Information Disclosure Statement (IDS)
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/22/2025 and 04/15/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner. Please refer to applicant’s copy of the 1449 herewith.
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election without traverse of claims 1-17 and 18-21 drawn to an apparatus in the reply filed on 08/03/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-34 are pending. Claims 22-31 and 32-24 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a process of making, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in reply filed on 08/10/2026. Claims 2-5,7-12, 1-15, 18, 2-20, 24, 26, 28, 30, 32 and 33 are amended.
Claim Interpretation
Note: The Examiner wishes to point out to applicant that claim(s) 1-17, 18-21 is/are directed towards an apparatus and as such the material worked upon or the process of using the apparatus are viewed as recitation of intended use and are given no patentable weight (Please see MPEP 2114 R1-2115 R2 for further details). The manner and method in which a machine is intended to be used is not germane to the patentability of the claimed structure (In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235). In this case the noted limitations of the Claims below is/are considered a recitation of intended use.
Claim 7 - “to adjust the flow of cooling fluid through the at least one cooling fluid outlet” is intended
use of the valve plug.
Claim 9 - “the rest position is an open position”, “the actuated position is a closed position” where the
position of the rest position and the position of the actuated position is intended use of the
at least one flow control valve.
Claim 17 - “to selectively adjust the flow of cooling fluid through the passage opening and into the
cooling flow passage” is intended use of the at least one flow control valve.
Claim 20 – “ the valve plugs of the first flow control valve, and the second flow control valve are biased
to their respective rest positions” is intended use of the valve plugs in the first and second flow control valves.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 1-5, 12-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent
4,388,099 (as submitted in the IDS dated 09/22/2025) by Hermening et. al. (herein “Hermening”) and in
further view of U.S. Patent 6,412,308 by Lewis et. al. (herein “Lewis”).
Regarding Claim 1 – Hermening teaches,
a glass forming machine; Col 2 lines 42-46, …”it is an object of the invention to provide a fluid distributing arrangement for use especially in machines capable of shaping thermoplastic material, particularly molten glass…”
comprising,
a blank mold half of a blank mold; Col 3 lines 1-2, Col 6 lines 66-68 “…the forming tool includes at least one split mold including mold segments…”, “…two identical mold segments 21, which are configurated as pre-forming mold halves…the mold segments 21 constitute components of a forming tool 22…”.
the blank mold half defining at least one axial cooling channel; Col 3 lines 1-2/5-7, Col 7 lines 1-3/6-8, Fig. 2, “…the forming tool includes at least one split mold including mold segments…”, “…and each of which is provided with a plurality of fluid channels for the flow of the pressurized cooling fluid therethrough…”, “…each of the mold segments 21 is provided with three groups of fluid channels 28 to 30 which may best be seen in FIG. 2A…”, “… as may be seen particularly in FIG. 2, the fluid channels 28 to 30 are provided in a wall 31 of the respective mold segments 21…”. Fig. 2 illustrates fluid channels element 29, which could also be fluid channels 28 or 30, with an cooling channel axial to the mold element 21 and in the wall 31.
and a blank mold hanger having a blank mold hanger half supporting the blank mold half of the blank mold; Col 6 lines 40-41, 63-68, Fig. 2 “…the mold segment holder 7 (blank mold hanger) is shown in Fig. 1…”, “…Two identical mold segments 21 are configured as pre-forming mold halves (one of these is the blank mold half limitation). The mold segments 21 constitute components of a forming tool 22…which is constructed of a double mold.” See Annotated Fig. 1 below illustrating having blank mold hanger halves:
Forward in the Office Action, the blank mold hanger halves may be referred to blank mold hanger half 1 and blank mold hanger half 2 in reference to Annotated Fig. 1 above.
the blank mold hanger half defining at least one cooling fluid outlet that is in fluidic communication with the at least one axial cooling channel of the blank mold half; Col 9 lines 23-34, Figs. 2A/3, “The fluid distributing box 144 includes branch channels 62 to 64 and 71 to 73 which may be seen in FIG. 3. Each branch channel, for instance, 63 is provided with an arcuate slot shaped outlet opening 153 to 158 in the top wall 143 of the fluid distributing box 144. The outlet openings 153 to 158 open onto an opposing surface 160 of the fluid distributing box 144 which is complementary to a connecting surface 159 of the mold segment 21. The connecting surface 159 is formed with inlet openings of the fluid channels 28 to 30, which may be seen in FIG. 2A, such inlet openings being in alignment with the outlet openings 153 to 158.” Here, the cooling fluid outlets 153-155 of blank mold hanger half 1 of the fluid distribution box 144 are in fluidic communication with the aligned with cooling channels 28-30, respectively.
the blank mold hanger half further including at least one flow control valve; Fig. 2/3, Col 8 lines 65-67, “…The shaft 136 carries at its lower end a cup-shaped throttling valve 145”. Fig. 2 illustrates throttling valve 145 connected with other components to blank mold hanger half 7. Fig. 3 illustrates a throttling valve 145 for each fluid outlet 153-155 in blank mold hanger half 1.
While Hermening discloses throttling valves configured to adjust the pressurized fluid in the fluid channels between 0-100% where the position of the throttling valve can be adjusted manually or my means of a motor where the adjustment can be controlled or regulated in accordance with conditions encountered in the forming tool (Col 3 lines 55-62), Hermening does not disclose specifically,
that is remotely controllable and configured to selectively adjust a flow of cooling fluid through the at least one axial cooling channel of the blank mold half;
In a similar endeavor of forming glass with split forming molds (Fig. 1) where there are arcuate inlet slots (Fig. 2 64/66/68/70) that are aligned with axial cooling channels (Fig. 2 34a-34h, Col 4 lines 46-58, Col 5 lines 53-54), Lewis discloses a coolant circulation system 80 (Fig. 21) . Coolant may be fed through individually controllable valves 90 to the individual mold segments. Valves 90 are controlled by electronic controller 84 (Fig. 21). Controller 84 provides suitable signals to the individual valves 90, which gives facility for controlling coolant flow to the molds individually (Col 8 lines 6, 22-26, 30-33). Each mold has a serpentine cooling channel (Col 6 lines 1-9) with alternating-direction axial cooling channels. Here, each mold has a valve 90 that controls cooling fluid in a serpentine cooling channel. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the flow valve control configured per Lewis in the apparatus of Hermening to control at least one axial cooling channel, as one would be motivated to do so for the purpose of dynamically adjusting and controlling the coolant temperature and flow rate to achieve optimum cooling and temperature control at the mold forming surfaces, as noted by Lewis, Col 3 lines 12-18.
Regarding Claim 2 - Hermening and Lewis in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the limitations
of claim 1.
Hermening teaches wherein,
the at least one axial cooling channel includes a plurality of axial cooling channels; Col 6 lines 63-67, col 7 lines 1-3, Fig. 2A, “Two identical mold segments 21…the mold segments 21 constitute components of a forming tool 22eEach of the mold segments 21 is provided with three groups of fluid channels 28 to 30 which may best be seen in FIG. 2A”. Fig. 2A illustrates cooling channel groups 28-30, where each group comprises a plurality of axial cooling channels.
wherein,
the blank mold hanger half defines a first cooling fluid outlet and a second cooling fluid outlet;
Col 9 lines 23-34, Fig. 1, Figs. 2A/3, “Each branch channel, for instance, 63 is provided with an arcuate slot shaped outlet opening 153 to 158 in the top wall 143 of the fluid distributing box 144. The outlet openings 153 to 158 open onto an opposing surface 160…which is complementary to a connecting surface 159 of the mold segment 21. The connecting surface 159 is formed with inlet openings of the fluid channels 28 to 30, which may be seen in FIG. 2A, such inlet openings being in alignment with the outlet openings 153 to 158.” Fig. 1 illustrates mold hanger 7 with attached fluid outlets where a first fluid outlet can be defined as element 153, and where a second fluid outlet can be defined as element 155 (Fig. 3), which are located in blank mold hanger half 1.
and wherein the blank mold hanger half includes,
a first flow control valve configured to adjust a flow of cooling fluid through the first cooling fluid outlet;
and a second flow control valve configured to adjust a flow of cooling fluid through the second cooling fluid outlet;
Col 8 lines 65-67, Col 9 lines 1-4, 23, 25-34, Col 3 lines 50-57, Fig. 3, “The shaft 136 carries at its lower end a cup-shaped throttling valve 145 having a lateral opening 146. The throttling valve 145 is fitted into a receiving opening of the fluid distributing box 144 and has an inlet opening 147 which is in permanent communication with the internal space of a collecting box 148, into which the pressurized fluid is introduced in the direction of an arrow 149…”, “The fluid distributing box 144 includes branch channels…each branch channel…is provided with an arcuate slot shaped outlet opening 153 to 158 in the top wall 143 of the fluid distributing box 144. The outlet openings 153 to 158 open onto an opposing surface 160 of the fluid distributing box 144 which is complementary to a connecting surface 159 of the mold segment 21. The connecting surface 159 is formed with inlet openings of the fluid channels 28 to 30, which may be seen in FIG. 2A, such inlet openings being in alignment with the outlet openings 153 to 158..”, “…A throttling valve may be arranged…in a supply conduit which forms a part of the supplying means and communicates with the distributing channels and/or in each of the distributing channels and/or in each of the branch channels. When this expedient is resorted to, the pressure of the pressurized fluid in the fluid channels can be adjusted between 0 and 100%.” Here, Fig. 3 illustrates a throttling valve 145 for outlet 153 and a throttling valve 145 for outlet 155, where 153 and 155 are part of blank mold hanger half 1.
While Hermening discloses the first and second flow control valve that can adjust the flow of the cooling fluid through their respective cooling fluid outlets, Hermening does not disclose controlling the flow selectively.
In a similar endeavor of forming glass with split forming molds (Fig. 1) where with axial cooling channels (Fig. 2 34a-34h, Col 4 lines 46-58, Col 5 lines 53-54), Lewis discloses a coolant circulation system 80 (Fig. 21). Coolant may be fed through individually controllable valves 90 to the individual mold segments. Valves 90 are controlled by electronic controller 84 (Fig 21). Controller 84 provides suitable signals to the individual valves 90, which gives facility for controlling coolant flow to the molds (Col 8 lines 6, 22-26, 30-33). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the flow valve control configured per Lewis for the first and second cooling outlets in the apparatus of Hermening, as one would be motivated to do so for the purpose of dynamically adjusting and controlling the coolant temperature and flow rate to achieve optimum cooling and temperature control at the mold forming surfaces, as noted by Lewis, Col 3 lines 12-18.
Regarding Claim 3 - Hermening and Lewis in the rejection of claim 2 above teaches all of the
limitations of claim 2.
Hermening teaches wherein the blank mold hanger half supports the blank mold half,
such that the first cooling fluid outlet is in fluidic communication with a first subset of the
plurality of axial cooling channels;
and the second cooling fluid outlet is in fluidic communication with a second subset of the
plurality of axial cooling channels;
Col 9 lines 23-34, Fig. 1, Figs. 2A/3, “Each branch channel, for instance, 63 is provided with an arcuate slot shaped outlet opening 153 to 158 in the top wall 143 of the fluid distributing box 144. The outlet openings 153 to 158 open onto an opposing surface 160…which is complementary to a connecting surface 159 of the mold segment 21. The connecting surface 159 is formed with inlet openings of the fluid channels 28 to 30, which may be seen in FIG. 2A, such inlet openings being in alignment with the outlet openings 153 to 158.” Fig. 1 illustrates mold hanger 7 with attached fluid outlets of a double half blank mold, where a first fluid outlet can be defined as element 153 in communication with the plurality of axial cooling channels of set 30 and a second fluid outlet can be defined as element 155 in communication with the plurality of axial cooling channels of set 28.
and wherein,
the first flow control valve is configured to adjust the flow of cooling fluid through
the first subset of the plurality of axial cooling channels;
and the second flow control valve is configured to adjust the flow of cooling fluid
through the second subset of the plurality of axial cooling channels.
Col 8 lines 65-67, Col 3 lines 50-57, Fig. 3, Fig. 3, “The shaft 136 carries at its lower end a cup-shaped throttling valve 145…”. Fig. 3 illustrates throttling valves 145 in communication with fluid outlets 153 and 155, where the throttling valve in communication with 153 is the first flow control valve and throttling valve in communication with 155 is the second flow control valve.
“A throttling valve may be arranged…in a supply conduit which forms a part of the supplying means and communicates with the distributing channels and/or in each of the distributing channels and/or in each of the branch channels. When this expedient is resorted to, the pressure of the pressurized fluid in the fluid channels can be adjusted between 0 and 100%.”
Here, a throttling valve(s) can be in communication with the distribution channels (one valve for
all channels), each of the distributing channels (three valves, one for each of the three
distribution channels 28-30, which reads on the limitation of the instant claim), or each of the
branch channels (x number of valves for each x number of branch channels).
While Hermening discloses the first and second flow control valve that can adjust the flow of the cooling fluid through their respective subsets of the plurality of axial cooling channels, Hermening does not disclose doing so selectively.
Lewis further discloses a coolant circulation system 80 (Fig. 21). Coolant may be fed through individually controllable valves 90 to the individual mold segments. Valves 90 are controlled by electronic controller 84 (Fig. 21). Controller 84 provides suitable signals to the individual valves 90, which gives facility for controlling coolant flow to the molds (Col 8 lines 6, 22-26, 30-33). Each mold has an alternating - direction axial serpentine cooling channel (Col 6 lines 1-9). Here, each mold has a valve 90 that controls cooling fluid in a single serpentine cooling channel.
Lewis discloses the claimed invention except for multiple control valves to control cooling fluid through multiple subsets of axial cooling channels. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the control valves that are configured to selectively adjust the flow of cooling fluid for the subsets of the pluralities of axial cooling channels in the apparatus of Hermening, as one would be motivated to do so for the purpose of dynamically adjusting and controlling the coolant temperature and flow rate to achieve optimum cooling and temperature control at the mold forming surfaces, as noted by Lewis, Col 3 lines 12-18.
Regarding Claim 4 - Hermening and Lewis in the rejection of claim 3 above teaches all of the
limitations of claim 3.
Hermening teaches wherein,
each of the first subset of the plurality of axial cooling channels and the second subset of the
plurality of axial cooling channels is part of a circular array of the plurality of axial cooling
channels of the blank mold half; Col 7 lines 1-4, Fig. 2A, “Each of the mold segments 21 is
provided with three groups of fluid channels 28 to 30 which may best be seen in FIG. 2A. The
fluid channels of each of the groups are arranged in succession along a circular arc…”
and wherein,
each of the first cooling fluid outlet and the second cooling fluid outlet is an arcuate slot axially
aligned with and circumferentially spanning its respective subset of the plurality of axial cooling
channels; Col 9 lines 23-34, Fig. 1, Figs. 2A/3, “Each branch channel…is provided with an arcuate slot shaped outlet opening 153 to 158 in the top wall 143 of the fluid distributing box 144. The outlet openings 153 to 158 open onto an opposing surface 160…which is complementary to a connecting surface 159 of the mold segment 21. The connecting surface 159 is formed with inlet openings of the fluid channels 28 to 30, which may be seen in FIG. 2A, such inlet openings being in alignment with the outlet openings 153 to 158.” Fig. 1 illustrates mold hanger 7 with attached fluid outlets of a double half blank mold, where a first fluid outlet can be defined as element 153, and where a second fluid outlet can be defined as element 155 (Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 5 - Hermening and Lewis in the rejection of claim 3 above teaches all of the
limitations of claim 3. Hermening teaches wherein,
the first subset of the plurality of axial cooling channels is encompassed by a first angular sector
of the blank mold;
and the second subset of the plurality of axial cooling channels is encompassed by a second
angular sector of the blank mold;
each of the first and second angular sectors of the blank mold being established in the blank
mold half;
Col 3 lines 1-2/5-7, Col 7 lines 1-3/6-8, Fig. 2, “…the forming tool includes at least one split mold including mold segments…”, “…and each of which is provided with a plurality of fluid channels for the flow of the pressurized cooling fluid therethrough…”, “…each of the mold segments 21 is provided with three groups of fluid channels 28 to 30 which may best be seen in FIG. 2A…”, “… as may be seen particularly in FIG. 2, the fluid channels 28 to 30 are provided in a wall 31 of the respective mold segments 21…”. Fig. 2 illustrates fluid channels element 29, which could also be fluid channels 28 or 30, with an cooling channel axial to the mold element 21 and in the wall 31.
Annotated Fig. 2A below illustrates the first and second angular sectors:
Regarding Claim 12 - Hermening and Lewis in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the
limitations of claim 1.
Hermening teaches wherein,
the blank mold half is a first blank mold half; Col 3 lines 1-2, Col 6 lines 66-68 “…the forming tool
includes at least one split mold including mold segments…”, “…two identical mold segments 21,
which are configurated as pre-forming mold halves…the mold segments 21 constitute
components of a forming tool 22…”.
and the blank mold hanger further comprises a second blank mold hanger half;
configured to support a second blank mold half of the blank mold;
the blank mold hanger half and the second blank mold hanger half being configured to
move their respective blank mold halves between an open position of the blank mold
and a closed position of the blank mold;
Fig. 1, Col 3 lines 1-2, Col 6 lines 40-42, 66-68, “…the forming tool includes at least one split mold including mold segments…”, “…two identical mold segments 21, which are configurated as pre-forming mold halves…the mold segments 21 constitute components of a forming tool 22 which is constructed as a double mold”. See Annotated Figure 1, illustrating blank mold hanger half 2 that supports a second blank mold half. “The mold segment holder 7 is shown in FIG. 1 in its closed position, and the mold segment holder 8 in its fully open position”. Fig. 1 illustrates
mold hangers 7 and 8 ( 8 not fully shown) where a mold hanger supports two halves of
two molds, where a half of a mold is element 21. Pivoting axle 39 (shown in Fig. 4 but
not Fig. 2) allows mold hangers 7 and 8 to pivot open and closed (Fig. 1, element 39).
the second blank mold half defining at least one axial cooling channel; Fig. 2/2A, Col 6 lines 63-
68, Col 7 lines 1-3, “…Two identical mold segments 21, which are configurated as pre-forming
mold halves…as illustrated in FIG. 2. The mold segments 21 constitute components of a forming
tool 22 which, in the illustrated construction, is constructed as a double mold. Each of the mold
segments 21 is provided with three groups of fluid channels 28 to 30 which may best be seen in
FIG. 2A. Here, each blank mold half (including the second blank mold half) has sets of axial
channels 28-30, respectively.
and the second blank mold hanger half defining at least one cooling fluid outlet that is in fluidic
communication with the at least one axial cooling channel of the second blank mold half; Col 9 lines 23-34, Figs. 2A/3, “The fluid distributing box 144 includes branch channels 62 to 64 and 71 to 73 which may be seen in FIG. 3. Each branch channel, for instance, 63 is provided with an arcuate slot shaped outlet opening 153 to 158 in the top wall 143 of the fluid distributing box 144. The outlet openings 153 to 158 open onto an opposing surface 160 of the fluid distributing box 144 which is complementary to a connecting surface 159 of the mold segment 21. The connecting surface 159 is formed with inlet openings of the fluid channels 28 to 30, which may be seen in FIG. 2A, such inlet openings being in alignment with the outlet openings 153 to 158.” Here, the cooling fluid outlets 156-158 of blank mold hanger half 2 of the fluid distribution box 144 are in fluidic communication with the aligned with cooling channels 28-30, respectively, of the second of two mold segments 21.
the second blank mold hanger half further including,
at least one flow control valve configured to adjust a flow of cooling fluid through the
at least one axial cooling channel of the second blank mold half; Col 8 lines 65-67, Col 9 lines 1-4, 23, 25-34, Col 3 lines 50-57, Fig. 3, “The shaft 136 carries at its lower end a cup-shaped throttling valve 145 having a lateral opening 146. The throttling valve 145 is fitted into a receiving opening of the fluid distributing box 144 and has an inlet opening 147 which is in permanent communication with the internal space of a collecting box 148, into which the pressurized fluid is introduced in the direction of an arrow 149…”, “The fluid distributing box 144 includes branch channels…each branch channel…is provided with an arcuate slot shaped outlet opening 153 to 158 in the top wall 143 of the fluid distributing box 144. The outlet openings 153 to 158 open onto an opposing surface 160 of the fluid distributing box 144 which is complementary to a connecting surface 159 of the mold segment 21. The connecting surface 159 is formed with inlet openings of the fluid channels 28 to 30, which may be seen in FIG. 2A, such inlet openings being in alignment with the outlet openings 153 to 158..”, “…A throttling valve may be arranged…in a supply conduit which forms a part of the supplying means and communicates with the distributing channels and/or in each of the distributing channels and/or in each of the branch channels. When this expedient is resorted to, the pressure of the pressurized fluid in the fluid channels can be adjusted between 0 and 100%.” Here, Fig. 3 illustrates a throttling valve 145 for outlet 156 and a throttling valve 145 for outlet 158, where elements 156 and 158 are part of blank mold hanger half 2.
While Hermening discloses throttling valves configured to adjust the pressurized fluid in the fluid channels between 0-100% where the position of the throttling valve can be adjusted manually or by means of a motor where the adjustment can be controlled or regulated in accordance with conditions encountered in the forming tool (Col 3 lines 55-62), as well as discloses at least one flow control valve to adjust a flow of cooling fluid through the at least one axial cooling channel of the second blank mold half, Hermening does not disclose to do so selectively.
Lewis discloses forming glass with split forming molds (Fig. 1) where there are arcuate inlet slots (Fig. 2 64/66/68/70) that are aligned with axial cooling channels (Fig. 2 34a-34h, Col 4 lines 46-58, Col 5 lines 53-54). Further, Lewis discloses a coolant circulation system 80 (Fig. 21) . Coolant may be fed through individually controllable valves 90 to the individual mold segments. Valves 90 are controlled by electronic controller 84 (Fig. 21). Controller 84 provides suitable signals to the individual valves 90, which gives facility for controlling coolant flow to the molds individually (Col 8 lines 6, 22-26, 30-33). Each mold has a serpentine cooling channel (Col 6 lines 1-9) with alternating-direction axial cooling channels. Here, each mold has a valve 90 that controls cooling fluid in a serpentine cooling channel. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the flow valve control configured per Lewis in the apparatus of Hermening to control at least one axial cooling channel, as one would be motivated to do so for the purpose of dynamically adjusting and controlling the coolant temperature and flow rate to achieve optimum cooling and temperature control at the mold forming surfaces, as noted by Lewis, Col 3 lines 12-18.
Regarding Claim 13 - Hermening and Lewis in the rejection of claim 12 above teaches all of the
limitations of claim 12.
Hermening teaches wherein,
the blank mold hanger half defines a first cooling fluid outlet and a second cooling fluid outlet;
Col 9 lines 23-34, Fig. 1, Figs. 2A/3, “Each branch channel, for instance, 63 is provided with an arcuate slot shaped outlet opening 153 to 158 in the top wall 143 of the fluid distributing box 144. The outlet openings 153 to 158 open onto an opposing surface 160…which is complementary to a connecting surface 159 of the mold segment 21. The connecting surface 159 is formed with inlet openings of the fluid channels 28 to 30, which may be seen in FIG. 2A, such inlet openings being in alignment with the outlet openings 153 to 158.” Fig. 1 illustrates mold hanger 7 with attached fluid outlets where a first fluid outlet can be defined as element 153, and where a second fluid outlet can be defined as element 155 (Fig. 3), which are located in blank mold hanger half 1.
and the second blank mold hanger half defines a third cooling fluid outlet and a fourth cooling
fluid outlet; Col 9 lines 23-34, Fig. 1, Figs. 2A/3, “Each branch channel, for instance, 63 is provided with an arcuate slot shaped outlet opening 153 to 158 in the top wall 143 of the fluid distributing box 144. The outlet openings 153 to 158 open onto an opposing surface 160…which is complementary to a connecting surface 159 of the mold segment 21. The connecting surface 159 is formed with inlet openings of the fluid channels 28 to 30, which may be seen in FIG. 2A, such inlet openings being in alignment with the outlet openings 153 to 158.” Fig. 1 illustrates mold hanger 7 with attached fluid outlets where a third fluid outlet can be defined as element 156, and where a fourth fluid outlet can be defined as element 158 (Fig. 3), which are located in blank mold hanger half 2.
the blank mold hanger half including a first flow control valve configured to adjust a
flow of cooling fluid through the first cooling fluid outlet;
and a second flow control valve configured to adjust a flow of cooling fluid through
the second cooling fluid outlet;
and the second blank mold hanger half including a third flow control valve configured to
adjust a flow of cooling fluid through the third cooling fluid outlet;
and a fourth flow control valve configured to adjust a flow of cooling fluid through
the fourth cooling fluid outlet.
Col 8 lines 65-67, Col 9 lines 1-4, 23, 25-34, Col 3 lines 50-57, Fig. 3, “The shaft 136 carries at its lower end a cup-shaped throttling valve 145 having a lateral opening 146. The throttling valve 145 is fitted into a receiving opening of the fluid distributing box 144 and has an inlet opening 147 which is in permanent communication with the internal space of a collecting box 148, into which the pressurized fluid is introduced in the direction of an arrow 149…”, “The fluid distributing box 144 includes branch channels…each branch channel…is provided with an arcuate slot shaped outlet opening 153 to 158 in the top wall 143 of the fluid distributing box 144. The outlet openings 153 to 158 open onto an opposing surface 160 of the fluid distributing box 144 which is complementary to a connecting surface 159 of the mold segment 21. The connecting surface 159 is formed with inlet openings of the fluid channels 28 to 30, which may be seen in FIG. 2A, such inlet openings being in alignment with the outlet openings 153 to 158..”, “…A throttling valve may be arranged…in a supply conduit which forms a part of the supplying means and communicates with the distributing channels and/or in each of the distributing channels and/or in each of the branch channels. When this expedient is resorted to, the pressure of the pressurized fluid in the fluid channels can be adjusted between 0 and 100%.” Here, Fig. 3 illustrates for the blank mold hanger half 1 a first throttling valve 145 for first outlet 153, and a second throttling control valve 145 for second outlet 155; for the blank mold hanger half 2 a third throttling valve 145 for third outlet 156, and a fourth throttling control valve for a fourth outlet 158.
While Hermening discloses the 4 sets of control valves/ outlet openings above, Hermening does not
disclose to do so selectively.
Lewis discloses forming glass with split forming molds (Fig. 1) where there are arcuate inlet slots (Fig. 2 64/66/68/70) that are aligned with axial cooling channels (Fig. 2 34a-34h, Col 4 lines 46-58, Col 5 lines 53-54). Further, Lewis discloses a coolant circulation system 80 (Fig. 21) . Coolant may be fed through individually controllable valves 90 to the individual mold segments. Valves 90 are controlled by electronic controller 84 (Fig. 21). Controller 84 provides suitable signals to the individual valves 90, which gives facility for controlling coolant flow to the molds individually (Col 8 lines 6, 22-26, 30-33). Each mold has a serpentine cooling channel (Col 6 lines 1-9) with alternating-direction axial cooling channels. Here, each mold has a valve 90 that controls cooling fluid in a serpentine cooling channel. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the flow valve control configured per Lewis in each of the four (4) sets of flow valve/outlet in the apparatus of Hermening as one would be motivated to do so for the purpose of dynamically adjusting and controlling the coolant temperature and flow rate to achieve optimum cooling and temperature control at the mold forming surfaces, as noted by Lewis, Col 3 lines 12-18.
Regarding Claim 14 - Hermening and Lewis in the rejection of claim 13 above teaches all of the
limitations of claim 13.
Hermening teaches wherein,
the at least one axial cooling channel includes a plurality of axial cooling channels; Col 6 lines 63-
67, col 7 lines 1-3, Fig. 2A, “Two identical mold segments 21…the mold segments 21 constitute
components of a forming tool 22eEach of the mold segments 21 is provided with three groups
of fluid channels 28 to 30 which may best be seen in FIG. 2A”. Fig. 2A illustrates cooling channel
groups 28-30, where each group comprises a plurality of axial cooling channels.
and wherein,
the blank mold hanger half and the second blank mold hanger half support the blank mold half
and the second blank mold half, respectively; Col 6 lines 40-41, 63-68, Fig. 2 “…the mold
segment holder 7 (blank mold hanger) is shown in Fig. 1…”, “…Two identical mold segments 21
are configured as pre-forming mold halves (first/second blank mold halves). The mold segments
21 constitute components of a forming tool 22…which is constructed of a double mold.” See
Annotated Fig. 1 illustrating the blank mold hanger 7 having two halves.
such that,
the first cooling fluid outlet is in fluidic communication with a first subset of the plurality of axial
cooling channels;
the second cooling fluid outlet is in fluidic communication with a second subset of the plurality
of axial cooling channels;
the third cooling fluid outlet is in fluidic communication with a third subset of the plurality of
axial cooling channels;
and the fourth cooling fluid outlet is in fluidic communication with a fourth subset of the
plurality of axial cooling channels.
Col 9 lines 23-34, Figs. 2A/3, Col 6 lines 63-67, col 7 lines 1-3, Annotated Fig. 1“The fluid distributing box 144 includes branch channels 62 to 64 and 71 to 73 which may be seen in FIG. 3. Each branch channel, for instance, 63 is provided with an arcuate slot shaped outlet opening 153 to 158 in the top wall 143 of the fluid distributing box 144. The outlet openings 153 to 158 open onto an opposing surface 160 of the fluid distributing box 144 which is complementary to a connecting surface 159 of the mold segment 21. The connecting surface 159 is formed with inlet openings of the fluid channels 28 to 30, which may be seen in FIG. 2A, such inlet openings being in alignment with the outlet openings 153 to 158.” Here, the cooling fluid outlets 153 and 155 of blank mold hanger half 1 of the fluid distribution box 144 are in fluidic communication with the aligned with cooling channels 28 and 30, respectively, of a first mold segment 21. The cooling fluid outlets 156 and 158 of blank mold hanger half 2 of the fluid distribution box 144 are in fluidic communication with the aligned with cooling channels 28 and 30, respectively, of a second mold segment 21. “Two identical mold segments 21…the mold segments 21 constitute components of a forming tool 22. Each of the mold segments 21 is provided with three groups of fluid channels 28 to 30 which may best be seen in FIG. 2A”. Fig. 2A illustrates cooling channel groups 28-30, where each group comprises a plurality of axial cooling channels.
Regarding Claim 15 - Hermening and Lewis in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the
limitations of claim 1.
Hermening teaches wherein the blank mold hanger half further comprises,
a plenum that defines a main interior chamber configured to receive an input flow of cooling
fluid; Fig. 2, Col 9 lines 1-4, “...the fluid distribution box 144 has an inlet opening 147 which is in
permanent communication with the internal space of a collection box 148, in which pressurized
fluid is introduced in the direction of an arrow 149”. Here, the plenum is defined as, in broadest
reasonable interpretation, the totality of the fluid distribution box 144 (secondary plenum = a
few distribution channels, See Fig. 3) ) that feeds finer distribution channels (cooling channels
28-30 with a plurality of cooling channels, Fig. 2A) and the collection box 148 (primary plenum),
where collection box 148 has a main interior chamber. See Enlarged Area Annotated Fig. 2
below:
the plenum further defining a cooling flow passage and a passage opening;
the cooling flow passage extending from the passage opening;
which connects the cooling flow passage with the main interior chamber;
to the at least one cooling fluid outlet;
Col 8 line 67, Col 9 lines 24-38, Fig. 1, Figs. 2A/3/Annotated Fig. 3, “…lateral opening 146…”,
“The fluid distributing box 144 (secondary plenum)includes branch channels 62 to 64 and 71 to
73 which may be seen in FIG. 3. Each branch channel, for instance, 63 is provided with an
arcuate slot shaped outlet opening 153 to 158 in the top wall 143 of the fluid distributing box
144…”Fig. 3 illustrates the cooling flow passageway(s) 62-64/71-73 is/are connected to lateral
opening(s) 146 (passage opening) are connected to a respective cooling fluid outlet (153-158).
Regarding Claim 16 - Hermening and Lewis in the rejection of claim 15 above teaches all of the
limitations of claim 15.
Hermening teaches wherein,
the plenum further defines one or more cooling fluid holes separate from the cooling fluid
outlet; Col 9 lines 6-9. Fig. 2 “The pressurized fluid freely flows from the interior of the collecting
box 148 (primary plenum) into a jet arrangement 46 which directs the flow of the pressurized
fluid in the direction of an arrow 47…”. Here, opening 46 is illustrated on the right side of
collection box 148 in Fig. 2.
Regarding Claim 17 - Hermening and Lewis in the rejection of claim 15 above teaches all of the
limitations of claim 15.
Hermening teaches wherein,
the at least one flow control valve moves within the plenum with respect to the passage
opening to adjust the flow of cooling fluid through the passage opening and into the
cooling flow passage;
“adjust the flow of cooling fluid through the passage opening and into the cooling flow
passage” is directed to intended use, See Claim Interpretation. Here, the movement of
the control valve may be done to initially set-up the equipment before processing beings.
While this limitation is directed to intended use, see below.
Col 8 lines 65-67, Col 9 lines 1-4, 23, 25-34, Col 3 lines 50-57, Fig. 3, “The shaft 136 carries at its lower end a cup-shaped throttling valve 145 having a lateral opening 146. The throttling valve 145 is fitted into a receiving opening of the fluid distributing box 144…”, “The fluid distributing box 144 includes branch channels…each branch channel…is provided with an arcuate slot shaped outlet opening 153 to 158 in the top wall 143 of the fluid distributing box 144”, “…A throttling valve may be arranged…in a supply conduit which forms a part of the supplying means and communicates with the distributing channels and/or in each of the distributing channels and/or in each of the branch channels. When this expedient is resorted to, the pressure of the pressurized fluid in the fluid channels can be adjusted between 0 and 100%.” Here, Fig. 3 illustrates throttling valve (s) 145 in distribution box 144 (secondary plenum) where the throttling valve (s) 145 is/are in passage opening(s) 146.
While Hermening discloses the at least one flow control valve moves within the plenum with respect to
the passage opening to adjust the flow of cooling fluid through the passage opening and into the
cooling flow passage, Hermening does not disclose to do so selectively.
Lewis further discloses In a similar endeavor of forming glass with split forming molds (Fig. 1) where with axial cooling channels (Fig. 2 34a-34h, Col 4 lines 46-58, Col 5 lines 53-54), Lewis discloses a coolant circulation system 80 (Fig. 21). Coolant may be fed through individually controllable valves 90 to the individual mold segments. Valves 90 are controlled by electronic controller 84 (Fig. 21). Controller 84 provides suitable signals to the individual valves 90, which gives facility for controlling coolant flow to the molds (Col 8 lines 6, 22-26, 30-33). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the flow valve control configured per Lewis for the flow control valves in the plenum in the apparatus of Hermening, as one would be motivated to do so for the purpose of dynamically adjusting and controlling the coolant temperature and flow rate to achieve optimum cooling and temperature control at the mold forming surfaces, as noted by Lewis, Col 3 lines 12-18.
Regarding Claim 18 -
Hermening teaches,
a glass forming machine; Col 2 lines 42-46, …”it is an object of the invention to provide a fluid
distributing arrangement for use especially in machines capable of shaping thermoplastic
material, particularly molten glass…”
comprising,
a blank mold that defines a plurality of axial cooling channels and includes a first blank mold half
and a second blank mold half; Col 3 lines 1-2, Col 6 lines 63-68, Col 7 lines 1-3, Fig. 2/2A “…the
forming tool includes at least one split mold including mold segments…” (first/second blank
mold halves), “…two identical mold segments 21, which are configurated as pre-forming mold
halves…the mold segments 21 constitute components of a forming tool 22…”, “…each of the
mold segments 21 is provided with three groups of fluid channels 28 to 30 which may best be
seen in FIG. 2A…”, “… as may be seen particularly in FIG. 2, the fluid channels 28 to 30 are
provided in a wall 31 of the respective mold segments 21…”. Fig. 2 illustrates fluid channels
element 29, which could also be fluid channels 28 or 30, with an cooling channel axial to the
mold element 21 and in the wall 31.
and a blank mold hanger that includes a first blank mold hanger half and a second blank mold
hanger half; See Annotated Fig. 1.
the first blank mold half being carried by the first blank mold hanger half and the second blank
mold half being carried by the second blank mold hanger half; ; Col 6 lines 63-67,
Annotated Fig. 1, “…“Two identical mold segments 21…the mold segments 21 constitute
components of a forming tool 22…”. Fig. 2 illustrates mold hanger 7 carrying first blank mold
segment 21. As this is a cross-section, mold hanger 7 holds two mold elements 21.
wherein,
the first blank mold hanger half further defines a first cooling fluid outlet and a second cooling
fluid outlet; Col 9 lines 23-34, Fig. 1, Figs. 2A/3, “Each branch channel, for instance, 63 is provided with an arcuate slot shaped outlet opening 153 to 158 in the top wall 143 of the fluid distributing box 144. The outlet openings 153 to 158 open onto an opposing surface 160…which is complementary to a connecting surface 159 of the mold segment 21. The connecting surface 159 is formed with inlet openings of the fluid channels 28 to 30, which may be seen in FIG. 2A, such inlet openings being in alignment with the outlet openings 153 to 158.” Fig. 1 illustrates mold hanger 7 with attached fluid outlets where a first fluid outlet can be defined as element 153, and where a second fluid outlet can be defined as element 155 (Fig. 3), which are located in blank mold hanger half 1.
the first cooling fluid outlet being in fluidic communication with a first subset of the plurality of
axial cooling channels of the blank mold and defined in the first blank mold half within a first
sector of the blank mold;
and the second cooling fluid outlet being in fluidic communication with a second subset of the
plurality of axial cooling channels of the blank mold and defined in the first blank mold half
within a second sector of the blank mold;
Col 3 lines 1-2/5-7, Col 7 lines 1-3/6-8, Fig. 2, “…the forming tool includes at least one split mold including mold segments…”, “…and each of which is provided with a plurality of fluid channels for the flow of the pressurized cooling fluid therethrough…”, “…each of the mold segments 21 is provided with three groups of fluid channels 28 to 30 which may best be seen in FIG. 2A…”, “… as may be seen particularly in FIG. 2, the fluid channels 28 to 30 are provided in a wall 31 of the respective mold segments 21…”. Fig. 2 illustrates fluid channels element 29, which could also be fluid channels 28 or 30, with an cooling channel axial to the mold element 21 and in the wall 31.
Annotated Fig. 2A below illustrates the first and second angular sectors:
Further: Col 9 lines 23-34, Figs. 2A/3, “The fluid distributing box 144 includes branch channels 62 to 64 and 71 to 73 which may be seen in FIG. 3. Each branch channel, for instance, 63 is provided with an arcuate slot shaped outlet opening 153 to 158 in the top wall 143 of the fluid distributing box 144. The outlet openings 153 to 158 open onto an opposing surface 160 of the fluid distributing box 144 which is complementary to a connecting surface 159 of the mold segment 21. The connecting surface 159 is formed with inlet openings of the fluid channels 28 to 30, which may be seen in FIG. 2A, such inlet openings being in alignment with the outlet openings 153 to 158.” Here, the cooling fluid outlets 153 and 155 are in fluidic communication with the aligned with cooling channels 28 and 30, respectively.
the first blank mold hanger half further including,
a plenum defining a main interior chamber configured to receive an input flow of cooling fluid;
Fig. 2, Col 9 lines 1-4, “...the fluid distribution box 144 has an inlet opening 147 which is in
permanent communication with the internal space of a collection box 148, in which pressurized
fluid is introduced in the direction of an arrow 149”. Here, the plenum is defined as, in broadest
reasonable interpretation, the totality of the fluid distribution box 144 (secondary plenum = a
few distribution channels, See Fig. 3) ) that feeds finer distribution channels (cooling channels
28-30 with a plurality of cooling channels, Fig. 2A) and the collection box 148 (primary plenum),
where collection box 148 has a main interior chamber. See Enlarged Area Annotated Fig. 2
below:
the plenum further defining a first cooling flow passage extending from the first cooling fluid
outlet to a first passage opening connected to the main interior chamber;
and a second cooling flow passage extending from the second cooling fluid outlet to a second
passage opening connected to the main interior chamber;
Col 8 line 67, Col 9 lines 24-38, Fig. 1, Figs. 2A/3/Annotated Fig. 2, “…lateral opening 146…”,
“The fluid distributing box 144 (secondary plenum)includes branch channels 62 to 64 and 71 to
73 which may be seen in FIG. 3. Each branch channel, for instance, 63 is provided with an
arcuate slot shaped outlet opening 153 to 158 in the top wall 143 of the fluid distributing box
144…”. Fig. 3 illustrates the cooling flow passageway(s) 62-64/71-73 extending from a
respective cooling fluid outlet (153-158) to respective opening(s) 146 (passage opening).
a first flow control valve that is configured to adjust a flow of cooling fluid out of the first
cooling fluid outlet and through the first subset of the plurality of axial cooling channels;
and a second flow control valve that is configured to adjust a flow of cooling fluid out of the
second cooling fluid outlet and through the second subset of the plurality of axial cooling
channels.
Col 8 lines 65-67, Col 9 lines 1-4, 23, 25-34, Col 3 lines 50-57, Fig. 3, “The shaft 136 carries at its lower end a cup-shaped throttling valve 145 having a lateral opening 146. The throttling valve 145 is fitted into a receiving opening of the fluid distributing box 144…”, “The fluid distributing box 144 includes branch channels…each branch channel…is provided with an arcuate slot shaped outlet opening 153 to 158 in the top wall 143 of the fluid distributing box 144…”, “…The connecting surface 159 is formed with inlet openings of the fluid channels 28 to 30, which may be seen in FIG. 2A, such inlet openings being in alignment with the outlet openings 153 to 158..”, “…A throttling valve may be arranged…in a supply conduit which forms a part of the supplying means and communicates with the distributing channels and/or in each of the distributing channels and/or in each of the branch channels. When this expedient is resorted to, the pressure of the pressurized fluid in the fluid channels can be adjusted between 0 and 100%.” Here, Fig. 3 illustrates a throttling valve(s) 145 for adjusting the cooling flow into the channels (62-64, 71-73), and subsequently into the cooling fluid outlets (153-155, 156-158) respectively. As fluid channels 28 to 30 are aligned with the cooling fluid outlets, and fluid channels 28-30 contain a plurality of axial cooling channels (Fig. 2A), the controls valves control the cooling fluid flow into the a plurality of axial cooling channels.
While Hermening discloses the first and second flow control valve that can adjust the flow of the cooling fluid through their respective subsets of the plurality of axial cooling channels, Hermening does not disclose to do so remotely controllable and selectively.
Lweis discloses forming glass with split forming molds (Fig. 1) where there are arcuate inlet slots (Fig. 2 64/66/68/70) that are aligned with axial cooling channels (Fig. 2 34a-34h, Col 4 lines 46-58, Col 5 lines 53-54). Further, Lewis discloses a coolant circulation system 80 (Fig. 21) . Coolant may be fed through individually controllable valves 90 to the individual mold segments. Valves 90 are controlled by electronic controller 84 (Fig. 21). Controller 84 provides suitable signals to the individual valves 90, which gives facility for controlling coolant flow to the molds individually (Col 8 lines 6, 22-26, 30-33). Each mold has a serpentine cooling channel (Col 6 lines 1-9) with alternating-direction axial cooling channels. Here, each mold has a valve 90 that controls cooling fluid in a serpentine cooling channel. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the flow valve control configured per Lewis in the apparatus of Hermening to control at least one axial cooling channel, as one would be motivated to do so for the purpose of dynamically adjusting and controlling the coolant temperature and flow rate to achieve optimum cooling and temperature control at the mold forming surfaces, as noted by Lewis, Col 3 lines 12-18.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hermening in
further view of Lewis and in further view of U.S. Patent 4,502,879) by Foster (herein “Foster”), in further
view of U.S. Patent 4,525,191 by Fenton (herein “Fenton”), and in further view of U.S. Patent 4,251,253
by Becker et. al. (herein “Becker”).
Regarding Claim 6 - Hermening and Lewis in the rejection of claim 5 above teaches all of the
limitations of claim 5.
While Hermening discloses angular sectors for cooling, Hermening does not disclose,
each of the first angular sector and the second angular sector is a quadrant of the blank mold.
Hermening discloses that the first angular sector and the second angular sector except that each is a
quadrant of a blank mold, as two plurality of channels of fluid channel 28 and two plurality of channels
of fluid channel 30 would appear to be more than a 90° angle as viewed from the mold half in
Annotated Fig. 2A.
Mold cooling for glass forming, as a PHOSITA would know, is targeted to obtain uniform cooling of the glass article, upon which there are many factors. Hermening discloses each of the mold segments 21 is provided with three groups of fluid channels 28 to 30 where a blank mold provides six groups of fluid channels, or six angular sectors of a blank mold where cooling fluid can be controlled to each of the six groups of a blank mold (See Fig. 3/11). Hermening cites the cross-sectional configuration of the branch conduits can be optimized in order to obtain the desired fluid flow conditions of the cooling fluid in the fluid channels (Col 3 lines 24-28). Each sector of Hermening does not represent a quadrant of a blank mold.
Foster cites providing cooling to vertical cooling passages arranged in an annular array around the mold cavity, for a single/non-split mold, cooling using cooling air where the passages can be stepped in diameter (multi-diameter passages), in order to concentrate there cooling effect of air flowing through the passages where it is required (Col 4 lines 55-66). Fenton cites a single mold with vertical cooling passages (Fig. 1 element 22) where at the top of each cooling passage resides a restrictor plate in an annular ring with holes aligned with the cooling passages. The restrictor plate is used to control the amount of cooling air in each passage individually (Col 3 lines 6-23).
Becker discloses cooling a pair of molds (Fig. 7) that contains vertical cooling passages where separate streams of fluid are passed through the cooling passages to achieve closely controlled cooling (Col 2 lines 14-21) where the system provides a much greater heat-transfer coefficient between the fluid streams and the mold than was thought possible (Col 2 lines 48-51). The cooling manifolds for each of the molds of the pair of molds are such that portion of the molds closest to each other are fed cooling fluid faster than the portions of the mold not in closest proximity to each other as typically the region where the molds are in close proximity to each other has reduced heat loss and more cooling is needed (Col 6 lines 64-68, Col 7 lines 1-8). See Fig 9. below regions 211 and 213 of the manifolds that supply more cooling fluid in the areas of close proximity of the mold pair:
This arrangement of cooling manifold cooling fluid flow supports Hermening’s citing that the cross-sectional configuration of the branch conduits can be optimized in order to obtain the desired fluid flow conditions of the cooling fluid in the fluid channels (Col 3 lines 24-28)
While the figure does not specify the configuration as a quadrant, it appears close to a quadrant. The manifold appears to provide more cooling fluid from a near- quadrant of each manifold.
It would be obvious for a PHOSITA to have a reasonable expectation of success that having a cooling fluid manifold segmented in a quadrant-type arrangement, and therefore cooling passages controlled in a quadrant type arrangement, to have a reasonable expectation of success of obtaining more effective cooling with a quadrant that lies between the pair of molds. It would have been obvious to try to use a quadrant arrangement of cooling passages that is defined by the quadrant arrangement of the manifolds supplying cooling fluid. While one quadrant is used for the cooling between the pair of molds, it would be reasonable design choice to create four (4) quadrants for more than a pair of molds (i.e. three molds in a line/row arrangement). A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hermening and in further
in further view of Lewis and in further view of U.S. Patent 7,458,393 by Weingarten (herein
“Weingarten”) and in further view of Evidentiary U.S. Patent 6,807,985 by Stares et. al. (herein “Stares”)
Regarding Claim 7 - Hermening and Lewis in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the
limitations of claim 1.
the at least one flow control valve; Fig. 2/3, Col 8 lines 65-67, ““…The shaft 136 carries at its lower end a cup-shaped throttling valve 145”. Fig. 2 illustrates throttling valve 145 connected with other components to blank mold hanger half 7.
that is moveable from a rest position to an actuated position; ; Col 3 lines 58-59,
“...the position of the throttling valve can be adjusted manually or my means of a
motor…”, where “the pressure of the fluid in the fluid channels can be adjusted between 0 and
100%”. Here, an adjustment to the throttling valve indicates movement from one position to
another position, to provide minimum and maximum pressure ( position extremes).
While Hermening discloses a throttle valve for a flow control valve (Fig. 2/3, Col 8 lines 65-67),
Hermening does not disclose to do so selectively.
Lewis discloses coolant may fed through individually controllable valves 90 to the individual mold segments. Valves 90 are controlled by electronic controller 84 (Fig.21). Controller 84 provides suitable signals to the individual valves 90, which gives facility for controlling coolant flow to the molds individually (Col 8 lines 6, 22-26, 30-33). Here, controlling coolant flow is selective for the molds individually.
the at least one flow control valve includes a valve plug;
to adjust the flow of cooling fluid through the at least one cooling fluid outlet; this limitation is
directed to intended use, See Claim Interpretation. While directed to intended use, see below.
In an analogous endeavor of a control valve for regulating the flow of fluids (Abstract), Weingarten
discloses a plug-and-seat valve, where the valve body defines a passageway and a plug is associated
with an actuator such that movement of the actuator from a retracted position towards and extended
position displaces the plug (Abstract lines 2-5). Further that valve plug 24 is associated with actuator 20
such that movement of actuator 20 from its retracted position towards its extended position displaces
plug 24 towards opening 18. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the
time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a plug-and-seat valve (which includes a
plug ) of Weingarten instead of the throttle valve of Hermening, as one would be motivated to do so for
the purposes that high pressure clearance flow throttling can be very damaging to metal surfaces and a
plug-and-seat plug valve reduces or eliminates cavitation erosion damage on seating surfaces, as noted
by Evidentiary Stares (Col 2 lines 13-15, 39-40), where Stares discloses a plug-and- seat valve (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 8 - Hermening , Lewis, Weingarten and Stares in the rejection of claim 7 above
teaches all of the limitations of claim 7.
wherein the blank mold hanger half includes,
a valve seat and the valve plug of the at least one flow control valve moves axially with respect
to the valve seat between the rest position and the actuated position; Fig. 1A/B/
Weingarten further discloses when the plug is displaced by the actuator, the plug moves in sliding
actuator moves to the extended position and the plug closes against the closure surface of the valve
seat (Col 1 lines 46-65). Fig. 1A/B illustrates the valve plug in the open (retracted) and closed (extended)
positions. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to use the plug-and-seat valve of Weingarten for the valves of
Hermening as one would be motivated to do so for the purpose of the plug-seat engagement blocking
the passage of fluid from an inlet to an outlet as well as provide a valve such that the valve seat can be
installed/replaced without direction manual access to the valve seat and provide enhanced mechanical
support for the valve plug as noted by Weingarten (Col 1 lines 60-65 Col 1 lines 30-35).
Regarding Claim 9 - Hermening , Lewis, Weingarten and Stares in the rejection of claim 8 above
teaches all of the limitations of claim 8.
Hermening teaches wherein,
the rest position is an open position of the at least one flow control valve, in which the valve
plug is spaced apart from the valve seat; this limitation is directed to intended use, See Claim
Interpretation. Here, the rest position could be close position which is then opened.
and the actuated position is a closed position of the at least one flow control valve, in which the
valve plug is seated against the valve seat; this limitation is directed to intended use, See Claim
Interpretation. Here, the actuated position could be an open position which is then closed.
While the above limitations are directed to intended use, Weingarten discloses the plug is free to move
between an open position in which fluid flows from the inlet to the outlet and a closed position in which
the plug closes against the closure surface of the valve seat so as to block the passage of fluid (Col 2 lines
62-65).
Regarding Claim 10 - Hermening , Lewis, Weingarten and Stares in the rejection of claim 9 above
teaches all of the limitations of claim 9.
wherein,
the at least one flow control valve is biased to the rest position and is pneumatically actuatable from the rest position to the actuated position;
Weingarten further discloses FIGS. 1A and 1B show a control valve, generally designated 10, for regulating flow of fluids….An actuator 20 is located in a control chamber 22 connected to body 12 and configured to move along an axis through a range of motion from a retracted position (FIG. 1A) to an extended position (FIG. 1B). Control valve 10 also includes a plug 24 associated with actuator 20 such that movement of actuator 20 from its retracted position towards its extended position displaces plug 24 towards opening 18 (Col 3 lines 38-40, 43-49). Further, a valve stem 47 is cited that is attached to the actuator 20 (Col 4 line 61). While Weingarten does not explicitly cite the use of pneumatic actuation, pneumatic actuators are common in industry. "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding Claim 11 - Hermening , Lewis, Weingarten and Stares in the rejection of claim 8 above
teaches all of the limitations of claim 8.
wherein,
a guide wall extends axially away from the valve seat and the valve plug of the at least one flow control valve contacts and slides against the guide wall.
Weingarten further discloses a guide-and-seat insert 26 as seen in FIG. 2. Guide-and-seat insert 26 includes a valve seat 28 configured to seal against opening 18 (Fig. 1A/B) and to provide a closure surface against which plug 24 closes. A plurality of plug guides 30 (guide wall that extends axially away from the valve seat 28). The control valve is configured such that, when plug 24 is displaced by actuator 20, plug 24 moves in sliding engagement with at least two of plug guides 30 (Col 3 lines 51-55).
Regarding Claim 19 - Hermening and Lewis in the rejection of claim 18 above teaches all of the
limitations of claim 18.
Hermening teaches wherein,
each of the first flow control valve and the second flow control valve is moveable; Fig. 2/3, Col 8 lines 65-67, Col 3 lines 58-59, ““…The shaft 136 carries at its lower end a cup-shaped throttling valve 145…”, “...the position of the throttling valve can be adjusted manually or my means of a motor…”, where “the pressure of the fluid in the fluid channels can be adjusted between 0 and 100%”. Here, an adjustment to the throttling valve indicates movement from one position to another position.
While Hermening discloses a throttle valve for a flow control valve, Hermening does not disclose to do so selectively.
Lewis discloses coolant may fed through individually controllable valves 90 to the individual mold segments. Valves 90 are controlled by electronic controller 84 (Fig. 21). Controller 84 provides suitable signals to the individual valves 90, which gives facility for controlling coolant flow to the molds individually (Col 8 lines 6, 22-26, 30-33). Here, controlling coolant flow is selective for the molds individually. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the flow valve control configured per Lewis for the flow control valves in the plenum in the apparatus of Hermening, as one would be motivated to do so for the purpose of dynamically adjusting and controlling the coolant temperature and flow rate to achieve optimum cooling and temperature control at the mold forming surfaces, as noted by Lewis, Col 3 lines 12-18.
While Hermening discloses a valve that moves between two positions (Col 3 lines 58-59), Hermening does not disclose to do so where the valves include a valve plug that is moveable axially relative to a valve seat.
In an analogous endeavor of a control valve for regulating the flow of fluids (Abstract), Weingarten
discloses a plug-and-seat valve 10, that contains a valve plug 24 and a valve seat 28, where the valve
plug moves axially relative to the valve seat and valve plug 24 circumscribes plug guides 30
(Col 3 lines 46-53; Fig 1A/B, where Figs. 1A/B illustrate the axial movement of the valve plug 24 and the
location of valve plug 24 circumscribed with plug guides 30). Further that valve plug 24 is associated
with actuator 20 such that movement of actuator 20 from its retracted position towards its extended
position displaces plug 24 towards opening 18. The control valve is configured such that, when plug 24
is displaced by actuator 20, plug 24 moves in sliding engagement with at least two of plug guides 30, and
such that, when actuator 20 moves to its extended position, plug 24 closes against the closure surface of
valve seat 28 (Col 3 lines 59-64).Weingarten discloses the claimed invention except for valve plug 24 of
plug-and-seat valve 10 circumscribing the first and second passage openings. It would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention
to use the plug and seat control valve of Weingarten (with plug valve 24) into the passage openings,
where the plug guides touch the inner wall of the passage openings where the plug valve would also
circumscribe the passage openings, instead of the throttle valve in the apparatus of Hermening
as one would be motivated to do so for the purposes that high pressure clearance flow throttling can be
very damaging to metal surfaces and a plug-and-seat plug valve reduces or eliminates cavitation erosion
damage on seating surfaces, as noted by Evidentiary Stares (Col 2 lines 13-15, 39-40), where Stares
discloses a plug-and- seat valve (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 20 - Hermening and Lewis in the rejection of claim 19 above teaches all of the
limitations of claim 19.
Hermening teaches wherein,
the valve plugs of the first flow control valve and the second flow control valve are biased to
their respective rest positions position; this claim limitation is directed to intended use, See
Claim Interpretation. Here, the bias of the valve plugs to a rest position is irrelevant to the
structure of the control valve or the valve plug. The valve plug may be biased in many position
for any purpose in consideration of the steps of the process.
Regarding Claim 21 - Hermening and Lewis in the rejection of claim 18 above teaches all of the
limitations of claim 18.
Hermening teaches wherein the second blank mold hanger half further defines,
a third cooling fluid outlet and a fourth cooling fluid outlet; Col 9 lines 23-34, Fig. 1, Figs. 2A/3, “Each branch channel, for instance, 63 is provided with an arcuate slot shaped outlet opening 153 to 158 in the top wall 143 of the fluid distributing box 144. The outlet openings 153 to 158 open onto an opposing surface 160…which is complementary to a connecting surface 159 of the mold segment 21. The connecting surface 159 is formed with inlet openings of the fluid channels 28 to 30, which may be seen in FIG. 2A, such inlet openings being in alignment with the outlet openings 153 to 158.” Fig. 1 illustrates mold hanger 7 with attached fluid outlets where a third fluid outlet can be defined as element 156, and where a fourth fluid outlet can be defined as element 158 (Fig. 3), which are located in blank mold hanger half 2.
the third cooling fluid outlet being in fluidic communication with a third subset of the plurality
of axial cooling channels defined in the second blank mold half within a third sector of the blank
mold;
and the fourth cooling fluid outlet being in fluidic communication with a fourth subset of the
plurality of axial cooling channels defined in the second blank mold half within a fourth sector of
the blank mold;
Col 9 lines 23-34, Figs. 2A/3, Col 6 lines 63-67, col 7 lines 1-3, Annotated Fig. 1“The fluid distributing box 144 includes branch channels 62 to 64 and 71 to 73 which may be seen in FIG. 3. Each branch channel, for instance, 63 is provided with an arcuate slot shaped outlet opening 153 to 158 in the top wall 143 of the fluid distributing box 144. The outlet openings 153 to 158 open onto an opposing surface 160 of the fluid distributing box 144 which is complementary to a connecting surface 159 of the mold segment 21. The connecting surface 159 is formed with inlet openings of the fluid channels 28 to 30, which may be seen in FIG. 2A, such inlet openings being in alignment with the outlet openings 153 to 158.” Here, the cooling fluid outlets 153 and 155 of blank mold hanger half 1 of the fluid distribution box 144 are in fluidic communication with the aligned with cooling channels 28 and 30, respectively, of a first mold segment 21 in a first angular sector and a second angular sector – See Annotated Fig. 2A. The cooling fluid outlets 156 and 158 of blank mold hanger half 2 of the fluid distribution box 144 are in fluidic communication with the aligned with cooling channels 28 and 30, respectively, of a second mold segment 21, where, as the there are two identical mold segments 21, the aligned cooling fluid outlets 156 and 158 are in fluidic communication with the aligned with cooling channels 28 and 30 in a third and fourth sector, respectively, as is illustrated by Second Annotated Fig. 2A below:
the second blank mold hanger half further including,
a second plenum defining a second main interior chamber configured to receive an input flow of
cooling fluid;
Fig. 2, Col 9 lines 1-4, Col 8 line 67, Col 9 lines 24-38, Fig. 1, Figs. 2A/3/Annotated Fig. 2 “...the
fluid distribution box 144 has an inlet opening 147 which is in permanent communication with
the internal space of a collection box 148, in which pressurized fluid is introduced in the
direction of an arrow 149”. Here, the plenum is defined as, in broadest reasonable
interpretation, the totality of the fluid distribution box 144 (secondary plenum = a
few distribution channels, See Fig. 3) ) that feeds finer distribution channels (cooling channels
28-30 with a plurality of cooling channels, Fig. 2A) and the collection box 148 (primary plenum),
where collection box 148 has a main interior chamber, which together are fluid distributing
device 38. . See Enlarged Area Annotated Fig. 2 below:
“…lateral opening 146…”, “The fluid distributing box 144 (secondary plenum) includes branch
channels 62 to 64 ( considered a second plenum of branch channels) and 71 to 73 ( considered a
first plenum of branch channels) which may be seen in FIG. 3.
the second plenum further defining a third cooling flow passage extending from the third
cooling fluid outlet to a third passage opening connected to the main interior chamber of the
second blank mold hanger half;
and a fourth cooling flow passage extending from the fourth cooling fluid outlet to a fourth
passage opening connected to the main interior chamber of the second blank mold hanger half;
Col 8 line 67, Col 9 lines 24-38, Fig. 1, Figs. 2A/3/Annotated Fig. 2
“…lateral opening 146…”, “The fluid distributing box 144 (secondary plenum) includes branch
channels 62 to 64 ( considered a second plenum of branch channels) and 71 to 73 ( considered a
first plenum of branch channels) which may be seen in FIG. 3. Each branch channel, for
instance, 63 is provided with an arcuate slot shaped outlet opening 153 to 158 in the top wall
143 of the fluid distributing box 144…”. Fig. 3 illustrates the cooling flow passageway(s) 62-
64 (second plenum of branch channels) and 71-73 (first plenum of branch channels) is/are
connected to lateral opening(s) 146 (passage opening) are connected to a
respective cooling fluid outlets (153-158), where the second plenum of branch channels includes
cooling flow passageway(s) 62 and 64 connected to cooling fluid outlets 156 and 158 and the
second plenum of branch channels includes cooling flow passageway(s) 62 and 64
connected to respective third and fourth passage openings 146.
a third flow control valve that is configured to adjust a flow of cooling fluid out of the third
cooling fluid outlet and through the third subset of the plurality of axial cooling channels;
and a fourth flow control valve that is configured to adjust a flow of cooling fluid out of the
fourth cooling fluid outlet and through the fourth subset of the plurality of axial cooling
channels.
Col 8 lines 65-67, Col 9 lines 1-4, 23, 25-34, Col 3 lines 50-57, Fig. 3, “The shaft 136 carries at its lower end a cup-shaped throttling valve 145 having a lateral opening 146. The throttling valve 145 is fitted into a receiving opening of the fluid distributing box 144…”, “The fluid distributing box 144 includes branch channels…each branch channel…is provided with an arcuate slot shaped outlet opening 153 to 158 in the top wall 143 of the fluid distributing box 144…”, “…The connecting surface 159 is formed with inlet openings of the fluid channels 28 to 30, which may be seen in FIG. 2A, such inlet openings being in alignment with the outlet openings 153 to 158..”, “…A throttling valve may be arranged…in a supply conduit which forms a part of the supplying means and communicates with the distributing channels and/or in each of the distributing channels and/or in each of the branch channels. When this expedient is resorted to, the pressure of the pressurized fluid in the fluid channels can be adjusted between 0 and 100%.” Here, Fig. 3 illustrates a throttling valve(s) 145 for adjusting the cooling flow into the channels (62, 64), and subsequently into the cooling fluid outlets ( 156, 158) respectively. As fluid channels 28 to 30 are aligned with the cooling fluid outlets, and fluid channels 28-30 contain a plurality of axial cooling channels (Fig. 2A), the controls valves control the cooling fluid flow into the a plurality of axial cooling channels.
While Hermening discloses the third and fourth flow control valve that can adjust the flow of the cooling fluid through their respective subsets of the plurality of axial cooling channels, Hermening does not disclose to so remotely controllable and selectively.
Lewis discloses forming glass with split forming molds (Fig. 1) where there are arcuate inlet slots (Fig. 2 64/66/68/70) that are aligned with axial cooling channels (Fig. 2 34a-34h, Col 4 lines 46-58, Col 5 lines 53-54). Further, Lewis discloses a coolant circulation system 80 (Fig. 21) . Coolant may be fed through individually controllable valves 90 to the individual mold segments. Valves 90 are controlled by electronic controller 84 (Fig. 21). Controller 84 provides suitable signals to the individual valves 90, which gives facility for controlling coolant flow to the molds individually (Col 8 lines 6, 22-26, 30-33). Each mold has a serpentine cooling channel (Col 6 lines 1-9) with alternating-direction axial cooling channels. Here, each mold has a valve 90 that controls cooling fluid in a serpentine cooling channel. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the flow valve control configured per Lewis for the third and fourth control vales in the apparatus of Hermening to control cooling fluid flow through the plurality of axial cooling channels, as one would be motivated to do so for the purpose of dynamically adjusting and controlling the coolant temperature and flow rate to achieve optimum cooling and temperature control at the mold forming surfaces, as noted by Lewis, Col 3 lines 12-18.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
Simon (U.S. Patent 9,580,345) discloses, for a glass molding machine, a temperature control system to control cooling fluid to molds, which may be done independently for each mold.
Borcherdling et. al. (U.S. Patent 9,458,042) discloses, for a glass molding machine, a control system to control cooling fluid to molds, which may be done independently for each mold.
Newsome et. al. (U.S. Patent 8,316,670) discloses, for a glass molding machine, a plenum for controlling cooling air.
Hayes et. al. (U.S. Patent 7,698,907) discloses, for a glass molding machine, a split mold with fluid passages for cooling.
Niewels (U.S. Patent 7,341,688) discloses a plug and seat valve that retracts from open and closed positions to regulate heat transfer from an injection molding device.
Flynn (U.S. Patent 6,442,976) discloses split molds in a glass forming machine where a coolant manifold supplies cooling air to the molds.
Bennett (U.S. Patent 6,318,130) discloses for a glass forming machine where a liquid coolant is supplied to the molds by variable flow control valves.
Swanfeld (U.S. Patent 5,304,229) discloses for a glass forming machine where plenums provide cooling air to vertical passages in the mold members.
Ito (U.S. Patent 5,059,236) discloses for a glass forming machine a plenum that provides cooling air to a blank mold to vertical passages in the mold.
Meyer (USPGPUB 20040211220A1) discloses a mold cooling system for blank mold halves that comprises a plenum, where the blank mold halves are supported by a hanger assembly, where the flow is adjustable via throttle valves.
/CHRISTOPHER PAUL DAIGLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ERIN SNELTING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741