DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 &3 are objected to because of the following minor informalities:
Claim 1: "direction display pattern that indicates at least one of near-side and far-side in a first direction". In an effort to advance prosecution of the application, the examiner assumes Applicant has intended to claim at least one near-side direction display pattern and at least one far-side pattern. Rephrasing is recommended, but not required.
Claim 3: “a function that stores the image data in predetermined region” should be amended to “a predetermined region”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maetani & Kamikawa (US 20060232618 A1; herein referred to as “Maetani”) and also in view of Tokunaga (US 20110234677 A1; herein referred to as “Tokunaga”).
The following annotated Fig. 6 from Maetani will be referenced throughout the discussion below:
With respect to claim 1, a printing system (i.e., “printing apparatus”; ¶0042 & Fig. 1) comprising:
a printing device having a printing head (i.e., “head” used in printing apparatus; ¶0010-11 & 0057) and
an information terminal having an imaging section that captures an image of a test pattern formed by the printing device in order to correct a printing characteristic of the printing device (i.e., Section “A” in Maetani’s Fig. 1, which includes a “flatbed scanner 5” imaging section that scans the test pattern “TC” and is used to generate a “correction table 35”; Maetani: ¶0012, 0057, Fig. 1 & Fig. 4), wherein the test pattern (i.e., “test chart TC”; Maetani: ¶0056-0057 & annotated Fig. 6 above) has
a ruled line pattern (i.e., “pixel line portion 43”; Maetani: ¶0064 & annotated Fig. 6 above),
a gradation pattern (i.e., “gray color development areas 47”; Maetani: ¶0066 & annotated Fig. 6 above),
and a direction display pattern that indicates at least one of near-side and far-side in a first direction (i.e., “40” near-side and “41” far-side; Maetani: ¶0063 & annotated Fig. 6 above),
in the first direction the ruled line pattern and the gradation pattern do not overlap (see Maetani annotated Fig. 6 above), and
in the first direction, the ruled line pattern is arranged on the near-side, and the gradation pattern is arranged on the far-side (see Maetani annotated Fig. 6 above).
Tokunaga teaches a printing system (i.e., “liquid ejection recording apparatus”; Tokunaga: ¶0037 & Fig. 1) comprising:
a printing device having a printing head (i.e., “printer 1” has a “head unit 40” that ejects ink; Tokunaga: ¶0056, 0059, & Fig. 2) and
an information terminal having an imaging section that captures an image of a test pattern formed by the printing device in order to correct a printing characteristic of the printing device (i.e., a “computer 110” that has a “scanner 150” to capture and read a test pattern and generate a correction values; Tokunaga: ¶0141-0161, Fig. 16 & Fig. 17A), wherein
the test pattern has a ruled line pattern, a gradation pattern (i.e., ink-based printheads record test patterns, such as Tokunaga’s annotated Fig. 17A below; Tokunaga: ¶0131-0140 & Fig. 16)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art to modify Maetani’s printing system with an ink-based printing system as taught by Tokunaga, including an ink-based printing head and test pattern. Tokunaga’s ink-based printing system can also capture the image of a test pattern, acquire correction data based on a test pattern, and use this data to correct the alignment of the printing system and the heads therein. This calibration ensures higher-quality prints.
With respect to claim 2, Maetani (and Maetani modified by Tokunaga) teaches the printing system (i.e., “printing apparatus”; ¶0042 & Fig. 1) according to claim 1, wherein
the information terminal has a display section that displays an imaging range of the imaging section (i.e., Section “A” includes “display 3” which displays “information necessary to the processing device 6”; “Processing device 6” includes “test printing means 23” and “scanner control means 24”; Maetani: ¶0055&0057 & Fig. 4). Note the “test printing means 23” and “scanner control means 24” generate scanning data acquired after scanning the test pattern “TC” with the imaging section “5”(Maetani: ¶0055&0057 & Fig. 4-5). The imaging range of the imaging section “5” can be defined as the scanning area of the scanner (Maetani: see annotated Maetani Fig. 1).
and when an arrangement of the ruled line pattern and the gradation pattern included in the imaging range is incorrect, the display section displays a correct imaging direction or the fact that the imaging direction is incorrect (i.e., if test pattern “TC” is misaligned within the imaging range [aka scanning area], an error-related message is displayed; Maetani: ¶0104). Note that the test pattern is inclusive of the ruled line pattern and the gradation pattern (see annotated Maetani Fig. 6 above).
With respect to claim 3, Maetani (and Maetani modified by Tokunaga) teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing an imaging data storage program for storing, in a predetermined region, image data of a test pattern (i.e., a “control system” with a “microprocessor (CPU)”, “operating system 21”, “test printing means 23”, “scanner control means 24”, and “correction data generating means 25”; Maetani: ¶0012, 0054-0057, Fig. 4 & see annotated Fig. 6 above) that was formed by a printing device (i.e., “printing apparatus”; Maetani: ¶0042, 0054-0057, & Fig. 1),
the image data having been captured by an imaging section of an information terminal (i.e., Section “A” in Maetani’s Fig. 1, which includes a “flatbed scanner 5” imaging section that scans/captures the image of the test pattern “TC”; Maetani: ¶0012 & 0057), in order to correct a printing characteristic of the printing device having a printing head (i.e., “flatbed scanner 5” is used to correct the head “H”; Maetani: ¶0057-0059),
the test pattern including a ruled line pattern and a gradation pattern (i.e., “pixel line portion 43” and “gray color development areas 47”; Maetani: ¶0064, ¶0066, & annotated Maetani Fig. 6 above),
the program causing to execute (i.e., control system “CPU” running “main scan performing routine #200”; Maetani: ¶0054-0056, Fig. 4 & Fig. 13):
a first function that determines that the ruled line pattern and the gradation pattern of the test pattern do not overlap in a predetermined first direction of an imaging range of the imaging section (i.e., “process of a main scan performing routine” aka “step #200”, wherein the test pattern “TC” is analyzed via the imaging section “5" in the imaging range [aka the scanning area], including its “pixel lines”/”pixel line portion 43” and “density data”/”gray color development areas 47“; Maetani: ¶0082, 0091-0094, 0064, 0066, & Fig. 13; also see annotated Fig. 6 above and annotated Fig. 5 below). Note that the “main scan performing routine” acquires and analyzes data on the test pattern (including its ruled line pattern and gradation pattern; Maetani: Fig. 13) and, as shown, the test pattern’s ruled line pattern and gradation pattern do not overlap in a predetermined first direction (see annotated Maetani Fig. 6 above).
a second function that determines that the ruled line pattern is arranged on near-side and the gradation pattern is arranged on far-side in the predetermined first direction (i.e., “process of a main scan performing routine” aka “step #200”, wherein the test pattern “TC” is analyzed, including its “pixel lines”/”pixel line portion 43” and “density data”/”gray color development areas 47“; Maetani: ¶0082, 0091-0094, & Fig. 13; also see annotated Fig. 6 above and annotated Fig. 5 above). Note that the “main scan performing routine” acquires and analyzes data on the test pattern (including its ruled line pattern and gradation pattern; Maetani: Fig. 13) and, as shown, the ruled line pattern is arranged on near-side and the gradation pattern is arranged on far-side in the predetermined first direction (see annotated Maetani Fig. 6 above and annotated Fig. 5 above); and
a function that stores the image data in predetermined region when the conditions of both the first function and the second function are satisfied (i.e., “main scan performing routine #200” acquiring/analyzing test pattern “TC” and storing the image data [aka “scanning data”], as well as a “correction table 35” based on the analysis; Maetani: ¶0012-0013, 0057 & Fig. 4 & 13).
Tokunaga teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (control system including “controller “60”, “CPU 62”, and “memory 63”; Tokunaga: ¶0067 & Fig. 2)
storing an imaging data storage program for storing, in a predetermined region, image data of a test pattern that was formed by a printing device (i.e., “printer 1” prints a test pattern in step “S201”, this pattern’s image is scanned/stored in “memory 63” in steps “S202”-“S203”; Tokunaga: ¶0068, 0088, 0131-0146, & Fig. 16),
the image data having been captured by an imaging section of an information terminal, in order to correct a printing characteristic of the printing device having a printing head (i.e., a “computer 110” that has a “scanner 150” to capture and read a test pattern and generate a correction values related to nozzles in the printing heads; Tokunaga: ¶0141-0161, 0043-0044, Fig. 16, Fig. 17A, & Fig. 4),
the test pattern including a ruled line pattern and a gradation pattern (i.e., ink-based printheads record test patterns, such as Tokunaga’s annotated Fig. 17A below; Tokunaga: ¶0131-0140 & Fig. 16)
the program causing to execute (i.e., Tokunaga: steps “S201”-“S206”; Fig. 16):
a first function that determines that the ruled line pattern and the gradation pattern of the test pattern do not overlap in a predetermined first direction of an imaging range of the imaging section (i.e., s202-s203 wherein the pattern acquired and analyzed via the imaging section “scanner 150”, such as the pattern shown in Tokunaga’s annotated Fig. 17 above; Tokunaga: ¶0131-0161, Fig. 16 & annotated Fig. 17A above). Note that these steps acquire and analyze data on the test pattern (including its ruled line pattern and gradation pattern; Tokunaga’s Fig. 16 & annotated Fig. 17A above) and, as shown, the test pattern’s ruled line pattern and gradation pattern do not overlap in a predetermined first direction.
a second function that determines that the ruled line pattern is arranged on near-side and the gradation pattern is arranged on far-side in the predetermined first direction. Note that these steps acquire and analyze data on the test pattern (including its ruled line pattern and gradation pattern; Tokunaga’s Fig. 16 & annotated Fig. 17A above) and, as shown, the ruled line pattern is arranged on near-side and the gradation pattern is arranged on far-side in the predetermined first direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art to modify Maetani’s printing system with an ink-based printing system as taught by Tokunaga, including an ink-based printing head and test pattern. Tokunaga’s ink-based printing system can also capture the image of a test pattern, acquire correction data based on a test pattern, and use this data to correct the alignment of the printing system and the heads therein. This calibration ensures higher-quality prints.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maetani, as modified above, further in view of Ethington et al. (US 8688579 B1; herein referred to as “Ethington”).
With respect to claim 4, Maetani modified by Tokunaga teaches the imaging data storage program stored in the non-transitory computer readable storage medium (i.e., “control system”; Maetani: ¶0012, 0054-0057, Fig. 4 & see annotated Fig. 6 above) according to claim 3, wherein
the information terminal is equipped with a display section configured to display the imaging range of the imaging section (i.e., Section “A” includes “display 3” which displays “information necessary to the processing device 6”; “Processing device 6” includes “test printing means 23” and “scanner control means 24”; Maetani: ¶0055&0057 & Fig. 4). Note the “test printing means 23” and “scanner control means 24” generate scanning data acquired after scanning the test pattern “TC” in the imaging range (aka scanning area) of the imaging section “5” (Maetani: ¶0055, 0057 & Fig. 4-5; also see annotated Fig. 5 above).
the ruled line pattern and the gradation pattern of the test pattern do not overlap in the first direction of the imaging range of the imaging section (see annotated Maetani: Fig. 6).
the ruled line pattern is arranged on the near-side and the gradation pattern is arranged on the far-side in the first direction (see annotated Maetani Fig. 6), and
Maetani is silent on
the display section displays a first frame section indicating a position where the ruled line pattern and the gradation pattern are arranged within the imaging range,
the imaging section captures an image when the first frame section overlaps with the ruled line pattern and the gradation pattern.
Ethington teaches an imaging data storage program stored in the non-transitory computer readable storage medium (“processors 2203” utilizing “various processor accessible and operable areas of memory 2229”; Ethington: col. 76, l.26-57 & col. 77, l. 30-35), wherein
the display section displays a first frame section indicating a position where the ruled line pattern and the gradation pattern are arranged within the imaging range (i.e., screen shot of user interface wherein a printed image is not fully arranged within the first frame section; Ethington: Fig. 21I). Ethington Fig. 21I shows an example of a printed image that is being displayed in a display section with a first frame section, indicating if the printed image is within the first frame. Also note that Ethington teaches this printed image can be detected via the edges of the printed image’s medium and can subsequently analyze if the entirety of the printed image has been captured (Ethington: Fig. 2A, “2A-25” through “2A-45”). Ethington can modify Maetani so as to be scanning and displaying Maetani’s test pattern “TC”, which includes the ruled line pattern and the gradation pattern.
the imaging section captures an image when the first frame section overlaps with the ruled line pattern and the gradation pattern (i.e., the user captures the printed image using the imaging section, aka a scanner; Ethington: Fig. 2A, “2A-25” through “2A-45”). Examiner notes to Applicant that, based on current claim language, the imaging section is not limited to only capturing an image when the first frame section overlaps with the ruled line pattern and the gradation pattern. Ethington teaches that a user can use an imaging section to fully capture an image (such as Maetani’s test print that contains both the ruled line pattern and the gradation pattern) and Ethington’s program will alert the user to rescan the image until the user has successfully captured the image in full (i.e., where the image is fully overlapping the first frame). Additionally, Ethington teaches a modification to this process, wherein instead of utilizing a scanner as the imaging section, the user utilizes a smartphone, wherein they see the image displayed prior to capturing the image, alerting the user to align the image prior to capturing the image (Ethington: Fig. 20C, 20_18 and 20_20). Here too, Ethington teaches that the imaging section can capture an image where the first frame is fully overlapping the image. When Ethington’s teaching is applied to Maetani’s test pattern, this teaches the ruled line pattern and the gradation pattern, contained within Maetani’s test pattern, would also be overlapping the first frame.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Maetani modified by Tokunaga’s imaging data storage program to include the first frame section and its claimed limitations as taught by Ethington, because this first frame overlapping the relevant test pattern elements and capturing an image of these pattern elements when in frame, enables a user to ensure that they have fully captured the image of the test pattern in its entirety. By capturing an image of the test pattern in its entirety, the test pattern can be properly used to calibrate the printing device.
With respect to claim 5, Maetani modified by Tokunaga teaches the imaging data storage program stored in the non-transitory computer readable storage medium (i.e., “control system”; Maetani: ¶0012, 0054-0057, Fig. 4 & see annotated Fig. 6 above) according to claim 3, wherein
the test pattern includes a direction display pattern for specifying the first direction (i.e., “40” near-side and “41” far-side; Maetani: ¶0063 & annotated Fig. 6 above),
the information terminal is equipped with a display section configured to display the imaging range of the imaging section (i.e., Section “A” includes “display 3” which displays “information necessary to the processing device 6”; “Processing device 6” includes “test printing means 23” and “scanner control means 24”; Maetani: ¶0055&0057 & Fig. 4). Note the “test printing means 23” and “scanner control means 24” generate scanning data acquired after scanning the test pattern “TC” in the imaging range (aka scanning area) of the imaging section “5” (Maetani: ¶0055&0057 & Fig. 4-5; also see annotated Fig. 5 above).
the ruled line pattern and the gradation pattern of the test pattern do not overlap in the first direction of the imaging range of the imaging section (see annotated Maetani: Fig. 6),
the ruled line pattern is arranged on the near-side and the gradation pattern is arranged on the far-side in the first direction (see annotated Maetani: Fig. 6), and
Maetani is silent on
the display section displays a second frame section indicating a position where the direction display pattern is arranged in the imaging range,
the imaging section captures an image when the second frame section overlaps with the direction display pattern.
Ethington teaches an imaging data storage program stored in the non-transitory computer readable storage medium (“processors 2203” utilizing “various processor accessible and operable areas of memory 2229”; Ethington: col. 76, l.26-57 & col. 77, l. 30-35), wherein
the display section displays a second frame section indicating a position where the direction display pattern is arranged in the imaging range (i.e., screen shot of user interface wherein a printed image is not fully arranged within the second frame section; Ethington: Fig. 21I). Ethington Fig. 21I shows an example of a medium with a printed image that is being displayed in a display section with a second frame section, indicating if the printed image is within the second frame. Note that Ethington teaches this printed image can be detected via the edges of the printed image’s medium and can subsequently analyze if the entirety of the printed image has been captured (Ethington: Fig. 2A, “2A-25” through “2A-45”). Ethington can modify Maetani so as to be scanning and displaying Maetani’s test pattern “TC”, which includes the direction display pattern.
the imaging section captures an image when the second frame section overlaps with the direction display pattern (i.e., the user captures the printed image using the imaging section, aka a scanner; Ethington: Fig. 2A, “2A-25” through “2A-45”). Examiner notes to Applicant that, based on current claim language, the imaging section is not limited to only capturing an image when the second frame section overlaps with the ruled line pattern and the gradation pattern. Ethington teaches that a user can use an imaging section to fully capture an image (such as Maetani’s test print that contains both the ruled line pattern and the gradation pattern) and Ethington’s program will alert the user to rescan the image until the user has successfully captured the image in full (i.e., where the image is fully overlapping the second frame). Additionally, Ethington teaches a modification to this process, wherein instead of utilizing a scanner as the imaging section, the user utilizes a smartphone, wherein they see the image displayed prior to capturing the image, alerting the user to align the image prior to capturing the image (Ethington: Fig. 20C, 20_18 and 20_20). Here too, Ethington teaches that the imaging section can capture an image where the second frame is fully overlapping the image. When Ethington’s teaching is applied to Maetani’s test pattern, this teaches the direction display pattern, contained within Maetani’s test pattern, would also be overlapping the first frame.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Maetani modified by Tokunaga’s imaging data storage program to include the second frame section and its claimed limitations as taught by Ethington, because this second frame overlapping the relevant test pattern elements and capturing an image of these pattern elements when in frame, enables a user to ensure that they have fully captured the image of the test pattern in its entirety. By capturing an image of the test pattern in its entirety, the test pattern can be properly used to calibrate the printing device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Goto & Ohara (US 20230105968 A1; herein referred to as “Goto”) teaches: “A recording apparatus includes a recording head that has a plurality of nozzles that eject liquid onto a medium and a control section that controls an ejection of liquid by the recording head, wherein the control section controls the recording head to record a plurality of first patterns having mutually different densities on the medium in a intersecting direction that intersects a nozzle alignment direction in which the nozzles are arranged, and to record a plurality of second patterns for identifying positions of the nozzles in the nozzle alignment direction on the medium in the intersecting direction such that each of the plurality of first patterns is adjacent to the second patterns on at least one of one end side and the other end side in the intersecting direction” (Goto: Abstract). Goto teaches a liquid-based printing system, with liquid-based printing heads, being corrected using a liquid-based test pattern that contains both a gradation pattern and a ruled line pattern (Goto: see annotated Fig. 4 below). Examiner notes to Applicant that the foreign priority has not yet been perfected given Applicant has not provided a formally certified English translation of the application. Therefore, the Goto date is currently valid as prior art.
/SHLOMIT CHELST/ Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/RICARDO I MAGALLANES/ Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853