DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyasaka et al. US 2018/0239996 A1 (hereinafter “Miyasaka”, cited in an IDS) in view of Moriyama JP 2007-182316 A (hereinafter “Moriyama”).
Regarding claim 9, Miyasaka teaches a medium conveyance apparatus comprising:
an apparatus body (12); and
a reverse path unit (30, refer to FIGS. 4 and 6) including a reverse roller (38) configured to reverse a medium, the reverse path unit being configured to be attachable/detachable to/from the apparatus body, wherein
the reverse path unit includes
a support tray (44) configured to switch between a drawn state (state of 44 shown in FIG. 4) where the support tray is drawn out from the reverse path unit and a stored state (state of 44 shown in FIG. 5) where the support tray is stored in the reverse path unit, and configured to support a medium to be fed in the drawn state,
a placement unit (32) on which the medium supported by the support tray is placed, and
a hopper unit (35) configured to switch an inclination angle of the placement unit.
Miyasaka teaches the clamed invention except wherein the placement unit and the hopper are part of the reverse path unit.
Moriyama teaches the desirability of integrally attaching/detaching a reverse path unit (38) with a feeding placement unit (30) to an apparatus main body (refer to FIGS. 3, 7, 8, and 13) to easily expose and easily remove a jammed sheet.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Miyasaka’s reverse path unit to integrally be attached to placement unit as taught by Moriyama as a known alternative arrangement to further provide access to easily remove a jam, while providing a larger clearance inside the main body. The combination of references would make obvious providing the hopper to similarly be integrally attached with the reverse path unit for the same purpose.
Regarding claim 10, Miyasaka view of Moriyama teaches wherein the reverse path unit includes a separation roller (Miyasaka’ roller 36, refer to FIG. 6) configured to separate, into one sheet, a medium to be supplied.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-8 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 1-8 are allowable because no prior art was found to teach or suggest an “opening portion provided in the support tray and configured to enable operation of the operation unit” as claimed in combination with the other elements of the claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/LUIS A GONZALEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653