DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 3/22/2026 is acknowledged by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "4111" and "411" have both been used to designate “First Portion”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 line 9 recites “push g”. This appears to be a typographic error. It should state pushing. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Reset Members in claims 6 and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 lines 6-9 recite “first anti-misoperation device, comprising a rotating member and a sliding member, wherein the rotating members and the valve rods are fixed, clamping grooves are formed in the rotating members, in a rotation process of the rotating members, the clamping grooves are able to be clamped with the sliding members and push g the sliding members to move back and forth in a first direction, and when the ball valve is in the through-flow state”. It is unclear whether the “rotating member” is singular as in line 6 or “rotating members” as recited in lines 7, 8, etc. It is also unclear whether “sliding member” is singular as in line 6 or “sliding members” as recited in line 9.
Claim 1 line 12 recites “a second anti-misoperation device” while line 13 recites “second anti-misoperation devices”. It is unclear if this term is singular or plural.
The interchangeable use of plural and singular forms of the elements are throughout the Claims.
Claims 2-10 are rejected based on their dependency on Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Brown US 5332001 (“Brown”).
Regarding Claim 1, Brown disclose a valve (10, fig. 1) with dual ball valves (12), comprising two ball valves (12) arranged side by side (see figs. 1 and 2) and clamped with each other (clamped with locking lugs 48 and 50), wherein each ball valve (12) comprises a valve body (20), a valve rod (28) and a handle (18), the valve bodies (20) comprise abutting surfaces (40) provided with clamping structures (48, 50), the valve rods (28) make the ball valves (12) switch between a through-flow state (open) and a closed state in a process of rotating along axes of the valve rods, and each ball valve further comprises: a first anti-misoperation device (62), comprising a rotating member (30) and a sliding member (66), wherein the rotating members (30) and the valve rods (28) are fixed, clamping grooves (fig. 4 illustrates rotating member 30 with protrusion 72 which has a groove for sliding element 62 and spring 64) are formed in the rotating members (30), in a rotation process of the rotating members (30), the clamping grooves (groove in pin 30 opposite protrusion 72) are able to be clamped with the sliding members (22, 62) and push g the sliding members (22, 62) to move back and forth in a first direction (direction along longitudinal axis of sliding element 62), and when the ball valve (12) is in the through-flow state (open whish flow through bore 36), the sliding member (62, element 66 of sliding element 22 extends out of abutting surface 40, see fig. 5) extends out of the abutting surface (40) and is inserted into the other ball valve (12); and a second anti-misoperation device (84), configured to lock the handles (18) in the closed state when the two ball valves (12) are separated, wherein the second anti-misoperation devices (84) comprise first locking mechanisms (88) and first positioning grooves (92), the first locking mechanisms (88) are arranged on the valve bodies (20), the first positioning grooves (92) are formed in the handles (18), and when the ball valves (12) are in the closed state, the first locking mechanisms (88) are able to be inserted into the first positioning grooves (92).
BROWN – ANNOTATED FIGURE 2
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown US 5332001 (“Brown”) in view of McCracken et al. US 5488972 (“McCracken”).
Regarding Claim 2, Brown discloses the rotating members (30) comprise first portions (ann. fig. 2), side walls of the first portions (ann. fig. 2) are surfaces coaxial with the valve rods (28), second portions (72).
Brown discloses the claimed invention, except second portions protruding out of the side walls of the first portions are connected to the first portions, and the clamping grooves formed by sinking inwards are formed in butt-joint positions of the first portions and the second portions; and the sliding members are slidably connected with the valve bodies and located on one sides of the first portions, the sliding members comprise clamping portions, the clamping portions comprise first rod bodies as well as first bosses and second bosses which extend outwards in a circumferential direction of the first rod bodies, and in the rotation process of the rotating members, the clamping grooves are able to be clamped with the first bosses and drive the sliding members to move back and forth in the first direction to extend out of or retract into the valve bodies.
McCracken teaches rotating members (actuator 32) second portions (74, see ann. fig. 4) protruding out of side walls of the first portions (ann. fig. 4) are connected to the first portions, and the clamping grooves (72) formed by sinking inwards are formed in butt-joint positions of the first portions and the second portions; and sliding members (70) are slidably connected with the valve bodies (10) and located on one sides of the first portions (ann. fig. 4), the sliding members (70) comprise clamping portions (76), the clamping portions (76) comprise first rod bodies (ann. fig. 4) as well as first bosses and second bosses (76, ann. fig. 4 illustrates 5 bosses) which extend outwards in a circumferential direction of the first rod bodies (ann. fig. 4), and in the rotation process of the rotating members (32), the clamping grooves (74) are able to be clamped with the first bosses (76) and drive the sliding members (70) to move back and forth in the first direction to extend out of (72, ann. fig. 4 illustrates 72 extends out of valve body 10) or retract into the valve bodies (10, 10’).
MCCRACKEN – ANNOTATED FIGURE 4
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the rotatable shaft and sliding portion (key portion), as disclosed by Brown, with a rack and pinion rotatable shaft and sliding portion, as taught by McCracken, for the purpose of using a common gear mechanism. The substitution of the rack and pinion gear mechanism saves on cost of manufacturing a more complex system that requires special tooling.
Regarding Claim 3, Brown discloses the claimed invention, except the clamping grooves are triangular, the clamping grooves comprise first inclined surfaces and second inclined surfaces, the first bosses comprise third inclined surfaces and fourth inclined surfaces, and the third inclined surfaces and the fourth inclined surfaces are able to abut against the first inclined surfaces and the second inclined surfaces respectively.
McCracken teaches clamping grooves (74) are triangular (see ann. fig. 4 for shape of elements 74), the clamping grooves comprise (74) first inclined surfaces and second inclined surfaces (ann. fig. 4 illustrates clamping grooves as a V shape of a triangle), the first bosses comprise third inclined surfaces and fourth inclined surfaces (ann. fig. 4 illustrates first and second bosses as a V shape of a triangle), and the third inclined surfaces and the fourth inclined surfaces are able to abut against the first inclined surfaces and the second inclined surfaces respectively (ann. fig. 4 illustrates the interface between the clamping grooves inclined faces with the first and second bosses inclined faces).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the rotatable shaft and sliding portion (key portion), as disclosed by Brown, with a rack and pinion rotatable shaft and sliding portion, as taught by McCracken, for the purpose of using a common gear mechanism. The substitution of the rack and pinion gear mechanism saves on cost of manufacturing a more complex system that requires special tooling.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Allread US 4438779, Haunhorst US 8132781, Hsu PG PUB 20260078853, Maiville US 5099883, Haunhorst US 8967177, Friedell US 3902694, and Densel et al. US 8887762 disclose dual ball valves.
/DAPHNE M BARRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753