DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Tapia et al (U.S. PGPub # 2020/0333294).
Regarding Independent claim 1, Tapia teaches:
An eddy-current flaw detection device comprising:
a probe configured to detect a change in eddy-current (Fig. 6 Elements 44 & 44a. See paragraph 0085.) in a component surface of an inspection object (Fig. 6 Elements 16 & 17. See paragraphs 0085-0086.); and
a control unit configured to cause the probe to scan the component surface along a scanning path (Fig. 6 Element 126. See paragraph 0085.) that crosses an edge of the component surface (Fig. 6 Elements 15, 16 & 17. See paragraph 0085.); wherein
the scanning path includes a first scanning path that is scanned in a first direction from a first region of the component surface adjacent to an edge region extending along the edge to a region outside the edge across the edge region (Fig. 4A & 4B Elements 182, 188, respectively. Fig. 6 Element 212. See paragraphs 0074-0075 & 089.), and
the probe scans along the first scanning path to detect the change in eddy-current in the edge region (Fig. 4A & 4B Elements 182 & 188, respectively. Fig. 6 Element 212. See paragraphs 0074-0075 & 089.).
Regarding claim 2, Tapia teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Tapia teaches the scanning path includes a second scanning path that is scanned in a second direction from the region outside the edge to the first region across the edge (Fig. 4A & 4B Elements 182 & 188, respectively. Fig. 6 Element 212. In both figures 4 & 6 there are scanning paths along elements and between them. See paragraphs 0072, 0074-0076, 0078 & 0089.), and the probe scans along the second scanning path to detect the change in eddy-current in the first region (Fig. 4A & 4B Elements 182 & 188, respectively. Fig. 6 Element 212. See paragraphs 0072, 0074-0076, 0078 & 0089. See also the abstract.).
Regarding claim 3, Tapia teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Tapia teaches a determination unit configured to determine a first region signal indicating the change in eddy-current in the first region (Fig. 6 Element 124. See paragraphs 0055, 0057-0058, 0060, 0062-0063, 0072, 0074-0076, 0078 & 0089. See also the Abstract.), wherein the first region signal includes: a first signal detected by scanning along the first scanning path and a second signal detected by scanning along the second scanning path (Fig. 4A & 4B Elements 182 & 188, respectively. See paragraphs 0055, 0057-0058, 0063, 0072, 0074-0076, 0078 & 0089.), and the determination unit determines one of the first signal and the second signal, which has a higher intensity, as the first region signal (Fig. 6 Element 124. 0055, 0057-0058, 0060, 0062-0063, 0072, 0074-0076, 0078 & 0089. See also the Abstract.).
Regarding Independent claim 4, Tapia teaches:
An eddy-current flaw detection method comprising:
scanning (Fig. 4A & 4B Elements 182 & 188, respectively. Fig. 6 Element 212. See paragraphs 0074-0075 & 089.) a component surface of an inspection object (Fig. 6 Elements 16 & 17. See paragraphs 0085-0086.) by a probe that detects a change in eddy-current (Fig. 6 Elements 44 & 44a. See paragraph 0085.) in the component surface along a scanning path that crosses an edge of the component surface (Fig. 6 Elements 16 & 17. See paragraphs 0085-0086.); wherein
the scanning path includes a first scanning path that is scanned in the first direction from the first region of the component surface adjacent to the edge region extending along the edge toward the region outside the edge across the edge region (Fig. 4A & 4B Elements 182 & 188, respectively. Fig. 6 Element 212. See paragraphs 0074-0075 & 089.); and
the probe scans along the first scanning path to detect the change of eddy-current in the edge region (Fig. 4A & 4B Elements 182 & 188, respectively. Fig. 6 Element 212. See paragraphs 0074-0075 & 089.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art listed but not cited represents the previous state of the art and analogous art that teaches some of the limitations claimed by applicant.
/CHRISTOPHER P MCANDREW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858