DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed on 4/25/25, the requirements 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) are met.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited on a Form PTO 1449 have been considered.
Specification
The specification has been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. However, the applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the third direction". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of further examination, Claim 3 is assumed to depend on Claim 2, rather then Claim 1, to provide sufficient antecedent basis for the limitation "the third direction".
Similarly, Claim 10 recites the limitation "the third direction". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of further examination, Claim 10 is assumed to depend on Claim 9, rather then Claim 8, to provide sufficient antecedent basis for the limitation "the third direction".
Claim 8 recites, and its dependent Claims 9-14 incorporate, the limitation "mounted on the carriage so as to be arranged side by side in the first direction with the liquid ejection unit". It is unclear what is "mounted on the carriage so as to be arranged side by side in the first direction with the liquid ejection unit", making the Claim indefinite. For the purposes of further examination, Claim 8 is assumed to recite, inter alia, " the ultraviolet irradiation apparatus mounted on the carriage so as to be arranged side by side in the first direction with the liquid ejection unit".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwase (U.S. 2005/0099478 A1) in view of Rains (U.S. 2006/0072314 A1).
Doo discloses the following claimed limitations:
Regarding independent Claim 1, a liquid ejection apparatus (10, §0035 and Fig. 1) comprising:
a liquid ejection unit (24, §0038 and Fig. 2) configured to eject a liquid that is cured by irradiation with ultraviolet light onto a medium;
an irradiation unit (25a, 25b, §0038 and Fig. 2) configured to irradiate the liquid ejected onto the medium with ultraviolet light;
a carriage (15, §0037 and Figs. 1-2) loaded with the liquid ejection unit and the irradiation unit so as to be arranged side by side in a first direction, and configured to move in the first direction above the medium; and
a motor configured to move the carriage (§0037), wherein
the irradiation unit includes a plurality of ultraviolet light sources (ultraviolet irradiation LEDs 25a and 25b, §0038 and Figs. 2, 5-7) which is configured to emit the ultraviolet light toward a second direction crossing the first direction, and includes a first ultraviolet light source (e.g. any single ultraviolet irradiation LED, or any combination thereof).
Regarding Claim 2, wherein the plurality of ultraviolet light sources is arranged side by side in the first direction and a third direction crossing the first direction and the second direction (Figs. 2, 5-7), and
a distance between two ultraviolet light sources adjacent to each other in the first direction out of the plurality of ultraviolet light sources is equal to or larger than a distance between two ultraviolet light sources adjacent to each other in the third direction out of the plurality of ultraviolet light sources (Figs. 2, 5-7).
Regarding Claim 3, wherein the plurality of ultraviolet light sources includes a second ultraviolet light source configured to emit the ultraviolet light toward the second direction (Figs. 2, 5-7), and
the first ultraviolet light source is adjacent to the second ultraviolet light source in the third direction (Figs. 2, 5-7).
Regarding Claim 4, a specific member (33, 34, §§0009, 0013-0014, 0017, 0041, 0043 and Fig. 3) made of rubber, wherein
a wavelength of the ultraviolet light emitted from the ultraviolet light source is 250 nm or more and 410 nm or less (§0044).
Regarding Claim 5, wherein the irradiation unit includes a heatsink (the unlabeled L-shaped attachment brackets on either side of the head 15 holding LEDs 25a, b, Fig. 2) configured to cool the plurality of ultraviolet light sources.
Regarding independent Claim 8, an ultraviolet irradiation apparatus (25a, 25b, §0038 and Fig. 2) provided to a liquid ejection apparatus (10, §0035 and Fig. 1) including
a liquid ejection unit (24, §0038 and Fig. 2) configured to eject a liquid that is cured by irradiation with ultraviolet light onto a medium,
a carriage (15, §0037 and Figs. 1-2) loaded with the liquid ejection unit, and configured to move in a first direction above the medium, and
a motor configured to move the carriage (§0037), and
the ultraviolet irradiation apparatus mounted on the carriage so as to be arranged side by side in the first direction with the liquid ejection unit, and configured to irradiate the liquid ejected onto the medium with ultraviolet light (Fig. 2) , the ultraviolet irradiation apparatus comprising:
a plurality of ultraviolet light sources (ultraviolet irradiation LEDs 25a and 25b, §0038 and Figs. 2, 5-7) which is configured to emit the ultraviolet light toward a second direction crossing the first direction, and includes a first ultraviolet light source (e.g. any single ultraviolet irradiation LED, or any combination thereof).
Iwase does not disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding independent Claim 1, the first ultraviolet light source includes a light emitting part configured to emit the ultraviolet light and a lens part configured to seal the light emitting part,
the lens part includes a base portion having a columnar shape, and a tip portion which has a hemispherical shape, and is coupled to the base portion at the second direction side, and
a length in the second direction of the lens part is longer than a diameter of the base portion.
Regarding Claim 3, wherein an irradiation range on the medium with the ultraviolet light emitted from the first ultraviolet light source and an irradiation range on the medium with the ultraviolet light emitted from the second ultraviolet light source overlap each other. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to arrange the light sources in the liquid ejection apparatus of Iwase so as to eliminate unirradiated areas so that curing defects are avoided. Please note that arranging the light sources in the liquid ejection apparatus of Iwase so as to eliminate unirradiated areas would result in an irradiation range on the medium with the ultraviolet light emitted from the first ultraviolet light source and an irradiation range on the medium with the ultraviolet light emitted from the second ultraviolet light source overlapping each other.
Regarding independent Claim 8, the first ultraviolet light source includes a light emitting part configured to emit the ultraviolet light and a lens part configured to seal the light emitting part,
the lens part includes a base portion having a columnar shape, and a tip portion which has a hemispherical shape, and is coupled to the base portion at the second direction side, and
a length in the second direction of the lens part is longer than a diameter of the base portion.
Rains discloses the following claimed limitations:
Regarding independent Claim 1, the first ultraviolet light source (11, §0032 and Fig. 2) includes a light emitting part (13, 15, 17, 19, 21, §0032 and Fig. 2) configured to emit the ultraviolet light (§0009) and a lens part (25, §0032 and Fig. 2) configured to seal the light emitting part,
the lens part includes a base portion having a columnar shape (Fig. 2), and a tip portion (23, §0032 and Fig. 2) which has a hemispherical shape, and is coupled to the base portion at the second direction side (the light propagation direction, Fig. 2), and
a length in the second direction of the lens part is longer than a diameter of the base portion (Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the first ultraviolet light source of Rains to the liquid ejection apparatus of Iwase to utilize known first ultraviolet light source and so reduce development cost and time of the apparatus.
Regarding independent Claim 8, the first ultraviolet light source (11, §0032 and Fig. 2) includes a light emitting part (13, 15, 17, 19, 21, §0032 and Fig. 2) configured to emit the ultraviolet light (§0009) and a lens part (25, §0032 and Fig. 2) configured to seal the light emitting part,
the lens part includes a base portion having a columnar shape (Fig. 2), and a tip portion (23, §0032 and Fig. 2) which has a hemispherical shape, and is coupled to the base portion at the second direction side (the light propagation direction, Fig. 2), and
a length in the second direction of the lens part is longer than a diameter of the base portion (Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the first ultraviolet light source of Rains to the apparatus of Iwase to utilize known first ultraviolet light source and so reduce development cost and time of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 9, wherein the plurality of ultraviolet light sources is arranged side by side in the first direction and a third direction crossing the first direction and the second direction (Figs. 2, 5-7), and
a distance between two ultraviolet light sources adjacent to each other in the first direction out of the plurality of ultraviolet light sources is equal to or larger than a distance between two ultraviolet light sources adjacent to each other in the third direction out of the plurality of ultraviolet light sources (Figs. 2, 5-7).
Regarding Claim 10, wherein the plurality of ultraviolet light sources includes a second ultraviolet light source configured to emit the ultraviolet light toward the second direction (Figs. 2, 5-7), and
the first ultraviolet light source is adjacent to the second ultraviolet light source in the third direction (Figs. 2, 5-7).
Regarding Claim 11, a specific member (33, 34, §§0009, 0013-0014, 0017, 0041, 0043 and Fig. 3) made of rubber, wherein
a wavelength of the ultraviolet light emitted from the ultraviolet light source is 250 nm or more and 410 nm or less (§0044).
Regarding Claim 12, wherein the irradiation unit includes a heatsink (the unlabeled L-shaped attachment brackets on either side of the head 15 holding LEDs 25a, b, Fig. 2) configured to cool the plurality of ultraviolet light sources.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwase (U.S. 2005/0099478 A1) and Rains (U.S. 2006/0072314 A1) as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Kanemoto (U.S. 2012/0212553 A1).
Doo and Rains, in combination, disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claims 6-7, all limitations of Claim 1 (from which these Claims depend).
Doo and Rains do not disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 6, wherein the irradiation unit includes a cover plate disposed between the ultraviolet light source and the medium and configured to transmit the ultraviolet light.
Regarding Claim 7, wherein the cover plate is replaceable without detaching the ultraviolet light source from the irradiation unit.
Kanemoto discloses the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 6, wherein the irradiation unit includes a cover plate (92, §§0072-0076 and Figs. 5a-b) disposed between the ultraviolet light source and the medium and configured to transmit the ultraviolet light. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the cover of Kanemoto to the liquid ejection apparatus of Iwase to protect the LEDS from ink mist, paper dust and other contaminants.
Regarding Claim 7, wherein the cover plate is replaceable without detaching the ultraviolet light source from the irradiation unit (§§0077-0080 and Figs. 5-6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the replaceable cover of Kanemoto to the liquid ejection apparatus of Iwase to simplify maintenance.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwase (U.S. 2005/0099478 A1) and Rains (U.S. 2006/0072314 A1) as applied to Claim 8, and further in view of Kanemoto (U.S. 2012/0212553 A1).
Doo and Rains, in combination, disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claims 13-14, all limitations of Claim 8 (from which these Claims depend).
Doo and Rains do not disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 13, wherein the irradiation unit includes a cover plate disposed between the ultraviolet light source and the medium and configured to transmit the ultraviolet light.
Regarding Claim 14, wherein the cover plate is replaceable without detaching the ultraviolet light source from the ultraviolet irradiation apparatus.
Doo and Rains do not disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 13, wherein the irradiation unit includes a cover plate disposed between the ultraviolet light source and the medium and configured to transmit the ultraviolet light. .
Regarding Claim 14, wherein the cover plate is replaceable without detaching the ultraviolet light source from the ultraviolet irradiation apparatus.
Kanemoto discloses the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 13, wherein the irradiation unit includes a cover plate (92, §§0072-0076 and Figs. 5a-b) disposed between the ultraviolet light source and the medium and configured to transmit the ultraviolet light. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the cover of Kanemoto to the liquid ejection apparatus of Iwase to protect the LEDS from ink mist, paper dust and other contaminants.
Regarding Claim 14, wherein the cover plate is replaceable without detaching the ultraviolet light source from the ultraviolet irradiation apparatus (§§0077-0080 and Figs. 5-6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the replaceable cover of Kanemoto to the liquid ejection apparatus of Iwase to simplify maintenance.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER D SHENDEROV/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/JASON S UHLENHAKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853