DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in the parent application 17049446 on 10/21/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/24/2025 is being considered by the examiner. The signed IDS form is attached with the instant office action.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 objected to because of the following informalities: In line 3 of claim 4, the term “which” should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sandvik (From IDS, WO2004096240A1).
Sandvik’s general disclosure is to anthocyanins for the prevention and treatment of diabetes, cardiovascular disorders and lowering the risk of adverse side effects for women receiving hormone replacement therapy (see abstract).
Sandvik teaches a method of administering anthocyanins from the raw cake extracts of the fruit V. myrtillus and R. nigrum (see example 1, page 13) for preventing or treating cardiovascular problems, wherein the cardiovascular problems are myocardial infarction, ischemic stroke, arteriosclerosis, coronary revisualization or a circulatory problem (see abstract and claims 3 and 4). Sandvik also teaches wherein the composition was administered daily for four weeks (see page 15 example 4).
Regarding claim 4, Sandvik teaches that the anthocyanin can be in the composition in amounts at least 50% by weight (see page 21, @27).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Sandvik teaches the anthocyanins to be cyanidin-3-o-p-glucoside, delphinidin-3-o-p-glucoside, and namely the 3-glucosides and 3-rutinosides of cyanidin and delphinidin (see pages 6 and 7).
Regarding claims 7-8, Sandvik teaches that the raw material used is the cakes of fruit skin produced as the waste product in fruit juice pressing from V. myrtillus and R. nigrum. (see example 1, page 13) which is the same as a pomace because a pomace is the pulpy residue remaining after fruit has been crushed to extract its juice.
Regarding claim 9, Sandvik teaches extracting the black currants and bilberries and then teaches the extract is run through an ion exchange column which is flushed with ion exchanged water (see page 14, lines 25-28) and this process is the same as using column chromatography. Sandvik also teaches that the composition is a spray-dried product (see claim 29).
Regarding claim 10, Sandvik teaches wherein the at least one anthocyanin is in a dosage unit form containing 50 to 250 mg anthocyanin per unit dose (see claim 26).
Regarding claim 11, Sandvik teaches wherein the ratio of Vaccinium myrtillus and Ribes nigrum in a weight ratio of 0.5:1 to 1:0.5 (see page 11, lines 16-20).
Regarding claim 12, Sandvik teaches chloride salts (see page 1, line 26, page 5, line 36, etc.).
Regarding claim 13, Sadvik teaches synthetic anthocyanins (see page 10, lines 31-35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the effective filing date to any person having ordinary skill in the art to administer the composition comprising black currants and bilberries in the amount claimed and for 1 to 10 oral dosages because Sandvik teaches administering the same composition and optimizing the amount of anthocyanin to be in amounts that are at least 80 mg.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sandvik (From IDS, WO2004096240A1) as applied to claims 1 and 4-13 above, and further in view of Jennings et. al. (Higher anthocyanin intake is associated with lower arterial stiffness and central blood pressure in women, The American Journal of Clinical Nutrition, Vol. 96, Issue 4, Oct. 2012, pp 781-788).
Sandvik teaches the instant invention however does not specifically teach that the administration is for reducing arterial stiffness.
Jennings disclosure is a scientific report on anthocyanin intake being associated with reduced arterial stiffness (see abstract).
Jennings teaches “In multivariate analyses, a higher anthocyanin intake was associated with significantly lower cSBP (mean ± SE: −3.0 ± 1.4 mm Hg for quintile 5 compared with quintile 1; P-trend = 0.02), MAP (−2.3 ± 1.2 mm Hg for quintile 5 compared with quintile 1; P-trend = 0.04), and pulse wave velocity (PWV) (−0.4 ± 0.2 m/s for quintile 5 compared with quintile 1; P-trend = 0.04), whereas a higher flavone intake was associated with a lower PWV (−0.4 ± 0.2 m/s for quintile 5 compared with quintile 1; P-trend = 0.04)” (see abstract).
Jennings teaches that “In food-based analyses, the main dietary sources of anthocyanins, wine (−0.3 ± 0.21 m/s for tertile 3 compared with tertile 1; P-trend = 0.04) and berries (−0.3 ± 0.18 m/s for tertile 3 compared with tertile 1; P-trend = 0.04), were also associated with lower PWV (Table 3).
“These findings highlight the importance of incorporating more fruit, particularly berries, into our diets because 44 mg anthocyanins are provided by ∼1–2 portions of either strawberries, raspberries, or blueberries (27, 29)” (see discussion).
Regarding claim 2, Jennings teaches that a higher anthocyanin intake was associated with a lower systolic blood pressure (mean 6 SE: 23.0 6 1.4 mm Hg for quintile 5 compared with quintile 1; P-trend = 0.02) (see abstract’s results, page 781) and this would be indicative of the cardiovascular condition as being an improvement of blood pressure. Furthermore, Jennings teaches after anthocyanin supplementation wherein systolic blood pressure is reduced (see page 782, first para., Table 1 and results of abstract).
Jennings teaches “Peripheral SBP and peripheral DBP (average of 2 readings) were measured with an automated cuff sphygmomanometer (OMRON HEM713C). Measures of central blood pressure and AI were obtained with the subject in a supine position by using the SphygmoCor system (Atcor Medical), as described previously for this cohort (22).
The radial artery pressure waveform was calibrated to the supine brachial blood pressure.” Those skilled in the art would know that a SphygmoCor system uses a standard brachial cuff to measure brachial systolic and diastolic pressures via waveform analysis.
Sandvik does not specifically teach wherein calculating a linear regression curve of an augmentation index over a period of 30 days the slope of a linear has a negative value, however selecting dosage frequencies and amounts that correlate to a negative slope in a linear regression curve of an AI would have been an obvious limitation to have met because a negative slope would indicate a reduction in arterial stiffness. People of skill would want to increase the dosage frequency and/or amounts if the current frequency and/or amount was not providing relief or reduction in AI.
Any person skilled in the art would know how to calculate a linear regression model for the augmentation index and base the dosage amounts and frequencies to translate to a negative slope since that would be indicative of a reduction in arterial stiffness. If the slope were not negative then this would indicate there was not enough anthocyanins to lower arterial stiffness and the amount and/or frequency would need to be increased.
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the effective filing date to any person having ordinary skill in the art to administer the composition comprising black currants and bilberries in the amount claimed and for the duration claimed because the prior art teaches an effective range which encompasses the instantly claimed range. The prior art also teaches administration of the product for the same duration, four weeks which is about the same as the instantly claimed 30 days. The prior art also mentions that the exact dosage will depend on the individual patient and on the condition being treated meaning that any person having skill in the art would understand to administer the composition for some patients longer than the described four weeks, extending to 30 days depending on the patient and condition being treated.
The prior art also teaches the same amount of anthocyanins from the same berries, utilizing the same solvents for extraction, and administering to the same patient population. The effects of the prior art would be inherent since the method and product is the same. Furthermore, Jennings teaches that berry consumption which is high in anthocyanins are known for reducing arterial stiffness thus administering a patient a product which comprised of anthocyanins from berries in the instantly claimed amounts, for reducing arterial stiffness would have been obvious given the prior art.
It would have also been obvious to use extracts of black currants and bilberries using ethanol or methanol for the method of treating cardiovascular diseases and improving cardiovascular conditions such as systolic blood pressure because the prior art already teaches these components.
With the combined relied upon art there would be a great expectation of success in arriving at the instant invention because the instant limitations have already been disclosed in the prior art.
Conclusion
Currently no claims are allowed.
JACOB A BOECKELMANExaminer, Art Unit 1655
/ANAND U DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1655