DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-17 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al., US Patent Publication 2022/0083194 in view of Rosenberg, US Patent Publication 2023/0289011.
Regarding independent claim 1, Yuan et al. teaches a touchscreen signal recognition method comprising:
within a scanning cycle, in response to a first scanning instruction, recognizing a touch signal on a touchscreen in a first scanning mode (mutual capacitance mode of paragraph 0029);
in response to a second scanning instruction, determining whether the touch signal of the touchscreen has a corresponding ground signal in a second scanning mode (paragraph 0029 explains that the self-capacitance mode requires scanning a change to ground); and
in response to a trigger area of the touch signal meeting a preset condition (paragraph 0030 explains how the receipt of signals causes the generation of a trigger signal that is the preset condition), and the touch signal corresponding to the ground signal (paragraph 0029 explains the scanning of change with respect to ground), determining the touch signal as a target signal (to determine the touch as given in paragraph 0029), the preset condition including a number of sensor nodes included in the trigger area is less than a preset number (paragraph 0030 explains how the receipt of signals causes the generation of a trigger signal that is the preset condition and the number of sensor nodes is the number of intersections of the channels).
Yuan et al. does not specify that the mutual capacitance mode and self-capacitance mode are within the same scanning cycle. Rosenberg teaches that the mutual capacitance mode and self-capacitance mode are within the same scanning cycle (paragraphs 0012 and 0014 explain that the scan cycle has a touch segment where mutual-capacitance is used and a stylus segment where self-capacitance is used).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to allow both mutual-capacitance detection and self-capacitance detection in the same scanning cycle. The rationale to combine would be to track multiple types of input such as both touch and stylus inputs across the touch sensor surface (paragraph 0014 of Rosenberg).
Regarding claim 2, Yuan et al. teaches the method according to claim 1,
the first scanning mode is mutual capacitance scanning, and the second scanning mode is self-capacitance scanning (paragraph 0029 describes these two modes).
Regarding claim 3, Rosenberg teaches further the method according to claim 1, wherein within the scanning cycle, in response to a scanning instruction:
executing the first scanning mode and the second scanning mode in sequence (paragraph 0016 explains that the detection is done in mutual-capacitance mode and then self-capacitance mode); or
executing the second scanning mode and the first scanning mode in sequence.
Regarding claim 4, Yuan et al. teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein:
the touchscreen includes a plurality of horizontal sensor lines and a plurality of vertical sensor lines (figure 1 depicts the situation of paragraph 0029 with the horizontal and vertical two-layer channels of the touch system);
each of the horizontal sensor lines and each of the vertical sensor lines are connected to a ground line and have a capacitance with the ground line (figure 1 depicts the situation of paragraph 0029 with the horizontal and vertical two-layer channels of the touch system each being connected to ground to have a capacitance in the self-capacitance mode to ground); and
an intersection of a horizontal sensor line and a vertical sensor line is a sensor node (paragraph 0029 explains how the touch is determined based on the intersection of the TX and RX such that the intersection is the node).
Regarding claim 5, Yuan et al. teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein determining whether the touch signal has the corresponding ground signal in the second scanning mode (self-capacitance mode described in paragraph 0029) includes:
in response to the second scanning instruction, detecting a capacitance value of a capacitance corresponding to each sensor line of the horizontal sensor lines and the vertical sensor lines (paragraphs 0029-0030 explain that in a self-capacitance mode, the capacitance is sensed of the horizontal and vertical channels by the capacitance detection system 223 of figure 2);
in response to detecting a change in the capacitance value compared to a reference capacitance value, determining that the sensor line corresponding to the capacitance has the ground signal (paragraph 0029 explains how the change in capacitance value is scanned relative to ground based on the connection shown to ground in figure 1 where the reference value is the ground value, as also described in paragraph 0053); and
in response to at least one sensor line corresponding to the touch signal having a ground signal, determining that the touch signal has the corresponding ground signal (figure 1 shows that each of the channels is connected to ground to be compared to the change to determine touch as given in paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 7, Rosenberg teaches further the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
in response to a first operation mode start instruction, detecting the target signal in the first scanning mode (paragraphs 0012 and 0014 and 0016 explain the different modes used that have different instructions); and
in response to a second operation mode start instruction, detecting the target signal in the first scanning mode and the second scanning mode (paragraphs 0012 and 0014 and 0016 explain the different modes used that have different instructions).
Regarding claim 8, Rosenberg teaches further the method according to claim 7, further comprising:
in response to a current operation mode being not a second operation mode, and detecting that a change amount of the capacitance value is smaller than a threshold, issuing the second operation mode start instruction; or
obtaining the second operation mode start instruction through a user interface (paragraphs 0012 and 0014 and 0016 explain how the start instructions are based on timing and being next, which is set up through a user interface).
Regarding independent claim 9, Yuan et al. teaches a touchscreen signal recognition apparatus comprising:
a first scanning module configured to, within a scanning cycle, in response to a first scanning instruction, recognize a touch signal of a touchscreen in a first scanning mode (mutual capacitance mode of paragraph 0029);
a second scanning module configured to, in response to a second scanning instruction, determine whether the touch signal of the touchscreen has a corresponding ground signal in a second scanning mode (paragraph 0029 explains that the self-capacitance mode requires scanning a change to ground); and
a determination module configured to, in response to a trigger area of the touch signal meeting a preset condition (paragraph 0030 explains how the receipt of signals causes the generation of a trigger signal that is the preset condition), and the touch signal having the corresponding ground signal (paragraph 0029 explains the scanning of change with respect to ground), determine the touch signal as a target signal (to determine the touch as given in paragraph 0029), the preset condition including a number of sensor nodes included in the trigger area is less than a preset number (paragraph 0030 explains how the receipt of signals causes the generation of a trigger signal that is the preset condition and the number of sensor nodes is the number of intersections of the channels).
Yuan et al. does not specify that the mutual capacitance mode and self-capacitance mode are within the same scanning cycle. Rosenberg teaches that the mutual capacitance mode and self-capacitance mode are within the same scanning cycle (paragraphs 0012 and 0014 explain that the scan cycle has a touch segment where mutual-capacitance is used and a stylus segment where self-capacitance is used).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to allow both mutual-capacitance detection and self-capacitance detection in the same scanning cycle. The rationale to combine would be to track multiple types of input such as both touch and stylus inputs across the touch sensor surface (paragraph 0014 of Rosenberg).
Regarding claim 10, Yuan et al. teaches the apparatus according to claim 9, wherein: the first scanning mode is mutual capacitance scanning, and the second scanning mode is self-capacitance scanning (paragraph 0029 describes these two modes).
Regarding claim 11, Rosenberg teaches further the apparatus according to claim 9, wherein within the scanning cycle, in response to a scanning instruction:
the first scanning mode and the second scanning mode are executed in sequence (paragraph 0016 explains that the detection is done in mutual-capacitance mode and then self-capacitance mode); or
the second scanning mode and the first scanning mode are executed in sequence.
Regarding claim 12, Yuan et al. teaches the apparatus according to claim 9, wherein:
the touchscreen includes a plurality of horizontal sensor lines and a plurality of vertical sensor lines (figure 1 depicts the situation of paragraph 0029 with the horizontal and vertical two-layer channels of the touch system);
each of the horizontal sensor lines and each of the vertical sensor lines are connected to a ground line and have a capacitance with the ground line (figure 1 depicts the situation of paragraph 0029 with the horizontal and vertical two-layer channels of the touch system each being connected to ground to have a capacitance in the self-capacitance mode to ground); and
an intersection of a horizontal sensor line and a vertical sensor line is a sensor node (paragraph 0029 explains how the touch is determined based on the intersection of the TX and RX such that the intersection is the node).
Regarding independent claim 13, Yuan et al. teaches an electronic device comprising:
one or more processors (part of chip 220 of figure 2 where implementing a given method through processors would be an obvious method of implementation that is well-known in the art); and
one or more memories communicatively connected to the one or more processors and storing an instruction executable by the one or more processors that, when executed by the one or more processors (part of chip 220 of figure 2 where implementing a given method through processors would be an obvious method of implementation that is well-known in the art), causes the one or more processors to:
within a scanning cycle, in response to a first scanning instruction, recognize a touch signal on a touchscreen in a first scanning mode (mutual capacitance mode of paragraph 0029);
in response to a second scanning instruction, determine whether the touch signal of the touchscreen has a corresponding ground signal in a second scanning mode (paragraph 0029 explains that the self-capacitance mode requires scanning a change to ground); and
in response to a trigger area of the touch signal meeting a preset condition (paragraph 0030 explains how the receipt of signals causes the generation of a trigger signal that is the preset condition), and the touch signal corresponding to the ground signal (paragraph 0029 explains the scanning of change with respect to ground), determine the touch signal as a target signal (to determine the touch as given in paragraph 0029), the preset condition including a number of sensor nodes included in the trigger area being less than a preset number (paragraph 0030 explains how the receipt of signals causes the generation of a trigger signal that is the preset condition and the number of sensor nodes is the number of intersections of the channels).
Yuan et al. does not specify that the mutual capacitance mode and self-capacitance mode are within the same scanning cycle. Rosenberg teaches that the mutual capacitance mode and self-capacitance mode are within the same scanning cycle (paragraphs 0012 and 0014 explain that the scan cycle has a touch segment where mutual-capacitance is used and a stylus segment where self-capacitance is used).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to allow both mutual-capacitance detection and self-capacitance detection in the same scanning cycle. The rationale to combine would be to track multiple types of input such as both touch and stylus inputs across the touch sensor surface (paragraph 0014 of Rosenberg).
Regarding claim 14, Yuan et al. teaches the device according to the first scanning mode is mutual capacitance scanning, and the second scanning mode is self-capacitance scanning (paragraph 0029 describes these two modes).
Regarding claim 15, Rosenberg teaches further the device according to claim 13, wherein within the scanning cycle, in response to a scanning instruction, the one or more processors are further configured to:
execute the first scanning mode and the second scanning mode in sequence (paragraph 0016 explains that the detection is done in mutual-capacitance mode and then self-capacitance mode); or
execute the second scanning mode and the first scanning mode in sequence.
Regarding claim 16, Yuan et al. teaches the device according to claim 13, wherein:
the touchscreen includes a plurality of horizontal sensor lines and a plurality of vertical sensor lines (figure 1 depicts the situation of paragraph 0029 with the horizontal and vertical two-layer channels of the touch system);
each of the horizontal sensor lines and each of the vertical sensor lines are connected to a ground line and have a capacitance with the ground line (figure 1 depicts the situation of paragraph 0029 with the horizontal and vertical two-layer channels of the touch system each being connected to ground to have a capacitance in the self-capacitance mode to ground); and
an intersection of a horizontal sensor line and a vertical sensor line is a sensor node (paragraph 0029 explains how the touch is determined based on the intersection of the TX and RX such that the intersection is the node).
Regarding claim 17, Yuan et al. teaches the device according to claim 16, wherein the one or more processors is further configured to (in the self-capacitance mode described in paragraph 0029):
in response to the second scanning instruction, detect a capacitance value of a capacitance corresponding to each sensor line of the horizontal sensor lines and the vertical sensor lines (paragraphs 0029-0030 explain that in a self-capacitance mode, the capacitance is sensed of the horizontal and vertical channels by the capacitance detection system 223 of figure 2);
in response to detecting a change in the capacitance value compared to a reference capacitance value, determine that the sensor line corresponding to the capacitance has the ground signal (paragraph 0029 explains how the change in capacitance value is scanned relative to ground based on the connection shown to ground in figure 1 where the reference value is the ground value, as also described in paragraph 0053); and
in response to at least one sensor line corresponding to the touch signal having a ground signal, determine that the touch signal has the corresponding ground signal (figure 1 shows that each of the channels is connected to ground to be compared to the change to determine touch as given in paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 19, Rosenberg teaches further the device according to claim 13, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
in response to a first operation mode start instruction, detect the target signal in the first scanning mode (paragraphs 0012 and 0014 and 0016 explain the different modes used that have different instructions); and
in response to a second operation mode start instruction, detect the target signal in the first scanning mode and the second scanning mode (paragraphs 0012 and 0014 and 0016 explain the different modes used that have different instructions).
Regarding claim 20, Rosenberg teaches further the device according to claim 19, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
in response to a current operation mode being not a second operation mode, and detecting that a change amount of the capacitance value is smaller than a threshold, issue the second operation mode start instruction; or
obtain the second operation mode start instruction through a user interface (paragraphs 0012 and 0014 and 0016 explain how the start instructions are based on timing and being next, which is set up through a user interface).
Regarding claim 21, Yuan et al. teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the preset number is determined based on a size of a stylus tip (paragraph 0030 explains how the receipt of signals causes the generation of a trigger signal and the number of sensor nodes is the number of intersections of the channels where the number of intersections is based on the size of the touch point, or stylus tip, with the channels).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/2/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant contends that the amendments render the claims to be allowable as Yuan fails to disclose or suggest a trigger area and a number of sensor nodes included in the trigger area. The examiner disagrees. As explained above, the number of sensor nodes is the number of intersections of the channels as given in paragraph 0030 of Yuan. The trigger is based upon the signals described as triggering in paragraph 0030 to be the trigger area. Further clarifications must be provided to differentiate over the teachings of Yuan.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The closest prior art is made of record in the attached notice of references cited.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PARUL H GUPTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627