wall, partition, or the like, see para 193) is provided with a wall connector (In Fig 13, there is a hole for speaker to be mounted, see para 193. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the choice of which type of feature is chosen whether a built in or not does not change the nature of speaker being mounted.);
wall-mounted box and a sound outlet hole (Fig 6, [41], para 128) corresponding to the speaker module (In Fig 3, there is a first [41] and second [42] openings in the cover (Fig 6 [51] para 128) frame-like area nearest the speaker units [31, 32], see para 81)
a sound output end of the speaker module faces the sound outlet hole (In Fig 6, the opening is closest to the speaker unit [31], see para 128);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of a rear panel of the wall-mounted box body is provided with a wall connector; wall-mounted box and a sound outlet hole corresponding to the speaker module, a sound output end of the speaker module faces the sound outlet hole as taught by Park in Lee’s invention. The motivation would have been to generate an acoustic signal of various ranges of sound and may cover a low frequency to a high frequency. In para 4, in Park.
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches comprising a mesh bracket, wherein the mesh bracket is arranged between the mesh and the body (In Fig 4, the grill [34] is covered by a cloth or by a thin sheet of metal. The grill resides over the speaker [26], that is within the volume [32] of the frame [12], which is beside the body and mesh, see para 26);
the mesh (Fig 4 [34], grill, para 26) is detachably connected to the front panel (Fig 2 [22], panel monitor, para 23) of the wall-mounted box body through the mesh bracket (In Fig 2-3, the panel monitor is being directly supported by the support board [20] and the frame sections [12, 14, 16, 18], see para 23. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the mesh/grill being in contact with the panel. Also, the cloth cover on the grill is a mesh and like the grill is removable and replaceable [para 26].); the mesh bracket is provided with corresponding to the speaker module (Fig 4 [26], speakers, para 26).
Lee does not explicitly teach wall-mounted box and a sound transmission hole
Park discloses wall-mounted box (In Fig 1, the housing [10] has a box-like shape and may be described differently as a box, see para 51) and a sound transmission hole (Fig 6, [41], para 128)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of wall-mounted box and a sound transmission hole as taught by Park in Lee’s invention. The motivation would have been to generate an acoustic signal of various ranges of sound and may cover a low frequency to a high frequency. In para 4, in Park.
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches wherein two groups of speaker modules (Fig 4 [26], speakers, para 26) are provided, which are symmetrically distributed on left and right sides (In Fig 8, there a row configuration of speakers with the frame section [12, 16, 18], see para 31).
Claim 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US Publication) 20050047616 A1 in view of Park (US Publication) 20250287144 A1, in further view of Lee (US Publication) 20240080613 A1.
Regarding claim 2, Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the mesh is any one of cotton cloth cover, a silk cover, or a synthetic fiber cover.
Sungtae discloses wherein the mesh is any one of cotton cloth cover, a silk cover, or a synthetic fiber cover (In Fig 10, the mesh portion [282] may be composed of synthetic fiber, such as nylon, aramid, or natural fiber, see para 147).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of wherein the mesh is any one of cotton cloth cover, a silk cover, or a synthetic fiber cover as taught by Sungtae in Lee’s invention. The motivation would have been to have an air hole size for preventing the penetration of external particles and improving a sound pressure level characteristic. In para 148, in Sungtae.
Claim 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US Publication) 20050047616 A1 in view of Park (US Publication) 20250287144 A1, in further view of Torigoe (US Patent) 10863268 B1.
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches wherein the display component is (In Fig 3A, the frame sections are attached to the back support panel [20], which support the panel monitor [22], see para 24)
Lee does not explicitly teach any one of a liquid crystal display screen, a photo, an oil painting, an ink painting, a poster, calligraphy works, an image print, and an mesh printed with a customized pattern
Torigoe discloses any one of a liquid crystal display screen, a photo, an oil painting, an ink painting, a poster, calligraphy works, an image print, and an mesh printed with a customized pattern (In Fig 1, the display panel [105] may be a liquid crystal display (LCD) and other types of display, see Col 3 L25-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of any one of a liquid crystal display screen, a photo, an oil painting, an ink painting, a poster, calligraphy works, an image print, and an mesh printed with a customized pattern as taught by Torigoe in Lee’s invention. The motivation would have been to provide a interactive display system having audio generating and transmitting features to produce high-quality audio within a minimal housing space. In Col 2 L21-24, in Sungtae.
Claim 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US Publication) 20050047616 A1 in view of Park (US Publication) 20250287144 A1, in further view of Howard (US Publication) 20060177088 A1.
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches wherein the mesh bracket is connected to the front panel of the body (In Fig 2-3, the grill [34] is connected to the speaker [26] which is mounted to the frame [12]; and the panel monitor is being directly supported by the support board [20] and the frame sections [12, 14, 16, 18], see para 24, 26].
Lee does not explicitly teach in a magnetic suction manner.
Howard discloses in a magnetic suction manner (In Fig 3, the magnets [72] are mounted to the grill support [16] that is attached to the speaker [10], see para 36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of a magnetic suction manner as taught by Howard in Lee’s invention. The motivation would have been to overcome without resorting to expensive speaker architectures. In para 10, in Howard.
Lee does not explicitly teach the wall-mounted box
Park discloses the wall-mounted box (In Fig 1, the housing [10] has a box-like shape and may be describe differently as a box, see para 51)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of the wall-mounted box as taught by Park in Lee’s invention. The motivation would have been to generate an acoustic signal of various ranges of sound and may cover a low frequency to a high frequency. In para 4, in Park.
Claim 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US Publication) 20050047616 A1 in view of Park (US Publication) 20250287144 A1, in further view of Jones (US Publication) 20260143266 A1.
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches wherein the mesh bracket is connected to the front panel of the body (In Fig 2-3, the grill [34] is connected to the speaker [26] which is mounted to the frame [12]; and the panel monitor is being directly supported by the support board [20] and the frame sections [12, 14, 16, 18], see para 24, 26].
Lee does not explicitly teach a hook and loop fastener.
Jones discloses a hook and loop fastener (In Fig 5, the grille can be attached to the speaker housing [524] using fasteners, such as hook & loops, see para 73) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of a hook and loop fastener as taught by Howard in Lee’s invention. The motivation would have been to overcome without resorting to expensive speaker architectures. In para 10, in Howard.
Lee does not explicitly teach the wall-mounted box
Park discloses the wall-mounted box (In Fig 1, the housing [10] has a box-like shape and may be describe differently as a box, see para 51)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of the wall-mounted box as taught by Park in Lee’s invention. The motivation would have been to generate an acoustic signal of various ranges of sound and may cover a low frequency to a high frequency. In para 4, in Park.
Claim 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US Publication) 20050047616 A1 in view of Park (US Publication) 20250287144 A1, in further view of Au (US Publication) 20220232304 A1.
Regarding claim 7, Lee does not explicitly teach comprising a vibration isolation damping element, wherein the vibration isolation damping element is arranged at a joint between the speaker module and the wall-mounted box body.
Lee does not explicitly teach comprising a vibration isolation damping element, wherein the vibration isolation damping element is arranged at a joint between the speaker module and the wall-mounted box body
Au discloses comprising a vibration isolation damping element, wherein the vibration isolation damping element is arranged at a joint between the speaker module and body (In Fig 5, the gasket [126] is used to prevent vibrations of the outer enclosure [108] and intermediate structure [122], see para 43. The gasket is placed between the speaker [124] and the outer enclosure, see para 43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of comprising a vibration isolation damping element, wherein the vibration isolation damping element as taught by Ping-Yu in Lee’s invention. The motivation would have been to achieve vibration damping and vibration isolation during the operation of the loudspeaker. In para 44, in Ping-Yu.
Lee does not explicitly teach wall-mounted box
Park discloses wall-mounted box (In Fig 1, the housing [10] has a box-like shape and may be described differently as a box, see para 51)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of wall-mounted box as taught by Park in Lee’s invention. The motivation would have been to generate an acoustic signal of various ranges of sound and may cover a low frequency to a high frequency. In para 4, in Park.
Claim 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US Publication) 20050047616 A1 in view of Park (US Publication) 20250287144 A1, in further view of Fukuda (US Publication) 20020136423 A1.
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches wherein the speaker module (Fig 4 [26], speakers, para 26) comprises a speaker module housing (Fig 4 [30], speaker enclosure, para 26) and one or more transducers mounted on the speaker module housing (In Fig 4, there is a speaker [26] within a speaker enclosure with a volume [32], which is within the frame section [12], see para 26. In Fig 5, multiple speakers in a row configuration housed with the same frame section, see para 27. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the speaker housing is larger then what is shown and each speaker (or transducer) is mounted in the speaker enclosure (Fig 4 [30])); and the speaker module housing is provided with
Lee does not explicitly teach a bass enhancement port.
Fukuda discloses a bass enhancement port (In Fig 1 [29], bass reflex duct, see para 134)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of a bass enhancement port as taught by Fukuda in Lee’s invention. The motivation would have been to achieve an enhancement in the bass characteristics and an improvement in the quality of sounds for instance. In para 21, in Fukuda.
Claim 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US Publication) 20050047616 A1 in view of Park (US Publication) 20250287144 A1, in further view of Ruan (US Publication) 20210152944 A1, in further view of Kim (US Publication) 20210317945 A1.
Regarding claim 10, Lee does not explicitly teach dissipation are a side panel of body.
Ruan discloses dissipation are a side panel of body (In Fig 2, a heat dissipation and ventilation hole provided on the side wall of the frame [10], see para 27)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of dissipation are a side panel of body as taught by Ruan in Lee’s invention. The motivation would have been to avoids overheating of the voice coil and the magnetic circuit system when the sound emitting structure works. In para 27, in Ruan.
Lee does not explicitly teach is provided with a wire receiving slot
Kim discloses is provided with a wire receiving slot (In Fig 5, the cable guide [120] comprises of a first guide groove [122] and second guide groove [123] for wiring, see para 100)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of is provided with a wire receiving slot as taught by Kim in Lee’s invention. The motivation would have been to help guide cables with the cable accommodating space. In para 100, in Kim.
Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the rear panel of wall-mounted box body and heat holes provided in the rear panel
Park discloses wherein the rear panel of wall-mounted box (In Fig 1, the housing [10] has a box-like shape and may be described differently as a box, see para 51) body and heat holes (In Fig 13, a discharging part [600] at the center of housing [10] emits inner heat of the speaker, see para 197) provided in the rear panel (In Fig 13, though not disclosed, the rear surface of the housing [10] is considered the rear panel, para 194).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of wherein the rear panel of wall-mounted box body and heat holes provided in the rear panel as taught by Park in Lee’s invention. The motivation would have been to generate an acoustic signal of various ranges of sound and may cover a low frequency to a high frequency. In para 4, in Park.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Shumaker (US Publication) 20240381014 A1 – magnets & Velcro/H&L
Payne (US Patent) 7387151 B1 – decretive panel to be replaced
Kashichi (US Publication) US 4244096 A – speaker enclosure
/MARCUS A BARBOZA/Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692