DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the final drive" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20090065270 A1 ("Bordini") in view of US 10442462 B2 ("Higuchi").
Claim 1: Bordini teaches a work vehicle switchable between a tracked configuration and a wheeled configuration (para. 1, lines 1-3), the work vehicle comprising: a main frame (MB) extending along a central longitudinal axis between a front end and a rear end relative to a direction of travel (para. 39, lines 1-7); a power source (MT) (para. 43, lines 1-4); a first ground engaging device including one of a first track assembly (TK; Fig. 8) or a first wheel assembly (WL1, WL2; Fig. 7) and configured to move the work vehicle in the direction of travel; a first common drive assembly coupled to the main frame and connected to the power source for receiving torque therefrom, the first common drive assembly including: a first motor (12*); a first final drive (gear train) coupled to the first motor, wherein the first motor is configured to drive the first final drive (para. 53, lines 1-6; motor 12* connection to gears via 13*); a first drive sprocket (35) coupled to the first final drive and rotatable around a first drive sprocket axis by an output of the first final drive (Fig. 8); a first driven sprocket (36); and a dual-mode axle coupled to and rotatable by the first driven sprocket, wherein the dual-mode axle is configured to rotate a track sprocket (drive sprocket 35 is shown to have a sprocket connected to the tracks in Fig. 9) of the first track assembly to drive a track (TK) when disposed in the tracked configuration (Figs. 8 and 9), and wherein the dual-mode axle is configured to rotate a wheel of the first wheel assembly when disposed in the wheeled configuration (Fig. 7). But does not teach a first chain connecting the first drive sprocket and the first driven sprocket, wherein the first chain is configured to rotate the first driven sprocket around a first driven sprocket axis.
However, Higuchi in a similar field of art teaches a first chain (8) connecting the first drive sprocket (9 connected to the motor 5 at front) and the first driven sprocket (9 at the rear), wherein the first chain is configured to rotate the first driven sprocket around a first driven sprocket axis (Fig. 1; col. 4, lines 57-60). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Bordini with the features of Higuchi by replacing the front idle wheel with a chain-connected sprocket. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to achieve positive, slip-free synchronized rotation between the front and rear shafts, thereby improving mechanical reliability and ensuring uniform shaft velocity.
Claim 2: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Bordini further teaches the work vehicle, wherein the first track assembly includes an idler roller (36) rotatable around an idler roller axis and the track extending around the idler roller and the track sprocket (track sprocket of 35) (Fig. 9; para. 66, lines 1-8).
Claim 3: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 2 as noted above. Bordini further teaches the work vehicle, wherein a diameter of the idler roller (36) and a diameter of the track sprocket (35) are identical, and the idler roller and the track sprocket are spaced apart relative to the direction of travel to tension the track in an oval shape (Fig. 9).
Claim 4: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 2 as noted above. Bordini further teaches the work vehicle, wherein the idler roller (35) is disposed at a front inner end of the track and the track sprocket (36) is disposed at a rear inner end of the track (Fig. 9).
Claim 5: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 4 as noted above. Higuchi further teaches the work vehicle, wherein when disposed in the tracked configuration, a power flow from the first final drive (6) is transferred through the first drive sprocket (9 connected to the motor 5 at front), the first chain (8), the first driven sprocket (9 at rear) to the dual-mode axle (power is split with the chain and sprocket system as 20 and 30 are connected via 8 and 9; Fig. 1; col. 4, lines 53-60).
Claim 6: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 5 as noted above. Higuchi further teaches the work vehicle, wherein when disposed in the wheeled configuration, further comprises a second wheel (3 of 30) coupled to the final drive (6), a power flow from the final drive is split into a first portion transferred to the wheel (3 of 20) and a second portion transferred to the second wheel (power is split with the belt and pulley system as 20 and 30 are connected via 8 and 9; Fig. 1; col. 4, lines 53-60).
Claim 7: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 2 as noted above. Bordini further teaches the work vehicle, wherein when disposed in the tracked configuration, the idler roller axis (axis of shaft 40) and the first drive sprocket axis (axis of shaft 34) are offset (Fig. 8).
Claim 8: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 2 as noted above. Bordini further teaches the work vehicle, wherein the first track assembly includes a plurality of track rollers (38) aligned with the direction of travel and engaging a lower portion of track (Fig. 9; para. 66, lines 1-8).
Claim 9: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Bordini further teaches the work vehicle, wherein the dual-mode axle defines a first axis of rotation (axis of shaft 34), the track sprocket defines a track sprocket axis (axis of 35) for rotating therearound (Fig. 8), the wheel defines a wheel axis for rotating therearound (axis of wheel WL1) (Fig. 7).
Claim 10: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 9 as noted above. Bordini further teaches the work vehicle, wherein when the work vehicle is disposed in a tracked configuration (Fig. 8), the track sprocket axis (Axis of 35) is aligned co-axial with the first axis of rotation (Axis of shaft 34), and when work vehicle is disposed in a wheeled configuration (Fig. 7), the wheel axis (Axis of wheel WL1) aligned co-axial with the first axis of rotation.
Claim 11: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Bordini further teaches the work vehicle, wherein an outer end of the dual-mode axle includes a flange (FL), and when disposed in the tracked configuration (Fig. 9), the track sprocket (35) is attached to the flange (connected via the gears and 12; Fig. 9).
Claim 12: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 11 as noted above. Higuchi further teaches the work vehicle, wherein when disposed in the wheeled configuration (Fig. 7), the wheel (WL1) is attached to the flange (13) (Fig. 7; para. 48, lines 1-5).
Claim 13: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Bordini further teaches the work vehicle, wherein the dual-mode axle is a rear axle, and the first motor (5) is positioned at a front portion of the main frame (Fig. 1).
Claim 14: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Bordini further teaches the work vehicle, further comprising a second wheel (WL1 located the on right side of the vehicle; the applicant's specification equates "second" and "first" with the right and left sides) coupled to the first final drive (12) via a wheel coupler (FL, 13) when disposed in the wheeled configuration (Fig. 7).
Claim 15: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 14 as noted above. Bordini further teaches the work vehicle, further comprising a final drive housing (CM) configured to cover the first final drive (12) and coupled to the wheel coupler (FL, 13) as a single unit when disposed in the wheeled configuration (Fig. 7).
Claim 16: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 14 as noted above. Bordini further teaches the work vehicle, further comprising a second final drive housing (housing GT for the right side of the vehicle; the applicant's specification equates "second" and "first" with the right and left sides) without connecting to the first track assembly (TK of the left side of the vehicle) when disposed in the tracked configuration (Fig. 8).
Claim 17: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Bordini further teaches the work vehicle, further comprising: a second ground engaging device including one of a second track assembly (TK, located on the right side of the vehicle; the applicant's specification equates "second" and "first" with the right and left sides; Fig. 8) or a second wheel assembly (WL1, WL2 located on the right side; Fig. 7) and configured to move the work vehicle in the direction of travel; and a second common drive assembly coupled to the main frame and connected to the power source for receiving torque therefrom, the second common drive assembly including: a second motor (12* located on the right side); a second final drive (gear train located on the right side) coupled to the second motor, wherein the second motor is configured to drive the second final drive (para. 53, lines 1-6; motor 12* connection to gears via 13*); a second drive sprocket (35 on the right side) coupled to the second final drive and rotatable around a second drive sprocket axis by an output of the second final drive (Fig. 8); a second driven sprocket (36, located on the right side); and a second dual-mode axle coupled to and rotatable by the second driven sprocket, wherein the second dual-mode axle is configured to rotate a second track sprocket (drive sprocket 35 on the right side of the vehicle Fig. 9) of the second track assembly to drive a track (TK) when disposed in the tracked configuration (Figs. 8 and 9), and wherein the second dual-mode axle is configured to rotate a wheel of the second wheel assembly when disposed in the wheeled configuration (Fig. 7). But does not teach a second chain connecting the second drive sprocket and the second driven sprocket, wherein the second chain is configured to rotate the second driven sprocket around a second driven sprocket axis.
However, Higuchi in a similar field of art teaches a second chain (8 located on the right side of the vehicle) connecting the second drive sprocket (9 located on the right side of the vehicle connected to the motor 5 at front) and the second driven sprocket (9 at the rear located on the right side of the vehicle), wherein the second chain is configured to rotate the second driven sprocket around a second driven sprocket axis (Fig. 1; col. 4, lines 57-60). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Bordini with the features of Higuchi by replacing the front idle wheel with a chain-connected sprocket. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to achieve positive, slip-free synchronized rotation between the front and rear shafts, thereby improving mechanical reliability and ensuring uniform shaft velocity.
Claim 18: Bordini teaches a drivetrain for a work vehicle for switching between a tracked configuration and a wheeled configuration (para. 1, lines 1-3), the drivetrain comprising:a final drive (gear train); a drive sprocket (35) coupled to the final drive and rotatable around a drive sprocket axis by an output of the final drive; a driven sprocket (36); and a dual-mode axle coupled to and rotatable by the driven sprocket, wherein the dual-mode axle is configured to rotate a track sprocket (drive sprocket 35 is shown to have a sprocket connected to the tracks in Fig. 9) of a track assembly to drive a track (TK) when disposed in the tracked configuration (Figs. 8 and 9), and wherein the dual- mode axle is configured to rotate a wheel of a wheel assembly when disposed in the wheeled configuration (Fig. 7). But does not teach a chain connecting the drive sprocket and the driven sprocket, wherein the chain is configured to rotate the driven sprocket around a driven sprocket axis.
However, Higuchi in a similar field of art teaches a chain (8) connecting the drive sprocket (9 connected to the motor 5 at front) and the driven sprocket (9 at the rear), wherein the chain is configured to rotate the driven sprocket around a driven sprocket axis (Fig. 1; col. 4, lines 57-60). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Bordini with the features of Higuchi by replacing the front idle wheel with a chain-connected sprocket. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to achieve positive, slip-free synchronized rotation between the front and rear shafts, thereby improving mechanical reliability and ensuring uniform shaft velocity.
Conclusion
/A.R.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3618 /MINNAH L SEOH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3618