DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-19are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Mazzei discloses the claimed invention, except the bonnet nut base wall being threaded to the valve port.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
the straight stop valve body as recited in claim 15
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mazzei et al. US 4580600 (“Mazzei”).
Regarding Claim 1, Mazzei discloses a stop valve assembly (figs 2-5 and 6A-D), comprising: a valve body (42, 94) including a valve body inlet (24 communicates through bore 68), a valve body outlet (70, communicates through bores 72 and 74), a valve channel (122) between the valve body inlet and the valve body outlet, and a valve port (upper stepped portion of upper portion 104 and 106 of upper valve body 94); a valve (88) carried in the valve body (42, 94), wherein the valve (88) is selectively rotatable about a rotational axis (claim 3, “valve members is rotatable about an axis to move from said first to said second position.”) in the valve body (42, 94), between an open position (fig. 6B illustrates supply port 68 communicates with outlet port 72 and fig. 6C illustrates supply port 68 communicates with outlet port 74) and a closed position (fig. 6A); a bonnet nut (84) coupled to the valve port (104, 106) to removably retain the valve (88); and a handle (114) coupled to the valve through the bonnet nut (see fig. 2).
MAZZEI – FIGURE 2
Regarding Claim 2, Mazzei discloses a valve rotation limiter (108) carried at least partially in the valve port (at lower step of 104, see fig. 4) of the valve body (42), wherein the bonnet nut (84) also removably retains the valve rotation limiter (108).
Regarding Claim 3, Mazzei discloses a seal (134) disposed between the valve (86) and the valve rotation limiter (108).
Regarding Claim 4, Mazzei discloses a seal (120) disposed between the valve (86) and the valve port (104) of the valve body (42).
Regarding Claim 5, Mazzei discloses the valve body (42, 94) includes a valve rotation limiting feature (lower step 106, see fig. 4) at the valve port (104, 106).
Regarding Claim 6, Mazzei discloses a valve rotation limiter (108) carried at least partially in the valve port (104, 106) of the valve body and cooperative (see fig. 4) with the valve rotation limiting feature (lower step 106) of the valve body (42).
Regarding Claim 7, Mazzei discloses the valve (86) includes a sealing element (134) and a spindle (90) having a base (90 connects to valve 86) coupled to the sealing element (134) and a stem (110, see fig. 2) extending away from the base.
Regarding Claim 8, Mazzei discloses a valve rotation limiter (108) coupled (threaded connection) to the spindle (90) of the valve (86) and a seal (134) located between the valve rotation limiter (108) and the spindle (90).
Regarding Claim 9, Mazzei discloses the stem (90) of the spindle is part of a unitary valve stem and rotation limiter (108) that cooperates with the valve body (42, 94) to limit rotation of the valve (86).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Turnau, III et al. US 10443743, Malasorti US 10612689, Schmitt US 3788601, Holden US 11333283, Thomas US 8931500, and Hicks US 4058289 disclose rotary valve.
/DAPHNE M BARRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753